DETAILED ACTION
I. This office action is in response to the correspondence filed on October 09, 2024. Claims 1-30 are pending and being examined.
II. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Allowable Subject Matter
III. Claims 6, 8, 20, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
IV. Claims 11-18 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Belghoul et al. (US 2016/0234645 A1).
Regarding claim 11 Belghoul teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a positioning session with a second network entity (see paragraphs [0077] – [0078], The UE provides WLAN measurements to one or more network elements such as an E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information. This reads on method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a positioning session with a second network entity); determining that a plurality of positioning errors occurred during the positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0069], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN Error information element can be used by a network element. This reads on determining that a plurality of positioning errors occurred during the positioning session); and reporting a plurality of positioning error causes for the plurality positioning errors to the second network entity (see paragraphs [0094] – [0096], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors. This reads on reporting a plurality of positioning error causes for the plurality positioning errors to the second network entity) using a bitmap representing the plurality of positioning error causes (see paragraph [0068], In the positioning message an Information Element (IE) can include the location error cause (LocationError:=SEQUENCE {locationfailurecause, LocationFailureCause) with a Bit String Location Source. This reads on using a bitmap representing the plurality of positioning error causes).
Regarding claim 12 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device).
Regarding claim 13 Belghoul teaches wherein the bitmap of positioning error causes includes: one or more bits indicating that an undefined positioning error occurred at the location server; one or more bits indicating that assistance data for the positioning session is not supported by the location server; one or more bits indicating that the assistance data for the positioning session is supported by the location server but not currently available to the location server; or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0068] & [0094], The Error Information element can be used by/for the location server or by the UE (see paragraph [0094]). LocationFailureCause undefined with LocationSource BIT STRING reads on wherein the bitmap of positioning error causes includes: one or more bits indicating that an undefined positioning error occurred at the location server).
Regarding claim 14 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server).
Regarding claim 15 Belghoul teaches wherein the bitmap of positioning error causes includes: one or more bits indicating that an undefined error occurred at the target device, one or more bits indicating that assistance data for the positioning session is missing at the target device; one or more bits indicating that the target device is unable to measure reference signals from any transmission-reception points (TRPs) indicated in assistance data received by the target device; one or more bits indicating that the target device attempted but was unable to measure reference signals of some neighbor TRPs indicated in the assistance data; one or more bits indicating that the target device did not receive enough reference signals from TRPs indicated in the assistance data for a target-based positioning determination; one or more bits indicating that location calculation assistance data is missing at the target device; one or more bits indicating that the target device is missing configuration information for transmitting one or more reference signals indicated in the assistance data; one or more bits indicating that the target device is unable to transmit one or more reference signals indicated in the assistance data; or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0068] & [0094], The Error Information element can be used by/for the location server or by the UE (see paragraph [0094]). LocationFailureCause undefined with LocationSource BIT STRING reads on wherein the bitmap of positioning error causes includes: one or more bits indicating that an undefined positioning error occurred at the target device).
Regarding claim 16 Belghoul teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a first positioning session with a second network entity (see paragraphs [0077] – [0078], The UE provides WLAN measurements to one or more network elements such as an E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information. This reads on method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a first positioning session with a second network entity); determining that a first plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the first positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0069], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN Error information element including positioning error causes can be used by a network element. This reads on determining that a first plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the first positioning session); and reporting a first positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the first positioning session, wherein the first positioning error cause is associated with a first positioning error of the first plurality of positioning errors (see paragraphs [0094] – [0096], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning error causes. This reads on reporting a first positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the first positioning session, wherein the first positioning error cause is associated with a first positioning error of the first plurality of positioning errors); engaging in a second positioning session with the second network entity (see paragraphs [0077] – [0078], The UE provides WLAN measurements to one or more network elements such as an E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information. The engaging in the positioning session is based on a request for location information. The request can be made a plurality of times and this reads on engaging in a second positioning session with a second network entity); determining that a second plurality of positioning errors occurred during the second positioning session (see paragraphs [0097] & [0107], One or more messages can include BT-Error information element to indicate causes s for BT positioning errors. The BT Error information element can be used by a network element. This reads on determining that a second plurality of positioning errors occurred during the second positioning session), wherein the second plurality of positioning errors and the first plurality of positioning errors include the first positioning error associated with the first positioning error cause and a second positioning error associated with a second positioning error cause of the plurality of positioning error causes (see paragraphs [0095] – [0096] & [107], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors causes. One or more messages can include a BT-Error information element to indicate causes for BT positioning errors. The BT-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors causes. This reads on wherein the second plurality of positioning errors and the first plurality of positioning errors include the first positioning error associated with the first positioning error cause and a second positioning error associated with a second positioning error cause of the plurality of positioning error causes); and reporting the second positioning error cause to the second network entity during the second positioning session (see paragraph [0107], One or more messages can include a BT-Error information element to indicate causes for BT positioning errors. The BT-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors. This reads on reporting the second positioning error cause to the second network entity during the second positioning session).
Regarding claim 17 Belghoul teaches the first positioning error cause is reported in a first positioning information element (see paragraph [0094], The WLAN-Error information element can be reported to the UE or a location server. This reads on first positioning error cause is reported in a first positioning information element); and the second positioning error cause is reported in a second positioning information element having a same format as the first positioning information element (see paragraph [0107], The BT-Error information element can be reported to the UE or a location server. The WLAN-Error information element and the BT-Error information element have same format. This reads on the second positioning error cause is reported in a second positioning information element having a same format as the first positioning information element).
Regarding claim 18 Belghoul teaches wherein the first positioning information element and the second positioning information element have a same positioning information element format (see paragraphs [0094 & [0107], The WLAN-Error information element and the BT-Error information element have same format. This reads on wherein the first positioning information element and the second positioning information element have a same positioning information element format).
Regarding claim 21 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device).
Regarding claim 22 Belghoul teaches wherein the plurality of positioning error causes indicate: an undefined positioning error occurred at the location server during the first positioning session; assistance data indicated for the first positioning session is not supported by the location server; the assistance data indicated for the first positioning session is supported by the location server but not currently available to the location server; or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0068] & [0094], The Error Information element can be used by/for the location server or by/for the UE (see paragraph [0094]). LocationFailureCause undefined reads on wherein the plurality of positioning error causes indicate: an undefined positioning error occurred at the location server during the first positioning session).
Regarding claim 23 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server).
Regarding claim 24 Belghoul teaches wherein the plurality of positioning error causes indicate: an undefined positioning error occurred at the target device; assistance data for the first positioning session is missing at the target device; the target device is unable to measure reference signals of any transmission-reception points (TRPs) indicated in assistance data received by the target device; the target device attempted but was unable to measure reference signals of some neighbor TRPs indicated in the assistance data; the target device did not receive enough reference signals from TRPs indicated in the assistance data for a target-based positioning determination; location calculation assistance data is missing at the target device; the target device is missing configuration information for transmitting one or more reference signals indicated in the assistance data; the target device is unable to transmit one or more reference signals indicated in the assistance data; or any combination thereof (see paragraphs [0068] & [0094], The Error Information element can be used by/for the location server or by/for the UE (see paragraph [0094]). LocationFailureCause undefined reads on wherein the plurality of positioning error causes indicate: an undefined positioning error occurred at the location server during the first positioning session).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
V. Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belghoul et al. (US 2016/0234645 A1) in view of Nunokawa et al. (US 2016/0262060 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Belghoul teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a positioning session with a second network entity (see paragraphs [0077] – [0078], The UE provides WLAN measurements to one or more network elements such as an E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information. This reads on method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engaging in a positioning session with a second network entity); determining that a plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0069], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN Error information element can be used by a network element. This reads on determining that a plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the positioning session); and reporting a positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0096], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors. This reads on reporting a positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the positioning session).
Belghoul does not teach the reporting based on priorities assigned to the plurality of positioning error causes.
Nunokawa teaches determining position information indicating a position of a mobile station (see paragraph [0007]) and reporting an error based on priorities assigned to a plurality of errors (see paragraph [0072], The transmission unit transmits, based on report priority for each handover error range, a handover error. This reads on reporting an error based on priorities assigned to a plurality of errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make reporting of the positioning error causes in Belghoul adapt to include being based on priorities assigned to the error causes because assigning a reporting priority for a positioning error cause can be implemented in the same way as the assignment of the reporting priority for handover error in Nunokawa and it would allow for an efficient mechanism for improving location estimation systems based on information about and/or measurements obtained by the positioning system (see Belghoul, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 2 Belghoul teaches the positioning error cause is reported to the second network entity in a single positioning information element (see paragraphs [0094] – [0095], The WLAN-Erro information element can be used by a network element such as a location server. This reads on positioning error cause is reported to the second network entity in a single positioning information element).
Regarding claim 3 Belghoul teaches a single positioning error cause is reported during the positioning session (see paragraph [0094], WLAN-Error, Target device error reads on a single positioning error cause is reported during the positioning session).
Regarding claim 4 Belghoul teaches wherein the positioning session includes: a downlink angle-of-departure (DL-AoD) positioning method; a downlink time-difference-of-arrival (DL-TDOA) positioning method; a multi-cell round-trip-time (multi-RTT) positioning method; or any combination thereof (see paragraph [0026], Positioning methods including an observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) reads on wherein the positioning session includes: a downlink time-difference-of-arrival (DL-TDOA) positioning method; or any combination thereof).
Regarding claim 5 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a location server; and the second network entity is a target device).
Regarding claim 7 Belghoul teaches wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server (see paragraph [0077], The UE provides the WLAN measurements to one or more network elements, e.g., to the E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information using a provide location information Information Element. This reads on wherein: the first network entity is a target device; and the second network entity is a location server).
Regarding claim 9 Belghoul teaches positioning error causes (see paragraph [0094]) and Nunokawa teaches receiving an indication of the priorities assigned to the plurality of errors (see paragraph [0071], The error ranges are defined and an update unit sets a report priority in the handover ranges. The report priority is registered. This reads on receiving an indication of the priorities assigned to the plurality of positioning error causes).
Regarding claim 10 Belghoul teaches positioning error causes (see paragraph [0094]) and Nunokawa teaches the indication of the priorities assigned to the plurality of positioning errors is received from the second network entity (see paragraph [0071] and Fig. 1, The error ranges are defined and an update unit sets a report priority in the handover ranges. The report priority is registered. This reads on receiving an indication of the priorities assigned to the plurality of positioning errors is received from the second network entity).
Regarding claim 25 Belghoul teaches a first network entity, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (see paragraph [0121] – [0122] and Fig. 3), the at least one processor configured to: engage in a positioning session with a second network entity (see paragraphs [0077] – [0078], The UE provides WLAN measurements to one or more network elements such as an E-SMLC or a location server, in response to a request for location information. This reads on method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity, comprising: engage in a positioning session with a second network entity); determine that a plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0069], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN Error information element can be used by a network element. This reads on determine that a plurality of positioning errors associated with a corresponding plurality of positioning error causes occurred during the positioning session); and report, via the at least one transceiver, a positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the positioning session (see paragraphs [0094] – [0096], One or more messages can include a WLAN-Error information element to indicate causes for WLAN positioning errors. The WLAN-Error Information element is transmitted in a message to a location server and can include the plurality of positioning errors. This reads on reporting a positioning error cause of a positioning error of the plurality of positioning errors to the second network entity during the positioning session).
Belghoul does not teach the report based on priorities assigned to the plurality of positioning error causes.
Nunokawa teaches determining position information indicating a position of a mobile station (see paragraph [0007]) and reporting an error based on priorities assigned to a plurality of errors (see paragraph [0072], The transmission unit transmits, based on report priority for each handover error range, a handover error. This reads on reporting an error based on priorities assigned to a plurality of errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make reporting of the positioning error causes in Belghoul adapt to include being based on priorities assigned to the error causes because assigning a reporting priority for a positioning error cause can be implemented in the same way as the assignment of the reporting priority for handover error in Nunokawa and it would allow for an efficient mechanism for improving location estimation systems based on information about and/or measurements obtained by the positioning system (see Belghoul, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 26 Belghoul and Nunokawa teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 26 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 27 Belghoul and Nunokawa teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 28 Belghoul and Nunokawa teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 29 Belghoul and Nunokawa teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belghoul et al. (US 2016/0234645 A1) in view of Tian et al. (US 2015/0169911 A1).
Regarding claim 19 Belghoul teaches the method of claim 16 except for wherein the first positioning session and the second positioning session are consecutive positioning sessions.
Tian teaches wherein a first positioning session and a second positioning session are consecutive positioning sessions (see paragraph [0042], Consecutive locations computed by a position location server reads on a first positioning session and a second positioning session are consecutive positioning sessions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first positioning session and the second positioning session in Belghoul adapt to include being consecutive because that would allow for an efficient and well-known mechanism for location tracking (see Tian, paragraph [0042]).
Conclusion
VII. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. Pub. No.: US 2017/0248428 A1 discloses indoor positioning system and method including indoor positioning methods (see abstract).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
September 29, 2026