DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32-33, 38-40, 44-45, 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2025/0063157 and hereafter referred to as “Chen”).
Regarding 32, Chen discloses a device for video decoding, comprising:
a processor (Page 15, paragraph 0200, Page 9, paragraph 0114, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161) configured to:
obtain a video block comprising an intra-prediction portion and an inter-prediction portion (Page 11, paragraph 0148 – geometric partitioning mode can have both intra and inter for partitions and they are determined by flag);
obtain a reference block in a reference picture of the video block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
determine an intra-prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block based on one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
predict the intra-prediction portion of the video block using the intra-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148);
predict the inter-prediction portion using an inter-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148); and
decode the video block based on the intra-prediction portion and the inter-prediction portion of the video block (Figure 8, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161).
Regarding Claim 39, Chen discloses a device for video encoding, comprising:
a processor (Page 15, paragraph 0200, Page 9, paragraph 0114, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161) configured to:
obtain a video block comprising an intra-prediction portion and an inter-prediction portion (Page 11, paragraph 0148 – geometric partitioning mode can have both intra and inter for partitions and they are determined by flag);
obtain a reference block in a reference picture of the video block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
determine an intra-prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block based on one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
predict the intra-prediction portion of the video block using the intra-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148);
predict the inter-prediction portion using an inter-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148); and
encode the video block based on the intra-prediction portion and the inter-prediction portion of the video block (Figure 7, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161).
Regarding 44, Chen discloses a method for video decoding, comprising:
obtaining a video block comprising an intra-prediction portion and an inter-prediction portion (Page 11, paragraph 0148 – geometric partitioning mode can have both intra and inter for partitions and they are determined by flag);
obtaining a reference block in a reference picture of the video block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
determining an intra-prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block based on one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
predicting the intra-prediction portion of the video block using the intra-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148);
predicting the inter-prediction portion using an inter-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148); and
decoding the video block based on the intra-prediction portion and the inter-prediction portion of the video block (Figure 8, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161).
Regarding Claim 48, Chen discloses a method for video encoding, comprising:
obtaining a video block comprising an intra-prediction portion and an inter-prediction portion (Page 11, paragraph 0148 – geometric partitioning mode can have both intra and inter for partitions and they are determined by flag);
obtaining a reference block in a reference picture of the video block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
determining an intra-prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block based on one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block (Page 12, paragraph 0160);
predicting the intra-prediction portion of the video block using the intra-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148);
predicting the inter-prediction portion using an inter-prediction mode (Page 11, paragraph 0148); and
encoding the video block based on the intra-prediction portion and the inter-prediction portion of the video block (Figure 7, Page 12-13, paragraph 0161).
Regarding Claim 33, 40, 45 and 49, Chen discloses all the limitations of Claims 32, 39, 44 and 48 respectively. Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine that geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is enabled for the video block, and wherein the intra-prediction portion and the inter-prediction portion are associated with GPM (Page 11, paragraph 0148).
Regarding Claim 38, Chen discloses all the limitations of Claims 32. Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication associated with an intra prediction of the video block, wherein the indication indicates that the intra- prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block is to be determined based on the one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block, and wherein the intra-prediction mode for the intra-prediction portion of the video block is determined based on the indication (Page 11, paragraph 0148).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Lim et al (US 2022/0166998 and hereafter referred to as “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 36 and 43, Chen discloses all the limitations of Claims 32 and 39 respectively. Chen discloses wherein the one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block comprises an intra- prediction mode associated with a reference block (paragraph 0160). Chen discloses reference samples but does not explicitly disclose the reference block comprises a reference sample, and wherein the one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block comprises an intra- prediction mode associated with the reference sample. Lim discloses the reference block comprises a reference sample, and wherein the one or more intra-prediction modes associated with the reference block comprises an intra- prediction mode associated with the reference sample (paragraph 0782, 00227, 0260). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen to include the missing limitation as taught by Lim in order to improved coding efficiency (paragraph 0005) as disclosed by Lim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-35, 37, 41-42, 46-47, 50-51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
January 23, 2026