Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gear rotatably arranged on the moving frame, relatively fixed to the moving frame” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Although figs. 5-6 of the present disclosure show gear 63 and movable frame 22, said elements appear to move relative to each other.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “along a second direction, an end surface of the first rack and an end surface of the second rack are flush” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Fig. 5 of the present disclosure shows that when gear 63 is at the left end surface of second rack 62, said left end surface of the second rack is not flush with either the left/right end surface of first rack 61. Fig. 6 of the present disclosure shows that when gear 63 is at the right end surface of second rack 62, said right end surface of the second rack is not flush with either the left/right end surface of first rack 61.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 15, 10, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4 and 17 recite “the moving frame”, it should read “the movable frame” for purposes of consistency and to avoid lack of antecedent issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, recites “The slidable and rollable device according to claim 8, a quantity of the screw rod is two”, it should read “The slidable and rollable device according to claim 8, wherein a quantity of the screw rod is two”.
Claim 15 recites “the inner movable panel”, it should read “the inner movable plate” for purposes of consistency and to avoid lack of antecedent issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, in lines 1-4, recites: “the transmission assembly comprises: a driving part, and a pair of bevel gears”. This limitation is confusing because it is not clear whether what is the difference, if any, between the “driving part” and the “driving part” claimed in line 3 of claim 7 (from which claim 11 depends on). Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination and to avoid antecedent issues, the above limitation will be read as: the transmission assembly comprises: a pair of bevel gears. A similar issue is observed in claim 20 (claim 20 depends on claim 18), and clarification is also required. A similar interpretation, i.e., to omit “a driving part” from claim 20 will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng (US 20230095247 A1, and Feng ‘247 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Feng ‘247 discloses a slidable and rollable device for assisting a flexible display module in sliding, rolling-up and opening, comprising:
an outer frame (10, fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed frame (11, fig. 1), and
a movable frame (12, fig. 1),
wherein the movable frame is configured to move relative to the fixed frame along a first direction (left-right direction, fig. 1);
the fixed frame comprises a first supporting structure (110, fig. 4), the movable frame comprises a second supporting structure (120, fig. 4), the first supporting structure and the second supporting structure are both configured to set the flexible display module (figs. 1 and 4-5);
a first supporting surface of the first supporting structure facing the flexible display module (20, fig. 4) is coplanar with a second supporting surface of the second supporting structure facing the flexible display module (fig. 7); and
the first direction is parallel to the first supporting surface and the second supporting surface (figs. 4-5 and 7);
a roller (50, fig. 1) rotatably arranged on the fixed frame (“the guide member 50 is a roller … the roller may rotate around its own axis”, [0108]); wherein an outer surface of the roller is used for contacting the flexible display module, so that the flexible display module is slidable around the roller (fig. 1 “the guide member 50 is disposed on one side of the second support member 120, and the flexible display screen 20 bypasses the guide member 50 to make the first end 21 and the second end 22 of the flexible display screen 20 transfer more smoothly”);
an inner movable plate (321, fig. 1) movably arranged on the fixed frame along the first direction (fig. 7 and 10); wherein the flexible display module is provided with a first side (fig. 1, left side of 20) and a second side (fig. 1, right side of 20) arranged opposite to each other along the first direction, the first side of the flexible display module is arranged on the second supporting structure (fig. 1), the second side of the flexible display module smoothly transits around the outer surface of the roller to a side of the inner movable plate away from the first supporting structure (figs. 4 and 7; “flexible display screen 20 bypasses the guide member 50 to make the first end 21 and the second end 22 of the flexible display screen 20 transfer more smoothly”, [0107]), and is relatively fixed to the inner movable plate, so that the flexible display module maintains a natural bending state (figs. 1, 4 and 7, “the flexible display screen 20 may be switched between the first state and the second state by matching … the sliding plate 321”, [0096]);
a driving mechanism (33, fig. 1) arranged on the fixed frame (fig. 7, “transmission assembly 33 is fixed to the first housing 11”, [0078]); wherein an output end of the driving mechanism is connected to the inner movable plate (fig. 2), and is configured to provide a driving force for the inner movable plate to move along the first direction (fig. 1, “when the screw 334 rotates, the sliding plate 321 is pulled by the female thread to slide in an opposite direction of the rack slide.”, [0090]);
a guiding mechanism (322, fig. 1) arranged between the fixed frame and the inner movable plate (figs. 1, 2, and 7) and configured for enabling the first supporting structure to move relative to the inner movable plate along the first direction (figs. 1-2 in view of “Each of the sleeves is respectively disposed at each end of the sliding plate. Each of the sleeves 322 is respectively nested with the screw 334 of the first transmission assembly and the screw 334 of the second transmission assembly”, and “when the screw 334 rotates, the sliding plate 321 is pulled by the female thread to slide in an opposite direction of the rack slide”, [0090]).
Regarding Claim 2, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first supporting structure comprises a plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members (602, fig. 4), the plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in parallel and spaced apart along a second direction (fig. 4);
the second supporting structure comprises a plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members (601, fig. 4), the plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in cooperation with the plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members (fig. 4), and the plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in parallel and spaced apart along the second direction (fig. 4);
the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 2, wherein at least one of the second strip-shaped supporting members is distributed in a spacing area between any two adjacent first strip-shaped supporting members (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 1, wherein the driving mechanism comprises:
a driving part (332, fig. 1), and
a transmission assembly (including 322 and 333-334, fig. 1),
wherein the driving part and the transmission assembly are both arranged on the fixed frame (fig. 1);
the driving part is connected to the inner movable plate through the transmission assembly (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 7, wherein the transmission assembly comprises:
a screw rod (334, fig. 1), and
a fixed seat (322, fig. 1) arranged corresponding to the screw rod (fig. 1),
wherein the screw rod extends along the first direction (fig. 1);
the fixed seat is arranged on the inner movable plate (fig. 1), the fixed seat is provided with a through hole along an extension direction of the screw rod (fig. 3), an inner wall of the through hole is formed with a screw thread matching the screw rod; the screw rod at least partially extends into the through hole (figs. 1-3, “Each of the sleeves 322 is respectively nested with the screw 334 of the first transmission assembly and the screw 334 of the second transmission assembly. A protrusion is disposed on the inner wall of each of the sleeves 322 (not shown in the figure). The protrusion is matched with a female thread of the screw 334”, [0088]).
Regarding Claim 9, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 8, wherein the screw rod corresponds to at least two fixing seats (302 and 322, fig. 1), the fixing seats on one screw rod are arranged at intervals along the first direction (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 8, a quantity of the screw rod is two (fig. 1 in view of “The first transmission assembly and the second transmission assembly both comprises … a screw 334”, [0085]), and the two screw rods are arranged at intervals along a direction perpendicular to the extension direction of the screw rod (fig. 1 in view of “the transmission assembly 30 comprises a first transmission assembly and a second transmission assembly respectively fixed on each of the inner walls of the two first side plates 112. The first transmission assembly and the second transmission assembly both comprises … a screw 334”, [0085]).
Regarding Claim 11 (as best understood), Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 7, wherein the transmission assembly comprises:
a driving part, and
a pair of bevel gears (333, fig. 1, “The first transmission assembly and the second transmission assembly both comprises … a second bevel gear 333”, [0085]),
wherein the driving part is connected to the inner movable plate through the pair of bevel gears (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Feng ‘247 discloses a display device, comprising the slidable and rollable device according to claim 1 and the flexible display module (see rejection of claim 1 above);
wherein the flexible display module is at least partially arranged on one side of the first supporting structure and the second supporting structure in the slidable and rollable device (figs. 4-7);
the slidable and rollable device assists the flexible display module in sliding, rolling-up and opening (figs. 1 and 4-7; “When the flexible display screen 20 is in the first state, as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7, when the first support member 110 and the second support member 120 slide away from each other, the first housing 11 and the second housing 12 may also gradually move away from each other. Part of the area of the flexible display screen 20 is pulled out of the housing by the winding mechanism”, [0057]).
Regarding Claim 16, Feng ‘247 discloses the display device according to claim 13, wherein:
the first supporting structure comprises a plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members (602, fig. 4), the plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in parallel and spaced apart along a second direction (fig. 4);
the second supporting structure comprises a plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members (601, fig. 4), the plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in cooperation with the plurality of first strip-shaped supporting members (fig. 4), and the plurality of second strip-shaped supporting members are arranged in parallel and spaced apart along the second direction (fig. 4);
the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Feng ‘247 discloses the display device according to claim 13, wherein the driving mechanism comprises:
a driving part (332, fig. 1), and
a transmission assembly (including 333-334, fig. 1),
wherein the driving part and the transmission assembly are both arranged on the fixed frame (fig. 1);
the driving part is connected to the inner movable plate through the transmission assembly (fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 19, Feng ‘247 discloses the display device according to claim 18,
wherein the transmission assembly comprises:
a screw rod (334, fig. 1), and
a fixed seat (322, fig. 1) arranged corresponding to the screw rod (fig. 1),
wherein the screw rod extends along the first direction (fig. 1);
the fixed seat is arranged on the inner movable plate (fig. 1), the fixed seat is provided with a through hole along an extension direction of the screw rod (fig. 3), an inner wall of the through hole is formed with a screw thread matching the screw rod; the screw rod at least partially extends into the through hole (figs. 1-3, “Each of the sleeves 322 is respectively nested with the screw 334 of the first transmission assembly and the screw 334 of the second transmission assembly. A protrusion is disposed on the inner wall of each of the sleeves 322 (not shown in the figure). The protrusion is matched with a female thread of the screw 334”, [0088]).
Regarding Claim 20 (as best understood), Feng ‘247 discloses the display device according to claim 18, wherein the transmission assembly comprises:
a driving part, and
a pair of bevel gears (333, fig. 1, “The first transmission assembly and the second transmission assembly both comprises … a second bevel gear 333”, [0085]),
wherein the driving part is connected to the inner movable plate through the pair of bevel gears (fig. 1).
Claims 1, 4-6, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Feng (US 20210373603 A1, and Feng ‘603 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Feng ‘603 discloses a slidable and rollable device for assisting a flexible display module in sliding, rolling-up and opening, comprising:
an outer frame (including 10, 50, and 60, fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed frame (10 and 50, fig. 1), and
a movable frame (60, fig. 1),
wherein the movable frame is configured to move relative to the fixed frame along a first direction (left-right direction, fig. 4);
the fixed frame comprises a first supporting structure (602, fig. 1), the movable frame comprises a second supporting structure (top surface portions of 60, fig. 1), the first supporting structure and the second supporting structure are both configured to set the flexible display module (40, figs. 1, 5 and 7);
a first supporting surface of the first supporting structure facing the flexible display module is coplanar with a second supporting surface of the second supporting structure facing the flexible display module (figs. 1-2, and 8); and
the first direction is parallel to the first supporting surface and the second supporting surface (figs. 2 and 4);
a roller (70, fig. 1) rotatably arranged on the fixed frame (fig. 1); wherein an outer surface of the roller is used for contacting the flexible display module, so that the flexible display module is slidable around the roller (fig. 1 “When the flexible display screen 40 is pulled out and retracted into the housing 10, the roller can rotate along a moving direction of the flexible display screen 40”, [0076]);
an inner movable plate (34, fig. 1) movably arranged on the fixed frame along the first direction (figs. 1, 4 and 6); wherein the flexible display module is provided with a first side (fig. 1, left portion of 40) and a second side (fig. 1, right portion of 20) arranged opposite to each other along the first direction, the first side of the flexible display module is arranged on the second supporting structure (figs. 1 and 4), the second side of the flexible display module smoothly transits around the outer surface of the roller to a side of the inner movable plate away from the first supporting structure (figs. 4 and 6), and is relatively fixed to the inner movable plate (“the second end 42 of the flexible display screen fixed on the sliding member 34”, [0055]), so that the flexible display module maintains a natural bending state (figs. 1, 4, and 6; portion of 40 abutting 70 maintains bending state);
a driving mechanism (332, fig. 1) arranged on the fixed frame (fig. 1); wherein an output end of the driving mechanism is connected to the inner movable plate (fig. 4), and is configured to provide a driving force for the inner movable plate to move along the first direction (figs. 4-6; “The gear shaft 332 is movably mounted in the transmission slot 123, thereby rotating the gear 331 clockwise or counterclockwise around its own axis”, [0063] and “transmission member 33 drives the first stretching member 31 and the second stretching member 32 to move away from each other … and the sliding member 34 is fixed with the second stretching member 32”, [0055]);
a guiding mechanism (31-32, fig. 1) arranged between the fixed frame and the inner movable plate (figs. 2) and configured for enabling the first supporting structure to move relative to the inner movable plate along the first direction (figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Feng ‘603 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 1, wherein:
the guiding mechanism comprises:
a first rack (31, fig. 1), and
a second rack (32, fig. 1) arranged corresponding to the first rack (fig. 2);
wherein an extension direction of the first rack is parallel to the first direction (fig. 1), and the first rack is arranged on a side surface of the movable frame away from the first supporting structure (fig. 1);
the second rack is arranged on a side surface of the inner movable plate facing the first rack (figs. 1-2); and
an orthographic projection of the first rack on the second rack at least partially overlaps with the second rack (fig. 2);
the guiding mechanism further comprises:
a gear (331, fig. 1) rotatably arranged on the moving frame, relatively fixed to the moving frame (figs 1-2, gear 331 is fixed at 123 and thus when device is in collapsed state as shown in fig. 2, gear 331 would be at least temporarily fixed relative to 60), and meshed with the first rack and the second rack (fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Feng ‘603 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 4, wherein along a second direction (direction parallel to the axis of 332 in fig. 1, which would correspond to the in/out-of-the-page direction in figs. 4 and6), an end surface of the first rack and an end surface of the second rack are flush (figs. 4 and 6, as 31 moves from left to right, the right end surface of 31 would necessarily align flush with right end surface of 32 at some point during said motion).
Regarding Claim 6, Feng ‘603 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 5, wherein a quantity of the first racks is two and a quantity of the second racks is two (fig. 1); the two first racks are arranged at intervals along the second direction, and the two second racks are arranged at intervals along the second direction (fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Feng ‘603 discloses a display device, comprising the slidable and rollable device according to claim 1 and the flexible display module (see rejection of claim 1 above);
wherein the flexible display module is at least partially arranged on one side of the first supporting structure and the second supporting structure in the slidable and rollable device (figs. 5 and 7);
the slidable and rollable device assists the flexible display module in sliding, rolling-up and opening (figs. 1 and 2-7; “When the flexible display screen 40 is pulled out and retracted into the housing 10, the roller can rotate along a moving direction of the flexible display screen 40”, [0076]).
Regarding Claim 17, Feng ‘603 discloses the display device according to claim 13, wherein:
the guiding mechanism comprises:
a first rack (31, fig. 1), and
a second rack (32, fig. 1) arranged corresponding to the first rack (fig. 2);
wherein an extension direction of the first rack is parallel to the first direction (fig. 1), and the first rack is arranged on a side surface of the movable frame away from the first supporting structure (fig. 1);
the second rack is arranged on a side surface of the inner movable plate facing the first rack (figs. 1-2); and
an orthographic projection of the first rack on the second rack at least partially overlaps with the second rack (fig. 2);
the guiding mechanism further comprises:
a gear (331, fig. 1) rotatably arranged on the moving frame, relatively fixed to the moving frame (figs 1-2, gear 331 is fixed at 123 and thus when device is in collapsed state as shown in fig. 2, gear 331 would be at least temporarily fixed relative to 60), and meshed with the first rack and the second rack (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng ‘247 in view of Feng ‘603.
Regarding Claim 12, Feng ‘247 discloses the slidable and rollable device according to claim 2, wherein, along the second direction, a sliding groove is provided on an inner side of the fixed frame (“A pair of clamping grooves are disposed on an inner wall of each of the first side plate 112”, [0080] of Feng ‘247), but does not explicitly disclose the sliding groove cooperates with the inner movable plate.
Feng ‘603 discloses a sliding groove (122, fig. 1) cooperates with an inner movable plate (including 321 and 324, fig. 1, “second sliders 321 are movably engaged in the second chute 122 and are slidable back and forth along a length of the second chute 122”, [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Feng ‘247 to incorporate the teachings of Feng ‘603 so that the sliding groove cooperates with the inner movable plate, in order to guide the back an forth motion of the inner movable plate ([0060] of Feng ‘603).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng ‘247 in view of Kwak et al. (US 20220210253 A1, and Kwak hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14, Feng ‘247 discloses the display device according to claim 13, wherein the flexible display module comprises:
a flexible display panel (20, figs. 5-6) but does not explicitly disclose a flexible circuit board connected to the flexible display panel; wherein a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible circuit board is connected to the movable frame, and a side of the flexible circuit board away from the flexible display panel is connected to the inner movable panel.
Kwak discloses a flexible circuit board (237, fig. 4) connected a the flexible display panel (230, fig. 4);
wherein a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible circuit board is connected to a movable frame (220, figs. 4-6), and a side of the flexible circuit board away from the flexible display panel is connected to an inner movable panel (470, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Feng ‘247 to incorporate the teachings of Kwak so that the flexible display module comprises a flexible circuit board connected a the flexible display panel; wherein a side of the flexible display panel away from the flexible circuit board is connected to a movable frame, and a side of the flexible circuit board away from the flexible display panel is connected to an inner movable panel, in order to electrically connect the flexible display panel and a main circuit board (“The electronic device 200 may include an FPCB 237 electrically connecting the flexible display 230 and the PCB 490”).
Regarding Claim 15, Feng ‘247/Kwak discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein the second side of the flexible display module is bent around the outer surface of the roller at a preset angle and fixed to the inner movable plate (figs. 4 and 6) but does not explicitly disclose the preset angle ranges from 210[Symbol font/0xB0] to 230[Symbol font/0xB0].
However, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that modifying the preset angle from 180[Symbol font/0xB0] (as disclosed by Feng ‘603) to a range from 210[Symbol font/0xB0] to 230[Symbol font/0xB0] would have been an obvious modification that can be considered part of routine optimization. For instance, said modification could be implemented by choosing a smaller diameter of the gear 331 shown in fig. 4 of Feng ‘603 so that rack 32 and plate 34 would be higher than the bottom of the roller 70. Said modification would have the advantage of reducing the amount of material required for fabricating gear 331. Furthermore, absent disclosure of criticality of a given range of values, the courts have ruled that changes in form, proportions, or degrees will not sustain a patent (Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) and In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929). See also MPEP § 2144.05, II).
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841