DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2 of Remarks filed 07/14/2026, applicant argues
In contrast, amended claim 1 explicitly recites that each breaking circuit is configured to interrupt a current in two directions by utilizing internal circuits connected in series in opposite directions.
Examiner disagrees respectfully. The amended claim 1 recites “a plurality of breaking circuits configured to interrupt a current in two directions”. The amended claim does not recite that each breaking circuit of the plurality of breaking circuits interrupt a current in two directions. The amended claim 1 further recites “the plurality of breaking circuits includes internal circuits connected in series in opposite directions”. Prior art Yasuzawa (JP 2002291244 A) teaches two internal circuits: CT1 and Q1 in one of the directions, as seen in fig.1. The phrase “opposite directions” is broad and CT1 and Q1 could be construed as being connected in opposite directions. In the instant application fig.25, which shows two internal circuits connected in series, it is unclear what is considered as opposite direction. Further, specification paragraph [0027] mentions “opposite” without providing clarity. Please see rejection below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 lines 3-4 recites “internal circuits connected in series in opposite directions”. Fig.25 of instant application shows all other limitations of claim 1, except the phrase “opposite directions”. Specification paragraph [0027] mentions “The internal circuits 12 are connected in series in opposite directions”, but does not provide further details on what opposite direction is and how it is achieved.
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Claims 1-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 3-4 recites “internal circuits connected in series in opposite directions”. Based on fig.25 and specification paragraph [0027], it is unclear how the series circuits (for example 12-1 and 12-2) are connected in opposite directions? Is the connection of capacitors considered to be opposite? For the purpose of examination, any type of connection is considered to be opposite directions.
Claims 2-3 are rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuzawa (JP 2002291244 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yasuzawa teaches a circuit breaker (abstract, turns on or off one switching element and a plurality of other switching elements) comprising:
a plurality of breaking circuits (i.e. switching elements Q1 -Q4, fig.1) configured to interrupt a current (pages 2-3, prevent a reverse current from flowing … Q .sub.1 ~Q .sub.4 forcibly it is necessary to turn OFF) in two directions (e.g. directions of each of Q1-Q4, fig.1),
wherein each breaking circuit of the plurality of breaking circuits includes internal circuits connected in series in opposite directions (e.g. current transformer CT1 and Q1, fig.1), and a capacitor (e.g. capacitors C1-C2, fig.1) on an output side (e.g. side where voltages V1-V4 are obtained, fig.1) on which at least another breaking circuit, among the plurality of breaking circuits, is not coupled to the breaking circuit (e.g. capacitor C1 is not coupled to switching element Q2, fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is allowed.
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Yasuzawa (JP 2002291244 A) teaches the circuit breaker according to claim 1 comprising:
a plurality of breaking units (e.g. units comprising switching elements Q1-Q4, fig.1) each of which is configured to interrupt the current flowing in two directions among a plurality of directions (e.g. each of them are configured to interrupt reverse current in respective branches, fig.1).
Yasuzawa does not teach, a housing including a plurality of slots in which the respective breaking units are inserted,
wherein the housing houses a circuit in which each of the plurality of breaker units is coupled between points of different lines in a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots, and
wherein capacitors of the plurality of breaking circuits are housed in a same slot on the output side, among the plurality of slots.
Prior art Horinouchi (US 20210265831 A1), Kanaya (EP 3306766 A1) and Li (CN 113839370 A) have been found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “a housing including a plurality of slots in which the respective breaking units are inserted,
wherein the housing houses a circuit in which each of the plurality of breaker units is coupled between points of different lines in a corresponding slot among the plurality of slots, and
wherein capacitors of the plurality of breaking circuits are housed in a same slot on the output side, among the plurality of slots.”
Claim 4 is allowed for the same reasons as stated above for claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 08/17/2026