DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41-43, 45-47, 53-54 and 56-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (US 2025/0071648 A1).
Regarding Claim 41, Hong teaches the below limitation(s):
receiving, from a first network device, a lower-layer signaling indicating a cell change or addition for a primary cell of a second network device (Hong Fig 8 S830 receive MAC CE and associated [0106] UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM (L1/L2 triggered mobility) operation to the target cell; [0092] L1/L2 signaling-based cell change may be performed for a serving cell change (PCell change or SCell change), wherein the first and second network device(s) are interpreted as the same device),
the lower-layer signaling comprising a first configuration for a contention free random access procedure for the primary cell ([0108] UE may receive instruction information instructing to perform the LTM operation included in the MAC CE and/or UE may identify information about the target cell (e.g. PCell) included in the MAC CE; [0109] MAC CE may include at least one of identification information for candidate target cell configuration information; [0188] configuration information (e.g. RA occasion for contention free random access) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change); and
performing, at least based on the first configuration, a first random access procedure on the primary cell (Fig 8 S840 perform cell change operation).
Regarding Claim 42, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the first network device and the second network device are same network device (Hong [0106] UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM (L1/L2 triggered mobility) operation to the target cell).
Regarding Claim 43, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
determining a first random access parameter based on an indication of the first random access parameter in the first configuration (Hong [0189] teaches exemplary parameters used to support an LTM procedure (i.e. RA procedure)); and
performing the first random access procedure based on the first random access parameter ([0183] MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger LTM operation and may include one or more of the following information pieces: … configuration information including parameters for the corresponding RACH-only configuration information and [0188] RACH-only configuration information comprises RA occasion for CFRA to be used for cell change).
Regarding Claim 45, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 42.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the first random access parameter comprises at least one of the following: a carrier, a random access type, a reference signal, a preamble, or a random access occasion (Hong [0188] RACH-only configuration information comprises RA occasion for CFRA to be used for cell change).
Regarding Claim 46, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: a random access preamble index, a physical random access channel occasion parameter, an index of a reference signal, a supplementary or normal uplink indicator, or random access type information (Hong [0184] SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier; [0076] UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station; [0161] LTM procedure may be activated through MAC CE using the reference signal of the source cell).
Regarding Claim 47, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the lower-layer signaling further comprises a second configuration for a contention free random access procedure for a secondary cell of the second network device (Hong [0245] LTM operation for a source cell (i.e. first cell) and a target cell (i.e. second cell) is performed through the same MAC entity … corresponding procedure may add the HARQ entity for the second TRP-associated cell).
Regarding Claim 53, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 47.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the second configuration comprises at least one of the following: a random access preamble index, a physical random access channel occasion parameter, an index of a reference signal, a supplementary or normal uplink indicator, or random access type information (Hong [0184] SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier; [0076] UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station; [0161] LTM procedure may be activated through MAC CE using the reference signal of the source cell).
Regarding Claim 54, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
transmitting, to the first network device, a random access report comprising a first indicator, the first indicator being used for indicating a random access scenario for which a random access report is triggered upon execution of a reconfiguration with sync (Hong [0101] information for measurement reporting may be included in the candidate target cell configuration information, for example the value related to the measurement reporting trigger condition); or
transmitting, to the first network device, a random access report comprising a second indicator dedicated to indicate that the first random access procedure is initiated in the primary cell by the lower-layer signaling ([0087] BS may provide a measurement configuration including trigger state for triggering channel (i.e. indicating that RA is initiated)).
Regarding Claim 56, Hong teaches the below limitation(s):
determining a first configuration for a contention free random access procedure for a primary cell of a second network device (Hong Fig 9 S930 determine to perform LTM operation; [0025] base station may determine to perform the LTM operation and/or base station may determine the target cell to be changed through the LTM operation (i.e. perform a cell change RA procedure); [0188] configuration information (e.g. RA occasion for contention free random access) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change); and
transmitting, to a terminal device, a lower-layer signaling indicating a cell change or addition for the primary cell and comprising the first configuration (Fig 9 S940 and associated [0128] transmit MAC CE to perform an LTM operation to the target cell; [0106] UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM (L1/L2 triggered mobility) operation to the target cell; [0092] L1/L2 signaling-based cell change may be performed for a serving cell change (PCell change or SCell change)).
Regarding Claim 57, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 56.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
determining a first random access parameter for a first random access procedure on the primary cell (Hong [0189] teaches exemplary parameters used to support an LTM procedure (i.e. RA procedure)); and
generating the first configuration comprising an indication of the first random access parameter ([0183] MAC CE may be defined to indicate/trigger LTM operation and may include one or more of the following information pieces: … configuration information including parameters for the corresponding RACH-only configuration information and [0188] RACH-only configuration information comprises RA occasion for CFRA to be used for cell change).
Regarding Claim 58, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 57.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the first random access parameter comprises at least one of the following: a carrier, a random access type, a reference signal, a preamble, or a random access occasion (Hong [0184] SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier; [0076] UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station; [0161] LTM procedure may be activated through MAC CE using the reference signal of the source cell; [0188] RACH-only configuration information comprises RA occasion for CFRA to be used for cell change).
Regarding Claim 59, Hong teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 56.
Hong further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of the following: a random access preamble index, a physical random access channel occasion parameter, an index of a reference signal, a supplementary or normal uplink indicator, or random access type information (Hong [0184] SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier; [0076] UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station; [0161] LTM procedure may be activated through MAC CE using the reference signal of the source cell).
Regarding Claim 60, Hong teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one memory; and at least one processor operatively connected to the at least one memory (Hong [0279]-[0278] hardware to implement the present embodiments may comprise a processor and software code stored in a memory unit and driven by the processor), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a first network device, a lower-layer signaling indicating a cell change or addition for a primary cell of a second network device (Fig 8 S830 receive MAC CE and associated [0106] UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM (L1/L2 triggered mobility) operation to the target cell; [0092] L1/L2 signaling-based cell change may be performed for a serving cell change (PCell change or SCell change)),
wherein the lower-layer signaling comprises a first configuration for a contention free random access procedure for the primary cell ([0108] UE may receive instruction information instructing to perform the LTM operation included in the MAC CE and/or UE may identify information about the target cell (e.g. PCell) included in the MAC CE; [0109] MAC CE may include at least one of identification information for candidate target cell configuration information; [0188] configuration information (e.g. RA occasion for contention free random access) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change), and
perform, at least based on the first configuration, a first random access procedure on the primary cell (Fig 8 S840 perform cell change operation).
Regarding Claim 61, Hong teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one memory; and at least one processor operatively connected to the at least one memory (Hong [0279]-[0278] hardware to implement the present embodiments may comprise a processor and software code stored in a memory unit and driven by the processor), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine a first configuration for a contention free random access procedure for a primary cell of a second network device (Fig 9 S930 determine to perform LTM operation; [0025] base station may determine to perform the LTM operation and/or base station may determine the target cell to be changed through the LTM operation (i.e. perform a cell change RA procedure); [0188] configuration information (e.g. RA occasion for contention free random access) indicates random access configuration information used for cell change), and
transmit, to a terminal device, a lower-layer signaling indicating a cell change or addition for the primary cell, wherein the lower-layer signaling comprises the first configuration (Fig 9 S940 and associated [0128] transmit MAC CE to perform an LTM operation to the target cell; [0106] UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM (L1/L2 triggered mobility) operation to the target cell; [0092] L1/L2 signaling-based cell change may be performed for a serving cell change (PCell change or SCell change)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 44, 48 and 51-52is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2025/0071648 A1) in view of Wei (US 2020/0145089 A1).
Regarding Claim 44, Hong and Wei disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 41.
Hong further discloses the below limitation(s): performing the first random access procedure based on the first random access parameter (Hong Fig 8 S840 perform cell change operation).
Hong does not disclose the below limitation(s): determining a first random access parameter based on a predetermined value of the first random access parameter;
In the same field of endeavor of contention free random access procedure configuration, Wei does disclose the below limitation(s): determining a first random access parameter based on a predetermined value of the first random access parameter (Wei [0059] BFR configuration including the RA parameters may be configured by a base station per UL BWP and may only be applied by the MAC entity when the BFR is triggered (e.g. when the number of beam failure instances received from lower layers is larger than to equal to a predetermined threshold within a preconfigured time period); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for terminal device to include indicating a predetermine parameter for RA as taught by Wei. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to use a predetermined RA parameter to reduce the amount of signaling needed for RA configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Wei to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 48, Hong and Wei disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 47.
Hong does not disclose the below limitation(s): determining a second random access parameter for the secondary cell based on an indication of the second random access parameter in the second configuration; and
performing a second random access procedure on the secondary cell based on the second random access parameter.
In the same field of endeavor of contention free random access procedure configuration, Wei does disclose the below limitation(s): determining a second random access parameter for the secondary cell based on an indication of the second random access parameter in the second configuration (Wei Abstract receiving a second beam failure recovery configuration of a second UL BWP); and
performing a second random access procedure on the secondary cell based on the second random access parameter (Abstract initiating a second RA procedure on the second UL BWP by applying at least one second RA parameter configured in the second beam failure recovery configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for terminal device to include performing a second RA procedure on a second cell as taught by Wei. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable a cell change operation without interrupting RA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Wei to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 51, Hong and Wei disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 48.
Hong further discloses the below limitation(s): transmitting a random access preamble on the secondary cell (Hong Fig 6 and [0076] UE transmit a random access preamble for random access to the base station); and
receiving a random access response on the primary cell (Fig 6 and [0077] UE receives a random access response to the transmitted preamble).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for terminal device to include transmitting a RA preamble and receiving a RA response as taught by Hong. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to use a 4-way handshake RA procedure for additional security. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Wei to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 52, Hong and Wei disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 48.
Hong further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the second random access parameter comprises at least one of the following: a carrier, a random access type, a reference signal, a preamble, or a random access occasion (Hong [0184] SUL indicates/denotes whether the MAC CE is applied to the NUL carrier or the SUL carrier; [0076] UE transmits a random access preamble for random access to the base station; [0161] LTM procedure may be activated through MAC CE using the reference signal of the source cell; [0188] RACH-only configuration information comprises RA occasion for CFRA to be used for cell change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for terminal device to include indicating an RA parameter as part of RA configuration as taught by Hong. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to enable the UE and the BS to communicate in RA using the indicated parameters. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hong and Wei to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 49-50 and 55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a thorough and complete search has been conducted and no prior art has been found that solely, or in any reasonable combination, reads on each element of the indicated claim(s).
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412