DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 and 04/22/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Based to the Applicant’s REMARKS and Amendment filed on 10/08/2024, this office action considers -
Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are pending.
Claims 10 and 15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR20200127861, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘LEE’) in view of Lei et al. (US 20230136864 A1, hereinafter ‘LEI’).
Regarding claim 1, LEE teaches a method of transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (
[0005]
A method of operation of a first terminal according to a first embodiment of the present invention for achieving the above objective comprises the steps of receiving data from a second terminal through one or more subchannels, identifying a feedback resource mapped to the one or more subchannels, and transmitting a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) containing feedback information for the data to the second terminal using the feedback resource.), the method comprising:
receiving sidelink data from another UE through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (
[0005]
… first terminal …. receiving data from a second terminal through one or more subchannels …..
[0016]
Referring to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of communication nodes (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2, 130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
[0022]
Referring again to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of base stations (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2) and a plurality of terminals (130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
[0071]
NR V2X communication (e.g., sidelink communication) can be performed according to three transmission methods (e.g., unicast, broadcast, and groupcast).
When a unicast method is used, the first terminal can transmit data (e.g., sidelink data) to the second terminal.
When the broadcast method is used, the first terminal can transmit data to all terminals.
When a group cast method is used, the first terminal can transmit data to a group consisting of multiple terminals (e.g., a group cast group).
[0114]
constitutes a data channel (e.g., … PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel)).); and
transmitting HARQ feedback information for the reception of the sidelink data through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (
[0005]
identifying a feedback resource mapped to the one or more subchannels, and transmitting a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) containing feedback information for the data to the second terminal using the feedback resource.
See also [0072]
the second terminal can transmit feedback information (e.g., ACK (acknowledgement) or NACK (negative ACK)) regarding data received from the first terminal to the first terminal.
In the following embodiments, the feedback information may be referred to as a "feedback signal," a "PSFCH (physical sidelink feedback channel) signal," etc.
[0074]
When the transmission procedure of feedback information is performed in groupcast sidelink communication, data can be transmitted and received efficiently and stably.),
wherein based on that the PSFCH transmission is performed on a shared spectrum (
[0005]
transmitting a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) containing feedback information for the data to the second terminal using the feedback resource.
[0026]
each of the multiple base stations (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2) can support ….. transmission in an unlicensed band, device-to-device communication (D2D) (or Prose (proximity services ….
Here, each of the multiple terminals (130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6) can perform an operation corresponding to the base station (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2)…)
[0028]
Type 3 frame structure can be applied to unlicensed band-based communication systems ( e.g., LAA (licensed assisted access) communication systems), a plurality of symbols are allocated for the PSFCH transmission (
Fig. 12, [0090]
Referring to Fig. 12, when a PSFCH signal is transmitted in multiple symbols, OCC can be applied in the time domain), and
wherein an orthogonal covering code (OCC) is applied to remaining symbols except for a first symbol among the plurality of symbols allocated for the PSFCH transmission (
[0090]
Referring to Fig. 12, when a PSFCH signal is transmitted in multiple symbols, OCC can be applied in the time domain.
When the PSFCH signal is transmitted in 2 symbols, there may be 4 repeating patterns in 2 symbols because there are 2 repeating patterns in one symbol.
Depending on the change in symbol length due to subcarrier spacing and the system environment, AGC operation can be performed over the entire symbol rather than a portion of the time interval of a symbol.
In this case, OCC can be applied to two repeating patterns in the remaining one symbol.
OCC can be applied along the time axis.).
However, LEE does not expressly disclose wherein based on that the PSFCH transmission is performed on a shared spectrum, a plurality of symbols are allocated for the PSFCH transmission (
Although it is obvious from LEE [0005, 0026, 0028] cited above.).
In an analogous art, LEI teaches wherein based on that the PSFCH transmission is performed on a shared spectrum, a plurality of symbols are allocated for the PSFCH transmission (
See [0001] feedback transmission for sidelink communication on an unlicensed spectrum.
[0055] As mentioned above, an interlace-based waveform may be employed in an unlicensed spectrum to meet the regulatory requirements of OCB and PSD. In this scenario, solutions need to be provided for applying the interlace-based waveform to sidelink communication such as PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH transmissions on an unlicensed spectrum.
[0056] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide solutions for applying an interlace-based waveform to sidelink communication on an unlicensed spectrum, so as to meet the above regulation requirements.
[0057] A HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to a certain data transmission may be transmitted on an interlace. In other words, when the unlicensed spectrum is extended to transmit the PSFCH, which carries the HARQ-ACK feedback, the unit for resource allocation may be an interlace.
Fig. 5, Symbols 516, 517,
[0073] PSCCH may be transmitted on interlace 0 in the first four symbols within slot 511, some of the remaining symbols within slot 511 on interlace 0 may be used to transmit PSSCH (i.e., TDM-based transmission). PSSCH may also be transmitted on interlace 5 within slot 511 (i.e., FDM-based transmission). PSFCH may be transmitted on interlace 0 in the last two available symbols (e.g., symbols 516 and 517 within slot 511 since symbols 515 and 518 are reserved for LBT test).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of feedback over PSFCH using unlicensed spectrum of LEI to the sidelink system of transmitting and receiving feedback information in communication system of LEE in order to take the advantage of providing a method for improving resource utilization efficiency while meeting regulation requirements (LEI: [0056, 0061]).
Regarding claim 11, LEE teaches a device configured to transmit hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information in a wireless communication system (
[0005]
A method of operation of a first terminal according to a first embodiment of the present invention for achieving the above objective comprises the steps of receiving data from a second terminal through one or more subchannels, identifying a feedback resource mapped to the one or more subchannels, and transmitting a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) containing feedback information for the data to the second terminal using the feedback resource,
Fig. 1, terminals 130,
[0016]
Referring to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of communication nodes (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2, 130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
[0022]
Referring again to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of base stations (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2) and a plurality of terminals (130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
FIG. 2, the communication node (200)), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions, and a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions (
Fig. 2, the communication node (200) , [0019]
FIG. 2, the communication node (200) may include at least one processor (210), a memory (220),
[0021]
The processor (210) can execute a program command stored in at least one of the memory (220) and the storage device (260).).
Further, claim 11 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first symbol is an earliest symbol in a time domain among the plurality of symbols (
Fig. 12, AFC applied PSFCH symbols precedes OCC applied PSFCH symbols).
Regarding claim 3, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a number of the plurality of symbols allocated for the PSFCH transmission is N + 1, and wherein a length of the OCC is N (
Fig. 12 Top Right,
AGC applied to 1st symbol, OCC applied to remaining 3 symbols, giving 3+1 PSFCH symbols, OCC length N=3,
See [0090]
When the PSFCH signal is transmitted in 2 symbols ….
AGC operation can be performed over the entire symbol rather than a portion of the time interval of a symbol.
In this case, OCC can be applied to two repeating patterns in the remaining one symbol.
[0091]
…. depending on the system environment, operations such as changing the number of symbols for PSFCH transmission, changing the time interval for AGC operation, determining whether to apply OCC based on the aforementioned changes, and changing the application length of OCC can be performed.
…. OCC can be applied on a symbol-by-symbol basis.).
Regarding claim 4, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein N is an integer 2 (
See [0090]
AGC operation can be performed over the entire symbol rather than a portion of the time interval of a symbol.
[0091]
…. depending on the system environment, operations such as changing the number of symbols for PSFCH transmission, changing the time interval for AGC operation, determining whether to apply OCC based on the aforementioned changes, and changing the application length of OCC can be performed.
…. OCC can be applied on a symbol-by-symbol basis.
(It is obvious that depending on system environment total number of PSFCH symbols may change from 2 symbols or 4 symbols to 3 symbols, AGC applied to first symbol, leaving 2 symbols for OCC applied symbol-by-symbol, indicating changed OCC length of N=2 for 2 symbols)).
Regarding claim 5, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of symbols allocated for the PSFCH transmission are time-division multiplexed (TDMed) within a same sidelink slot (
Fig. 12, [0106]
In the present invention, the transmission area of the PSFCH may be limited to the last K symbol(s) within a slot (e.g., a slot corresponding to the time of transmission of the PSFCH).).
Regarding claim 6, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a same PSFCH sequence is repeated in at least two symbols among the plurality of symbols (
[0087]
Meanwhile, to increase the coverage of the feedback channel, PSFCH can be transmitted using multiple symbols.
A repeating pattern can be applied to each of the multiple symbols transmitted by PSFCH.
As the number of symbols transmitted by PSFCH increases, the number of repeating patterns can increase.
In this case, OCC can be applied to the remaining time intervals of the repeating pattern, excluding the time interval for AGC operation.).
Regarding claim 9, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first symbol is a symbol for automatic gain control (AGC) (
Fig. 12 Top Right,
AGC applied to 1st symbol, OCC applied to remaining 3 symbols).
Regarding claim 12, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive wireless signals under control of the processor, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (
Fig. 1, terminals 130,
[0016]
Referring to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of communication nodes (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2, 130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
[0022]
Referring again to FIG. 1, the communication system (100) may include a plurality of base stations (110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 120-1, 120-2) and a plurality of terminals (130-1, 130-2, 130-3, 130-4, 130-5, 130-6).
Fig. 2, communication node 200 with transmitting and receiving device (230),
[0019]
Referring to FIG. 2, the communication node (200) may include at least one processor (210), a memory (220), and a transmitting and receiving device (230) that is connected to a network to perform communication.).
Regarding claim 13, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processor configured to control a user equipment (UE) (
Fig. 1 Communication nodes or terminals 130
Fig. 2 Communication node 200 with processor 210,
[0021]
The processor (210) may mean a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), or a dedicated processor on which the methods according to embodiments of the present invention are performed.).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR20200127861, of IDS, Machine Translation, hereinafter ‘LEE’) in view of Lei et al. (US 20230136864 A1, hereinafter ‘LEI’) and with further in view of Niu et al. (US 20230354387 A1 with priority of us-provisional-application US 63335393, hereinafter ‘NIU’).
Regarding claim 7, LEE, in view of LEI, teaches the method of claim 1.
LEE and LEI do not explicitly disclose wherein the OCC is applied independently to each of resource blocks (RBs) allocated for the PSFCH transmission.
NIU teaches wherein the OCC is applied independently to each of resource blocks (RBs) allocated for the PSFCH transmission (
[0050] when there are at least 2 bits of feedback bits for PSFCH content 135, UE 102 can use frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) length of 1, 2, and 4 to multiple users on both 1 symbol or 2 symbol PUCCH format 2 (PF2). …… different RB use different OCC within the interlace. Different FD OCC will be assigned to different UEs. For example, OCC sequence 1 is used by UE1, and OCC sequence 2 is used by UE2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of feedback over PSFCH using different OCC sequence for different RBs assigned to respective different UEs to the sidelink system of transmitting and receiving feedback information in communication system of LEE and LEI in order to take the advantage of providing a method for lower latency for communication among UEs improving communication efficiency (NIU: [0004, 0030, 0050]).
Regarding claim 8, LEE, in view of LEI and NIU, teaches the method of claim 7.
LEE and LEI do not explicitly disclose wherein a first OCC is applied to a first RB among the RBs, and wherein a second OCC is applied to a second RB among the RBs.
NIU teaches wherein a first OCC is applied to a first RB among the RBs, and wherein a second OCC is applied to a second RB among the RBs (
[0050] different RB use different OCC within the interlace).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of feedback over PSFCH using different OCC sequence for different RBs assigned to respective different UEs to the sidelink system of transmitting and receiving feedback information in communication system of LEE and LEI in order to take the advantage of providing a method for lower latency for communication among UEs improving communication efficiency (NIU: [0004, 0030, 0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Talarico et al. (US 20250227737 A1), describing PHYSICAL SIDELINK FEEDBACK CHANNEL (PSFCH) AND SYNCHRONIZATION CHANNELS FOR A SIDELINK SYSTEM OPERATING IN AN UNLICENSED BAND
Kim et al. (US 20230276504 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DATA TRANSMISSION FOR COVERAGE EXTENSION
Wang et al. (US 20230007969 A1), describing CANCELLATION OF SIDELINK AUTOMATIC GAIN CONTROL SYMBOL
Lee et al. (US 20220201654 A1), describing NR SL PSFCH TRANSMISSION AND MONITORING
Wang et al. (US 20220167310 A1), describing LONG PHYSICAL SIDELINK SHARED CHANNEL FORMAT FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATION
Hwang et al. (US 20200288286 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR TRANSMITTING PSFCH IN NR V2X
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413