DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 17 August 2026. In view of this communication, claims 1 and 14-32 are now pending in the application, with claims 14, 16, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant’s election of Group A, corresponding to claims 14, 16, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, and 32, in the reply filed on 17 August 2026 is acknowledged. Because the Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 09 October 2024 was/were filed before mailing of the first action on the merits. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15, 17, 19, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (JP 2011-193635 A), hereinafter referred to as “Fujii”, in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2011/0043069 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Tanaka”.
Regarding claim 1, Fujii discloses a permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026) comprising:
a stator [16] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026-0028);
a plurality of teeth [22] disposed on the stator [16] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0028); and
coils [18] wound in a concentrated winding manner around the plurality of respective teeth [22] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0026, 0031-0033),
wherein in a closed magnetic circuit in which a magnetic flux generated from a coil [18U1] wound around one tooth [22U1] of two specific teeth [22U1-22U2] adjacent to each other included in the plurality of teeth [22] passes through end portions of the two specific teeth [22U1-22U2], penetrates a coil [18U2] wound around another tooth [22U2] of the two specific teeth [22U1-22U2], passes through a core back portion [20] of each of the two specific teeth [22U1-22U2], and returns back to the coil [18U1] wound around the one tooth [22U1] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0032-0033), and
a magnetic resistance of the closed magnetic circuit when the coils [18U1-18U2] wound around the two specific teeth [22U1-22U2] have a same phase [U] is less than a magnetic resistance of the closed magnetic circuit when the coils [18U2-18V1] wound around the two specific teeth [22U2-22V1] have different phases [U,V] (fig. 2; ¶ 0032-0033; the longer distances between teeth of different phases has a higher magnetic resistance than the shorter distances between teeth of the same phase).
Fujii does not disclose the plurality of teeth [22] disposed equiangularly on the stator, the coils [18] forming a three-phase delta connection, and a number of poles [14] is less than a number of slots [26].
Tanaka discloses a permanent magnet synchronous motor [1] comprising a stator [3] with a plurality of teeth [3a] disposed equiangularly on the stator [3] (fig. 1-4; ¶ 0038), coils [4] forming a three-phase delta connection (fig. 4; ¶ 0043-0044), and a number of poles [2a] is less than a number of slots [3b] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0040, 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the stator or Fujii having a greater number of equiangular teeth/slots than the number of rotor poles as taught by Tanaka, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the coils of Fujii in a delta connection as taught by Tanaka, in order to reduce the total magnetic noise and torque ripple thereby achieving reductions in the scale, cost, and complexity of the device (¶ 0010-0011 of Tanaka).
Regarding claim 15, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a core back portion [20] between a specific tooth [22V1] among the plurality of teeth [22] and a tooth [22V2] having a same phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22V1] has a radial direction thickness greater than a radial direction thickness of a core back portion [20] between the specific tooth [22V1] and a tooth [22U2] having a different phase [U] adjacent to the specific tooth [22V1], and the specific tooth [22V1] is an arbitrary tooth [22] among the plurality of teeth [22] (fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the teeth [22] each include a flange portion [28] circumferentially extending from an end portion nearer to a rotor [12] (fig. 1-2; ¶ ), of a specific tooth [22V1] among the plurality of teeth [22], toward a tooth [22V2] having a same phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22V1], and each include a cutout portion [groove] on a side nearer to a tooth [22U2] having a different phase [U] adjacent to the specific tooth [22V1], of the end portion, and the specific tooth [22V1] is an arbitrary tooth [22] among the plurality of teeth [22] (fig. 2; the grooves in the outer radial surfaces of the pole shoes are located on the sides of each tooth center line facing towards the neighboring teeth of a different phase).
Regarding claim 19, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein one [22U1] of two teeth [22U1,22V1] adjacent to a specific tooth [22U2] among the plurality of teeth [22] has a same phase [U] as a phase [U] of the specific tooth [22U2], and another one [22V1] of the two teeth [22U1,22V1] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2] has a different phase [V] from the phase [U] of the specific tooth [22U2] (fig. 2), and a volume included in a portion [27U1] nearer to the tooth [22U1] having a same phase [U] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2] with respect to a tooth center line [CL], of a volume of the specific tooth [22U2], is greater than a volume included in a portion [27V1] nearer to the tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2] with respect to the tooth center line [CL], of the volume of the specific tooth [22U2] (fig. 2; the body of the same-phase tooth, and thus a volume thereof, is closer to the body of the adjacent tooth of the same phase than it is to the body of the adjacent tooth of a different phase).
Regarding claim 21, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above. Fujii, in view of Tanaka does not explicitly disclose that a ratio of the number of poles [14] to the number of slots [26] is 3m+1:3m, m being an integer greater than or equal to 2.
Fujii does disclose that the numbers of poles and slots are result-effective variables affecting the angles and pitches therebetween (¶ 0014-0017).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to disclose similar values of the numbers of poles and slots, in order to secure an effective magnetic flux and improve motor efficiency (¶ 0017 of Fujii), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 23, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein pairs of teeth [22] adjacent to each other in the plurality of teeth [22] have slot opening widths [T1,T2] between the respective pairs, the slot opening widths [T1,T2] being equal to one another in all the pairs (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0030).
Regarding claim 27, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a groove portion or a cavity portion is formed in each of the plurality of teeth [22], and the groove portion or the cavity portion has a median point, the median point being positioned at a position nearer to a tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] with respect to a tooth center line [CL], the tooth center line [CL] being positioned at a center of a circumferential direction width of a straight portion [27U2] of a specific tooth [22U2] in which the groove portion or the cavity portion is formed, the tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] being adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2], and the specific tooth [22U2] is an arbitrary tooth among the plurality of teeth [22] (fig. 2; the grooves in the pole shoes of each tooth are on the side of that tooth’s center line closer to the neighboring different-phase tooth and farther from the neighboring same-phase tooth).
Claim(s) 18 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baba et al. (JP 2003-204638 A), hereinafter referred to as “Baba”.
Regarding claim 18, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a specific tooth [22U2] among the plurality of teeth [22] includes a flange portion circumferentially extending from an end portion nearer to a rotor [12] toward a tooth [22U1] having a same phase [U] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2], a gap exists between a flange portion circumferentially extending from the end portion toward a tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2] and a flange portion of the tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2], and the specific tooth [22U2] is an arbitrary tooth among the plurality of teeth [22] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0030).
Fujii does not disclose the flange portion being joined to a flange portion of the tooth having a same phase adjacent to the specific tooth.
Baba discloses a stator [12] comprising teeth [3f] with flange portions [3g] extending circumferentially towards adjacent teeth [3f] (fig. 10-11; ¶ 0080-0083), wherein the flange portion [3g] of a specific tooth [3f] is joined to a flange portion [3g] of a tooth [3f] having a same phase adjacent to the specific tooth [3f] (fig. 11; ¶ 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the flange portions of Fujii joining same-phase teeth as taught by Baba, in order to achieve a higher packing factor of the coil (¶ 0084 of Baba) thereby increasing motor output.
Regarding claim 29, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above. Fujii does not disclose an additional magnetic member positioned in a space between a flange portion of a specific tooth among the plurality of teeth and a flange portion of a tooth having a same phase adjacent to the specific tooth, wherein the specific tooth is an arbitrary tooth among the plurality of teeth.
Baba discloses a stator [12] comprising teeth [3f] with flange portions [3g] extending circumferentially towards adjacent teeth [3f] (fig. 1-3; ¶ 0055-0058), further comprising an additional magnetic member [10] positioned in a space between a flange portion [3g] of a specific tooth [3f] among the plurality of teeth [3f] and a flange portion [3g] of a tooth [3f] having a same phase adjacent to the specific tooth [3f], wherein the specific tooth [3f] is an arbitrary tooth [3f] among the plurality of teeth [3f] (fig. 3; ¶ 0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the stator of Fujii having additional magnetic members between the flange portions as taught by Baba, in order to avoid narrowing the effective slot cross-sectional area that can accommodate the coils thereby preventing an increase in copper loss and a deterioration in efficiency (¶ 0068 of Baba).
Claim(s) 20 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Onishi (JP 2010-115054 A), hereinafter referred to as “Onishi”.
Regarding claim 20, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein a specific tooth [22U2] among the plurality of teeth [22] includes a flange portion [28U2] circumferentially extending from an end portion nearer to a rotor [12] toward a tooth [22U1] having a same phase [U] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2] and a flange portion [28V1] circumferentially extending from the end portion toward a tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V] adjacent to the specific tooth [22U2], and the flange portion [28U2] circumferentially extending toward the tooth [22U1] having a same phase [U] has a circumferential direction length {shorter} than a circumferential direction length of the flange portion [22V1] circumferentially extending toward the tooth [22V1] having a different phase [V], and the specific tooth [22U2] is an arbitrary tooth [22] among the plurality of teeth [22] (fig. 2).
Fujii does not disclose said flange portion [28U2] being longer toward the tooth [22U1] of a same phase (i.e. the flanges are longer toward different phases).
Onish discloses a stator [40] comprising teeth [42] with flange portions [43] extending towards adjacent teeth [42] (fig. 5-6; ¶ 0027-0029), wherein said flange portions [43] have a circumferential direction length extending toward a same-phase adjacent tooth [42] that is longer than a circumferential direction length extending toward a different-phase adjacent tooth [42] (fig. 5-6; ¶ 0028-0033; bodies 45-46 are longer in one direction while bodies 48-49 are longer in the opposite direction, each providing flange portions that extend farther toward either same- or different-phase adjacent teeth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the flange portions of Fujii having offset lengths in the circumferential direction as taught by Tanaka, thereby providing flange portions extending farther toward both same- and different-phase adjacent teeth, in order to reduce cogging torque while suppressing a decrease in output (¶ 0032 of Tanaka).
Regarding claim 31, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above. Fujii does not disclose that a specific tooth among the plurality of teeth has a skew structure, the skew structure differing continuously or discontinuously depending on a position in a rotational axis direction.
Onish discloses a stator [40] comprising teeth [42] with flange portions [43] extending towards adjacent teeth [42] (fig. 5-6; ¶ 0027-0029), wherein a specific tooth [42] among the plurality of teeth [42] has a skew structure [45-49] (fig. 4-6), the skew structure [45-49] differing continuously or discontinuously depending on a position in a rotational axis direction (fig. 5-6; ¶ 0028-0033; bodies 45-49 are skewed by changing the lengths of their respective flange portions extending toward adjacent teeth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the flange portions of Fujii having offset lengths in the circumferential direction as taught by Tanaka, thereby providing a skew structure, in order to reduce cogging torque while suppressing a decrease in output (¶ 0032 of Tanaka).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii and Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokoyama (US 2022/0247242 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yokoyama”.
Regarding claim 25, Fujii, in view of Tanaka, discloses the permanent magnet synchronous motor [10] according to claim 1, as stated above. Fujii does not disclose a spacer interposed between a core back portion [20] of a specific tooth among the plurality of teeth [22] and a core back portion [22] of a tooth having a different phase adjacent to the specific tooth, the spacer having magnetic permeability lower than magnetic permeability of material of each of the plurality of teeth.
Yokoyama discloses a motor [31] comprising a stator [313] with a core back portion [315a] and teeth [313b] (fig. 3-5; ¶ 0089, 0091, 0097-0098), further comprising a spacer [315b] interposed between a core back portion [315a] of a specific tooth among the plurality of teeth [313b] and a core back portion [315a] of a tooth having a different phase adjacent to the specific tooth, the spacer [315b] having magnetic permeability lower than magnetic permeability of material of each of the plurality of teeth [313b] (fig. 5; ¶ 0097-0104; when placed for “high rotation”, the spacers are located between two teeth).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the stator core back portion of Fujii having a spacer interposed circumferentially between the teeth as taught by Yokoyama, in order to increase the magnetic resistance between teeth thereby shortening the magnetic path in the back yoke and improving motor characteristics for high-speed rotation (¶ 0101-0104 of Yokoyama).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Miyata et al. (US 2012/0043847 A1) discloses a permanent magnet motor comprising a stator with delta-connected windings.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834