Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application no. 10-2022-0045599 and 10-2022-0146470 filed in REPUBIC OF KOREA on 04/13/2022 and 11/04/2022. It is noted that the applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024, 04/08/2024 and 07/17/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-14, 16-19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0233647), Chen hereinafter, and further in view of Abedini et al. (US 2022/0053486), Abedini hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Chen teaches a method, comprising: (Abstract - A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) in a wireless communication system);
receiving a control message from a base station via a network-controlled repeater (NCR)-mobile termination (MT) of an NCR comprising the NCR-MT and an NCR-forwarding (Fwd); (Fig. 5A, 6A, 29, 31 & Abstract - The method includes receiving, by an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) from a base station, control information. ¶0360 - As shown in FIG. 29, in step 2910, control information is received from a base station. Claim 9 - A network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) and an NCR forward (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system);
and performing a forwarding operation via the NCR-Fwd based on the control message, (¶0161 - After receiving the control information, more specifically, after a period of time (e.g., 3 ms, three slots) following the reception of the control information … the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) starts to perform at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding);
and wherein the NCR-Fwd is in an OFF state in time resources other than the forwarding resource (¶0161 - At first, the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) was turned off. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot (or transmits the feedback corresponding to the control information of the base station in the first slot). Specifically, the control information is used to turn on (or activate) the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier).
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to the forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied,
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to the forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied, (Fig. 8-9, 14-16 & ¶0180 - FIG. 14 is a table 1400 depicting one example of control information that may be carried in control signaling for a repeater device according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0193 - FIG. 16B is a second table 1601 populated with MAC-CE configured access-link active TCI states 1603 according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0185 - A third parameter may be an access-link TCI state index 1410 … In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to a set of beam identifiers (e.g., {0, . . . , #beams−1}), where #beams may be indicated by the repeater device during its integration and where #beams could be a number of access-link beams (i.e., beams that can be created on the array used for access-link communication). In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to an SSB and/or CSI-RS, or SRS resource. ¶0187 - A fourth parameter may be a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) 1412. The range of values are replaced by a slot and symbol location identifier 1424).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claims 2 and 13, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach the NCR-MT is in an RRC (radio resource control) connection state with the base station.
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches the NCR-MT is in an RRC (radio resource control) connection state with the base station (Fig. 7-9, 11 & ¶0158 - At call 1108 of FIG. 11, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform an initial access procedure and establish an RRC connection. ¶0160 - Here, the repeater device (e.g., the MT) may identify itself as a repeater device and share its capabilities. ¶0161 - At call 1112, the BS 1102 and the repeater device 1104 perform radio link management and radio resource management procedures. Please also see ¶0180).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claims 3 and 14, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach the control message is a radio resource control (RRC) signal.
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches the control message is a radio resource control (RRC) signal (Fig. 7-9, 11, 14 & ¶0179 - The base station may construct control information that is transmitted to the repeater device. The repeater device may use the control information to configure a relay unit (RU) of the repeater device. In some examples, the control information may be configured as downlink control information (DCI) or may be configured in a MAC-CE or otherwise conveyed, for example, in RRC signaling. ¶0180 - The control information in the table 1400 may be obtained from at least one of: a downlink control information (DCI) carried, for example, on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a MAC control element (MAC-CE), or configured in RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claims 5 and 16, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 1 and 12.
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach the beam is informed by a beam index included in the control message.
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches the beam is informed by a beam index included in the control message (Fig. 8-9, 14-16 & ¶0194 - According to the first table 1600 of FIG. 16A, a TCI state index 1606 of 0 1608 corresponds to a relay unit beam index 1616, wherein the relay unit beam index 1616 may be associated with n beams indicated by b.sub.i.sub.11.sup.RU, . . . , b.sub.i.sub.1n.sup.RU (each of these n values b.sub.i.sub.1x.sup.RU indicates one beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claims 6 and 17, Chen and Abedini teach Claim 1.
Chen further teaches the NCR-Fwd is in an ON state in the forwarding resource related with the beam (Fig. 5A, 6A & ¶0131 - this patent proposes a number of methods, as shown in FIG. 5A, to enable the repeater to receive the indication information from the network, so as to flexibly adjust the uplink/downlink forwarding timing of the repeater (or flexibly control the on or off of the repeater) … ¶0161 - At first, the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) was turned off. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot … Specifically, the control information is used to turn on (or activate) the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier). After receiving the control information, more specifically, after a period of time … following the reception of the control information … the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) starts to perform at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding).
Re. Claims 8 and 19, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 1 and 12.
Chen further teaches the forwarding operation comprises at least one of: a first forwarding operation to amplify a first signal received from a user equipment (UE) and forward the first signal to the base station, or a second forwarding operation to amplify a second signal received from the base station and forward the second signal to the UE (Fig. 5A & ¶0137 - As shown in FIG. 5A, for a repeater (especially an NCR-Amplifier), the radio frequency signal reception for downlink (or the radio frequency signal reception at the base station side) is called downlink reception; the radio frequency signal transmission for downlink (or the radio frequency signal transmission at the terminal side; or the radio frequency signal forwarding to the terminal device) is called downlink forwarding; the radio frequency signal reception for uplink (or the radio frequency signal reception at the terminal side) is called uplink reception; the radio frequency signal transmission for the uplink (or the radio frequency signal transmission at the base station side; or the radio frequency signal forwarding to the base station) is called uplink forwarding).
Re. Claim 11, Chen and Abedini teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach the access link is a link between the NCR-Fwd and a user equipment (UE).
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches the access link is a link between the NCR-Fwd and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 8 & ¶0131 - In the wireless communication network 800, wireless spectrum may be used for a fronthaul-link 806 between the base station 802 and a repeater device 808 and for an access-link 810 between the repeater device 808 and a UE 812).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claim 12, Chen teaches a network-controlled repeater (NCR) including an NCR-mobile termination (MT) and an NCR-forwarding (Fwd), the NCR comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor operably coupled to the at least one memory and the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is adapted to: (Fig. 5A, 61, 29, 32 & Claim 9 - A network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) and an NCR forward (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system, the NCR comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver);
receive a control message from a base station via the NCR-MT; (Fig. 5A, 29, 31 & Abstract - The method includes receiving, by an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) from a base station, control information. ¶0360 - As shown in FIG. 29, in step 2910, control information is received from a base station);
and perform a forwarding operation via the NCR-Fwd based on the control message, (¶0161 - After receiving the control information, more specifically, after a period of time (e.g., 3 ms, three slots) following the reception of the control information … the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) starts to perform at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding);
and wherein the NCR-Fwd is in an OFF state in time resources other than the forwarding resource (¶0161 - At first, the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) was turned off. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot (or transmits the feedback corresponding to the control information of the base station in the first slot). Specifically, the control information is used to turn on (or activate) the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier).
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to the forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied,
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to the forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied, (Fig. 8-9, 14-16 & ¶0180 - FIG. 14 is a table 1400 depicting one example of control information that may be carried in control signaling for a repeater device according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0193 - FIG. 16B is a second table 1601 populated with MAC-CE configured access-link active TCI states 1603 according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0185 - A third parameter may be an access-link TCI state index 1410 … In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to a set of beam identifiers (e.g., {0, . . . , #beams−1}), where #beams may be indicated by the repeater device during its integration and where #beams could be a number of access-link beams (i.e., beams that can be created on the array used for access-link communication). In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to an SSB and/or CSI-RS, or SRS resource. ¶0187 - A fourth parameter may be a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) 1412. The range of values are replaced by a slot and symbol location identifier 1424).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Re. Claims 7 and 18, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 6 and 17.
Chen further teaches the NCR-Fwd performs the forwarding operation in the ON state and does not perform the forwarding operation in the OFF state (Fig. 5A, 6A & ¶0131 - this patent proposes a number of methods, as shown in FIG. 5A, to enable the repeater to receive the indication information from the network, so as to flexibly adjust the uplink/downlink forwarding timing of the repeater (or flexibly control the on or off of the repeater) … ¶0161 - At first, the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) was turned off. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot … Specifically, the control information is used to turn on (or activate) the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier). After receiving the control information, more specifically, after a period of time … following the reception of the control information … the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) starts to perform at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding. Fig. 20 & ¶0306 - At first, the NCR-Amplifier is in the on state. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot … Specifically, the control information is used to turn off (or deactivate) the NCR-Amplifier. After receiving the control information, … following the reception of the control information … the NCR-Amplifier does not perform (stop) at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding. The above example can also be understood that the time unit corresponding to not performing (stopping) downlink reception, downlink forwarding, uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding by the NCR-Amplifier is a slot …).
Re. Claim 25, Chen teaches a method, comprising: (Abstract - A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) in a wireless communication system);
transmitting, to a network-controlled repeater-mobile termination (NCR-MT) of a network-controlled repeater (NCR) including the NCR-MT and an NCR-forwarding (Fwd)_by a base station, a control message; (Fig. 5A, 6A, 29, 31 & Abstract - The method includes receiving, by an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) from a base station, control information. ¶0360 - As shown in FIG. 29, in step 2910, control information is received from a base station. Claim 9 - A network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) and an NCR forward (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system);
and receiving a signal from the NCR-Fwd or transmitting a signal to the NCR-Fwd based on the control message by the base station, (¶0161 - After receiving the control information, more specifically, after a period of time (e.g., 3 ms, three slots) following the reception of the control information … the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) starts to perform at least one of the following actions: downlink reception; downward forwarding; uplink reception; uplink forwarding);
and wherein the base station determines that the NCR-Fwd is in an OFF state in time resources other than the forwarding resource (¶0161 - At first, the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier) was turned off. The NCR-MT of the repeater receives the control information from the base station in the first slot (or transmits the feedback corresponding to the control information of the base station in the first slot). Specifically, the control information is used to turn on (or activate) the repeater (the NCR-Amplifier).
Yet, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to a forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied,
However, in the analogous art, Abedini explicitly teaches wherein the control message informs a beam to be applied to a forwarding operation of an access link of the NCR-Fwd and a forwarding resource in a time domain to which the beam is applied, (Fig. 8-9, 14-16 & ¶0180 - FIG. 14 is a table 1400 depicting one example of control information that may be carried in control signaling for a repeater device according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0193 - FIG. 16B is a second table 1601 populated with MAC-CE configured access-link active TCI states 1603 according to some aspects of the disclosure. ¶0185 - A third parameter may be an access-link TCI state index 1410 … In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to a set of beam identifiers (e.g., {0, . . . , #beams−1}), where #beams may be indicated by the repeater device during its integration and where #beams could be a number of access-link beams (i.e., beams that can be created on the array used for access-link communication). In some examples, each access-link TCI state may be an index to an SSB and/or CSI-RS, or SRS resource. ¶0187 - A fourth parameter may be a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) 1412. The range of values are replaced by a slot and symbol location identifier 1424).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Abedini to the teaching of Chen. The motivation would be because the invention relates generally to wireless communication systems, and more particularly, to control signal design for smart repeater devices (¶0002, Abedini).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Abedini, and further in view of Ying et al. (US 2022/0191839), Ying hereinafter.
Re. Claims 4 and 15, Chen and Abedini teach Claims 1 and 12.
Chen further teaches and iii) a duration defined by a number of symbols (Fig. 5A, 6A, 29, 31 & ¶0248 - #1: The repeater obtains the starting position (for example, starting symbol) and the duration (symbol duration, symbol length) of the second time domain resources according to the information configured by the base station; further, a periodicity (for example, the periodicity of the time domain resources corresponding to the above-mentioned starting symbol and length) may also be included … the repeater determines the time domain resources (the second time domain resource) for the NCR-MT to transmit the corresponding signal or channels, for example, the time domain resources for the uplink channels or signal (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH/PRACH/SRS) determined by NCR-MT according to the indication information of the base station);
Yet, Chen and Abedini do not explicitly teach the forwarding resource is defined by: i) a starting slot defined by a slot offset; ii) a starting symbol defined by a symbol offset within a slot;
However, in the analogous art, Ying explicitly teaches the forwarding resource is defined by: i) a starting slot defined by a slot offset; ii) a starting symbol defined by a symbol offset within a slot; and iii) a duration defined by a number of symbols (¶0086 - Also, second parameters (e.g., PUSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation2) are used for configuring a time domain relation between the PDCCH (e.g., the DCI format 0_2) and the PUSCH (e.g., the PUSCH transmission). For example, the second parameters may include information indicating an offset (e.g., a slot offset and/or a symbol offset) to be applied for the PUSCH transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Ying to the teachings of Chen and Abedini. The motivation would be because the invention relates to user equipments, base stations and methods for a configurable downlink control information (DCI) format (¶0001, Ying).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Abedini, and further in view of Xi et al. (US 2020/0288479), Xi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Chen and Abedini teach Claim 1.
Yet, Chen and Abedini do not explicitly teach in a case of conflicting beam instructions for a specific time resource, the beam instructions have priority in a following order: an aperiodic beam instruction, a semi-persistent beam instruction, and a periodic beam instruction.
However, in the analogous art, Xi explicitly teaches in a case of conflicting beam instructions for a specific time resource, the beam instructions have priority in a following order: an aperiodic beam instruction, a semi-persistent beam instruction, and a periodic beam instruction (¶0209 - If at least two UL transmissions overlap at least partially in time, different parts of beam reporting may be ranked in a priority order. ¶0210 - … if there are still at least two overlapping beam reports, substantially all beam reports may be dropped except the one with the highest priority. The priority of different types of beam reporting may be defined, specified, or configured to follow an order such as beam reporting contained in beam failure recover request, aperiodic beam reporting, semi-persistent beam reporting on PUSCH, semi-persistent beam reporting on PUCCH, periodic beam reporting, or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teachings of Chen and Abedini. The motivation would be because if the at least two overlapping UL transmissions include more than one beam reporting, for example, aperiodic beam reporting and periodic beam reporting, internal collisions of beam reporting may be addressed before ranking (¶0209, Xi).
Re. Claim 10, Chen, Abedini and Xi teach Claim 1.
Yet, Chen and Abedini do not explicitly teach based on the semi-persistent beam instruction or the periodic beam instruction having priority information, the semi-persistent beam instruction or the periodic beam instruction has a higher priority than the aperiodic beam instruction.
However, in the analogous art, Xi explicitly teaches based on the semi-persistent beam instruction or the periodic beam instruction having priority information, the semi-persistent beam instruction or the periodic beam instruction has a higher priority than the aperiodic beam instruction (¶0211 - Based on ranked priority order of different parts of beam reporting, for overlapping UL transmissions, different parts may be dropped based on the following order, or any variation of the following order: periodic or semi-persistent SRS; periodic CSI reporting; periodic beam reporting; semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUCCH; semi-persistent CSI reporting on PUSCH; semi-persistent beam reporting on PUCCH; semi-persistent beam reporting on PUSCH; aperiodic SRS; and aperiodic CSI reporting or beam reporting).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zhang to the teachings of Chen and Abedini. The motivation would be because if the at least two overlapping UL transmissions include more than one beam reporting, for example, aperiodic beam reporting and periodic beam reporting, internal collisions of beam reporting may be addressed before ranking (¶0209, Xi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Black et al. (US 2022/0240305) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-6.
Nagata et al. (US 2013/0070661) – Please see Abstract and Fig. 1-8.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465