DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 18, 19 and 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/8/2025
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 14, and 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885)
Regarding Claim 1, DeBellis et al. teaches a device for electricity generation, comprising a combustor/recuperator system comprising a recuperator, a combustor, and an emitter; wherein the recuperator comprises an intake for air and fuel [Fig. 1, C1 ln 35-55], wherein the combustor burns fuels, transfers exhaust gases to the recuperator to preheat the air and fuel, and transfers heat of combustion to the emitter; and wherein the emitter radiates heat generated by the combustor [C1 ln 35-55]; and a thermophotovoltaic adjacent to the emitter [C1 ln 35-55, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3, C6 ln 35-55, See thermophotovoltaic cells 206 adjacent to emitter 110 in figure 3, In the PCA 200, the emitter 110 radiates a portion of its energy in the IR... infrared radiation... region of the spectrum. The photons are absorbed by the PV cells 206; Note that the array of photovoltaic cells 206 are interpreted as defining thermophotovoltaic cells in a thermophotovoltaic array, C7 ln 55-60].
Regarding Claim 2, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein the thermophotovoltaic comprises a thermophotovoltaic array (Figure 3, 50 and 200 and 204; and Figure 4; and Figure 15; and Figure 16; and Figure 17; and col 1 In 42-43, photovoltaic.., PV... cells; and col 7 In 27-29, The PCA 200 is spaced from the emitter 110 by a specified distance to create PCA optical cavity 204, generally defined by the emitter 110 and a surrounding array of PV cells 206; and col 7 In 55-57, In the PCA 200, the emitter 110 radiates a portion of its energy in the IR... infrared radiation... region of the spectrum. The photons are absorbed by the PV cells 206; Note that the array of photovoltaic cells 206 are interpreted as defining the thermophotovoltaic array).
Regarding Claim 3, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein the fuel comprises H2 or CH4 (Figure 3; and col 6 In 46-49, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 102; and col 5 In 7-10, The liquid fuels include but are not limited to DF-2 or JP-8 while the gaseous fuels include but are not limited to propane or natural gas; Note that it is reasonably understood that natural gas is a naturally occurring mixture of gaseous hydrocarbons consisting primarily of methane, or CH4).
Regarding claim 7, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis further teaches wherein the combustor comprises a fuel inlet and an air inlet (Figure 3, 12 and 14 and 16 and 102 and 104; and Figure 5, 124 and 126; and col 6 In 46-58, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 102... A parallel flow recuperator 121 provided inside of counterflow recuperator section 106 uses preheated combustion air 16 to vaporize liquid fuel 12 upstream of the burner 102; and col 8 In 55-61, Referring now to FIGS. 5 and 6, the preferred embodiment of the burner 102 comprises a gas nozzle 124 which rapidly entrains the preheated combustion air 16 provided through an annular burner air opening 126. The gas nozzle 124 generates several fuel gas jets 128 that radially spread the fuel 12 into the radiant combustion chamber 104.The fuel jets 128 are ignited with a spark ignitor 130; Note that with best reference to Figure 5, the combustor 104 is interpreted as comprising a fuel inlet in the form of gas nozzle 124 and an air inlet in the form of the air opening 126).
Regarding claim 9, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein the combustor comprises a ceramic channel (Figure 3, 104; and Figure 6; and col 6 In 46-49, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 10; and col 10 In 40-46, The preferred embodiment of the radiant combustion chamber 104 comprises two co-annular tubes. Combustion occurs within an inner combustion tube or radiator 146, having an upper open end 148. Tube 146 is also surrounded or enclosed within an outer tube which comprises the emitter 110 itself; and col 11 In 11-14, The preferred material for the combustion chamber tube or radiator 146 and emitter 110 will be a dense silicon carbide... SiC... for the following reasons. Several advanced SiC based ceramics are commercially available; Note that the comb combustion chamber 104 and tube 146 are interpreted as defining a ceramic chamber, which comprises the ceramic material SiC).
Regarding claim 14, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein combustion of the fuel and air in the combustor and transfers heat via convection to the walls of the emitter (Figure 3; and Figure 4; and col 6 In 46-61, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 102. A counterflow recuperator section 106 provided at a lower end of the BER 100 surrounds the burner 102 and associated components described infra uses hot combustion products... gases... 108 from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to preheat incoming combustion air 14 provided at a lower end of the BER 100, A parallel flow recuperator 121 provided inside of counterflow recuperator section 106 uses preheated combustion air 16 to vaporize liquid fuel 12 upstream of the burner 102. An emitter 110 surrounding both the burner 102 and radiant combustion chamber 104 is heated ated by the hot combustion gases 108 exiting from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to a specified temperature; and col 10 In 56-58, The emitter 110 is also heated by convection from the combustion gases 108 flowing through the annulus 112), but does not specifically teach wherein combustion of the fuel and air in the combustor raises the temperature of the exhaust gas to greater than 2000 deg C. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and optimize the temperature to which the exhaust gas 108 is raised by combustion of the fuel and air in the combustor 104, by routine experimentation, in order to determine the optimal combustion temperature for the fuel and air, and optimal exhaust temperature for preheating the fuel/air, taking into account for example overall device efficiency and/or efficacy of electricity generation.
Regarding claim 16, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein heat of combustion is transferred from the combustor to the emitter to the thermophotovoltaic and remaining heat is recuperated (Figure 3, 104 and 106 and 108 and 110 and 206; and Figure 6; and col 10 In 32-35, Referring to FIGS. 6 and 7, the radiant combustion chamber 104 illustrated contains the flame 132 and transfers fuel energy to the emitter 110 to raise it to a specified temperature; and col 7 In 55-57, In the PCA 200, the emitter 110 radiates a portion of its energy in the IR... infrared radiation... region of the spectrum. The photons are absorbed by the PV cells 206; and col 6 In 49- 55, A counterflow recuperator section 106 provided at a lower end of the BER 100 surrounds the burner 102 and associated components described infra uses hot combustion products... gases... 108 from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to preheat incoming combustion air 14 provided at a lower end of the BER 100; and col 7 In 6-8, Heat transfer from the hot combustion gases 108 through the wall 120 preheats the incoming combustion air 14 on the opposite side of the wall 120; With best reference to Figure 3, heat from the combustor 104 is transferred to the emitter 110, which transfers heat/IR radiation to the PV cells 206 of the thermophotovoltaic. Remaining heat is carried by the exhaust gases 108 to the recuperator 106).
Regarding claim 17, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, DeBellis further teaches wherein the thermophotovoltaic absorbs the incident radiation produced by the emitter as heat or electricity or reflects the incident radiation back to the emitter (Figure 3, 110 and 206; and Figure 15; and Figure 16; and Figure 17; and col 1 In 42-43, photovoltaic... PV... cells; and col 6 In 36-45, Referring to the drawings generally... and to FIGS. 3 and 4 in particular, there is shown a thermophotovoltaic... TPV... electric generator, generally designated 50... The TPV generator 50 is comprised of... power converter assembly... PCA... generally designated 200; and col 10 In 32-35, Referring to FIGS. 6 and 7, the radiant combustion chamber 104 illustrated contains the flame 132 and transfers fuel energy to the emitter 110 to raise it to a specified temperature; and col 7 In 55-57, In the PCA 200, the emitter 110 radiatesa a portion of its energy in the IR... infrared radiation... region of the spectrum. The photons are absorbed by the PV cells 206; and col 8 In 2-8, In addition, reflective coatings... not shown... on some surfaces minimize waste heat loss and allow more low energy photons to be recycled back to the emitter 110. The PCA optical cavity 204 is thus more particularly defined by the emitter 110, optical filters 216, reflective coatings... not shown... and the PV cells 206 and their circuit components 217; With best reference to Figure 3, heat from the combustor 104 is transferred to the emitter 110, which transfers heat/IR incident radiation to the PV cells 206 of the thermophotovoltaic. Reflective surfaces are also effective to reflect some incident radiation back to the emitter 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885)
Regarding claim 12, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein fuel and air enter the recuperator at 300K and are preheated to 2000 deg C or greater by exiting exhaust gas. However, DeBellis does teach that the fuel and air are preheated within the recuperator by using combustion exhaust gases, thus preheating the air to 1200K (Figure 3, 14 and 16 and 108; and col 6 In 46- 61, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 102. A counterflow recuperator section 106 provided at a lower end of the BER 100 surrounds the burner 102 and associated components described infra uses hot combustion products... gases... 108 from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to preheat incoming combustion air 14 provided at a lower end of the BER 100. A parallel flow recuperator 121 provided inside of counterflow recuperator section 106 uses preheated combustion air 16 to vaporize liquid fuel 12 upstream of the burner 102. An emitter 110 surrounding both the burner 102 and radiant combustion chamber 104 is heated by the hot combustion gases 108 exiting from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to a specified temperature; and col 12 In 37-39, To obtain a high efficiency TPV generator 50, a recuperator with a thermal effectiveness of 66% is required, achieving a preheat air temperature of 1200 K). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and optimize the temperature to which the fuel and air are preheated, by routine experimentation, in order to determine the optimal preheat temperature for the fuel and air, taking into account for example overall device efficiency and/or efficacy of electricity generation. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and optimize the temperature at which the fuel and air are initially provided, specifically to provide the fuel and air at approximately room temperature, or 300K, in order to determine if this provides an effective and/or efficient device, taking into account for example energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein at the end of the recuperator the fuel and air exit at greater than 2000 deg C and combust in the combustor. However, DeBellis does teach that the fuel and air are preheated prior to being introduced in the combustor, with the air preheated to 1200K (Figure 3, 14 and 16 and 108; and col 6 In 46-61, The BER 100 is substantially cylindrical and includes a burner 102 for combusting liquid or gaseous fuel 12 with preheated combustion air 16 in a radiant combustion chamber 104 located above the burner 102. A counterflow recuperator section 106 provided at a lower end of the BER 100 surrounds the burner 102 and associated components described infra uses hot combustion products... gases... 108 from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to preheat incoming combustion air 14 provided at a lower end of the BER 100. A parallel flow recuperator 121 provided inside of counterflow recuperator section 106 uses preheated combustion air 16 to vaporize liquid fuel 12 upstream of the burner 102. An emitter 110 surrounding both the burner 102 and radiant combustion chamber 104 is heated by the hot combustion gases 108 exiting from the radiant combustion chamber 104 to a specified temperature; and col 12 In 37-39, To obtain a high efficiency TPV generator 50, a recuperator with a thermal effectiveness of 66% is required, achieving a preheat air temperature of 1200 K). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and optimize the temperature to which the fuel and air are preheated. by routine experimentation, in order to determine the optimal preheat temperature for the fuel and air, taking into account for example overall device efficiency and/or efficacy of electricity generation.
Regarding claim 15, DeBillis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not specifically teach wherein exterior temperatures of the emitter radiating to the thermophotovoltaic vary from about 1900 deg C to about 1700 deg C across its length. However, DeBellis does teach that the emitter is raised to a specified temperature by the combustor with temperature uniformity over the emitter, where the combustor can withstand temperatures of up to 2000K (Figure 3; and Figure 6; and col 10 In 32-40, Referring to FIGS, 6 and 7, the radiant combustion chamber 104 illustrated contains the flame 132 and transfers fuel energy to the emitter 110 to raise it to a specified temperature... However, achieving temperature uniformity over the emitter 110, and observing material temperature limitations are also very important design criteria; and col 11 In 16-18, Very dense, hard mechanically durable combustion chamber parts can be fabricated with working temperatures as high as 2000 deg K; and col 7 In 55-57, In the PCA 200, the emitter 110 radiates a portion of its energy in the IR... infrared radiation... region of the spectrum. The photons are absorbed by the PV cells 206). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify and optimize the temperature to which the emitter 110 is heated, and the temperature uniformity over the emitter 110, specifically to provide a device such that an exterior temperatures of the emitter radiating to the thermophotovoltaic vary from about 1900 deg C to about 1700 deg C across its length, by routine experimentation, in order to determine the optimal emitter temperature, taking into account for example overall device efficiency and/or efficacy of electricity generation.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885) in view of Rigney (US Pub No. 2022/0172838)
Regarding claim 6, Debellis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the combustor/recuperator system comprises yttria stabilized zirconia (YSZ). However, DeBellis does teach that the combustor and recuperator can comprise ceramic materials (Figure 3; and col 12 In 2-8, Ideally, ceramic materials which can withstand the high combustion gas temperature would be used in the heat exchanger/recuperator 106... The present invention thus employs ceramics where they are needed... for the combustor chamber 104 and the emitter 110).
Further, Rigney teaches a thermal barrier coating appropriate for use in a combustor, where the thermal barrier coating material comprises yttria stabilized zirconia, which may provide advantageous properties such as ease of application and high temperature resistance (Abstract, A thermal barrier coating... TBC... for a component intended for use in a hostile environment, such as the superalloy turbine, combustor and augmenter components of a gas turbine engine. The TBC is formed of zirconia that is partially stabilized with yttria... YSZ... preferably not more than 3 weight percent yttria, and to which one or more additional metal oxides are alloyed to increase crystallographic defects and lattice strains in the TBC grains and/or form precipitates of zirconia and/or compound(s) of zirconia and/or yttria and the additional metal oxide(s), the inclusion of which reduces the thermal conductivity of the YSZ to levels lower than conventional 6-8% YSZ; and para [0003], Binary yttria-stabilized zirconia... YSZ... has particularly found wide use as the TBC material on gas turbine engine components because of its low thermal conductivity, high temperature capability including desirable thermal cycle fatigue properties, and relative ease of deposition by plasma spraying, flame spraying and physical vapor deposition... techniques such as electron beam physical vapor deposition... TBC's employed in the highest temperature regions of gas turbine engines are often deposited by PVD, particularly EBPVD, which yields a strain-tolerant columnar grain structure that is able to expand and contract without causing damaging stresses that lead to spallation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to test the effectiveness of applying a variety of known high-temperature resistant ceramics to the combustor and/or recuperator as taught by DeBellis, specifically to provide the YSZ material as taught by Rigney, by routine experimentation, in order to determine if this provides an improved device, for example if this provides more high-temperature resistant materials for the combustor and/or recuperator.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885) in view of Scheithauer (JMEPEG (2018) 27:14–20)
Regarding claim 8, Debellis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the combustor comprises channels made by additive manufacturing. However, DeBellis does teach that the combustor and recuperator can comprise ceramic materials (Figure 3; and col 12 In 2-8, Ideally, ceramic materials which can withstand the high combustion gas temperature would be used in the heat exchanger/recuperator 106... The present invention thus employs ceramics where they are needed... for the combustor chamber 104 and the emitter 110).
Further, Scheithauer does teach an additive manufacturing method for creating ceramic materials for applications such as heat exchangers, where additive manufacturing is advantageous because it allows for tailor-made structures and high flexibility in regard to shape and design (Abstract, Additive manufacturing... AM... techniques allow the preparation of tailor-made structures for specific applications with a high flexibility in regard to shape and design. The lithography-based ceramic manufacturing... LCM... technology allows the AM of high-performance alumina and zirconia components... The opportunities and limits of the LCM technology are discussed in the following paper using the example of ceramic heat exchangers; and Figure 1; and Figure 2; and pg 19 col 1 para 17, AM technologies allow the realization of components with a complex design which cannot be produced with any other technology. For the AM of ceramic components, the LCM technology stands out because of the very good component properties, the high sinter density, and the high resolution). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an appropriate fabrication system to create the ceramic materials of the combustor and/or recuperator as taught by DeBellis, specifically to use the AM method as taught by Scheithauer, thus advantageously providing a manufacturing method which allows for tailor-made structures and high flexibility in regard to shape and design.
Regarding claim 10, Debellis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the recuperator is made by additive manufacturing. However, DeBellis does teach that the combustor and recuperator can comprise ceramic materials (Figure 3; and col 12 In 2-8, Ideally, ceramic materials which can withstand the high combustion gas temperature would be used in the heat exchanger/recuperator 106... The present invention thus employs ceramics where they are needed... for the combustor chamber 104 and the emitter 110).
Further, Scheithauer does teach an additive manufacturing me method for creating ceramic materials for applications such as heat exchangers, where additive manufacturing is advantageous because it allows for tailor-made structures and high flexibility in regard to shape and design (Abstract, Additive manufacturing... AM... techniques allow the preparation of tailor-made structures for specific applications with a high flexibility in regard to shape and design. The lithography-based ceramic manufacturing... LCM... technology allows the AM of high-performance alumina and zirconia components... The opportunities and limits of the LCM technology are discussed in the following paper using the example of ceramic heat exchangers; and Figure 1; and Figure 2; and pg 19 col 1 para 17, AM technologies allow the realization of components with a complex design which cannot be produced with any other technology. For the AM of ceramic components, the LCM technology stands out because of the very good component properties, the high sinter density, and the high resolution). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an appropriate fabrication system to create the ceramic materials of the combustor and/or recuperator as taught by DeBellis, specifically to use the AM method as taught by Scheithauer, thus advantageously providing a manufacturing method which allows for tailor-made structures and high flexibility in regard to shape and design.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885) in view of Goldstein (US Pat No. 5356487)
Regarding claim 11, Debellis et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, DeBellis teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the fuel inlet and air inlet of the combustor are above the autoignition temperature of the fuel. However, Goldstein does teach a combustion device appropriate for use in electric power generation, where a fuel/air mixture can be heated by the use of a recuperator which receives exhaust gas, which is effective to preheat the air to above the autoignition point, which can make fuel injection more efficient (Figure 7; and Abstract, A combustion device for producing predetermined radiation spectral output and heat for a variety of applications including lighting, cooking, heating water, electric power generation, and providing inexpensive photons to enhance chemical and physical reactions; and col 9 In 60- col 10 In 27, FIG. 7 illustrates a side section of a photochemical reactor 730 of a central fired focus burner design. The fuel/air premix is fed by a blower, or illustrate other means, to the distribution chamber 777... FIG. 7 shows a target material entering the intense photon zone...... 733... where photons 750 are directed upon the target material 727 flowing through the chamber and being converted to the product. The exhaust gases 795 are directed down and then up through the center of the reactor 730. FIG. 7 also illustrates the use of a recuperator 703... The exhaust passes through the recuperator 703 and transfers energy to the fuel/air mixture to increase the temperature of the combustion zone and then through the radiation output 750 to the exhaust 795. The recuperator may also be used to preheat the air to well above the autoignition point as implied in FIG. 8 below... An oxidant such as oxygen or air may be used at temperatures well above the ignition point, making recuperation and fuel injection efficient and practical; and See Instant Specification, para [0073], In the recuperator channels, the inlet gases are preheated above the autoignition temperature of the fuel. fuel. A At the other end of the device, the gases mix and combust, releasing heat). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to test the effectiveness of modifying the device as taught by DeBellis, such that an autoignition temperature is reached as taught by Goldstein, specifically such that the recuperator is effective to preheat the fuel/air to above an autoignition temperature, by routine experimentation, in order to determine if this provides an improved device, for example if a more energy efficient device is obtained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
DeBellis (US Pat No. 5932885), Brotha (US Pub No. 2022/0051825) and Bjerklie (US Pat No. 4850862) are the closest prior art.
Brotha et al. teach a thermophotovoltaic power generation system, where a vertical stack of heat pipes are equipped to transfer heat to a vertical stack of thermophotovoltaic cells (Figure 1; and Figure 2; and Abstract, Power generation systems, such as nuclear power generation systems, are described herein. A representative power generation system includes a heat source, a heat pipe, and a thermophotovoltaic cell; and para [0020], Referring to FIGS. 1-4 together, the system 100 can include a heat source 102 and a plurality of first heat pipes 110 thermally coupled to the heat source 102. The first heat pipes 110 are configured to remove heat from the heat source 102 and to radiate the heat toward a plurality of thermophotovoltaic... TPV... or photovoltaic... PV... panels or cells 120; and para [0024], With continued reference to FIG. 1, the first heat pipes 110, the TPV cells 120, and the second heat pipes 130 can be vertically arranged... e.g., stacked... in a plurality of groups 140... e.g., layers, sets... In the illustrated embodiment, there are five of the groups 140 in the vertical direction and each of the groups 140 includes (i) two of the first heat pipes 110, (ii) two of the TPV cells 120, and (iii) one of the second heat pipes 130; and para [0025], With additional reference to FIGS. 2-4, multiple ones of the groups 140 can be arranged circumferentially about the heat source 102 as well as vertically about the heat source 102; and See Instant Specification, Figure 2; and Figure 3; and para [0064], The recuperator portion of the system could be made as a printed circuit heat exchanger... Ref 9... as seen in FIG. 3).
Bjerklie et al. does teach a radiant heating system comprising a plurality of combustor/regenerator units, which are arranged together or stacked in a plate configuration (Figure 1, 11 and 16 and 17; and Abstract, A high efficiency, high temperature radiant heating system utilizing regeneratively coupled combustors... Each combustor/regenerator unit cycles between combustion and regeneration operational modes and is gas flow coupled with a similar unit operating simultaneously in a mode opposite that of the former; and col 2 In 20-28, Referring now to the drawings, there is illustrated in FIG. 1, a simplified regeneratively coupled porous body combustor system 10. The system 10 includes a pair of sections 11 which are essentially identical. Each combustor/regenerator unit 11 in the illustrated case is plate-like in character having the configuration of a rectangular parallelepiped and comprising a series of stacked or layered porous zones which comprise a combustor or burner zone 16 and a regenerator zone 17).
Modified Debellis et al. teaches structural limitations of the claims but does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the combustor/recuperator system comprises a stacked array of individual combustor/recuperator modules, wherein top, bottom, and side boundaries of each individual combustor/recuperator module is adiabatic. “ in claim 4, and “wherein the combustor/recuperator system wherein the stacked array comprises an emitter surface that emits heat towards the thermophotovoltaic.” in claim 5.
These references, nor any other reference or combination of references in the prior art suggest or render obvious the limitations of “wherein the combustor/recuperator system comprises a stacked array of individual combustor/recuperator modules, wherein top, bottom, and side boundaries of each individual combustor/recuperator module is adiabatic. “ in claim 4, and “wherein the combustor/recuperator system wherein the stacked array comprises an emitter surface that emits heat towards the thermophotovoltaic.” in claim 5.
Therefore; claim 1 is allowed once the limitations of claims 4 and 5 are incorporated into claim 1.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728