DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1, 3-4, and 6-18 and the species election of hydrogen peroxide in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 as amended recites one or more amino acids, and Kiel does not teach myeloperoxidase compositions comprising amino acids. This is not found persuasive because a method of treating solid cancer using a myeloperoxidase composition comprising amino acids is obvious in view of Kiel and Stephens as discussed below. Therefore, the shared technical feature is not a special technical feature and the inventions of groups I and II lack unity.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 19 and 21-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species “glycine and L-proline” and “bladder cancer” in the reply filed on 8/13/2026 is acknowledged.
In view of the prior art search, the species election requirement of hydrogen peroxide or a source of hydrogen peroxide is withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/018289 (4/12/2023).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 9/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 10/8/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. The references not considered by the examiner are lined through on the IDS form.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.”.
In the current case, the view numbers for Figures 1-2 are preceded by the word “Figure” instead of the abbreviation “FIG.”. View numbers should be updated to recite the abbreviation “FIG.”. Any changes to the drawings should also be reflected in the specification.
37 CFR 1.84 states “Character of lines, numbers and letters. All drawings must be made by a process that will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.”
In the current case, the words in Figure 1 are illegible.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see paragraph 2). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation beta amino acids, and the claim also recites “such as beta alanine, L-beta-homoleucine, D-betahomoleucine, 3-aminobutanoic acid, L-2,3-diaminopropionic acid monohydrochloride, D-2,3-diaminopropionic acid monohydrochloride, L-3-aminoisobutyric acid, D-3-aminoisobutyric acid, ethyl 3-aminobutyrate, sarcosine methyl ester hydrochloride and nipecotic acid” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 6 additionally recites “the one more amino acids is selected from the group comprising”. A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members (see MPEP § 2173.05(h)). In this case, the claim does not recite a closed group of alternatives, as the term “comprising” is open-ended, and it is unclear what other alternative amino acids are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Similarly, claim 8 recites “wherein the solid cancer is selected from the group comprising”. The claim does not recite a closed group of alternatives, as the term “comprising” is open-ended, and it is unclear what other alternative solid cancers are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claims 14 and 16 recite “bladder wash solution having a neutral ionic strength”. It is not clear what is meant by “neutral ionic strength”. The specification does not define ionic strength. As generally understood in the art, ionic strength is the concentration of ionic charge in solution which is calculated as the product of a given ion's concentration and its charge summed over all ions in solution, divided by two, and measured either as mass per unit volume (i.e.,mg/L) or in moles (i.e., mmol/L) (see EPA reference “Overview” and “Ways to Measure”). Thus, it is not clear how ionic strength could be considered “neutral”. If “neutral ionic strength” is intended to refer to a neutral charge or pH, the claims should be amended to clarify this.
Claims 15 and 17-18 are included in this rejection because they depend on a rejected claim and do not clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiel et al., US 4,486,408 in view of Stephens et al., US 2014/0120076 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kiel teaches a method of treating solid cancers, i.e. tumors, comprising administering a cytotoxic oxidase-peroxidase composition (Kiel col. 3 lines 8-12 and 26-27; lines 40-50, col. 5 lines 15-40; claim 25). Kiel teaches that the composition used in the method of treating solid cancer comprises myeloperoxidase, oxidase enzymes which produce hydrogen peroxide (i.e. a source of hydrogen peroxide which is a peroxide-producing oxidase that produces hydrogen peroxide in the presence of a substrate), and a halide ion (Kiel claims 38, 41, and 44; col. 9 “Conclusion”). Kiel teaches that the myeloperoxidase-hydrogen peroxide-chloride system is a potent cytotoxic system effective against bacteria, fungi, viruses, mycoplasma, and various mammalian cells (Kiel col. 1 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 3, Kiel teaches that the peroxide-producing oxidase is glucose oxidase and the substrate is glucose (Kiel col. 9 lines 56-64).
Regarding claim 8, Kiel teaches that the solid cancer is breast cancer or melanoma (Kiel col. 7 lines 15-29).
Regarding claim 10, Kiel teaches that certain peroxidases with hydrogen peroxide and a halide ion, such as myeloperoxidase-hydrogen peroxide-chloride, have strong cytotoxic properties (Kiel col. 1 lines 15-24). Kiel teaches that an equally cytotoxic system is obtained when instead of hydrogen peroxide, a hydrogen peroxide generating system is used, such as glucose oxidase (Kiel col. 1 lines 25-35). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to administer a pharmaceutical composition comprising myeloperoxidase, sodium chloride, and hydrogen peroxide for treating a solid cancer, given the teachings of Kiel that compositions comprising either hydrogen peroxide or a source of hydrogen peroxide are equally cytotoxic.
Regarding claim 11, Kiel teaches a composition of matter possessing cytotoxic activity against tumor cells in a living tumor-bearing subject comprising a peroxidase (myeloperoxidase) which in the presence of hydrogen peroxide and a halide ion possesses cytolytic activity toward prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells, and an enzyme that produces hydrogen peroxide (Kiel claims 38 and 41). As discussed above regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to use either hydrogen peroxide or a source of hydrogen peroxide (i.e., an enzyme that produces hydrogen peroxide) in a composition for treating solid cancer, as both are equally cytotoxic. Therefore, Kiel teaches a composition comprised of (a) a first composition comprising myeloperoxidase and a halide and (b) a second composition comprising hydrogen peroxide.
Regarding claim 12, Kiel teaches a process for cytolysis of eukaryotic cells in living organisms comprising mixing a first enzyme which is an oxidase (i.e., myeloperoxidase) and a second enzyme which is a peroxidase (i.e., an enzyme that produces hydrogen peroxide) and administering the mixture to a living organism (Kiel claims 25 and 30). Therefore, Kiel teaches a method for treating solid cancer wherein the first and second compositions are premixed before administration. As discussed above regarding claims 10 and 11, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to use either hydrogen peroxide or a source of hydrogen peroxide in a composition for treating solid cancer, and a halide ion is required for cytolytic activity of the peroxidase enzyme.
Regarding claim 13, regarding the limitation “administered concurrently”, this is understood to be any method in which the first and second composition of claim 11 are administered to a patient at the same time. Therefore, a method wherein the first and second composition are premixed before administration is a method wherein these compositions are administered concurrently. As discussed above regarding claim 12, Kiel teaches premixing the compositions before administration.
Kiel does not teach that the pharmaceutical composition comprises one or more amino acids (claims 1, 11), that the halide is sodium chloride (claim 4), or that the amino acids are glycine and L-proline (claims 6, 7, and 10).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Stephens teaches a pharmaceutical composition, E-101, comprising myeloperoxidase; one or more amino acids (L-alanine, L-proline, glycine); glucose oxidase (GO), which is a source of hydrogen peroxide and is a peroxide-producing oxidase that produces hydrogen peroxide in the presence of a substrate; and a halide, NaCl (see Stephens p. 3 para. 38; p. 8 para. 91; p. 9 para. 105-106, p. 10 para. 123-124). Stephens teaches that the composition has antimicrobial activity and teaches that similar eosinophil peroxidase compositions of the invention may be administered to patients, including administration to cancer surgical sites (Stephens p. 2 para. 17-19; p. 10 Example 3). Stephens teaches that the amino acids in a composition with a peroxidase and hydrogen peroxide source enhance the antimicrobial activity of the composition (Stephens p. 3 para. 34; p. 8 para. 91).
Regarding claim 4, Stephens teaches that the halide is sodium chloride, NaCl (Stephens p. 10 para. 123-124).
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 10, Stephens teaches that the amino acids are glycine and L-proline (Stephens p. 10 para. 123-124).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to modify the method of Kiel, using a composition comprising myeloperoxidase, hydrogen peroxide, a halide, and two or more amino acids as taught by Stephens in the method of treating solid cancers. Both Kiel and Stephens teach compositions comprising myeloperoxidase, hydrogen peroxide, and a halide, and methods of administering those compositions to patients. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that a composition as taught by Stephens, which additionally includes amino acids, could be used in a method of treating solid cancer as taught by Kiel.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the method of Kiel because Stephens teaches that the compositions have antimicrobial activity, and the amino acids in the composition enhance the antimicrobial activity (Stephens p. 3 para. 34; p. 8 para. 91). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use a cytotoxic composition comprising myeloperoxidase, a hydrogen peroxide source, and a halide which has the additional benefit of enhanced antimicrobial activity due to the presence of amino acids, in a method of treating solid cancer, especially given the teaching of Stephens that the antimicrobial compositions may be applied to cancer surgical sites.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Kiel and Stephens teach similar compositions that are administered to patients, and Kiel teaches administering peroxidase-hydrogen peroxide-halide compositions with cytotoxic activity for treatment of solid cancers. A skilled artisan could therefore expect success in using a composition as taught by Kiel, which additionally comprises two or more amino acids, in a method for treating solid cancer as taught by Kiel.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiel in view of Stephens as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, and 10-13 above, and further in view of Vidyasagar et al., WO 2019/070750.
Kiel and Stephens teach a method of treating solid cancer comprising pre-mixing a composition comprising myeloperoxidase, sodium chloride, glycine, and L-proline with a solution of hydrogen peroxide and administering to a patient as discussed above. Kiel teaches that this solution is cytotoxic and teaches using a myeloperoxidase solution to treat solid cancer (Kiel col. 7 lines 15-29).
These references do not teach that the solid cancer is bladder cancer (claim 9).
Regarding claim 9, Vidyasagar teaches compositions for inhibiting cancer cell growth and/or proliferation, consisting of one or more free amino acids, including a combination of proline and glycine (Vidyasagar p. 2 “Summary of the Invention”; p. 9 para. 2 p. 10 first partial para.). Vidyasagar teaches that the cancer or tumor treated by the compositions includes bladder cancer (Vidyasagar p. 29 para. 2; claims 12 and 30).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to arrive at a method of treating bladder cancer by administering the pharmaceutical composition comprising myeloperoxidase, amino acids (i.e. glycine and L-proline), hydrogen peroxide, and a halide as taught by Kiel and Stephens, given the teachings of Vidyasagar. Kiel and Stephens render obvious a method of treating solid cancers using a pharmaceutical composition as recited in instant claim 1. It would have been obvious that such a composition could be used to treat a solid bladder cancer in a patient, given the cytotoxic activity of the composition and the known use in treating solid cancers, as well as the teaching that compositions containing glycine and proline can be used to treat bladder cancer.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat bladder cancer in a patient using the method and pharmaceutical composition taught by Kiel and Stephens, which includes glycine and L-proline, because Vidyasagar teaches that amino acid compositions, and specifically combinations of glycine and proline, can be used to inhibit cancer cell growth and treat bladder cancer tumors, as discussed above. A skilled artisan would therefore have been motivated to use a composition comprising a combination of amino acids which are known to inhibit bladder cancer for this purpose.
A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in adapting the method of Kiel and Stephens to treat bladder cancer in a patient because Kiel teaches that the myeloperoxidase/hydrogen peroxide composition is cytotoxic and used to treat solid cancers, and the amino acids in the composition of Kiel and Stephens have specific inhibitory activity against bladder cancer as taught by Vidyasagar.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiel in view of Stephens and Vidyasagar as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Nahama et al., WO 2021257956 A1.
Kiel and Stephens teach a method of treating solid cancer comprising pre-mixing a composition comprising myeloperoxidase, sodium chloride, glycine, and L-proline with a solution of hydrogen peroxide and administering to a patient as discussed above. Kiel teaches that this solution is cytotoxic and teaches using a myeloperoxidase solution to treat solid cancer (Kiel col. 7 lines 15-29). The combination of Kiel, Stephens, and Vidyasagar teaches treating bladder cancer, as discussed above regarding claim 9.
These references do not teach maintaining a pH of about 5.0 to 6.5 in the bladder environment by lavage, applying a suitable bladder wash solution having a neutral ionic strength, allowing the treatment solution to incubate for three to five minutes; and instilling the treatment solution, via urinary catheter, into the bladder (claim 14), the concentrations in claims 15 and 17-18, or a method pre-mixing a composition comprising myeloperoxidase, sodium chloride, glycine, and L-proline; instilling the composition, via urinary catheter, into the bladder; allowing the composition to dwell in the bladder for about ten minutes; and instilling hydrogen peroxide, via urinary catheter, into the bladder to activate the myeloperoxidase composition (claim 16).
Regarding claim 14, Nahama teaches methods for treating bladder cancer via intravesical administration of resiniferatoxin, or RTX, i.e. delivering the treatment agent directly to the interior of the urinary bladder using a catheter (Nahama p. 2 para. 2; p. 15 para. 67). Nahama teaches a method comprising applying a suitable bladder wash solution (bladders emptied and then flushed with sterile saline) before instilling the treatment solution, RTX, via urinary catheter (Nahama p. 24 para. 106).
It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to combine the teachings of the cited references, arriving at a method comprising applying a bladder wash as taught by Nahama, premixing the myeloperoxidase, NaCl, glycine, L-proline, and hydrogen peroxide solution as taught by Kiel and Stephens, and instilling the treatment via urinary catheter into the bladder. As discussed above, it would have been obvious to treat bladder cancer using the method of Kiel and Stephens in view of the teachings of Vidyasagar. As Nahama teaches suitable methods of treating bladder cancer wherein an intravesical administration of the therapeutic is performed using a urinary catheter, it would have been obvious that a different composition for treating bladder cancer could be applied in this same way.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the treatment steps taught by Nahama wherein the therapeutic is administered via urinary catheter because this method allows for direct application of the treatment to the affected area, the bladder. As Nahama teaches intravesical administration of therapeutics is often used for bladder cancer, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize such a technique, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the limitation “maintaining a pH of about 5.0 to 6.5 in the bladder environment by lavage”, the references do not expressly teach maintaining this pH range. However, the pH in the bladder environment would have been routinely optimized by a skilled artisan based on the other assay conditions and desired outcomes. Result-effective variables would be optimized through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art. A skilled artisan would have been aware that the pH in the bladder environment could be altered depending on factors such as the requirements of the particular therapeutic being administered. For example, Stephens teaches that the composition comprising myeloperoxidase, NaCl, glycine, L-proline, and a hydrogen peroxide source is prepared at pH 6.5 (Stephens p. 10 para. 125). Therefore, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to maintain a pH within the bladder environment in a range of 5.0-6.5, as this corresponds to the pH of the pharmaceutical composition being applied. Thus, through a process of routine experimentation, it would have been obvious to maintain the pH in the bladder environment as instantly claimed.
Regarding the limitation “allowing the treatment solution to incubate for three to
five minutes”, the references do not expressly teach this incubation time for the treatment solution. However, the amount of time that the components of the treatment solution are incubated before administering would have been routinely optimized by a skilled artisan. Kiel clearly teaches that the treatment solution is incubated for in a sufficient amount of time to achieve the result of cytotoxicity toward solid cancers. Therefore, the amount of incubation time is a result-effective variable. Result-effective variables would be optimized through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art. Thus, through a process of routine experimentation, it would have been obvious to arrive at an incubation time of three to five minutes before administration of the treatment solution.
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to arrive at a method of treating bladder cancer in a patient comprising maintaining a pH of about 5.0 to 6.5 in the bladder environment by lavage; applying
a suitable bladder wash solution having a neutral ionic strength; and instilling a myeloperoxidase composition via urinary catheter into the bladder. Kiel and Stephens teach compositions wherein myeloperoxidase, NaCl, glycine, L-proline, and the hydrogen peroxide or source of hydrogen peroxide are all pre-mixed.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the hydrogen peroxide component could be added to the bladder separately to activate the myeloperoxidase composition, i.e., pre-mixing myeloperoxidase, NaCl, glycine, and L-proline and instilling into the bladder, then separately instilling hydrogen peroxide. The purpose of the hydrogen peroxide or source of hydrogen peroxide as taught by Kiel and Stephens is to activate the myeloperoxidase into cytotoxic form (see Kiel col. 9 lines 56-64; claim 38). It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan that the hydrogen peroxide could be instilled in the bladder at the same time as the myeloperoxidase and other components, or that it could be instilled after the myeloperoxidase, with a reasonable expectation that the hydrogen peroxide would have the expected effect of activating myeloperoxidase.
Regarding the limitation “allowing the composition to dwell in the bladder for about
ten minutes”, as discussed above, the amount of time that the treatment solution is applied would have been routinely optimized by a skilled artisan. A skilled artisan would have recognized that the amount of time could be modified based on other assay conditions to achieve desired results, and is therefore a result-effective variable. Result-effective variables would be optimized through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art. Thus, through a process of routine experimentation, it would have been obvious to allow the composition to dwell in the bladder for about ten minutes before instilling hydrogen peroxide.
Regarding claims 15 and 17-18, Stephens teaches that the myeloperoxidase is provided at a concentration of 2.4 mg/mL, NaCl is provided at 150 mM, glycine and L-proline at 21.6 mM, and glucose oxidase is provided at a concentration of 0.5 mg/mL. The references do not teach the concentrations as recited in claims 15 and 17-18. However, the concentrations of the components in the pharmaceutical composition would have been routinely optimized by a skilled artisan based on the other assay conditions. The references clearly teach that the components of the composition are provided in a concentration effective to achieve the result of cytotoxicity/antimicrobial activity. That means the concentration of these components are result-effective variables. Result-effective variables would be optimized through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-18 are rejected.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JENNIFER M.H. TICHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653