This office action supersedes the previous office action dated 7/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Qualcomm “Enhancements on PUSCH repetition type A” (3GPP TSG WG1 Meeting #108-e R1-2202151) (hereinafter “Qualcomm”).
Regarding claim 31, Qualcomm teaches a method comprising receiving, by a terminal, first control information (1st PDCCH) that schedules a first data signal (1st PDSCH) and receiving second control information (2nd PDCCH) that schedules a second data signal (2nd PDSCH) later than the first control information for the first data signal, at least one of the first data signal and the second data signal being transmitted repeatedly (See section 1.4 where 1st and 2nd PDSCHs are scheduled in slot #3 and #4, respectively and signals can be PUSCH type A repetition); and
determining, by the terminal, whether the scheduling is defined scheduling, based on a first timing for a transmission of the first data signal and a second timing for a transmission of the second data signal (see section 1.4, where out-of-order,OoO, scheduling is determined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm “Enhancement on PUSCH repetition type A” (3GPP TSG WG1 Meeting #108-e R1-2202151) (hereinafter “Qualcomm”) in view of Salah et al (US 2019/0357197 A1) (hereinafter “Salah”).
Regarding claim 19, Qualcomm teaches a system comprising a terminal (UE) and a base station and the UE receives first control information (1st PDCCH for scheduling 1st PDSCH in S slot) scheduling a first data signal (1st PDSCH in S slot) and receives second control information (2nd PDCCH for scheduling 2nd PDSCH in U slot) scheduling a second data signal (2nd PDSCH in U slot) later than the first control information for the first data signal (see section 1.4 where 1st and 2nd PDSCHs are scheduled in slot #3 and #4, respectively and signals can be PUSCH type A repetition).
The UE further determines whether the scheduling is defined scheduling (in-order scheduling) or not defined scheduling (out-of-order scheduling), based on a first timing for a transmission of the first data signal and a second timing for a transmission of the second data signal (See section 1.4).
Qualcomm does not specifically mention that the terminal (UE) comprises reception circuitry and control circuitry. However, such features are old and well known in the art. For example, Salah, in a similar field, teaches that UE comprises reception circuitry and control circuitry for controlling out of order scheduling (See figure 2 where the UE determines that the scheduling is not in-order as in “out-of-order” when the timing for 2nd PDSCH is not later than the timing for 1st PDSCH and figure 3 for UE’s circuitry) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply Salah’s teaching of using reception circuitry and control circuitry in Qualcomm’s UE with the motivation being to enhance UE’s performance.
Regarding claim 20, Qualcomm further teaches that the first timing is determined based on an uplink slot (Slot 3) available for repetition transmission of the first data signal (See section 1.4).
Regarding claim 21, in Qualcomm’s system, the system schedules the first timing (scheduled timing for 1st PUSCH) regardless of whether the actual transmission of the first data signal is performed or not in any of uplink slots available for repetition transmission of the first data signal (see section 1.4).
Regarding claim 22, Qualcomm further teaches that the second timing (scheduled timing for 2nd PUSCH) is determined based on information on a timing from a slot in which the second control information (2nd PDCCH scheduling PUSCH in U slot) is received to a slot in which the second data signal is transmitted (PDSCH U slot) (see section 1.4).
Regarding claim 23, Qualcomm further teaches that the second timing (scheduled timing for 2nd PUSCH) is determined based on an uplink slot that is available for repetition transmission of the second data signal (See proposal 4 in the conclusion section).
Regarding claim 24, Qualcomm does not explicitly define that the scheduling is not the defined scheduling (out-of-order scheduling) when the second timing determined based on information on a timing from a slot in which the second control information is received to a slot in which the second data signal is transmitted is earlier than the first timing determined based on a slot available for repetition transmission of the first data signal. However, Salah teaches such feature (see determining out of order scheduling when the timing for PDSCH B is earlier than the timing for PDSCH A in figure 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply Salah’s teaching of defining out-of-order scheduling in Qualcomm’s system with the motivation being to enhance the processing of out or order scheduling.
Regarding claim 25, Qualcomm does not explicitly teach determining that the scheduling is not the defined scheduling when the second timing determined based on a slot available for repetition transmission of the second data signal is earlier than the first timing determined based on a slot available for repetition transmission of the first data signal. However, Salah teaches such feature (see the out of order scheduling when the timing for PDSCH B is earlier than the timing for PDSCH A in figure 1). Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply Salah’s teaching of determining out-of-order scheduling in Qualcomm’s system with the motivation being to enhance the processing of out or order scheduling.
Regarding claim 26, Qualcomm further teaches that the first timing is determined based on an uplink slot available for repetition transmission of the first data signal when PUSCH repetition type A with available slot counting is applied to the repetition transmission of the first data signal (See section 1.4, proposal 3 & 4).
Regarding claim 27, Qualcomm further teaches that the information on a timing from a slot in which the 2nd control information (2nd PDCCH) is received to a slot in which the 2nd data signal (2nd PUSCH) is transmitted is a value of K2 (See section 1.4, proposal 4).
Regarding claim 29, Qualcomm further teaches that the uplink slot availability is determined based on information on the time resource allocation for the repetition of 1st data signal or 2nd data signal (See section 1.4, where the uplink slot availability for the 1st PDSCH is determined based on the time allocation for the 1st PUSCH or 2nd PUSCH).
Regarding claim 30, Qualcomm teaches a system comprising a base station that
transmits first control information scheduling a first data signal and transmits second control information scheduling a second data signal later than the first control information for the first data signal and the second data signal, at least one of the first data signal and the second data signal being transmitted repeatedly signal (see section 1.4 where 1st and 2nd PDSCHs are scheduled in slot #3 and #4, respectively and signals can be PUSCH type A repetition); and
determines whether the scheduling is defined scheduling (in-order scheduling), based on a first timing for a reception of the first data signal and a second timing for a reception of the second data signal (See section 1.4).
Qualcomm does not specifically teach that the base station comprises a transmission circuitry and a control circuitry. However, such features are old and well known in the art. For example, Salah, in a similar field, teaches that base station comprises transmission circuitry and control circuitry for controlling out of order scheduling (See figure 3 for base station’s circuitry and figure 2 for “out-of-order” scheduling when the timing for 2nd PDSCH is not later than the timing for 1st PDSCH). Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply Salah’s teaching of using reception circuitry and control circuitry in Qualcomm’s base station with the motivation being to enhance base station’s performance.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm “Enhancement on PUSCH repetition type A” (3GPP TSG WG1 Meeting #108-e R1-2202151) in view of Salah et al (US 2019/0357197 A1) (hereinafter “Salah”), as applied in claim 19 above, and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2022/0095343 A1) (hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding claim 28, Qualcomm in view of Salah does not teach that the uplink slot is available for repetition transmission of the 1st data signal or the 2nd data signal based on Slot Format Indicator (SFI). SFI tells a device how each OFDM (Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing) symbol in a slot is used whether for Downlink (DL), Uplink (UL), or Flexible (F) purposes. Using SFI is well known in the art for providing dynamic & flexible resource adaptation as well as improving power saving by limiting the monitoring of certain type of slot (uplink or downlink). Khoshnevisan teaches that the system can use the Slot Format Indicator SFI to determine slot availability (See par [23]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply Khoshnevisan’s teaching of using SFI in the system of Qualcomm in view of Salah with the motivation being to provide dynamic & flexible resource adaptation and improve power saving.
Conclusion
HUY D. VU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461