DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 October 2024 and 14 May 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 09 October 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 09 October 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ly et al. (US 20230387988 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Ly”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 11, Ly discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver (¶124-126 & Fig. 8, Ly discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a transceiver 815) which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with at least one network node (¶124-126 & Fig. 8, Ly discloses that the transceiver of the UE 805 is configured to wirelessly communicate with a network entity 105 during operation); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations (¶124-126 & Fig. 8, Ly discloses the UE further comprising a processor 840 communicatively coupled to the transceiver 815 such that, during operation, the processor 840 causes the UE to perform steps of a method) comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, an indication of spatial element adaptation from the network node (¶115 & Fig. 7 (705 & 715), Ly discloses receiving, by the transceiver of the UE, a control message comprising a channel state information (CSI) report configuration from a network entity and further receiving, by the UE, an indication of a first codebook from the network entity. Examiner correlates the combination of the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook to “an indication of spatial element adaptation”); and
determining whether to transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) report based on the indication of spatial element adaptation (¶120-121 & Fig. 7 (725->730), Ly discloses determining, by the UE, whether to transmit the CSI report based at least in part upon the reception of both the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook).
Regarding Claim 12, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein, in receiving the indication of spatial element adaptation, the processor receives, via the transceiver, the indication from the network node through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) (¶115 & Fig. 7 (705), Ly discloses receiving, by the UE via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a control message comprising a channel state information (CSI) report configuration from a network entity. ¶117 & Fig. 7 (715), Ly discloses receiving, by the UE via RRC signaling, the indication of the first codebook).
Regarding Claim 13, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein, during operation, the processor further performs operations comprising:
adapting or reconfiguring, by the processor, a configured CSI-RS configuration according to the indication (¶115 & Fig. 7 (705), Ly discloses implementing, by the UE, the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook according to reception of the control message and reception of the indication of the first codebook respectively. Examiner correlates the act of implementing a configuration based upon a reception of the configuration to the act of “reconfiguring”).
Regarding Claim 14, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 13.
Ly further discloses wherein the adapting or reconfiguring comprises dynamic or semi-persistent on or off of a CSI-RS, or adapted number of spatial elements or ports (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses implementing, by the UE, the CSI report configuration by using a particular CSI report format for dynamic port adaptation. Examiner correlates dynamic port adaptation, or dynamic antenna port adaptation, to the act of adapting a number of spatial elements).
Regarding Claim 15, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein the indication of spatial element adaptation comprises at least one of an information field (¶117 & Fig. 7 (715) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the indication of the first codebook comprises a field indicating the first codebook), a plurality of information blocks, a cell identity (ID), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID, a transceiver (TRX) configuration ID, a CSI report configuration ID (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration and the indication of the codebook indicate a particular CSI report format of two CSI report formats), a CSI resource configuration ID (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration identifies one or more resources for CSI measurement), a CSI-RS configuration (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration identifies one or more channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for measurement) and a CSI-RS reconfiguration.
Regarding Claim 16, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein the indication of spatial element adaptation comprises at least one of a CSI-RS resource (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration identifies one or more channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for measurement), a CSI-RS resource set (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration identifies a set of channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for measurement) and a CSI-RS resource setting (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration identifies a setting further indicating one or more channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for measurement), and wherein the at least one of the CSI-RS resource, the CSI-RS resource set and the CSI-RS resource setting associates with one or more spatial adaptation patterns (¶120 & Fig. 7 (725) & ¶94-100 & Fig. 4, Ly discloses that the one or more CSI-RS resources are associated with dynamic port adaptation or dynamic antenna port adaptation).
Regarding Claim 17, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 16.
Ly further discloses wherein the spatial adaptation pattern comprises a set of parameters which determine a spatial element adaptation (¶81-82, Ly discloses that the dynamic port adaptation, or dynamic antenna port adaptation, comprises a set of parameters where the parameters may identify one or more antenna panels, sub-panels, transceiver chains, or antenna ports to turn off in accordance with CSI from the UE), and wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of spatial domain parameters (¶81-82, Ly discloses that the parameters may identify one or more antenna panels, sub-panels, transceiver chains, or antenna ports to turn off in accordance with CSI from the UE), spectral domain parameters, and temporal domain parameters.
Regarding Claim 18, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein a spatial element indicated by the indication of spatial element adaptation comprises at least one of an antenna element (¶81-82 & Fig. 3 (335), Ly discloses that the parameters may identify one or more antenna ports to turn off in accordance with CSI from the UE), a transceiver unit (TxRU) (¶81-82 & Fig. 3 (335), Ly discloses that the parameters may identify one or more transceiver chains to turn off in accordance with CSI from the UE), an antenna panel (¶81-82 & Fig. 3 (335), Ly discloses that the parameters may identify one or more antenna panels to turn off in accordance with CSI from the UE), and a logical antenna port.
Regarding Claim 19, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein the indication of spatial element adaptation comprises a CSI report configuration (¶115 & Fig. 7 (705 & 715), Ly discloses that the combination of the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook includes the CSI report configuration), and wherein the CSI report configuration associates with one or more spatial adaptation patterns (¶21, Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration is associated to dynamic antenna port adaptation by defining a CSI report structure for the dynamic antenna port adaptation).
Regarding Claim 20, Ly discloses the apparatus of Claim 11.
Ly further discloses wherein the indication of spatial element adaptation comprises a plurality of CSI report sub-configurations (¶75 & Fig. 3 (335), Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook indicates a plurality of CSI report configuration where each CSI report configuration includes a set of CSI parameters corresponding to a codebook with dynamic antenna port adaptation), and wherein each CSI report sub-configurations associates with one spatial adaptation pattern (¶75 & Fig. 3 (335), Ly discloses that the CSI report configuration and the indication of the first codebook convey a set of CSI parameters for each CSI report configuration corresponding to a codebook with dynamic antenna port adaptation).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ly et al. (US 20240357393 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Ly2”) is cited to show the reception of a CSI Report Configuration and additional downlink signaling corresponding to a Power Savings Mode of a base station and reporting measurements in a CSI report where the measurements are indicated in the CSI report configuration (Ly2, Fig. 9); Liu (US 20240297699 A1) is cited to show reception of a CSI measurement report response corresponding to an antenna switching configuration and reporting the CSI report according to the antenna switching configuration (Liu, Fig. 2); and Raghavan et al. (US 20210136598 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Raghavan”) is cited to show reception of a response message corresponding to a second antenna configuration (Raghavan, ¶104 & Fig. 8 (840)) and further reporting beam index and reference signal received power (RSRP) values to the base station according to the response message (Raghavan, ¶105 & Fig. 8 (870)).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474