DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para. [211-212, 219-220, 243] include “rigth" which should be “right”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8: line 9 includes “LTFsub_left_4x and LTFsub_right_4x are defined as below.” which should be “LTFsub_left_4x and LTFsub_right_4x are defined as ” and the claim should end with a period (“.”).
Regarding claim 11: line 2 includes “RUs” which should be “resource units (RUs)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6: line 2 includes “a length of the first LTF sequence is 8169”, however, it is unclear how the above value is determined. In particular, the disclosure is silent with regards to “a length of the first LTF sequence is 8169”. The closest appears to be “the length of the first LTF sequence may be 8196” in para. 394. Based on para. 394, examination continued on the assumption the limitation of claim 5 results in an analogous limitation to claim 6.
Regarding claim 8: line 9 includes “LTFsub_left_4x and LTFsub_right_4x are defined as below.” however, line 9 begins with “LTFsub_left_4x =” and thus, it is unclear whether both “LTFsub_left_4x and LTFsub_right_4x” are the same/analogous, whether “LTFsub_right_4x” was inadvertently omitted, whether line 9 inadvertently includes “LTFsub_right_4x”, or something else is intended. Examination continued on the assumption “LTFsub_right_4x” is same/analogous with “LTFsub_left_4x”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2021/0399933 A1) hereinafter Wu in view of Cheng et al. (US 2016/0345347 A1) hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method performed by a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system (wireless communication using physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) between access point (AP) and station (STA); para. 58), the method comprising: generating a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) including long training field (LTF) information (generating long training field (LTF) in PPDU; para. 41); and transmitting the generated PPDU to one or more second STAs (wireless communication using PPDU between AP and STA; para. 58), wherein a first LTF sequence for the LTF information in transmission of the 320 MHz PPDU is constructed based on a first subsequence, a second subsequence, a third subsequence, and a fourth subsequence (Extreme High Throughput (EHT)-LTF sequences for 320 MHz channel [PPDU] based on four subsequences; para. 92), wherein each of the first subsequence, the second subsequence, the third subsequence, and the fourth subsequence is respectively constructed using a second LTF sequence for the LTF information in transmission of the 80 MHz PPDU (first through fourth subsequences based on 80 MHZ High Efficiency (HE)-LTF [PPDU] subsequences; para. 92-96), and wherein the first LTF sequence and the second LTF sequence are based on a structure in which sequences are mapped in units of one tone (LTF using tones with corresponding index ranges; para. 84-85, resource unit (RU) based on tone, LTF sequence over all values; para. [81, 134-139] and Figs. [6-8, 10, 12, 14, and 16]).
While Wu discloses larger bandwidths and corresponding post EHT versions of 802.11 wireless protocol standards, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the PPDU being an 80 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 2048, and based on the PPDU being a 320 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 8192.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein, based on the PPDU being an 80 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 2048 (at 80 MHz, Fourier transform (FFT) [subcarriers] is 2048; Table 1), and based on the PPDU being a 320 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 8192 (at 320 MHz, FFT [subcarriers] is 8192; Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Cheng to the system of Wu, where Wu’s large / wide bandwidths IEEE 802.11 standards (para. [37-38, 74]) along with Cheng’s large / wide bandwidth with wireless protocols (para. [35, 100]) improves the system by efficiently utilizing available channels with devices from various manufacturers interoperating according to defined standards.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein each of the first subsequence, the second subsequence, the third subsequence, and the fourth subsequence is constructed by multiplying a specific coefficient to the second LTF sequence (first through fourth subsequences based on 80 MHZ HE-LTF [PPDU] subsequences; para. 92-96, EHT-LTF subsequence multiplied by coefficient; para. [97-98, 106, 117, 125, 133]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 2.
Wu further teaches wherein, for each of the first subsequence, the second subsequence, the third subsequence, and the fourth subsequence, the specific coefficient is set to a value of 1 or a value of −1 (coefficient values including rotation using 1 or -1; para. [97, 105, 116, 124, 132], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein the first LTF sequence is constructed as {the first subsequence, 023, the second subsequence, 023, the third subsequence, 023, the fourth subsequence}, and wherein the 023 corresponds to 23 consecutive 0 (zero) (LTF sequences include 23 zeros between LTF80MHz_x1, LTF80MHz_x2, LTF80MHz_x3, LTF80MHz_x4; para. [92, 100, 108, 119, 127] and Figs. [8, 10, 12, 14, 16], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or NULL tones.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Wu further teaches wherein a length of the first LTF sequence is 8169 (LTF sequences include 23 zeros between LTF80MHz_x1, LTF80MHz_x2, LTF80MHz_x3, LTF80MHz_x4; para. [92, 100, 108, 119, 127] and Figs. [8, 10, 12, 14, 16], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein the generating the PPDU comprises one or more processing including an inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT) (PPDU OFDMA transmission using inverse fast Fourier transform (IFFT); para. [38, 54, 58, 83, 86]).
While Wu discloses subcarrier components added via IFFT, Wu does not explicitly disclose a size of IFFT corresponds to the total number of subcarriers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng further teaches a size of IFFT corresponds to the total number of subcarriers (reference signals (RSs) transformed by IFFT assigned to same set of subcarriers; para. [45, 66-67, 70]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Cheng to the modified system of Wu and Cheng, where Wu and Cheng’s modified system along with Cheng’s large / wide bandwidth with wireless protocols (para. [35, 100]) improves the system by efficiently utilizing available channels with devices from various manufacturers interoperating according to defined standards.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein a maximum number of 996-tone RUs applicable to the PPDU is 8 for a 320 MHz channel width (for 320 MHz bandwidth, RUs in continuous 160 MHz as 4x996 [thus at least suggesting eight 996-tone RUs]; para. 135).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 11.
Wu further teaches wherein, based on the 320 MHz channel width being configured with 8×996-tone RUs (for 320 MHz bandwidth, RUs in continuous 160 MHz as 4x996 [thus at least suggesting eight 996-tone RUs]; para. 135), the first LTF sequence is mapped between the first 012 and the last 011 within the 320 MHz channel width (LTF includes k filler zeros between LTF subsequences; para. [153-155, 163, 169, 172, 178, 184, 178]), and wherein the 012 corresponds to 12 consecutive 0 (zero) or NULL tones, and the 011 corresponds to 11 consecutive 0 (zero) (k filler zeros [at least suggesting 11 and 12]; para. [153-155, 163, 169, 172, 178, 184, 178], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference) or NULL tones.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 including first station (STA) device (access point (AP) and station (STA); para. 58: Wu) operating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (wireless communication using physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) between access point (AP) and station (STA); para. 58: Wu), the device comprising: at least one transceiver (transceiver 1810; para. 141-142 and Fig. 18: Wu); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (processes coupled with transceiver; para. 141-142 and Fig. 18: Wu).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches a second station (STA) device operating in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system (wireless communication using physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) between access point (AP) and station (STA); para. 58), the device comprising: at least one transceiver (transceiver 1810; para. 141-142 and Fig. 18); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver (processes coupled with transceiver; para. 141-142 and Fig. 18), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) from a first STA (wireless communication using PPDU between AP and STA; para. 58); and process the PPDU based on long training field (LTF) information included in the PPDU (long training field (LTF) in PPDU used to process PPDU; para. [04, 39, 84] and Figs. 2A-3B), wherein a first LTF sequence for the LTF information in transmission of the 320 MHz PPDU is constructed based on a first subsequence, a second subsequence, a third subsequence, and a fourth subsequence (first through fourth subsequences based on 80 MHZ High Efficiency (HE)-LTF [PPDU] subsequences; para. 92-96), wherein each of the first subsequence, the second subsequence, the third subsequence, and the fourth subsequence is respectively constructed using a second LTF sequence for the LTF information in transmission of the 80 MHz PPDU (first through fourth subsequences based on 80 MHZ High Efficiency (HE)-LTF [PPDU] subsequences; para. 92-96), and wherein the first LTF sequence and the second LTF sequence are based on a structure in which sequences are mapped in units of one tone (LTF using tones with corresponding index ranges; para. 84-85, resource unit (RU) based on tone, LTF sequence over all values; para. [81, 134-139] and Figs. [6-8, 10, 12, 14, and 16]).
While Wu discloses larger bandwidths and corresponding post EHT versions of 802.11 wireless protocol standards, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein, based on the PPDU being an 80 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 2048, and based on the PPDU being a 320 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 8192.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches wherein, based on the PPDU being an 80 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 2048 (at 80 MHz, Fourier transform (FFT) [subcarriers] is 2048; Table 1), and based on the PPDU being a 320 MHz PPDU, a total number of subcarriers is 8192 (at 320 MHz, FFT [subcarriers] is 8192; Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Cheng to the system of Wu, where Wu’s large / wide bandwidths IEEE 802.11 standards (para. [37-38, 74]) along with Cheng’s large / wide bandwidth with wireless protocols (para. [35, 100]) improves the system by efficiently utilizing available channels with devices from various manufacturers interoperating according to defined standards.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Cheng, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2020/0100182 A1) hereinafter Yun.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 3.
While the combination of Wu and Cheng variously discloses peak to average power ratio (PAPR) and coefficients using 1 and -1, the combination of Wu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein the coefficient for the first subsequence is set to a value of 1, the coefficient for the second subsequence is set to a value of 1, the coefficient for the third subsequence is set to a value of 1, and the coefficient for the fourth subsequence is set to a value of −1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yun teaches wherein the coefficient for the first subsequence is set to a value of 1, the coefficient for the second subsequence is set to a value of 1, the coefficient for the third subsequence is set to a value of 1, and the coefficient for the fourth subsequence is set to a value of −1 (rotation use of [1 1 1 -1] for mapping of sequence; para. [153, 348] and Table 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yun to the modified system of Wu and Cheng, where Wu and Cheng’s modified system along with Yun’s reducing PAPR (para. [23, 50, 166-167]) improves the system by efficiently utilizing wideband channel.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Cheng, further in view of Liang et al. (WO 2022/007870 A1, cited portions are from corresponding EP 4,167,534 A1) hereinafter Liang, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0224203 A1) hereinafter Liu203.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Wu and Cheng variously discuss length, the combination of Wu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of the second LTF sequence is 2025.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liang teaches wherein a length of the second LTF sequence is 2025 (LTF sequence length is 2025; para. [153, 204]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Liang to the modified system of Wu and Cheng, where Wu and Cheng’s modified system along with Liang’s LTF sequence design (para. 06) improves the system by enabling channel estimation for larger bandwidths.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu203 teaches wherein the second LTF sequence is transmitted at the subcarrier index [−1012:1012] (LTF sequence includes index of [−1012:1012]; para. [208, 211, 242, 245, 276, 279]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Liu203 to the modified system of Wu, Cheng, and Liang, where Wu, Cheng, and Liang’s modified system along with Liu203’s LTF sequence design (para. 04-06) improves the system by reducing PAPR in large bandwidths thereby reducing system degradation.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Cheng, further in view of Liang, further in view of Liu203, further in view of Gong et al. (US 2024/0235757 A1) hereinafter Gong, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0119491 A1) hereinafter Liu491.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wu, Cheng, Liang, and Liu203 teaches the limitation of previous claim 7.
Wu further teaches LTFsub_left_4x and LTFsub_right_4x are defined as below.
LTFsub_left_4x = {+1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, +1, −1, +1, −1, −1, −1, −1, +1, +1, +1, −1, −1, +1, 0, 0}
(
: Fig. 17), where, LTFsub_lower_4x is constructed as {LTFsub_left_4x, 0, LTFsub_right_4x} (LTFlower = x1*LTFleft, 0, x2*LTFright; Figs. [8, 12, 16]), LTFsub_upper_4x is constructed as {LTFsub_left_4x, 0, LTFsub_right_4x} (LTFupper = x3*LTFleft, 0, x4*LTFright; Figs. [8, 12, 16]),
While the combination of Wu, Cheng, Liang, and Liu variously discloses multiplication by -1, the combination of Wu and Chen does not explicitly disclose LTF, LTF, LTF, -LTF.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gong discloses LTF, LTF, LTF, -LTF ({1, 1, 1, −1} rotation parameters [for LTF sequences]; para. 156-158).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Gong to the modified system of Wu, Cheng, Liang, and Liu203, where Wu, Cheng, Liang, and Liu203’s modified system along with Gong’s adjusting LTF sequence (para. 05-07) improves the system by adjusting LTF sequence with reduced PAPR.
While the combination of Wu, Cheng, Liang, Liu203, and Gong and variously discloses wherein the second LTF sequence corresponds to the LTF-1012,1012 sequence according to an Equation as below [Equation]
LTF-1012,1012={LTFsub_lower_4x, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, LTFsub_upper_4x}.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Liu491 teaches wherein the second LTF sequence corresponds to the LTF-1012,1012 sequence according to an Equation as below [Equation] LTF-1012,1012={LTFsub_lower_4x, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, LTFsub_upper_4x} (LTF-1012:1012 = {LTF1, 023, LTF2}; para. [12, 30, 54, 68, 246, 272]).HHhdhlk
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Liu491 to the modified system of Wu, Cheng, Liang, Liu203, and Gong, where Wu, Cheng, Liang, Liu203, and Gong’s modified system along with Liu491’s LTF sequence design (para. [05-07, 154-155]) improves the system by designing LTF sequence with low PAPR thereby reducing distortion in high/large bandwidth.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Cheng, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0229223 A1) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wu and Cheng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Wu and Cheng variously discuss subcarrier spacing and Fourier transforms, the combination of Wu and Cheng does not explicitly disclose wherein, for each of the above 80 MHz PPDU and the above 320 MHz PPDU, the subcarrier spacing is 39.0625 kHz, and a length of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) or inverse DFT (IDFT) period for a data symbol is 25.6 microseconds (us).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein, for each of the above 80 MHz PPDU and the above 320 MHz PPDU, the subcarrier spacing is 39.0625 kHz (modulation for PPDU using subcarrier spacing of 39.0625 kHz; para. [137, 197-214] and Table 2), and a length of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) or inverse DFT (IDFT) period for a data symbol is 25.6 microseconds (us) (modulation with fast Fourier transformation (FFT [at least suggesting DFT]) for PPDU using data symbol of 25.6 us; para. [137, 197-214] and Table 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhang to the modified system of Wu and Cheng, where Wu and Cheng’s modified system along with Zhang’s constructing radio frame for one-to-many or many-to-one transmission (para. [16, 50]) improves the system by improving spectrum utilization and network use efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (US 2019/0173710 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for generation of physical layer protocol data units for vehicular environments.
Chen et al. (US 2021/0068104 A1) discloses resource unit (RU) allocation for EHT for power spectral density limitations.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474