FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-22, 24, 26, 27, 29-31, 34, and 35 recites the limitation "the emitter" and/or “the receiver” in the body of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims (the claims should be amended to --the at least one emitter--, --the at least one receiver--).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-27, 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(!) as being anticipated by Malkin et al. U.S. Patent 7,302,866.
With respect to claims 18 and 26, Malkin teaches a substrate (polymide layer 170, figure 2) in which at least one emitter and at least one receiver (piezoelectric disk 120, figures 1 and 2) are integrated such that the substrate at least partially encloses the emitter and the receiver and only one emission surface of the emitter and only one detection surface of the receiver are free of the substrate (the piezoelectric disk are free of material on one side, figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claims 19 and 34-35, Malkin teaches wherein the emitter is configured to generate mechanical waves in the body (interpreted as being in multiple directions), and wherein the receiver is configured to detect the mechanical waves in the body (waves are induced and transduced by the sensor assembly 100, col. 6 lines 32-54, figure 7).
With respect to claims 20-21, Malkin teaches wherein the emitter is arranged on a first side of the substrate and the receiver is arranged on a second side of the substrate opposite the first side as well as laterally spaced apart (interpreted as the piezoelectric disk 120 being adjacent to each other on the sensor assembly 100, figure 1).
With respect to claim 22, Malkin teaches wherein the emitter is configured to generate mechanical waves only and the receiver is configured to detect the mechanical waves only (interpreted as the computing device 550 selectively controlling the piezoelectric disk, col. 6 lines 22-31).
With respect to claims 23, 32, and 33, Malkin teaches wherein a modulus of elasticity of the substrate is less than a modulus of elasticity of the body and wherein the sensor structure is permanently or reversibly connected to the body (the sensor assembly 100 is flexible and applied to an aircraft 510 body that is interpreted as having a modulus of elasticity and being a fiber composite material, figure 5).
With respect to claims 24-25, Malkin teaches wherein the substrate has a damping element, which is arranged between the emitter and the receiver, and wherein the damping element has a lower modulus of elasticity than the substrate and wherein the damping element extends completely over a cross-sectional area of the substrate. (interpreted as the buffer layer 110 between each piezoelectric disk 120, figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 27, Malkin teaches further comprising flexible electrical wiring (traces 150, figure 1) for electrical contacting of the emitter and/or the receiver is integrated into the substrate.
With respect to claim 31, Malkin teaches wherein the emitter and/or the receiver comprises an electrical shielding element (interpreted as buffer layer 110, figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malkin et al. U.S. Patent 7,302,866 in view of Ladpli et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0207274.
With respect to claim 28, Malkin teaches the claimed invention except further comprising at least one sensor integrated in the substrate.
Ladpli teaches a battery state monitoring system where the sensor system had piezoelectric transducers with strain gauges for strain level measurement, temperature sensors for environmental condition monitoring (paragraph 107).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Malkin with the invention of a monitoring system having additional sensors with a piezoelectric transducer as taught by Ladpli in order to improve system performance and control characteristics (paragraph 108).
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malkin et al. U.S. Patent 7,302,866 in view of Meier et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0180338.
With respect to claims 29 and 30, Malkin teaches the claimed invention except wherein a carrier foil located at the emission surface of the emitter and/or at the detection surface of the receiver, and wherein the carrier foil is configured to change a resonant frequency of the emitter and/or the receiver.
Meier teaches an inspection system wherein a carrier 2 is provided with a plurality of cuboid cutouts 4 which are covered on a convex front side of the carrier 2 by a matching film 8 of which the cutouts 4 are sealed on a front side 6 of the carrier 2 and ultrasound transducer elements 10 are respectively introduced into the cutouts 4 and bonded to the matching film 8 (interpreted as the claimed carrier foil which would thereby change the resonant frequency of the ultrasound transducer, paragraph 22)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Malkin with the invention of having a film located over the surface of the ultrasound transducer as taught by Meier in order to provide a more durable monitoring system.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/18/2026