DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/09/2024, in which claims 1-13 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claim 12 is cancelled.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims rejected under 35 USC 102, 103, the Applicant argues, see Pg. 7 of remarks filed on 12/29/2025, that Wang does not teach “deriving a chroma intra prediction mode … based on the chroma model list … generating a prediction block … based on the intra prediction mode … the chroma mode list comprises … a default … a direct mode”
Examiner cannot concur. As taught in Para. [0366, 371], Wang teaches determining/deriving a chroma prediction mode based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US Pub. 20240187575 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an image decoding method comprising (Wang; Fig. 2-3, Para. [0365]. A video coding system/method is used to decode and encode video data.):
generating a chroma mode list of a current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0365-366]. A chroma prediction mode is determined/derived based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode. A chroma mode list is generated for a current chroma block.);
deriving a chroma intra prediction mode of the current chroma block based on the chroma mode list (Wang; Para. [0366, 371]. A chroma prediction mode is determined/derived based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode. A chroma intra prediction mode is determined in accordance with a chroma mode list for a current chroma block.); and
generating a prediction block of the current chroma block based on the chroma intra prediction mode, wherein the chroma mode list comprises at least one of a default mode, a derivation based chroma mode or a direct mode (Wang; Para. [0366, 371]. A chroma prediction mode is determined/derived based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode. A prediction block of a current chroma block is generated in accordance with a chroma intra mode, wherein a chroma mode list includes at least a default mode, a derivation based chroma mode, or a direct mode.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the derivation based chroma mode is derived using a reconstructed pixel of a collocated luma block at a collocated position of the current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0366, 368]. A derivation based chroma mode is derived using a reconstructed pixel of a collocated luma block at a collocated position of a current chroma, also see Para. [0294].).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the reconstructed pixel of the collocated luma block is a pixel selected by sampling (Wang; Para. [0366,368]. A derivation based chroma mode is derived using a reconstructed pixel of a collocated luma block at a collocated position of a current chroma, also see Para. [0294], wherein a reconstructed pixel of a luma block is selected by sampling based on collocated position.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the derivation based chroma mode is derived using a reconstructed neighboring reference pixel of the current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0255-256]. A derivation based chroma mode is determined using a reconstructed neighboring pixel of a current chroma block, also see Para. [0294].).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the neighboring reference pixel is a pixel directly adjacent to the current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0255-256]. A neighboring reference pixel is a pixel neighboring/adjacent to a current chroma block, also see Para. [0294].).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the neighboring reference pixel comprises at least one of a neighboring reference pixel adjacent to the current chroma block or a neighboring reference block adjacent to the collocated block of the current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0255-256]. A neighboring reference pixel includes at least one of a neighboring reference pixel adjacent to a current chroma block.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the chroma mode list is configured in an order determined based on a histogram of gradient for deriving the derivation based chroma mode (Wang; Para. [0293-294]. A chroma mode list is used in an order based on HoG of derivation based chrom mode, also see Para. [0441].).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses when the direct mode and the derivation based chroma mode are the same intra prediction mode, the chroma intra prediction mode of the current chroma block is set to the same intra prediction mode (Wang; Para. [0216]. For a direct mode and derivation based chroma mode being the same intra mode, a chroma intra prediction mode of a current chroma block is set to be the same intra mode.).
Claim 11 is directed to an image encoding method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the method comprising: transmitting the bitstream, wherein the image encoding method comprises (Wang; Para. [0047]. A video transmitting system/method is used to transmit a bitstream generated by an image encoding method, the method includes transmitting a bitstream.):
generating a chroma mode list of a current chroma block (Wang; Para. [0365-366]. A chroma mode list is generated for a current chroma block.);
deriving a chroma intra prediction mode of the current chroma block based on the chroma mode list (Wang; Para. [0366, 371]. A chroma prediction mode is determined/derived based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode. A chroma intra prediction mode is determined in accordance with a chroma mode list for a current chroma block.); and
generating a prediction block of the current chroma block based on the chroma intra prediction mode, wherein the chroma mode list comprises at least one of a default mode, a derivation based chroma mode or a direct mode (Wang; Para. [0366, 371]. A chroma prediction mode is determined/derived based on a chroma mode list of CCLM/default mode, MMLM/derived mode, or chroma DM/direct mode, wherein a prediction block is generated based on the chroma intra prediction mode. A prediction block of a current chroma block is generated in accordance with a chroma intra mode, wherein a chroma mode list includes at least a default mode, a derivation based chroma mode, or a direct mode.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Pub. 20240187575 A1) in view of Li (US Pub. 20230113104 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the chroma mode list (Wang; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically teach the chroma mode list is configured in the order of the direct mode, the derivation based chroma mode and the default mode.
However, Li teaches the chroma mode list is configured in the order of the direct mode, the derivation based chroma mode and the default mode (Li; Para. [0153]. A chroma mode list is used and checked in the order of direct mode, a derivation based chroma mode, and a default mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Wang to adapt an image processing approach, by incorporating Li’s teaching wherein a DM, derivation based chroma mode, and a default mode are used in order, for the motivation to determine an intra prediction mode for a current block based on a corresponding block (Li; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang further teaches when there is a default mode having the same intra prediction mode as the direct mode or the derivation based chroma mode, the default mode is replaced with a predefined chroma intra prediction mode (Li; Para. [0153]. For there being a default mode having a same intra mode as a direct mode, the default mode is determined to be a prediction chroma intra mode.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao (US Pub. 20240121404 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs directional nearest neighbor prediction mode.
Chang (US Pub. 20230336716 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs intra prediction mode for chroma blocks.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485