DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/KR2023/005126 filed on 4/14/2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application CN202210400125.8 filed on 4/15/2022. Claims 1-15 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “The communication method according to any of the claim 4…”. It is not clear which claim it depends on, thereby making it indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "…wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the correlation between…" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (EP 3902179 A1; provided in Applicant’s IDS dated 7/7/2025, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a communication method by a user equipment, the method comprising: receiving, from a network device, reference signal information, wherein the reference signal information comprises information related to a plurality of first reference signals [Zhang Figure 11 discloses a resource indication method. Zhang discloses that a network device sends resource configuration information to a terminal device (Zhang paragraph 0222). The resource configuration information (i.e. reference signal information) indicates a first reference signal resource set, which includes resources for M first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0223)];
Determining a parameter of a second reference signal according to the information related to the plurality of first reference signals [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information includes information about a spatial correlation parameter (Zhang paragraph 0223). The information about the spatial correlation parameter includes a transmission configuration indicator state of the first reference signal and a transmission configuration indicator state of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal and quasi co-location QCL information of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal, or the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the second reference signal (Zhang paragraph 0224). The terminal device determines channel state information based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. The resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining a parameter of a second reference signal according to the information related to the first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0228)].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein, types of the plurality of first reference signals are same or different [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information may indicate a type of the first reference signal resource set (Zhang paragraph 0101). The type of the first reference signal resource set may include a first type and a second type. In one example, the first signal resource set of the first type may be a resource set for NZP CSI-RSs (Zhang paragraph 0103). Above teachings of Zhang indicate that the types of the plurality of first reference signals are same or different].
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein, the information related to the plurality of first reference signals comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information may indicate a type of the first reference signal resource set (Zhang paragraph 0101). If the type of the first reference signal resource set is the first type, the first reference signal resource set is a reference signal resource set having a same TCI state or same QCL. That reference signal resource set having the same TCI state/QCL means that all reference signals in the reference signal resource set have the same TCI states/QCL (Zhang paragraph 0131)].
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal comprises: determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to a correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information includes information about a spatial correlation parameter (Zhang paragraph 0223). The information about the spatial correlation parameter includes a TCI state of the first reference signal and a TCI state of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal and quasi co-location QCL information of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal, or the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the second reference signal (Zhang paragraph 0224). The terminal device determines CSI based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. The resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining the parameter of a second reference signal according to the information related to the first reference signals, or a correlation between the first and the second reference signal) (Zhang paragraph 0228)].
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 4. Zhang further discloses wherein, correlations between each of the plurality of first reference signals and the second reference signal are same [Zhang discloses that the resources for the M first reference signals included in the first reference signal resource set may also meet the QCL relationship. The resources for the Ni second reference signals included in the ith second reference signal resource set may also meet the QCL relationship. Resources that are for second reference signals and that correspond to the resources for the first reference signals included in the first reference signal resource set may be the same or may be different (Zhang paragraph 0133). Resources for first reference signals having same QCL information correspond to a resource for one or more second reference signals. In other words, resources for first reference signals having same QCL information correspond to a resource for one or more same second reference signals. The resource for the first reference signal and the resource for the second reference signal that have a correspondence use same QCL information (Zhang paragraph 0136). Above teachings of Zhang disclose that the correlations between each of the plurality of first reference signals and the second reference signal are same]; or the correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal is related to an order of the first reference signal or a weight of the first reference signal.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 4. Zhang further discloses wherein the correlation comprises a spatial domain correlation or a spatial frequency domain correlation [Zhang discloses that the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter (Zhang paragraph 0228)].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal comprises: determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to a spatial domain correlation or a spatial frequency domain correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal, based on a first indication information about the spatial domain correlation or the spatial frequency domain correlation transmitted by the network device; or determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the spatial domain correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal; or determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the spatial frequency domain correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information includes information about a spatial correlation parameter (Zhang paragraph 0223). The information about the spatial correlation parameter includes a TCI state of the first reference signal and a TCI state of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal and quasi co-location QCL information of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal, or the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the second reference signal (Zhang paragraph 0224). The terminal device determines CSI based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. The resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the spatial domain correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal) (Zhang paragraph 0228)]
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 4. Zhang further discloses regarding receiving an indication of frequency domain information of the first reference signal or frequency domain information of the second reference signal, wherein the correlation is related to the frequency domain information of the first reference signal and/or the frequency domain information of the second reference signal [Zhang discloses that a network device sends resource configuration information to a terminal device, which indicates a first reference signal resource set, which includes resources for M first reference signals (Zhang paragraphs 0222 and 0223). The terminal device determines channel state information based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. The resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining a parameter of a second reference signal according to the information related to the first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0228). Zhang further discloses that the resource for the reference signal may be a time-frequency resource which includes a time domain resource and/or a frequency domain resource (Zhang paragraph 0087). Thus, an indication of frequency domain resource of the first or second reference signal is received, and correlation is related to the frequency domain information of the first or second reference signal].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal comprises: determining at least one first reference signal according to information of the plurality of first reference signals, determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the at least one first reference signal [Zhang discloses that the terminal determines channel state information based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining at least first reference signal and determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to the first reference signal) (Zhang paragraph 0228)].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 10. Zhang further discloses wherein, the user equipment determines the parameter of the second reference signal according to a part of the plurality of first reference signals based on a first condition [Zhang discloses that the resources for first reference signals having same QCL information may be grouped into a group based on an order that is indicated by a network device (i.e. a part of first reference signals are grouped based on a condition of same QCL and an order) (Zhang paragraphs 0143 and 0144). Further, the terminal may receive a group of resources for a second reference signals by using QCL information of a group of resources for the first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0147). In some examples, the terminal may receive second reference signal on the resource for the second reference signal by using QCL information of the resource for the first reference signal (i.e. determines a parameter of the second reference signal based on a part of the first reference signals) (Zhang paragraphs 0153 and 0182)].
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 11. Zhang further discloses wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: the user equipment does not have a capability to determine the parameter of the second reference signal according to the plurality of first reference signals; the user equipment supports determining the parameter of the second reference signal according to a first number of first reference signals at most, wherein the first number is less than the number of the plurality of first reference signals [Zhang Figure 10A discloses an example where first resource set includes signals CSI-RS7 and CSI-RS8 which correspond to TCI #2 (i.e. a number 2 of first reference signals which is less than the number of plurality of first reference signals, 4 in this case). A second reference signal (#21) is determined according to these first reference signals (see Zhang Figure 10A, paragraph 0149)]; a scenario where the user equipment is located is different from a scenario applicable for determining the second reference signal according to the plurality of first reference signals; a measured value of a parameter of a reference signal determined by the user equipment according to the plurality of first reference signals is lower than a measured value of the parameter of the reference signal determined according to one of the plurality of first reference signals.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 11. Zhang further discloses wherein, the part of the plurality of first reference signals is a part of first reference signals determined according to an order and/or measured values of the plurality of first reference signals [Zhang discloses that the resources for first reference signals having same QCL information may be grouped into a group based on an order that is indicated by a network device (i.e. a part of first reference signals are grouped based on a condition of same QCL and an order) (Zhang paragraphs 0143 and 0144)].
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses a user equipment, comprising: a transceiver; at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to control to [Zhang Figure 13 discloses a communication apparatus which can be configured to implement functions of a terminal device. The apparatus may include a processor, memory, communication interface, etc. (Zhang Figure 13, paragraphs 0243-0247)]:
Receive, from a network device, reference signal information, wherein the reference signal information comprises information related to a plurality of first reference signals [Zhang Figure 11 discloses a resource indication method. Zhang discloses that a network device sends resource configuration information to a terminal device (Zhang paragraph 0222). The resource configuration information (i.e. reference signal information) indicates a first reference signal resource set, which includes resources for M first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0223)], and
Determine a parameter of a second reference signal according to the in- formation related to the plurality of first reference signals [Zhang discloses that the resource configuration information includes information about a spatial correlation parameter (Zhang paragraph 0223). The information about the spatial correlation parameter includes a transmission configuration indicator state of the first reference signal and a transmission configuration indicator state of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal and quasi co-location QCL information of the second reference signal. Alternatively, the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the first reference signal, or the information about the spatial correlation parameter includes QCL information of the second reference signal (Zhang paragraph 0224). The terminal device determines channel state information based on a resource for a jth first reference signal and a resource that is for a second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal. The resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on the spatial correlation parameter. For example, the resource that is for the second reference signal and that corresponds to the resource for the jth first reference signal is determined based on a resource that is for a second reference signal and that meets a QCL relationship with the resource for the jth first reference signal (i.e. determining a parameter of a second reference signal according to the information related to the first reference signals (Zhang paragraph 0228)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Lee et al. (US 2025/0055739, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang does not expressly disclose regarding receiving an indication of weights of the plurality of first reference signals, wherein the weight is related to a correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Lee discloses that a terminal may receive reference signal (RS) group related information which may include weight value of reference signals (Lee paragraph 0161). The terminal may learn a second parameter related to a learning model for a RS; perform adaptation in relation to a received RS, and transmit an RS that is different from the one that is used to learn the parameter (Lee paragraphs 0162-0163). Lee further discloses that a parameter for meta learning may include a weight for each RS, and a BS or UE may determine a set of RSs based on the received parameter (Lee paragraph 0154). These teachings of Lee disclose the features of receiving an indication of weights of the plurality of first reference signals, wherein the weight is related to a correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to have the features of receiving an indication of weights of the plurality of first reference signals, wherein the weight is related to a correlation between the first reference signal and the second reference signal; as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for efficiently using wireless resources for a reference signal (Lee paragraphs 0017-0020).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal comprises: determining the parameter of the second reference signal by using an artificial intelligence model.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Lee discloses a method where a terminal may receive reference signal (RS) group related information which may include weight value of reference signals (Lee paragraph 0161). The terminal may learn a second parameter related to a learning model for a RS; perform adaptation in relation to a received RS, and transmit an RS that is different from the one that is used to learn the parameter (Lee paragraphs 0162-0163 and 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to have the features of wherein the determining the parameter of the second reference signal comprises: determining the parameter of the second reference signal by using an artificial intelligence model; as taught by Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for efficiently using wireless resources for a reference signal (Lee paragraphs 0017-0020).
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414