DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10th December 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, the limitation “the metal” is recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation and such it is not clear what “the metal” refers to. The insert is claimed optionally as “metal” in Claim 2, but Claim 4 is dependent on Claim 1, not Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henneberg (US 20190293145 A1) in view of Fukui (US 20160215848 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Henneberg discloses A striker cap for mounting on a striker surface of a suspension system, the striker cap comprising: a. a cylindrical side wall (A) (see Annotated Fig. 1 below); b. a roof (B) circumferentially connected to the cylindrical side wall (A), wherein the roof (B) includes a roof central aperture (C); and c. a compression region (D) located above and concentric with the roof (B); wherein the compression region (D) includes at least one breathing hole (5) connecting a compression region central aperture (C1) with an outer circumference of the compression region (D) (see Fig. 1, Annotated Fig. 1 below).
Henneberg does disclose wherein the circumferentially connected roof and the cylindrical side wall enclose at least one insert.
Fukui teaches a striker cap for mounting on a striker surface of a suspension system, wherein the striker cap comprises: a circumferentially connected roof (4a) and a cylindrical side wall (4b) enclosing at least one insert (6) (see Fig. 4, [0022], [0025]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the striker cap insert of Fukui with the striker cap of Henneberg in order to limit and prevent corrosion of the suspension system (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; [0003-0005]).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 2, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches wherein the at least one insert (6) is at least one material selected from the group consisting of a metal, a fibre, a glass material, a wood, and hard surface sheet (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; [0022]).
Regarding Claim 3, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches wherein the at least one insert (6) is at least one material selected from the group consisting of a chemical element, an alloy, and a molecular compound (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; [0022]).
Regarding Claim 4, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches wherein the metal is selected from the group consisting of iron, aluminium, titanium, magnesium, copper, stainless steel, alloy steel, polymeric sulfur-nitride, polythiazyl, bronze, and tin (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; [0019], [0022]).
Regarding Claim 5, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches wherein the at least one insert (6) is in a form selected from the group consisting of a disc with a hole, a ring, a semiring, a polygon, a wire, a gauze, filings, a cylinder, a sheet, and a combination unit of a cylinder concentrically joined to a disc with a hole (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; Fig. 4, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 7, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches wherein the at least one breathing hole (5) is cavity in shape selected from the group consisting of a slit, polyhedron, parallelepiped, prism, prismoid, prismatoid, cone, and cylinder (see US 20190293145 A1 [Henneberg]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches a suspension system for a vehicle having a vehicle body and a movable component displaceable relative to the vehicle body along a line of travel (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; Fig. 1, [0016]), the suspension system comprising: a. a support adapted to be mounted to the vehicle body (20); b. the striker surface (M) adapted to be associated with the movable component and displaceable relative to said support (20) along the line of travel; c. a jounce bumper (3) mounted to said support (20) and extending outwardly toward said striker surface (M); and d. a striker cap (4) according to claim 1, mounted on the striker surface (M) and interacting with the jounce bumper (3) (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; Fig. 1, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches a vehicle comprising: a. the vehicle body; b. the movable component displaceable relative to the vehicle body; and c. the suspension system with the striker cap according to claim 10 (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; Fig. 1, [0016]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henneberg (US 20190293145 A1) as modified by Fukui (US 20160215848 A1) in Claim 1, above, further in view of Zylinski (WO 2021058614 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches the striker cap of Claim 1. A second embodiment of Fukui teaches wherein the insert is ring shaped (see Fig. 6, [0026]).
Henneberg modified by Fukui does not explicitly teach wherein the insert is a stainless steel ring.
Zylinski teaches a suspension system bounce protector with a stainless steel ring insert (51) (see Fig. 3, [0153]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the stainless steel ring insert of Zylinski with the striker cap of Henneberg modified by Fukui in order to improve provide evenly distributed support to the striker cap, maintaining the structure of the cap during intense operation, and improve the manufacturability of the insert by utilizing readily available materials.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henneberg (US 20190293145 A1) as modified by Fukui (US 20160215848 A1) in Claim 1, above, further in view of Yasukouchi (US 20190293148 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Henneberg modified by Fukui teaches a method of forming the striker cap according to claim 1, the method comprising: a. providing at least one insert in a mold for the striker cap; b. pouring a molded material into the mold and over the at least one insert; c. optionally curing the injection molded material to form the striker cap; d. releasing the striker cap from the mold (see US 20160215848 A1 [Fukui]; [0021-0022]).
Henneberg modified by Fukui does not explicitly teach wherein the insert molding process is injection molding.
Yasukouchi teaches a method of forming a striker cap utilizing in injection molding (see [0035]).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the method of forming a striker cap of Yasukouchi with the method of forming a striker cap of Henneberg modified by Fukui in order to reduce manufacturing cost and improving manufacturing speed.
Regarding Claim 9, Henneberg modified by Fukui and Yasukouchi teaches wherein the injection molded material includes a polyurethane, thermoplastic composite, polyamides, co-polyamides, and aromatic polyamides, a thermoplastic polyurethane, or any combination thereof (see US 20190293148 A1 [Yauskouchi]; [0022]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patil et. al. (US 20150158363 A1) discloses a striker cap with an insert enclosed.
Tsunekawa (US 20160084336 A1) discloses a striker cap with vent holes.
Conclusion
/S.W.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616