2. This Office action is in response to Applicant’s remarks received on December 11, 2025.
3. Claims 33-52 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant contends that “Sole and Alshina do not teach or suggest at least obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, and an error associated with the first binarization symbol, wherein the error indicates an inconsistency between the value associated with the first binarization symbol and the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, as claimed”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sole Rojals discloses a method and system for video encoding and decoding. With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data. As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession using a same probability model (e.g., probability model A). In this example, after coding a given one of the bins, the probability model must be updated based on a value of the bin before the probability model can be used to code any subsequent bins. Updating the probability model allows the model to reflect the most current probabilities of a bin coded using the model having a given value. Further, rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block. As shown in Figure 11, video decoder 30 may decode BIN(1) 324, BIN(2) 326, BIN(3) 328 based on previous BIN probability and context value [See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34, 35, 39-65, 87-88, 163, 170-188]. Accordingly, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding the next block are updated based on stored probabilities and values of previous bins. Therefore, coding the next binarization symbol depends on updated probability that is also based on stored probabilities.
Further on, Alshina discloses that in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1. In an updating process with respect to a probability which is performed by using Equation 1, an important parameter is a scaling factor 1/W. Thus, in order to update a probability, the context modeler 720 according to an embodiment generates a plurality of updated probabilities by using a first probability model and a second probability model having different scaling factors, and determines a finally-updated probability by using respective probabilities updated using the first probability model and the second probability model. In other words, the first probability model and the second probability model may have different window sizes. Further, in Figure 10, the regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010. As described above, because a binary value indicating a representative value of a predetermined probability range is transmitted as an encoded symbol according to a binary arithmetic coding result, the regular decoder 1020 may decode encoded symbols by using occurrence probabilities of 0 and 1. The context modeler 1010 updates the probability of the predetermined binary value by using a plurality of scaling factors, based on the binary value of the decoded encoding symbol. [See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-121, 125-134].
Accordingly, Sole Rojals and Alshina disclose methods for updating probabilities by looking at differences, errors or inconsistencies between previous probabilities and binary values of the symbols.
Therefore, the Office respectfully stands their position that the cited prior art meet with the contended limitations.
All remaining arguments are dependent on the aforementioned arguments and are therefore deemed unpersuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 11, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 33-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sole Rojals et al.(US 2012/0328026 A1)(hereinafter Sole Rojals) in view of ALSHINA et al.(US 2021/0258579 A1)(hereinafter Alshina).
Regarding claims 33 and 45, Sole Rojals discloses a device for video decoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1 and par. 67 regarding video encoding and decoding system 10] and a method for video decoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1, 3, 8-12 and par. 6-15, 34-35 regarding method for video encoding and decoding system 10], comprising:
a processor [See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1 and par. 10, 12, 14, 67, 93 regarding Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. ] configured to:
obtain / obtaining a value for a first binarization symbol associated with video data [See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…(Thus, a first bin of a block of video is obtain)];
obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with the first binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-49, 64-65, 178 regarding As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession using a same probability model (e.g., probability model A)… In this example, after coding a given one of the bins, the probability model must be updated based on a value of the bin before the probability model can be used to code any subsequent bins. Updating the probability model allows the model to reflect the most current probabilities of a bin coded using the model having a given value…]; and
obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block… Also in Fig. 11, video decoder 30 may decode BIN(1) 324, BIN(2) 326, BIN(3) 328 based on previous BIN probability and context value…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding the next block are updated based on stored probabilities)].
Sole Rojals does not explicitly disclose obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, and an error associated with the first binarization symbol, wherein the error indicates an inconsistency between the value associated with the first binarization symbol and the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol.
However, obtaining a probability value for a second binarization symbol based on an error associated with inconsistency or difference between the first binarization symbol and the associated probability value was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from Alshina[See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sole Rojals with Alshina teachings by including “obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, and an error associated with the first binarization symbol, wherein the error indicates an inconsistency between the value associated with the first binarization symbol and the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol” because this combination has the benefit of providing an alternate probability estimation for a second binarization symbol and to efficiently perform entropy coding[See Alshina: at least par. 2-4, 21, 105-117, 130-134].
Further on, when combined, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach decode / decoding the video data based on the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 3, 8-12, par. 39-65, 89-91, 108-116, 152-153, 159, 163, 170-188 regarding a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data. For example, at the encoder, a target symbol may be coded by using the probability model. At the decoder, a target symbol may be parsed by using the probability model. Context may relate to, for example, whether values are zero or non-zero for symbols neighboring a symbol currently being coded…See Alshina: at least Figs. 2, 7-11, par. 124-134 regarding. The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010. As described above, because a binary value indicating a representative value of a predetermined probability range is transmitted as an encoded symbol according to a binary arithmetic coding result, the regular decoder 1020 may decode encoded symbols by using occurrence probabilities of 0 and 1... The de-binarizer 1040 reconstructs bin strings to syntax elements, the bin strings having been reconstructed by the regular decoder 1020 or the bypass decoder 1030…Also, see steps S1120 and S1130 in Fig. 11…].
Regarding claims 40 and 50, Sole Rojals discloses a device for video encoding [See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1 and par. 67 regarding video encoding and decoding system 10] and a method for video encoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1, 3, 8-12 and par. 6-15, 34-35 regarding method for video encoding and decoding system 10], comprising:
a processor [See Sole Rojals: at least Fig. 1 and par. 10, 12, 14, 67, 93 regarding Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. ] configured to:
obtain / obtaining a value for a first binarization symbol associated with video data[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…(Thus, a first bin of a block of video is obtain)];
obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with the first binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-49, 64-65, 178 regarding As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession using a same probability model (e.g., probability model A)… In this example, after coding a given one of the bins, the probability model must be updated based on a value of the bin before the probability model can be used to code any subsequent bins. Updating the probability model allows the model to reflect the most current probabilities of a bin coded using the model having a given value…]; and
obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block… Also in Fig. 11, video decoder 30 may decode BIN(1) 324, BIN(2) 326, BIN(3) 328 based on previous BIN probability and context value…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding the next block are updated based on stored probabilities)].
Sole Rojals does not explicitly disclose obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, and an error associated with the first binarization symbol, wherein the error indicates an inconsistency between the value associated with the first binarization symbol and the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol.
However, obtaining a probability value for a second binarization symbol based on an error associated with inconsistency or difference between the first binarization symbol and the associated probability value was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from Alshina[See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sole Rojals with Alshina teachings by including “obtain / obtaining a probability value associated with a second binarization symbol associated with the video data based on the value associated with the first binarization symbol, the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol, and an error associated with the first binarization symbol, wherein the error indicates an inconsistency between the value associated with the first binarization symbol and the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol” because this combination has the benefit of providing an alternate probability estimation for a second binarization symbol and to efficiently perform entropy coding[See Alshina: at least par. 2-4, 21, 105-117, 130-134].
Further on, when combined, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach encode / encoding the video data based on the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 2, 8-12, par. 39-65, 89-91, 108-116, 152-153, 159, 163, 170-188 regarding a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data. For example, at the encoder, a target symbol may be coded by using the probability model. At the decoder, a target symbol may be parsed by using the probability model. Context may relate to, for example, whether values are zero or non-zero for symbols neighboring a symbol currently being coded…See Alshina: at least Figs. 1, 7-11, par. 63-65, 98, 102-104 regarding The context modeler 720 provides a probability model with respect to a current encoding symbol to the regular coding engine 732. In more detail, the context modeler 720 determines a probability of a predetermined binary value, based on previously-encoded symbols, and outputs, to the binary arithmetic coder 730, an occurrence probability of a binary value for encoding a binary value of the current encoding symbol.].
Regarding claims 34, 41, 46 and 51, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claims 33, 40, 45 and 50, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the processor is further configured to obtain / further comprising obtaining a value for a third binarization symbol associated with the video data[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…(Thus, second and third bins can be obtain). See Alshina: at least Fig. 10 and par. 125-126 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010. As described above, because a binary value indicating a representative value of a predetermined probability range is transmitted as an encoded symbol according to a binary arithmetic coding result, the regular decoder 1020 may decode encoded symbols by using occurrence probabilities of 0 and 1…]; and the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol is obtained further based on the value for the third binarization symbol associated with the video data[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding subsequent blocks are updated based on stored probabilities and values of previous bins). See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Regarding claims 35, 42, 47 and 52, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claims 33, 40, 45 and 50, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the first and second binarization symbols are associated with a context for entropy decoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…See Alshina: at least Figs. 10-11, par. 125-126 , 131-133 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010...], the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol is a context probability value associated with the context, and the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol is an updated context probability value associated with the context[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding subsequent blocks are updated based on stored probabilities and values of previous bins). See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Regarding claims 36, 43, and 48, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claims 33, 40 and 45, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the processor is configured to obtain / further comprising obtaining a respective value for each of a predetermined number of consecutive binarization symbols comprising the first binarization symbol[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…See Alshina: at least Figs. 10-11, par. 125-126 , 131-133 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010...], and wherein the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol is obtained based on the respective value for each of the predetermined number of consecutive binarization symbols[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding subsequent blocks are updated based on stored probabilities and values of previous bins). See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Regarding claims 37, 44, and 49, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claims 33, 40 and 45, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the first binarization symbol is associated with a context for entropy decoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…See Alshina: at least Figs. 10-11, par. 125-126 , 131-133 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010...]., wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain / wherein the method comprises: obtaining a window size associated with the context, wherein the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol is obtained further based on the window size[See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…].
Regarding claim 38, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claim 33, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the first and second binarization symbols are associated with an entropy decoding context for decoding the video data using context-based adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC) [See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…See Alshina: at least Figs. 10-11, par. 125-126 , 131-133 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010...].
Regarding claim 39, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach all of the limitations of claim 33, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim. Further on, Sole Rojals and Alshina teach or suggest wherein the first and second binarization symbols are associated with a context for entropy decoding[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 8-12, par. 34-35, 44, 64-65, 87-88, 163 regarding With respect to (CABAC) as an example, a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data…As one example, a sequence of bins (e.g., bin(0), bin(1), . . . bin(n)) of a block of video data may be coded in succession…See Alshina: at least Figs. 10-11, par. 125-126 , 131-133 regarding The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010...], the probability value associated with the first binarization symbol is a first context probability value associated with the context, the probability value associated with the second binarization symbol is an updated context probability value associated with the context[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 10-12, par. 35, 39-65, 170-188 regarding rather than updating context for coding each bin, the video coder may store probability statistics for the probabilities associated with each context to memory for the block of video data. Accordingly, the probability for coding each bin of a block is not changed, and there is no dependency on an updated probability within the block loop. Following coding of a block, the stored probabilities (e.g., the state of context) that were updated during coding of the block is set to the current probabilities for the next block. In this way, instead of updating the context probability after each bin, the probability models for the contexts that were used in coding of bins for the current block are updated once at the end of the current block…(Thus, when coding bins within a block, probabilities are updated and stored, but updated probabilities are not changed during coding; then probabilities used for coding subsequent blocks are updated based on stored probabilities and values of previous bins). See Alshina: at least Figs. 7-11, par. 105-117, 130-134 regarding in CABAC, a probability update is performed by using Equation 1:
P
_
_
n
e
w
=
y
W
+
1
-
1
W
P
_
_
o
l
d
. In Equation 1, P_new indicates a probability of an updated LPS, P_old indicates a probability of an LPS used in performing arithmetic coding on a current encoding symbol, and W (where W is an integer) indicates the number of previously-encoded symbols and is referred to as a window size. 1/W is a scaling factor, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an MPS, y has a value of 0, and when the current encoding symbol has a binary value corresponding to a value of an LPS, y has a value of 1…], and the processor is configured to: entropy decode a respective value for each of a first predetermined number of consecutive binarization symbols comprising the first binarization symbol; and entropy decode a second predetermined number of consecutive binarization symbols based on the updated context probability value associated with the context[See Sole Rojals: at least Figs. 3, 8-12, par. 39-65, 89-91, 108-116, 152-153, 159, 163, 170-188 regarding a video coder (video encoder and/or video decoder) may select a probability model or "context model" that operates on context to code symbols associated with a block of video data. For example, at the encoder, a target symbol may be coded by using the probability model. At the decoder, a target symbol may be parsed by using the probability model. Context may relate to, for example, whether values are zero or non-zero for symbols neighboring a symbol currently being coded…In Fig. 3, entropy decoding unit 130 may decode a bin of a block of video data using a probability model that is updated prior to coding a previous bin of the block. That is, entropy decoding unit 130 may update a probability model at least two coding iterations, or cycles, prior to decoding a current bin. Accordingly, entropy decoding unit 130 may avoid delays that result from updating a probability model after decoding a bin using the model, when multiple consecutive bins are decoded using the model…See Alshina: at least Figs. 2, 7-11, par. 124-134 regarding. The regular decoder 1020 performs arithmetic decoding on a binary value of a current encoding symbol by using a probability of a predetermined binary value determined based on previously-encoded symbols that were decoded prior to the current encoding symbol provided by the context modeler 1010. As described above, because a binary value indicating a representative value of a predetermined probability range is transmitted as an encoded symbol according to a binary arithmetic coding result, the regular decoder 1020 may decode encoded symbols by using occurrence probabilities of 0 and 1... The de-binarizer 1040 reconstructs bin strings to syntax elements, the bin strings having been reconstructed by the regular decoder 1020 or the bypass decoder 1030…Also, see steps S1120 and S1130 in Fig. 11 for the entropy decoding method…].
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482