DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on October 8, 2024, October 24, 2025, and July 9, 2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed on October 8, 2024 . Claims 1-16 cancelled. Claims 17-36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), and in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”).
Regarding Claim 17, Dong teaches a method performed by a network device, “The method for cell reselection in FIG. 3 can be applicable to a network device. Of course, it can also be applicable to other devices that can execute the following related methods.” [Col. 5, lines 31-34], and “Further, the network device involved in the disclosure may also be referred to as a wireless access network device. The wireless access network device may be a base station, an evolved base station (evolved node B), a home base station, an access point (AP) in a wireless fidelity (WIFI) system, a wireless relay node, a wireless backhaul node, a transmission point (TP), a transmission and reception point (TRP), a gNB in an NR system, or a component or part of a device constituting the base station. When it is a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2X) communication system, the network device may also be a vehicle-mounted device. In embodiments of the disclosure, the specific technology and specific device form adopted by the network device are not limited.” [Col. 3, lines 15-27]
transmitting, to the UE, non-terrestrial network, NTN, cell-related assistance information, “The network device sends the cell reference location information to the terminal.” [Col. 5, lines 59-60], and “The terminal obtains the reference distance thresh old of the cell based on the system broadcast message of the serving cell and/or neighboring cell.” [Col. 5, lines 42-44], and also expressly identifies the disclosed network as an NTN, “A network characteristic of the NTN network is a larger cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 21-22]
including attributes defining one or more NTN cells including a serving cell of the UE, “the cell corresponding to the reference distance threshold and the actual distance may be a serving cell of the terminal or a neighboring cell of the terminal, which may also be understood as a candidate cell in the candidate list for cell reselection.” [Col. 5, lines 4-8], and further “The terminal obtains the reference distance thresh old of the cell based on the system broadcast message of the serving cell and/or neighboring cell.” [Col. 5, lines 42-44]
the serving cell of the UE projected onto a certain geographical area, ““A network characteristic of the NTN network is a larger cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 21-22], and further “the actual coverage distance of the cell is characterized by the cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 52-54], and also determining “the actual distance between the terminal and the center of the cell.” [Col. 4, lines 56-57]
a reference location of the serving cell, “A network device provides a terminal with reference location information of a cell, and the reference location information is configured to determine a reference distance threshold of the cell.” [Col. 4, lines 40-43], and further “The reference distance threshold can be determined based on cell reference location information provided by the NTN network to the terminal.” [Col. 5, lines 9-11], and additionally “The reference location information of the cell can be defined by the network device through a system broadcast message.” [Col. 5, lines 11-13], and also teaches that the relevant cell may be the serving cell “the cell corresponding to the reference distance threshold and the actual distance may be a serving cell of the terminal” [Col. 5, lines 4-6]
a radius of the serving cell, “A network characteristic of the NTN network is a larger cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 21-22], and further “The reference distance threshold provided by the network is usually smaller than the actual coverage distance of the cell, where the actual coverage distance of the cell is characterized by the cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 51-54], and also expressly applies its distance information to the serving cell “the cell corresponding to the reference distance threshold and the actual distance may be a serving cell of the terminal” [Col. 5, lines 4-6]
However, Dong does not explicitly teach the method being performed for paging a user equipment, UE.
Nuggehalli teaches an NTN architecture including a network device and a UE, the method being performed for paging a user equipment, UE, “FIG. 2 illustrates an NTN architecture 200 of a wireless communication system, according to an embodiment. The NTN architecture 200 includes a CN 202, a satellite gateway 204, a satellite base station 206, and a UE 208.” [Col. 3, lines 20-23], and further teaches paging the UE “In some embodiments of the method 700 the RRC release message indicates a time at which a RAN of the base station intends to resume RAN paging.” [Col. 14, lines 46-48], and also “In some embodiments of the method 700 including the forwarding 708, the assistance information from the RRC message indicates that the CN should resume paging after an interruption duration determined by the CN.” [Col. 14, lines 61-64]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Dong’s serving-cell reference-location and cell-radius information in Nuggehalli’s NTN paging system so that the network could determine the geographical serving-cell area in which the UE is expected to be reachable and direct or resume paging based on that serving-cell geographical information. Dong expressly teaches providing the terminal with serving-cell location and distance information in an NTN, while Nuggehalli teaches paging a UE in an NTN having discontinuous and geographical varying satellite coverage. The combination would predictably improve paging efficiency by allowing paging operations to account for the UE’s serving-cell coverage area.
Regarding Claim 35, Nuggehalli teaches a network entity communicating with a user equipment, UE, via a non-terrestrial network, NTN, “FIG. 2 illustrates an NTN architecture 200 of a wireless communication system, according to an embodiment. The NTN architecture 200 includes a CN 202, a satellite gateway 204, a satellite base station 206, and a UE 208.” [Col. 3, lines 20-23] , and “The RAN device 918 may be, for example, a base station (e.g., an eNB or a 55 gNB) of a wireless communication system that is a terrestrial base station or a satellite base station.” [Col. 17, lines 54-56]
a processor, “The RAN device 918 may include one or more processor(s) 920. The processor(s) 920 may execute instructions such that various operations of the RAN device 918 are 35 performed, as described herein.” [Col. 19, lines 33-36],
and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the UE, “The RAN device 918 may include one or more transceiver(s) 926 that may include RF transmitter and/or receiver circuitry that use the antenna(s) 928 of the RAN device 918 to facilitate signaling (e.g., the signaling 934) to and/or from the RAN device 918 with other devices (e.g., the wireless device 902) according to corresponding RATs.” [Col. 19, lines 50-55], and “the RAN may send the UE a condition messaging...” [Col. 12, lines 41-42],
However, Nuggehalli does not explicitly NTN cell-related assistance information including attributes defining one or more NTN cells including a serving cell of the UE projected onto a certain geographical area, and a reference location and a radius of the serving cell.
Dong teaches NTN cell-related assistance information including attributes defining one or more NTN cells including a serving cell of the UE projected onto a certain geographical area, and a reference location and a radius of the serving cell, “A network device provides a terminal with reference location information of a cell, and the reference location information is configured to determine a reference distance threshold of the cell.” [Col. 4, lines 40-43], and “The reference distance threshold indicates a distance at which the cell can provide good network services. When an actual distance between the terminal and a center of the cell is less than the reference distance threshold, the cell can provide good network services to the terminal.” [Col. 4, lines 43-48], and “the cell corresponding to the reference distance threshold and the actual distance may be a serving cell of the terminal or a neighboring cell of the terminal, which may also be understood as a candidate cell in the candidate list for cell reselection.” [Col. 5, lines 4-8], and “The network device sends the cell reference location information to the terminal.” Col. 5, lines 59-60]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nuggehali’s NTN network entity to transmit the serving-cell reference location and serving-cell radius information taught by Dong because Dong teaches that such information enables a UE to determine its relationship to the serving cell and its geographical coverage area, thereby improving NTN mobility and coverage management while using Nuggehalli’s NTN communication architecture.
Claims 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), and further in view of Kazmi et al. (WO 2017135871 A1, hereinafter “Kazmi”)
Regarding Claim 18, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 18 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration configuring the UE to monitor paging messages during a paging time window, PTW, while the UE operates in a non-connected state.
Kazmi teaches transmitting, to the UE, a configuration configuring the UE to monitor paging messages during a paging time window, PTW, while the UE operates in a non-connected state, “The UE is configured with a PTW assigned by an MME and provided to the UE via Non- Access Stratum (NAS), for example as described in 3 GPP TS 24.301, vl3.4.0.” [Col. 5, lines 23-24], and “The PTW is assigned by the MME and provided to the UE via NAS during attach and/or tracking area update.” [Col. 6, lines 12-13], and “Currently, 3GPP is defining enhanced-DRX (which may be interchangeably referred to as extended-DRX (eDRX) operation for UEs in CONNECTED mode in LTE and for UEs in IDLE mode in LTE and UMTS Terrestrial Radio Access (UTRA).” [Col. 1, lines 28-30], and “DRX in idle mode may also be referred to as paging DRX (i.e., the time the mobile device can go to sleep between two paging messages that could contain a command for the UE to wake up again and change back to RRC _ CONNECTED state).” [Col. 2, lines 24-26]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN paging management of Dong and Nuggehalli with the PTW configuration technique taught by Kazmi, because Kazmi teaches transmitting a PTW configuration via NAS signaling during attach or tracking area update to configure a UE to monitor paging messages while operating in IDLE mode. Applying the known PTW configuration technique of Kazmi to the NTN paging framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled periodic monitoring of paging messages while reducing UE power consumption.
Regarding Claim 26, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 26 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach further comprising: paging the UE during a pre-configured paging time window, PTW.
Kazmi teaches paging the UE during a pre-configured paging time window, PTW, “the network node transmits paging to the UEs during the paging PTW of the eDRX cycle configured in cells in which the paging is sent.” [Col. 6, lines 32-33], and “network node 115 transmits one or more paging messages to one or more UE 110 in at least a first cell (cell) during a PTW.” [Col. 16, lines 3-4], and “The UE is configured with a PTW assigned by an MME and provided to the UE via Non Access Stratum (NAS)” [Col. 5, lines 22-23]
It would have been obvious to further modify the NTN paging framework of the Dong and Nuggehalli, as combined with the PTW configuration technique of Kazmi for claim 18, to page the UE during the configured PTW, because Kazmi expressly teaches transmitting paging messages during the paging PTW of a configured eDRX cycle. Applying Kazmi’s known PTW-based paging technique to the NTN paging framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably resulted in paging the UE during the pre-configured PTW, consistent with the established PTW configuration already incorporated into the combined system.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 11863291 B2, hereinafter “Hwang”)
Regarding Claim 19, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 19 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach wherein the NTN cell-related assistance information indicates when the serving cell stops serving the certain geographical area.
Hwang teaches wherein the NTN cell-related assistance information indicates when the serving cell stops serving the certain geographical area, “receiving, from the NTN satellite, information on service time of a serving cell” [Col. 32, lines 2-3], and “wherein the information on the service time includes information on when the serving cell is going to stop serving the targeted service area” [Col. 32, lines 8-11]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN cell-related assistance information of Dong and Nuggehalli with the service-time information taught by Hwang, because Hwang teaches providing information indicating when a serving cell is going to stop serving a targeted service area. Applying the known service-time indication of Hwang to the NTN assistance-information framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled a UE to anticipate the end of serving-cell coverage and mange NTN coverage transitions.
Claims 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”)
Regarding Claim 20, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 20 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach wherein the NTN cell-related assistance information includes attributes of a neighbor NTN cell projected onto the certain geographical area, the neighbor NTN cell being served via a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides a quasi-Earth-fixed service link.
Huang teaches wherein the NTN cell-related assistance information includes attributes of a neighbor NTN cell projected onto the certain geographical area, the neighbor NTN cell being served via a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides a quasi-Earth-fixed service link, “The serving cell(s) (and/or neighbor cell(s)) may be of a specific NTN type (or platform type), e.g., LEO, MEO, GEO, NGEO, HAPS.” [Col. 109, lines 19-21], and “The serving cell(s) (and/or neighbor cell(s)) may be of a specific beam type, e.g., earth moving, earth fixed, quasi earth fixed (e.g., the beam is temporarily fixed at a location during a time period and is temporarily fixed at another location during another time period).” [Col. 109, lines 22-26], and “it was agreed by RAN2 that, for quasi-earth fixed cells, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information” [Col. 111, lines 42-45], and “cell reference location of a quasi-earth fixed cell (e.g., a serving cell, a neighbor cell associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE, and/or a neighbor cell not associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE)” [Col. 114, lines 38-42]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN cell-related assistance information of Dong and Nuggehalli with the neighbor-cell NTN type and quasi-Earth-fixed beam-type teachings of Huang, because Huang teaches broadcasting reference-location information for serving and neighbor quasi-Earth-fixed cells and characterizing those cells by NTN platform and beam type. Applying the known neighbor-cell characterization of Huang to the NTN assistance-information framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled transmission of assistance information identifying neighbor NTN cells within the geographic-cell framework already established by Dong and Nuggehalli.
Regarding Claim 23, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 23 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach wherein the network device is a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides a quasi-Earth-fixed service link.
Huang teaches wherein the network device is a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides a quasi-Earth-fixed service link, “The serving cell(s) (and/or neighbor cell(s)) may be of a specific NTN type (or platform type), e.g., LEO, MEO, GEO, NGEO, HAPS.” [Col. 109, lines 19-21], and “The serving cell(s) (and/or neighbor cell(s)) may be of a specific beam type, e.g., earth moving, earth fixed, quasi earth fixed (e.g., the beam is temporarily fixed at a location during a time period and is temporarily fixed at another location during another time period).” [Col. 109, lines 22-26]
It would have been obvious to implement the NTN assistance-information transmission of Dong and Nuggehalli using the NGSO platform and quasi-Earth-fixed beam configuration taught by Huang, because Huang teaches that NTN serving cells may be provided by NGSO platform types and may employ quasi-Earth-fixed beam types. Applying the known NGSO quasi-Earth-fixed implementation of Huang to the NTN assistance-information framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled the network device to operate as an NGSO satellite providing a quasi-Earth-fixed service link.
Regarding Claim 24, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 24 as recited above in the rejection of claim 17. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting of the NTN cell-related assistance information includes broadcasting a system information block, SIB.
Huang teaches wherein the transmitting of the NTN cell-related assistance information includes broadcasting a system information block, SIB, “The assistance information may be provided in system information” [Col. 106, lines 5-6], and “The UE may receive the assistance information from the network node (e.g., in system information and/or a RRC message).” [Col. 105, lines 25-27], and “In addition, it was agreed by RAN2 that, for quasi-earth fixed cells, the reference location of the cell (serving cell or the neighbor cells) is broadcast in system information” [Col. 111, lines 42-45], and “The validity duration may be included in the same SIB as the satellite ephemeris. The validity duration may be included in the same SIB as the cell reference location.” [Col. 114, lines 50-52]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN cell-related assistance-information transmission of Dong and Nuggehalli to be carried in a System Information Block as taught by Huang, because Huang teaches providing NTN assistance information in system information, broadcasting cell reference location for quasi-Earth-fixed serving and neighbor cells in system information, and including related NTN information in a SIB. Applying Huang’s known SIB-broadcast technique to the NTN cell-related assistance-information framework of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled broadcast delivery of the NTN cell-related assistance information in a System Information Block.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”), and further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”)
Regarding Claim 21, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang disclose the limitations of claim 21 as recited above in the rejection of claim 20. However, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the attributes of the neighbor NTN cell include a neighbor-cell central coordinate and a neighbor cell radius.
Cheema teaches wherein the attributes of the neighbor NTN cell include a neighbor-cell central coordinate and a neighbor cell radius, “In various embodiments, the beam coverage area coordinates comprise: a center coordinate and a radius value associated with the at least one beam; a first focus, a second focus, and a vertex, a covertex, or a combination thereof associated with the at least one beam; or a combination thereof.” [Col. 24, lines 45-50], and “In various embodiments: the request message further comprises a third indication, wherein the third indication indicates whether to include, in the response message, a plurality of signal strengths associated with a plurality of neighboring beams; and the 45 response message comprises the plurality of signal strengths associated with the plurality of neighboring beams.” [Col. 23, lines 41-47], and “In one embodiment, the non-terrestrial station determines the plurality of neighboring beams with respect to the serving beam.” [Col. 23, lines 48-50]
It would have been obvious to modify the neighboring NTN cell information of Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang, as combined of Claim 20, to further include a neighbor-cell central coordinate and a neighbor-cell radius as taught by Cheema, because Cheema teaches describing beam coverage areas using a center coordinate and a radius and further teaches identifying neighboring beams relative to a serving beam. Applying Cheema’s known beam-coverage characterization to the neighboring NTN cell already established via Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang would have predictably improved the accuracy of neighboring-cell information used by the UE.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”), and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 11863291 B2, hereinafter “Hwang”)
Regarding Claim 22, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang disclose the limitations of claim 22 as recited above in the rejection of claim 20. However, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the attributes of the neighbor NTN cell include a start time when the neighbor cell starts serving the certain geographical area and a stop time when the neighbor cell no longer serves the certain geographical area.
Hwang teaches wherein the attributes of the neighbor NTN cell include a start time when the neighbor cell starts serving the certain geographical area and a stop time when the neighbor cell no longer serves the certain geographical area, “Time information (e.g., service time) may indicate service start time and end time based on UTC time or timer. The time information may be provided to UE.” [Col. 25, lines 49-52], and “The UE may receive, from the NTN satellite, information on service time of a neighbor cell.” [Col. 29, lines 16-17], and “The remaining service time may be the difference time to stop serving the area and current time.” [Col. 26, lines 1-2], and “The UE may receive, from the NTN satellite, information on service time of a neighbor cell.” [Col. 29, lines 16-17]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN cell-related assistance information of Nuggehalli and Dong, as combined with Huang for claim 20, to additionally include neighbor-cell service-time information as taught by Hwang teaches transmitting service-time information for neighbor cells, including service start time and service end time, to enable efficient neighbor-cell measurement and coverage management in a NTN. Applying Hwang’s known neighbor-cell service-time information to the assistance-information framework of Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang would have predictably enabled the UE to determine when a neighbor NTN cell begins serving and when it ceases serving the geographical area, consistent with the NTN coverage-management techniques already employed by the combined references.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”), and further in view of Gordaychik (US 20190363843 A1, hereinafter “Gordaychik”)
Regarding Claim 25, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang disclose the limitations of claim 25 as recited above in the rejection of claim 24. However, Dong, Nuggehalli , and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the SIB is an SIB type 32, SIB32.
Gordaychik teaches the SIB is an SIB type 32, SIB32, “A UE may support a capability for employing measurement gaps for computing CQI if necessary. A UE may receive next generation system information blocks including one or more of a System Information Block Type 23; System Information Block Type 24; System Information Block Type 25; System Information Block Type 26; System Information Block Type 27; System Information Block Type 28; System Information Block Type 29; System Information Block Type 30; System Information Block Type 31; System Information Block Type 32; System Information Block Type 33” [0078]
It would have been obvious to configure the SIB of the combined system as SIB Type 32 (SIB32) as taught by Gordaychik, because Gordaychik teaches that SIB32 is one of the recognized system information block types used in next-generation wireless systems. Applying the known SIB32 designation to the SIB of the combined system would have been a predictable implementation choice to organize and broadcast the required satellite-related system information in accordance with standardized system information block formats.
Claims 27 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), and further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”)
Regarding Claim 27, Dong teaches a method performed by a network device, “The method for cell reselection in FIG. 3 can be applicable to a network device. Of course, it can also be applicable to other devices that can execute the following related methods.” [Col. 5, lines 31-34], and “Further, the network device involved in the disclosure may also be referred to as a wireless access network device. The wireless access network device may be a base station, an evolved base station (evolved node B), a home base station, an access point (AP) in a wireless fidelity (WIFI) system, a wireless relay node, a wireless backhaul node, a transmission point (TP), a transmission and reception point (TRP), a gNB in an NR system, or a component or part of a device constituting the base station. When it is a vehicle-to-vehicle (V2X) communication system, the network device may also be a vehicle-mounted device. In embodiments of the disclosure, the specific technology and specific device form adopted by the network device are not limited.” [Col. 3, lines 15-27]
transmitting, to the UE, satellite-related assistance information, “The network device sends the cell reference location information to the terminal.” [Col. 5, lines 59-60], and “The terminal obtains the reference distance thresh old of the cell based on the system broadcast message of the serving cell and/or neighboring cell.” [Col. 5, lines 42-44], and also expressly identifies the disclosed network as an NTN, “A network characteristic of the NTN network is a larger cell radius.” [Col. 4, lines 21-22]
However, Dong does not explicitly teach the method being performed for paging a user equipment, UE and the network device being a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides an Earth-moving service link.
Nuggehalli teaches an NTN architecture including a network device and a UE, the method being performed for paging a user equipment, UE, “FIG. 2 illustrates an NTN architecture 200 of a wireless communication system, according to an embodiment. The NTN architecture 200 includes a CN 202, a satellite gateway 204, a satellite base station 206, and a UE 208.” [Col. 3, lines 20-23], and further teaches paging the UE “In some embodiments of the method 700 the RRC release message indicates a time at which a RAN of the base station intends to resume RAN paging.” [Col. 14, lines 46-48], and also “In some embodiments of the method 700 including the forwarding 708, the assistance information from the RRC message indicates that the CN should resume paging after an interruption duration determined by the CN.” [Col. 14, lines 61-64]
the network device being a non-geosynchronous, NGSO, satellite that provides an Earth-moving service link, “The NTN architecture 100 implements a “regenerative” satellite based architecture. In such regenerative systems, the functionalities of a base station are sited on the satellite base station 206” [Col. 3, lines 34-36], and “The satellite base station 206 may be equipped with one or more antennas capable of broadcasting a cell according to the RAN 210, and the UE 208 may be equipped with one or more antennas (e.g., a moving parabolic antenna, an omni-directional phased-array antenna, etc.) capable of communicating with the satellite base station 206 via a Uu interface on that cell (such communications may be said to use the illustrated service link 216)” [Col. 3, lines 41-49], and “it is anticipated that (at least some) satellites of (at least some) NTNs may be placed in, for example, LEOs or MEOs (rather than GEOs).“ [Col. 4, lines 25-27], and “However, a satellite in LEO or MEO (instead of GEO) travels faster than the rotation speed of the earth in order to maintain its orbit. Accordingly, from the perspective of a fixed position on the earth's surface, such a satellite will move (taking any of its cells along with it).” [Col. 4, lines 28-32]
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dong to incorporate Nuggehalli’s NGSO satellite architecture and Earth-moving service link because Nuggehalli teaches implementing paging using an NGSO regenerative satellite architecture in which the satellite provides an Earth-moving service link to the UE.
However, Dong in view of Nuggehalli does not explicitly teach including a radius of an Earth-moving cell.
Cheema teaches including a radius of an Earth-moving cell, “In some embodiments, such as in NTN … The former may be called an earth-moving beam and/or cell whereas the latter may be called an earth-fixed beam and/or cell.” [Col. 14, line 52 to line 9, Col. 15], and “In certain embodiments, information about a footprint size may include a value of a radius or diameter associated with a beam and/or cell.” [Col. 16, lines 26-29], and “a center coordinate and a radius value associated with the at least one beam” [Col. 22, lines 66-67], and “a parameter indicating whether the at least one beam is of an earth-fixed type or an earth-moving type” [Col. 23, lines 10-11]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dong and modified by Nuggehalli to include Cheema’s Earth-moving cell radius because Cheema teaches that the radius characterizes the footprint of an Earth-moving NTN beam/cell.
However, Dong in view of Nuggehalli and Cheema does not explicitly teach an angle of an antenna panel tilt.
Goldstein teaches an angle of an antenna panel tilt, “FIG. 4A illustrates a chart of the various phased array antenna values with an explanation that can be used with the present invention. For example, as a non-limiting example, line 1 is an example of values for the panel tilt angle, beam steering angles and resulting bore site scan angle.” [Col. 3, lines 43-47], and Figure 4A expressly identifies: “PANEL TILT ANGEL, BEAM STEERING ANGLES, & RESULTING BORESIGHT SCAN ANGLE.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Dong as modified by Nuggehalli and Cheema to include Goldstein’s antenna panel tilt angle because Goldstein teaches that antenna panel tilt is an antenna configuration parameter affecting beam orientation, and providing that parameter with the Earth-moving cell geometry predictably improves the UE’s knowledge of satellite orientation for NTN paging.
Regarding Claim 33, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein disclose the limitations of claim 33 as recited above in the rejection of claim 27. In addition, Cheema further teaches wherein the Earth-moving cell has a non-circular shape, “a sector in a beam footprint (e.g., with a circular or noncircular shape) may be associated with cell portion ID.” [Col. 16, lines 22-24], and “in some realizations, a beam footprint shape may not be a circle. For example, for a LEO and/or MEO satellite with a distance closer to the ground compared to a GEO satellite, a beam and/or cell shape may be elliptical” [Col. 16, lines 32-35]
It would have been obvious to modify the satellite-related assistance information of claim 27 such that the Earth-moving cell has a non-circular shape, as taught by Cheema, because Cheema teaches that beam and/or cell footprints for LEO and/or MEO (NGSO) satellites are frequently non-circular, especially elliptical, due to the satellite’s proximity to the ground relative to GEO satellites. Applying Cheema’s known non-circular (elliptical) cell-shape teaching to the Earth-moving cell of claim 27 would have predictably resulted in an Earth-moving cell having a non-circular shape, consistent with the known geometric characteristics of NGSO satellite beam footprints.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”), and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 20220232503 A1, hereinafter “Cheng”)
Regarding Claim 28, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein disclose the limitations of claim 28 as recited above in the rejection of claim 27. However, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein do not explicitly teach wherein the satellite-related assistance information includes satellite constellation information of the NGSO satellite and another satellite.
Cheng teaches wherein the satellite-related assistance information includes satellite constellation information of the NGSO satellite and another satellite, “The satellite may be a GEO satellite or a non-GEO satellite (e.g., LEO satellite). The satellite may be part of a satellite constellation to ensure service continuity and is served successively by one or several sat-gateways” [0006], and “A satellite constellation controller provides each base station with satellite system data (e.g., ephemeris, satellite position, or velocity, etc.)” [0006]
It would have been obvious to modify the satellite-related assistance information transmitted by the combination of Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein to further include the satellite constellation information taught by Cheng, because Cheng teaches that providing constellation information for multiple NGSO satellites enables the UE to identify and operate with satellites belonging to the same constellation. Incorporating the known constellation information into the satellite-related assistance information of Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein would have predictably improved continuity of service and satellite selection during NTN paging.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”), and further in view of Mansour (US 7595762 B2, hereinafter “Mansour”)
Regarding Claim 29, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein disclose the limitations of claim 29 as recited above in the rejection of claim 27. However, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein do not explicitly teach wherein the satellite-related assistance information further includes a minim angle and a maxim angle of the antenna panel tilt.
Mansour teaches wherein the satellite-related assistance information further includes a minim angle and a maxim angle of the antenna panel tilt, “The tilt angle α may be “built in” (e.g., a fixed value) and may be optionally selected according to the range of possible beam directions (e.g., to satellites with which antenna 100 is to be used to communicate). In an exemplary embodiment, tilt angle α is selected in the middle, or close to the middle, of the range of desired possible beam direction angles from antenna 100 to the satellite. For example, for a desired range of 10°-80°, a built-in panel tilt of a α=45° may be used.” [Col. 5, line 64 to line 4, Col. 6].
It would have been obvious to modify the combination of Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein to include minimum and maximum angles of the antenna panel tilt as taught by Mansour, because Mansour teaches selecting an antenna panel tilt according to a defined operating range of beam direction angles for communication with satellites. Incorporating this known technique into the satellite-related assistance information of Cheema and Goldstein would have predictably enabled the transmitted antenna panel tilt information to include corresponding minimum and maximum angle values, improving configuration and operation of the satellite antenna system.
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”)
Regarding Claim 30, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein disclose the limitations of claim 30 as recited above in the rejection of claim 27. However, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein do not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting of the satellite-related assistance information includes broadcasting a system information block, SIB.
Huang teaches the transmitting of the satellite-related assistance information includes broadcasting, “The (information of) (or related to) satellite ephemeris may be broadcasted in system information” [Col. 113, lines 31-33], and “A UE may acquire the (information of) ( or related to) satellite ephemeris by system information.” [Col. 113, lines 33-34], and “The assistance information may be provided in system information” [Col. 106, lines 5-6], and “The UE may receive the assistance information from the network node (e.g., in system information and/or a RRC message).” [Col. 105, lines 25-27]
a system information block, SIB, “The validity duration may be included in the same SIB as the satellite ephemeris. The validity duration may be included in the same SIB as the cell reference location.” [Col. 114, lines 50-52]
It would have been obvious to modify the NTN cell-related assistance-information transmission of Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein to be carried in a System Information Block as taught by Huang, because Huang teaches providing NTN assistance information in system information, broadcasting cell reference location for quasi-Earth-fixed serving and neighbor cells in system information, and including related NTN information in a SIB. Applying Huang’s known SIB-broadcast technique to the NTN cell-related assistance-information framework of Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein would have predictably enabled broadcast delivery of the NTN cell-related assistance information in a System Information Block.
Regarding Claim 31, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, Goldstein, and Huang disclose the limitations of claim 31 as recited above in the rejection of claim 30. In addition, Huang further teaches a first data structure for a quasi-Earth-fixed information, “cell reference location of a quasi-earth fixed cell (e.g., a serving cell, a neighbor cell associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE, and/or a neighbor cell not associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE)” [Col. 114, lines 38-42], and “For example, the same validity duration is shared by satellite ephemeris and cell reference location of a quasi-earth fixed cell, but not shared by cell reference location of a earth moving cell.” [Col. 115, lines 40-43]
and a second data structure for an Earth-moving information, “cell reference location of an earth moving cell (e.g., a serving cell, a neighbor cell associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE, and/or a neighbor cell not associated to the same satellite with the serving cell of the UE)” [Col. 115, lines 19-21], and “The validity duration may be included in the same SIB as the cell reference location.” [Col. 114, lines 51-52]
It would have been obvious to modify the SIB of the combination applied to claim 30 to organize the satellite-related assistance information into separate structure information corresponding to quasi-Earth-fixed information and Earth-moving information, as suggested by Huang. Huang expressly distinguishes quasi-Earth-fixed cell reference location information from Earth-moving cell reference location information and further teaches that these categories may have different validity durations while being included in the SIB. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that organizing these distinct categories of information into separate data structures within the SIB is a predictable design choice that improves organization, processing, and interpretation of the broadcast system information.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”), further in view of Huang et al. (US 12262247 B2, hereinafter “Huang”), and further in view of Gordaychik (US 20190363843 A1, hereinafter “Gordaychik”
Regarding Claim 32, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, Goldstein, and Huang disclose the limitations of claim 32 as recited above in the rejection of claim 31. However, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, Goldstein, and Huang do not explicitly teach wherein the SIB is an SIB type 32, SIB32.
Gordaychik teaches the SIB is an SIB type 32, SIB32, “A UE may support a capability for employing measurement gaps for computing CQI if necessary. A UE may receive next generation system information blocks including one or more of a System Information Block Type 23; System Information Block Type 24; System Information Block Type 25; System Information Block Type 26; System Information Block Type 27; System Information Block Type 28; System Information Block Type 29; System Information Block Type 30; System Information Block Type 31; System Information Block Type 32; System Information Block Type 33” [0078]
It would have been obvious to configure the SIB of the combined system as SIB Type 32 (SIB32) as taught by Gordaychik, because Gordaychik teaches that SIB32 is one of the recognized system information block types used in next-generation wireless systems. Applying the known SIB32 designation to the SIB of the combined system would have been a predictable implementation choice to organize and broadcast the required satellite-related system information in accordance with standardized system information block formats.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), further in view of Cheema et al. (US 11888571 B2, hereafter “Cheema”), further in view of Goldstein et al. (US 6456244 B1, hereinafter “Goldstein”), and further in view of Kazmi et al. (WO 2017135871 A1, hereinafter “Kazmi”)
Regarding Claim 34, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein disclose the limitations of claim 34 as recited above in the rejection of claim 27. However, Dong, Nuggehalli, Cheema, and Goldstein do not explicitly teach further comprising: paging the UE during a pre-configured paging time window, PTW.
Kazmi teaches paging the UE during a pre-configured paging time window, PTW, “the network node transmits paging to the UEs during the paging PTW of the eDRX cycle configured in cells in which the paging is sent.” [Col. 6, lines 32-33], and “network node 115 transmits one or more paging messages to one or more UE 110 in at least a first cell (cell) during a PTW.” [Col. 16, lines 3-4]
Pre-configure, “The UE is configured with a PTW assigned by an MME and provided to the UE via Non Access Stratum (NAS)” [Col. 5, lines 22-23]
It would have been obvious to incorporate the pre-configured paging time window (PTW) of Kazmi into the method of Dong as modified by Nuggehalli, Cheema and Goldstein because PTW is a known NTN paging mechanism that enables a UE to monitor for paging during predetermined time windows, thereby reducing UE power consumption while maintaining reliable paging reception.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 12520212 B2, hereinafter “Dong”), in view of Nuggehalli et al. (US 12245320 B2, hereinafter “Nuggehalli”), and further in view of Gordaychik (US 20190363843 A1, hereinafter “Gordaychik”)
Regarding Claim 36, Dong and Nuggehalli disclose the limitations of claim 36 as recited above in the rejection of claim 35. However, Dong and Nuggehalli do not explicitly teach broadcasting the NTN cell-related assistance information as a system information block type 32, SIB 32
Gordaychik teaches broadcasting system information using System Information Block Type 32 (SIB32) that SIB32 is one of the system block types transmitted by the network, “A UE may support a capability for employing measurement gaps for computing CQI if necessary. A UE may receive next generation system information blocks including one or more of a System Information Block Type 23; System Information Block Type 24; System Information Block Type 25; System Information Block Type 26; System Information Block Type 27; System Information Block Type 28; System Information Block Type 29; System Information Block Type 30; System Information Block Type 31; System Information Block Type 32; System Information Block Type 33” [0078], and “Any one of these system information block types may convey any information herein and may also request a UE to report any information described herein. System information blocks may be receive sequentially in sequential time windows” [0078]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dong and Nuggehalli to broadcast the NTN cell-related assistance information as System Information Block Type 32 (SIB32) as taught by Gordaychik, because Gordaychik teaches SIB32 as a known broadcast mechanism for conveying system information to UEs. Applying Gordaychik’s known SIB32 broadcast mechanism to the NTN cell-related assistance information of Dong and Nuggehalli would have predictably enabled dissemination of the assistance information using a standardized system information broadcast format.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Hoglund et al. (US 20240179792 A1) - Extended drx assistance signaling, discloses a method of operating a radio access network (RAN) includes receiving, from a core network (CN) node, extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) assistance information describing a CN eDRX configuration for a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN node, generating a RAN eDRX configuration for the UE based on the eDRX assistance information, and configuring the UE with the RAN eDRX configuration. Related methods of operating a CN node and UE are disclosed.
SANG PHUOC. LE
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/SANG PHUOC LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641