DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 16-17, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Yerramalli et al (US20250063533A1, PCT Priority Date: Jan 13, 2022).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses a method for resource scheduling, performed by a first terminal (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), comprising:
obtaining first information (UE determines whether or not an SL-PRS resource should be rescheduled rather than cancelled, par 0159), wherein the first information (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0159, 0161) is used by a first network device (base station, par 0161) to schedule transmission resources for the first terminal (base station reschedules SL-PRS resource according to determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource from UE, par 0159, 0161); and
sending a first message to the first network device, wherein the first message is configured to indicate the first information (UE sends to base station the determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource for rescheduling, par 0159, 0161).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein the first information comprises resource information of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0159, 0161) or configuration information for a sidelink measurement gap (SL MG) of a second terminal (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein obtaining the first information comprises: receiving the first information sent from a second terminal (resource to transmit PRS negotiated among peer UEs, par 0131).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 2 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein in case that the first message is configured to indicate the resource information of the SL PRS, the first message carries one or more pieces of the following information:
resource information of the SL PRS (UE sends to base station the determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0159, 0161);
resource information identifier of the SL PRS;
sidelink identifier of the first terminal and/or the second terminal; or
indication information for indicating a reception of the SL PRS (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 2 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein the resource information of the SL PRS (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0159, 0161) comprises one or more of the following:
a positioning resource identifier of the SL PRS;
frequency domain resource information of the SL PRS (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource for bandwidth, par 0111, 0159, 0161);
time domain resource information of the SL PRS (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource for occasion length and number of symbols, par 0111, 0159, 0161);
a period of the SL PRS;
a resource period type of the SL PRS;
a resource type of the SL PRS;
a resource bandwidth part identifier of the SL PRS;
quasi co-location information of the SL PRS;
activation time and/or duration of the SL PRS; or a valid duration of the SL PRS (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Claim 9 recites a method for resource scheduling performed by a first network device performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 9 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein the first information comprises resource information of a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) (information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0159, 0161) or configuration information for a sidelink measurement gap (SL MG) of a second terminal (note, the examiner picks an option to reject);
wherein scheduling the transmission resources for the first terminal based on the first information comprises:
scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS (base station reschedules SL-PRS resource for UE according to determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource from UE, par 0159, 0161); or
scheduling transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink data to the second terminal based on the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 10 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), wherein scheduling transmission the resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS comprises:
scheduling, based on the resource information of the SL PRS (UE determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource, par 0161), resources other than time-frequency resources (symbol and bandwidth of PRS resource, par 0111) or time domain resources for receiving the SL PRS for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission (base station reschedules SL-PRS resource for UE according to determined information of rescheduling SL-PRS resource from UE, par 0111, 0159, 0161); or,
wherein scheduling the transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission based on the resource information of the SL PRS comprises:
determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS; and
scheduling resources outside a time range of the SL MG of the first terminal for the first terminal to send sidelink and/or perform air interface transmission; or,
wherein scheduling the transmission resources for the first terminal to send sidelink data to the second terminal based on the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal comprises:
scheduling, based on the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal, resources outside a time range of the SL MG of the second terminal for the first terminal to send sidelink data to the second terminal (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Claim 16 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Claim 17 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Claim 20 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Claim 21 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), Claim 24 recites a first network device performing the steps recited in claim 9 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 15, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli’533 in view of Yerramalli et al (US20250175940A1, PCT Priority Date: Mar 01, 2022).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 2 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), further comprising.
Yerramalli’533 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: receiving configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal sent from the first network device.
However Yerramalli’940 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, sidelink ranging and positioning procedure based on calculating an inter-UE RTT measurement, par 0135) discloses: receiving configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal sent from the first network device (UE receives at least one SL-MGP (sidelink measurement gap for positioning) from network (base station or a location server), abstract, par 0007, 0167).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yerramalli’940 into that of Yerramalli’533. The motivation would have been to build packets of test data for testing a communications network (par 0007).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 2 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165).
Yerramalli’533 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal comprises one or more of the following:
a frequency point where the SL PRS locates;
a measurement period and offset of the SL PRS;
a measurement duration of the SL PRS; or
a valid duration of the SL MG.
However Yerramalli’940 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, sidelink ranging and positioning procedure based on calculating an inter-UE RTT measurement, par 0135) discloses:
wherein the configuration information for the SL MG of the second terminal (network configures the UE with at least one SL-MGP, par 0167) comprises one or more of the following:
a frequency point where the SL PRS locates;
a measurement period (measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), par 0116) and offset of the SL PRS (measurement gap configuration specifying a pattern of measurement gaps by measurement gap offset (MGO) and measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), par 0116);
a measurement duration of the SL PRS; or
a valid duration of the SL MG (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yerramalli’940 into that of Yerramalli’533. The motivation would have been to build packets of test data for testing a communications network (par 0007).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 10 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), further comprising.
Yerramalli’533 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS; and
sending the configuration information for the SL MG of the first terminal to the first terminal.
However Yerramalli’940 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 8, sidelink ranging and positioning procedure based on calculating an inter-UE RTT measurement, par 0135) discloses:
determining configuration information for an SL MG of the first terminal based on the resource information of the SL PRS (network configures UE with at least one SL-MGP based on pattern of SL-PRS, par 0167. Noted, pattern of SL-PRS can be equated to resource information of the SL PRS, par 0167); and
sending the configuration information for the SL MG of the first terminal to the first terminal (network configures UE with at least one SL-MGP, par 0167).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yerramalli’940 into that of Yerramalli’533. The motivation would have been to build packets of test data for testing a communications network (par 0007).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Claim 19 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 22 (Original), Claim 22 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli’533 in view of Hu et al (US20250008473A1, PCT Priority Date: Oct 22, 2021).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Yerramalli’533 discloses the method of claim 1 (Fig. 1 and 11, cancel or reschedule SL-PRS resource in wireless communications system including base stations and UEs, par 0039, 0165), further comprising.
Hu’473 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the first message comprises any of the following:
a radio resource control message; or
a media access control-control element (MAC CE) message.
However Hu’473 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, wireless communication system including BS serving UEs, par 0072) discloses: wherein the first message (PRS information request, par 0173) comprises any of the following:
a radio resource control message (target UE transmits PRS information (PRS configuration) request to BS by RRC signaling, par 0173-0174); or
a media access control-control element (MAC CE) message (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Hu’473 into that of Yerramalli’533. The motivation would have been to support “both in coverage,” “partial coverage” and “both out of coverage” scenarios for SL positioning (par 0003).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Claim 23 recites a first terminal performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoang et al (US 20250267737 A1, PCT Priority Date: Apr 26, 2022) discloses: wherein the request to the network for the allocation of SL-PRS resources is sent via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), and wherein the request to the network for the allocation of SL-PRS resources comprises a request for an aperiodic SL-PRS resource transmission (claim 21). This may applied to claims 8 and 23.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473