Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 & 10/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krista et al. (U.S. 2021/0116317 A1) in view of Belardinelli et al. (U.S. 2018/0214998 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Krista et al. disclose in Figs. 1-2 & 6, a system for indirect wear identification on an energy chain, for guiding at least one line, such as e.g. a cable, hose or the like, between a stationary fixed point and a driver mobile relative thereto (energy guide chain 1 guiding lines between fixed point 2 and moving end 4, [0043]); wherein the energy chain is movable, forming a stationary lower run, a movable upper run and, in between, a deflecting arc (stationary run 1A, mobile run 1B, and deflection arc 1C, [0042]); and the energy chain is in particular implemented and arranged with a sliding upper run (mobile run 1B may slide or roll on stationary run 1A, [0042]); the system comprising a sensor arrangement preferably arranged stationary and an evaluation device, which is signal-connected to the sensor arrangement (monitoring system 10 including circuit 14 connected to evaluation unit 6, [0046]).
Krista et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor arrangement comprises at least two sensors, which are in each case arranged and set up such that, depending on at least one feature which occurs or is detectable repeating periodically, in particular corresponding to the chain pitch of the energy chain, during movement of the energy chain relative to the sensor arrangement, each of the sensors respectively detecting the presence of the at least one feature of the energy chain, the sensors generate corresponding output signals, which the evaluation device evaluates.
Belardinelli et al. disclose wherein the sensor arrangement comprises at least two sensors, which are in each case arranged and set up such that, depending on at least one feature which occurs or is detectable repeating periodically during movement of the chain relative to the sensor arrangement, each of the sensors respectively detecting the presence of the at least one feature of the chain, the sensors generate corresponding output signals, which the evaluation device evaluates (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor detecting interception elements 94, 95 carried by moving hook assemblies, [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Krista et al. to incorporate Belardinelli et al.’s first and second optical sensors for detecting moving chain-carried features in order to provide localized detection of abnormal chain conditions and improve fault localization in an energy-guide-chain monitoring system because Belardinelli et al. teaches that sensor outputs from first and second optical sensors can be used to identify the hook associated with a fault condition (see Belardinelli’s [0078]).
Regarding claim 22, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 21, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the sensors are spaced apart from each other in the movement direction (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor are provided in the chain-conveyor device to detect moving chain-carried elements, see [0074]); and arranged and set up such that each of the sensors detects the presence of passing cross bars of the energy chain and outputs a corresponding output signal (first and second optical sensors detect first and second interception elements 94, 95 carried by the moving hook assembly and output signals to the electronic control unit, see [0076]).
Regarding claim 23, Krista et al. disclose the system according to claim 22, wherein the sensors are implemented as capacitive proximity sensors (monitoring systems allow identification of a deviation in position of the energy guide chain on the basis of electromagnetic interaction, see [0052]).
Krista et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose capacitive proximity sensors for detecting the moving chain-carried features.
Belardinelli et al. disclose sensors for detecting moving chain-carried features (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor detect interception elements 94, 95 carried by moving hook assemblies, see [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the feature-detecting sensors of Belardinelli et al. as capacitive proximity sensors in Krista et al.’s energy-guide-chain monitoring system in order to provide non-contact detection of moving chain-carried features because Krista et al. teaches monitoring an energy guide chain by electromagnetic interaction and Belardinelli et al. teaches detecting moving chain-carried features with non-contact sensors (see Krista et al. [0052]).
Regarding claim 24, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 22, wherein Krista et al. further disclose at least two sensors of the sensor arrangement are arranged at a distance corresponding to the nominal (like-new) chain pitch and/or are arranged and set up to detect a feature which is dependent on the chain pitch (moving chain-carried hook assemblies are provided along the chain and include interception elements detected by optical sensors, see [0068]).
Regarding claim 25, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 22, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the sensor arrangement is arranged stationary next to the fixed point in the movement direction of the energy chain (indicator conductor is connected at the final node on the base 2 to circuit 14, see [0046]).
Regarding claim 26, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 21, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the evaluation device detects the instantaneous velocity of individual chain links from the temporal behavior of the output signals (electronic control system controls continuous movement of the chain-conveyor device at a desired and substantially constant rate, [see 0052]); and/or the evaluation device comprises three sensors, wherein two sensors of the sensor arrangement are arranged at a distance corresponding to the nominal chain pitch and a third sensor is provided for identifying the direction of travel (electronic control system uses sensor outputs and encoder position to identify the hook associated with a fault condition, see [0079]).
Regarding claim 27, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 26, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the evaluation device evaluates the output signals of the sensor arrangement for deviations from a prestored behavior of a like-new energy chain (evaluation unit compares detected SWR with a setpoint SWR characteristic learned during start-up, see [0046]).
Regarding claim 28, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 21, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the evaluation device determines the distance between successive chain links by measuring time intervals between the periodic feature being detected and with reference to an instantaneous velocity detected in each case and preferably compares this with a predetermined, nominal chain pitch for the purpose of wear identification (electronic control system uses sensor outputs and encoder position to identify the hook associated with the fault condition, see [0079]).
Regarding claim 29, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 28, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the evaluation device outputs a maintenance recommendation depending on the evaluation, in particular as a function of a currently detected distance between periodic features (electronic control system generates a control signal that can generate a visual and/or acoustic alarm warning or arrest movement, see [0077]).
Regarding claim 30, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the system according to claim 21, wherein sensor arrangement and evaluation device detect a plurality of successive chain links for wear identification in sections (electronic system identifies which hook has moved away from its position of engagement, see [0078]).
Regarding claim 31, Krista et al. disclose a process for indirect wear identification on an energy chain, for guiding at least one line, such as a cable or hose, between a stationary fixed point and a driver mobile relative thereto (energy guide chain 1 guiding lines between fixed point 2 and moving end 4, see [0043]); wherein the energy chain is movable, forming a stationary lower run, a movable upper run and, in between, a deflecting arc (stationary run 1A, mobile run 1B, and deflection arc 1C, see [0042]); and the energy chain is in particular implemented and arranged with a sliding upper run (mobile run 1B may slide or roll on stationary run 1A, see [0042]); wherein a sensor arrangement preferably arranged stationary is provided and an evaluation device, which is signal-connected to the sensor arrangement, is provided (monitoring system 10 including circuit 14 connected to evaluation unit 6, see [0046]).
Krista et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose in at least one process step, depending on at least one such feature which occurs or is detectable repeating periodically, in particular corresponding to the chain pitch of the energy chain, during movement of the energy chain relative to the sensor arrangement, corresponding output signals, which are evaluated by the evaluation device, are generated by the sensor arrangement.
Belardinelli et al. disclose in at least one process step, depending on at least one such feature which occurs or is detectable repeating periodically during movement of the chain relative to the sensor arrangement with at least two sensors (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor detecting interception elements 94, 95 carried by moving hook assemblies, see [0074]), depending on at least one feature which occurs repeating periodically, corresponding output signals, which are evaluated by the evaluation device, are generated by the sensor arrangement (first and second optical beams are intercepted by first and second interception elements and the electronic control system generates a control signal, see [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Krista et al. to incorporate Belardinelli et al.’s process of detecting moving chain-carried features with first and second optical sensors in order to provide localized detection of abnormal chain conditions and improve fault localization in an energy-guide-chain monitoring process because Belardinelli et al. teaches that sensor outputs from first and second optical sensors can be used to identify the hook associated with a fault condition (see Belardinelli’s [0078]).
Regarding claim 32, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 31, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the sensors are arranged spaced apart from each other in the movement direction (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor are provided in the chain-conveyor device to detect moving chain-carried elements, see [0074]); and in at least one process step the presence of passing cross bars of the energy chain, in particular as the at least one feature, is detected by each sensor of the sensor arrangement and a corresponding output signal is output (first and second optical sensors detect first and second interception elements 94, 95 carried by the moving hook assembly and output signals to the electronic control unit, [0076]).
Regarding claim 33, Krista et al. disclose the process according to claim 32, wherein in at least one process step capacitive proximity sensors are used as the sensors of the sensor arrangement (monitoring systems allow identification of a deviation in position of the energy guide chain on the basis of electromagnetic interaction, see [0052]).
Krista et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose capacitive proximity sensors for detecting the moving chain-carried features.
Belardinelli et al. disclose sensors for detecting moving chain-carried features (first optical sensor 12 and second optical sensor detect interception elements 94, 95 carried by moving hook assemblies, see [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the feature-detecting sensors of Belardinelli et al. as capacitive proximity sensors in Krista et al.’s energy-guide-chain monitoring process in order to provide non-contact detection of moving chain-carried features because Krista et al. teaches monitoring an energy guide chain by electromagnetic interaction and Belardinelli et al. teaches detecting moving chain-carried features with non-contact sensors (see Krista et al. see [0052]).
Regarding claim 34, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 32, wherein Krista et al. further disclose the at least two sensors of the sensor arrangement detect a feature which is dependent on the chain pitch (moving chain-carried hook assemblies are provided along the chain and include interception elements detected by optical sensors, [0068]); and a third sensor is preferably provided, the output signal of which is utilized for identifying the direction of travel (electronic control system uses sensor outputs and encoder position to identify the hook associated with a fault condition, [0079]).
Regarding claim 35, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 32, wherein Krista et al. further disclose, wherein the sensor arrangement is arranged stationary next to the fixed point in the movement direction of the energy chain (indicator conductor is connected at the final node on the base 2 to circuit 14, see [0046]).
Regarding claim 36, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 31, wherein Krista et al. further disclose at least one process step the evaluation device detects the instantaneous velocity of individual chain links from the temporal behavior of the output signals of individual sensors (electronic control system controls continuous movement of the chain-conveyor device at a desired and substantially constant rate, see [0052]).
Regarding claim 37, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 33, wherein Krista et al. further disclose, wherein in at least one process step the output signals of the sensor arrangement, in particular of individual sensors, are evaluated for deviations from a prestored behavior of a like-new energy chain by the evaluation device (evaluation unit compares detected SWR with a setpoint SWR characteristic learned during start-up, see [0046]).
Regarding claim 38, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 31, wherein Krista et al. further disclose in at least one process step the distance between successive chain links is determined by the evaluation device by measuring time intervals between the periodic feature being detected and with reference to an instantaneous velocity detected in each case and is preferably compared with a predetermined, nominal chain pitch for the purpose of wear identification (electronic control system uses sensor outputs and encoder position to identify the hook associated with the fault condition, see [0079]).
Regarding claim 39, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 38, wherein Krista et al. further disclose at least one process step a maintenance recommendation is output by the evaluation device depending on the evaluation, in particular as a function of a currently detected distance between periodic features (electronic control system generates a control signal that can generate a visual and/or acoustic alarm warning or arrest movement, see [0077]).
Regarding claim 40, Krista et al. in view of Belardinelli et al. disclose the process according to claim 31, wherein at least one process step a plurality of successive chain links are detected by sensor arrangement and evaluation device for wear identification in sections (electronic system identifies which hook has moved away from its position of engagement, see [0078]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 12,051,890 B2 to Kemper discloses a side bracket is for a link for a line-routing device. The side bracket has a longitudinal periphery which extends in a longitudinal direction of the side bracket and on which a running surface is formed. The side bracket has a roller which is mounted so as to be rotatable about an axle. The axle is disposed so as to be parallel to the running surface and perpendicular to the longitudinal direction. A spacing between the running surface and the axle is variable in a damped manner. The roller, at least in a first position, protrudes from the running surface.
U.S. 2007/0245705 A1 to Hermey discloses in Fig. 1 a an energy guiding chain for guiding hoses, cables and the like, with a number of chain links connected to each other in articulated fashion, which are formed by mutually parallel side straps (9) and cross-members connecting them, where the energy guiding chain can be traversed, forming a loop consisting of a lower strand, an upper strand, and a deflection zone connecting them, and pairs of adjacent side straps (9) can be pivoted relative to each other about a common pivoting axis (S), it is envisaged, in order to form the most continuous possible surface on the narrow face (10, 12) of the strap strands facing the respectively opposite strand, that the distance between the pivoting axis (S) and the narrow face (10) facing towards the inside of the loop is smaller than that between the pivoting axis (S) and the narrow face (12) facing towards the outside of the loop.
U.S. 6,953,898 B2 to Chen et al. disclose a mechanism for confining a flat flexible cable of an image scanner in position is provided. The flat flexible cable is electrically connected between a circuit board and a carriage and bends differentially with the movement of the carriage relative to the circuit board under a scanning platform. The mechanism includes a confining member disposed between a first portion of the flat flexible cable and the scanning platform for isolating the flat flexible cable from the scanning platform. The confining member changes states and bends differentially with the movement of the carriage relative to the circuit board under the scanning platform, and has a bending resistance greater than that of the flat flexible cable. Accordingly, the confining member is kept at least a certain clearance from the scanning platform while confining the first portion of the flat flexible cable thereunder.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858