Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9,14,15,19,20,31,32,34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee et al. (US20160135103A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US20230063126A1)
Regarding Claim 1. Lee teaches, A configuration information transmission method, applied to performed by a first communication node, comprising at least one of:
sending a first request message for mobility management to a second communication node; and/or, [135]- MeNB may deliver messages required for the handover procedure between a source SeNB and a target SeNBMore specifically, according to an embodiment of the present invention, the MeNB may transmit a request message for handover to the target SeNB.
receiving a first feedback message for the mobility management from the second communication node; [56]- transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.
wherein at least one target communication object indicated by the first request message is at least one of a target communication object recommended to be configured [57]- The method includes receiving an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication,
or a target communication object not recommended to be configured; [57]- from a master eNB (MeNB) in dual connectivity, performing an admission control, transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message,
at least one target communication object indicated by the first feedback message is at least one of a target communication object configured already or a target communication object rejected to be configured.[56]- The method includes upon receiving a measurement report, performing a handover decision from a source secondary eNB (SeNB) to a target SeNB, transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.[57]- The method includes receiving an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded
Lee does not specifically teach sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node
Zhou teaches, sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node[17]- performed by a source node, the source node is connected with a user terminal, and the method includes: sending handover request information to a core network; wherein the handover request information is configured to request to handover the user terminal to a target master node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 2,Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management in response tothe target communication object rejected to be configured comprising all target communication objects recommended to be configured in the first request message.
Zhou teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management in response to
the target communication object rejected to be configured comprising all target communication objects recommended to be configured in the first request message [29]- to send a first interface message to a target secondary node of the target dual connectivity; the handover request information carries first information; and the first interface message carries the first information for enabling the target secondary node to configure the user terminal according to the first information.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management in response to the target communication object rejected to be configured comprising all target communication objects recommended to be configured in the first request message as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management in response to at least one of followings being satisfied: at least one target communication object configured already not being the target communication object not recommended to be configured in the first request message [56-57]- which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.. performing an admission control, transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message, which includes identifiers (IDs) of E-RABs accepted by the target SeNB.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first communication node is a source master node, and the method further comprises: receiving a second request message for the mobility management from a source secondary node associated with the source master node; wherein the second request message is configured to indicate at least one of: at least one target communication object recommended to be configured that is recommended by the source secondary node,[57]- from a master eNB (MeNB) in dual connectivity, performing an admission control, transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message, which includes identifiers (IDs) of E-RABs accepted by the target SeNB.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first communication node is a source master node, and the method further comprises at least one of: sending a second feedback message to a source secondary node associated with the source master node according to the first feedback message for the mobility management received from the second communication node;[57]- transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message, which includes identifiers (IDs) of E-RABs accepted by the target SeNB, as a response to the offloading request message to the MeNB.
Regarding Claim 6,Lee teaches, The method of claim 5, wherein in response to the first feedback message being a feedback message of accepting the mobility management, the second feedback message sent to the source secondary node is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management; [135]- Upon receiving the request message, the target SeNB may transmit an acknowledge message to the MeNB.
Regarding Claim 7,Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate recommended configuration information of the target communication object recommended to be configured
Zhou teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate recommended configuration information of the target communication object recommended to be configured. Fig 2 steps 203 204 [108-109]- Step 203: the source AMF sends a migration request carrying the first information to the target MME.Since the source AMF and the target MME are located in different core networks,.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate recommended configuration information of the target communication object recommended to be configured as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is further configured to indicate at least one of configuration information of the target communication object configured already, or an identifier of the target communication object
Zhou teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is further configured to indicate at least one of configuration information of the target communication object configured already, or an identifier of the target communication object.[118]- The index of the configuration information is the identifier of the user terminal at the source node, the identifier includes: a terminal identifier between the source node and the core network and applicable of the source node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message is further configured to indicate at least one of configuration information of the target communication object configured already, or an identifier of the target communication object as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate a third communication node; wherein the third communication node is at least one of: a node for communication between the second communication node and a target node corresponding to the target communication object in the first request message,
Zhou teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate a third communication node; wherein the third communication node is at least one of: a node for communication between the second communication node and a target node corresponding to the target communication object in the first request message, [121]- Step 210: the target MME returns the response information for the migration request to the source AMF, and the response information carries the configuration information of the target dual connectivity.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , The method of claim 1, wherein the first request message is further configured to indicate a third communication node; wherein the third communication node is at least one of: a node for communication between the second communication node and a target node corresponding to the target communication object in the first request message as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches,A configuration information transmission method, applied to performed by a second communication node, comprising at least one of:
receiving a first request message for mobility management sent by a first communication node; [135]- MeNB may deliver messages required for the handover procedure between a source SeNB and a target SeNBMore specifically, according to an embodiment of the present invention, the MeNB may transmit a request message for handover to the target SeNB.
and/or sending a first feedback message for the mobility management to the first communication node; [56]- transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.
wherein at least one target communication object indicated by the first request message is at least one of a target communication object recommended to be configured or a target communication object not recommended to be configured; [57]- The method includes receiving an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication,
or a target communication object not recommended to be configured; [57]- from a master eNB (MeNB) in dual connectivity, performing an admission control, transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message,
at least one target communication object indicated by the first feedback message is at least one of a target communication object configured already or a target communication object rejected to be configured. [56]- The method includes upon receiving a measurement report, performing a handover decision from a source secondary eNB (SeNB) to a target SeNB, transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.[57]- The method includes receiving an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded
Lee does not specifically teach sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node
Zhou teaches, sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node[17]- performed by a source node, the source node is connected with a user terminal, and the method includes: sending handover request information to a core network; wherein the handover request information is configured to request to handover the user terminal to a target master node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches, The method of claim 14, wherein the first feedback message is a feedback message of accepting the mobility management in response to at least one target communication object configured already being the target communication object recommended to be configured in the first request message,[142]- Upon receiving the offloading request message, The target SeNB performs an admission control, and transmits an offloading request acknowledge message to the MeNB.
Regarding Claim 19, Lee teaches The method of claim 14, further comprising: sending a third request message for the mobility management to at least one third communication node according to the first request message; [136]- during a handover procedure from the source SeNB to the target SeNB, the MeNB may inform the source SeNB that data offloading is to be performed from the source SeNB to the target SeNB.
wherein the third request message is configured to indicate at least one of: at least one target communication object recommended to be configured that is recommended by the second communication node,[141]- The E-RAB context is a context of E-RABs to be offloaded. Further, the offloading request message may include an offloading indication which indicates that this handover procedure is for data offloading from the source SeNB to the target SeNB
Regarding Claim 20, Lee teaches, The method of claim 14, further comprising at least one of: in response to receiving a third feedback message from at least one third communication node, determining the first feedback message according to the third feedback message sent by the at least one third communication node; and/or [135]- If the target SeNB accepts all of E-RABs requested by the MeNB, the MeNB may inform the UE of the corresponding DRBs. If the target SeNB accepts only a part of E-RABs requested by the MeNB. The acknowledge message may include IDs of E-RABS that the target SeNB can accept.
Regarding Claim 31,Lee teaches, A communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and is configured to control the transceiver to receive and transmit wireless signals and to implement at least one of:
sending a first request message for mobility management to a second communication node; [135]- MeNB may deliver messages required for the handover procedure between a source SeNB and a target SeNBMore specifically, according to an embodiment of the present invention, the MeNB may transmit a request message for handover to the target SeNB.
receiving a first feedback message for the mobility management from the second communication node; [56]- transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.
wherein at least one target communication object indicated by the first request message is at least one of a target communication object recommended to be configured or a target communication object not recommended to be configured; [56]- The method includes upon receiving a measurement report, performing a handover decision from a source secondary eNB (SeNB) to a target SeNB, transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.[57]- The method includes receiving an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs)(= target communication object) to be offloaded
or a target communication object not recommended to be configured; [57]- from a master eNB (MeNB) in dual connectivity, performing an admission control, transmitting an offloading request acknowledge message,
at least one target communication object indicated by the first feedback message is at least one of a target communication object configured already or a target communication object rejected to be configured. .[56]- The method includes upon receiving a measurement report, performing a handover decision from a source secondary eNB (SeNB) to a target SeNB, transmitting an offloading request message, which includes contexts of E-UTRAN radio access bearers (E-RABs) to be offloaded and an offloading indication.
Lee does not specifically teach sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node
Zhou teaches, sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node[17]- performed by a source node, the source node is connected with a user terminal, and the method includes: sending handover request information to a core network; wherein the handover request information is configured to request to handover the user terminal to a target master node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee , sending a first request message for mobility management performed by a first communication node as taught by Zhou to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 32, Lee teaches, A communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and is configured to control the transceiver to receive and transmit wireless signals and to implement the method described in claim 14, by executing computer executable instructions on the memory [135]- MeNB may deliver messages required for the handover procedure between a source SeNB and a target SeNBMore specifically, according to an embodiment of the present invention, the MeNB may transmit a request message for handover to the target SeNB.
Regarding Claim 34, Lee teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the first feedback message comprises at least one of: a handover request acknowledge message, a secondary node (SN) addition request acknowledge message, an SN modification request acknowledge message, or an SN change confirm message;[114]- The handover request acknowledge message includes a transparent container to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the handover.
wherein the handover request acknowledge message is sent by a target next generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node to a source NG-RAN node, [114]- The target eNB prepares HO with L1/L2 and sends the handover request acknowledge to the source eNB
the handover request acknowledge message is configured to inform the source NG-RAN node about prepared resources at the target NG-RAN node, and [114]- The handover request acknowledge message includes a transparent container to be sent to the UE as an RRC message to perform the handover.
a transmission direction is from the target NG- RAN node to the source NG-RAN node.[115]- As soon as the source eNB receives the handover request acknowledge.
Claim 10-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee et al. (US20160135103A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US20230063126A1) in further view of Zhu et al. (US20210337449A1)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee in view of Zhou does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the target communication object comprises at least one of: a target node; a target cell; or a target cell group
Zhu teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the target communication object comprises at least one of: a target node; a target cell; or a target cell group.[10]- wherein the secondary cell modification message includes identification information for a set of target primary secondary cell group cells (PSCell or Primary SCG cell) for a conditional PSCell change (CPC) of the UE from a current primary SCG
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Zhou , The method of claim 1, wherein the target communication object comprises at least one of: a target node; a target cell; or a target cell group as taught by Zhu to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee in view of Zhou does not teach, The method of claim 10, wherein in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell; in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell group, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell group
Zhu teaches, The method of claim 10, wherein in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell; in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell group, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell group.[22]- FIG. 5 is a message flow diagram of a method of wireless communications to avoid CPC and CHO conflicts according to aspects described herein.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Zhou , The method of claim 10, wherein in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell; in response to the target communication object comprising the target node and the target cell group, the first request message is further configured to indicate a correspondence between the target node and the target cell group as taught by Zhu to use source node messaging for handover.
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches, The method of claim 10, wherein at least one of following is satisfied: the target node comprises comprising at least one of a target master node (MN) or a target secondary node (SN); or, [136]- Further, according to an embodiment of the present invention, during a handover procedure from the source SeNB to the target SeNB, the MeNB may inform the source SeNB that data offloading is to be performed from the source SeNB to the target SeNB
Regarding Claim 13, Lee in view of Zhou does not teach, The method of claim 1 ,wherein the mobility management comprises, but is not limited to, at least one of: selective activation of cell groups; or a condition-triggered mobility management, wherein the condition-triggered mobility management comprises at least one of: conditional handover (CHO), conditional PSCell change (CPC), conditional PSCell addition (CPA), CHO with candidate SCG(s), or CHO with candidate PSCell(s)
Zhu teaches, The method of claim 1 ,wherein the mobility management comprises, but is not limited to, at least one of: selective activation of cell groups; or a condition-triggered mobility management, wherein the condition-triggered mobility management comprises at least one of: conditional handover (CHO), conditional PSCell change (CPC), conditional PSCell addition (CPA), CHO with candidate SCG(s), or CHO with candidate PSCell(s).[36]- CHO (conditional handover) may collide with CPC (conditional primary SCG cell (PSCell) change).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lee in view of Zhou , The method of claim 1 ,wherein the mobility management comprises, but is not limited to, at least one of: selective activation of cell groups; or a condition-triggered mobility management, wherein the condition-triggered mobility management comprises at least one of: conditional handover (CHO), conditional PSCell change (CPC), conditional PSCell addition (CPA), CHO with candidate SCG(s), or CHO with candidate PSCell(s) as taught by Zhu to use source node messaging for handover.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478