Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “CURRENT SENSOR ABNORMALITY DETECTION DEVICE INCLUDING PARALLEL CONDUCTIVE PATHS“.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita et al. (U.S. 2018/0205262 A1) in view of Takechi et al. (U.S. 2021/0367277 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akita et al. disclose an abnormality detection device comprising: a parallel circuit unit in which a plurality of conductive paths are connected in parallel (see AC switch 9 including relay contact 91 and semiconductor switch 90 connected in parallel; see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0041]); a plurality of current sensors (see current sensor 12 and current sensor 14; see Akita, paragraph [0040]); and an abnormality determination unit (see control unit 10 determining whether current is excessive based on detection output from current sensor 12; see Akita, paragraph [0078]), wherein the current sensors detect currents respectively flowing through the plurality of conductive paths (see current sensor 12 provided on AC path 4 and current sensor 14 provided on an electric path connecting conversion unit 7 and AC paths 4; see Akita, paragraph [0040]), and the abnormality determination unit performs abnormality determination of the current sensors based on the detection values of the plurality of current sensors (see [0084]; detecting abnormality based on information obtained from battery management devices), the parallel circuit unit is provided between a power supply unit and a power supply target to which power based on the power supply unit is to be supplied (see AC switch 9 interposed on AC path 4 between input end Tin and connection point P toward output end Tout/load; see Akita, paragraph [0041]), and one end of the parallel circuit unit is short-circuited to one power supply side conductive path provided on the power supply unit side with respect to the parallel circuit unit, and another end of the parallel circuit unit is short-circuited to one target side conductive path provided on the power supply target side with respect to the parallel circuit unit (see AC switch 9 interposed on AC path 4 between input end Tin and connection point P, with the AC path extending to output end Tout; see Akita, paragraph [0041]).
Akita et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose current detection unit configuration for abnormality detection in a battery/power monitoring system.
Takechi et al. disclose current detection unit (71) configuration for abnormality detection in a battery/power monitoring system (see [0073 & 0078]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Akita et al.’s power supply device by incorporating the current detection and abnormality monitoring configuration taught by Takechi et al., as doing so would provide current detection suitable for monitoring current behavior in a battery/power path because Takechi et al. emphasize in paragraph [0073] that the current detection unit may be implemented as a shunt resistor, a Hall sensor, or the like for detecting charge/discharge current, and further teach in paragraphs [0040 & 0071] that the control unit detects abnormality based on obtained battery-management information, thus improving Akita’s abnormal current/fuse-blowout protection by providing known current-detection structures and abnormality monitoring in a power supply system.
Regarding claim 2, Akita et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of conductive paths include a first conductive path and a second conductive path connected in parallel to each other (see AC switch 9 including relay contact 91 and semiconductor switch 90 connected in parallel, paragraph [0041]; Fig. 1 also shows relay contact 91 and semiconductor switch 90 arranged in parallel within AC switch 9), the plurality of current sensors include a first current sensor that detects a current flowing through the first conductive path, and a second current sensor that detects a current flowing through the second conductive path (see current sensor 12 and current sensor 14 provided in respective electric paths of the power supply device, paragraph [0040]).
Akita et al. do not expressly disclose that the abnormality determination unit determines that there is an abnormality at least when a difference between a detection value of the first current sensor and a detection value of the second current sensor is outside a predetermined numerical range.
Takechi et al. disclose that a current detection unit detects a charge current or a discharge current, and that the current detection unit may be configured as a current detection circuit included in each battery management device to detect current (see paragraph [0073]). Takechi et al. further disclose that the control unit identifies the state of the secondary battery based on information obtained from battery management devices, thereby detecting abnormality (see paragraph [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Akita et al.’s power supply device by incorporating Takechi et al.’s current-detection abnormality monitoring using current detection circuits associated with monitored battery management devices, as doing so would provide improved detection of abnormal or divergent current behavior among monitored current paths because Takechi et al. emphasize in paragraph [0078] that the control unit identifies the state of the secondary battery based on information obtained from the battery management devices, thereby detecting abnormality, thus improving Akita’s current-based protection system by allowing abnormal divergence between current-detection values to be detected before or during power interruption control.
Regarding claim 3, Akita et al. and Takechi et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein Akita et al. further disclose an interruption unit configured to switch from a permission state in which power supply from the power supply unit side to the power supply target side via the parallel circuit unit is permitted to an interruption state in which the power supply is interrupted (see AC switch 9, and control unit 10 opens AC switch 9 when supplying power from storage battery 8 to the load, thereby interrupting power from the input side; see Akita, paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Akita et al. and Takechi et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 3, wherein Akita et al. further disclose a control unit configured to switch the interruption unit from the permission state to the interruption state based on a detection value of at least one of the plurality of current sensors (Akita discloses control unit 10 determining whether current is excessive based on a detection signal from current sensor 12 and controlling the relay contact/AC switch accordingly; see Akita, paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 5, Akita et al. further disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit determines whether or not each of the conductive paths is in an overcurrent state, based on a detection value (SEN) of the corresponding current sensor (see [0073]), and when it is determined that at least one of the conductive paths is in the overcurrent state, switches the interruption unit from the permission state to the interruption state (see control unit 10 determining excessive current based on current sensor 12, detecting fuse blowout, and opening relay contact 91; see Akita, paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, Akita et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit determines whether or not each of the conductive paths is in an overcurrent state based on a detection value of the corresponding current sensor (see control unit 10 determining whether current is excessive based on a detection signal from current sensor 12, paragraph [0078]), and switches the interruption unit from the permission state to the interruption state based on detected excessive current (see [0071] when excessive current is detected and fuse blowout occurs, control unit 10 opens relay contact 91, paragraph [0079]).
Akita et al. do not expressly disclose when it is determined that two or more of the conductive paths are in the overcurrent state, switches the interruption unit from the permission state to the interruption state.
Takechi et al. disclose using information obtained from a plurality of battery management devices to comprehensively identify the state of the secondary battery and detect abnormality (see paragraph [0078]). Takechi et al. further disclose that a current detection unit may be configured as a current detection circuit included in each battery management device to detect current (see paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Akita et al.’s current-based excessive-current protection control by incorporating Takechi et al.’s abnormality detection based on information obtained from a plurality of battery management devices/current detection circuits, as doing so would provide more reliable abnormality detection across multiple monitored current paths because Takechi et al. emphasize in paragraph [0078] that the control unit comprehensively identifies the state of the secondary battery based on information obtained from the battery management devices, thereby detecting abnormality, thus improving Akita’s interruption control by reducing erroneous interruption caused by a single transient or isolated current detection.
Regarding claim 8, Akita et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the device includes current sensors configured to detect current in conductive paths of the power supply device (Akita discloses current sensor 12 and current sensor 14 provided in respective electric paths, paragraph [0040]; Fig. 1 of Akita also shows the current sensors and AC switch arrangement ).
Akita et al. do not expressly disclose wherein each of the current sensors has a shunt resistor provided in the corresponding conductive path.
Takechi et al. disclose that the current detection unit is implemented as a shunt resistor for detecting current (Takechi, paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Akita et al.’s current sensors by implementing each current sensor as a shunt resistor as taught by Takechi et al., as doing so would provide a known and simple current-detection structure for detecting current in a conductive path because Takechi et al. emphasize in paragraph [0073] that the current detection unit may be implemented as a shunt resistor for detecting charge current or discharge current, thus improving Akita’s power supply device by using a predictable current-sensing component suitable for current-based protection control.
Regarding claim 9, Akita et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the device includes current sensors configured to detect current in conductive paths of the power supply device (Akita discloses current sensor 12 and current sensor 14 provided in respective electric paths, paragraph [0040]).
Akita et al. do not expressly disclose wherein each of the current sensors includes a magnetism detection unit configured to detect magnetism generated by a current flowing through each of the conductive paths and convert the magnetism into an electric signal.
Takechi et al. disclose that the current detection unit may be implemented as a Hall sensor for detecting current (Takechi, paragraph [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Akita et al.’s current sensors by implementing each current sensor as a Hall sensor as taught by Takechi et al., as doing so would provide magnetic current detection without requiring direct resistive sensing because Takechi et al. emphasize in paragraph [0073] that the current detection unit may be implemented as a Hall sensor for detecting charge current or discharge current, thus improving Akita’s power supply device by providing a known magnetic current-detection alternative for detecting current in the conductive paths.
Regarding claim 10, Akita et al. and Takechi et al. disclose the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein Akita et al. further disclose including an interruption unit configured to switch from a permission state in which power supply from the power supply unit side to the power supply target side via the parallel circuit unit is permitted to an interruption state in which the power supply is interrupted (see AC switch 9 including relay contact 91 and semiconductor switch 90 connected in parallel, paragraph [0041]; Akita further discloses that control unit 10 opens AC switch 9 when power is supplied from storage battery 8 to the load, paragraph [0051]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2024/0010142 A1 to Morita discloses a power supply system includes: a first system having a first power supply; a second system having a second power supply; and an inter-system switch provided in a connection path connecting the first and second systems. First and second paths are provided in parallel between a connection point, at which the connection path is connected with the second system, and the second power supply. The power supply system further includes: a charging unit provided in the first path to charge, with the inter-system switch closed, a storage battery of the second power supply; a discharge restriction unit provided in the second path to restrict discharge of the storage battery; an abnormality determination unit that determines whether an abnormality has occurred in the discharge restriction unit; and a use restriction unit that restricts use of the second power supply upon determination that an abnormality has occurred in the discharge restriction unit.
U.S. 2023/0253820 A1 to Mitani et al. disclose a power supply circuit of an aircraft includes: a first power transmission path for transmitting electric power from each of a first main power source device and a second main power source device to a first load device and a second load device; a first current sensor; a second current sensor; a third current sensor; and a fourth current sensor, and determines whether an abnormality has occurred based on currents detected by the first current sensor, the second current sensor, the third current sensor and the fourth current sensor.
U.S. 2015/0109077 A1 to Tomimbang et al. disclose an apparatus, system and method for protection of electrical circuits and consumers from literally all known electrical faults in Direct Current (DC) and Alternating Current (AC) single and multi-phase systems such as and including Arc Faults, Ground and Leakage Faults, Surge, Overload, Short Circuit, Glowing Connections, Misfired Connections, overvoltage, undervoltage and Phase-Loss. Said apparatus, system and method come in the form of or in a housing as a Circuit Breaker, Receptacle, Convenience Outlet, Attachment Plug, Equipment Controller, a circuit, or a system integrated with another system, device or apparatus.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858