DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 25. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 1-7, 11-14, 17-18, 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0189103 A1) in view of Bao (US 2022/0110088 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Zhang discloses an information configuration method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving configuration information sent by a network device (step 700, 701 as shown in figure 7, network device sends a second message for configuring one or more BWPs and a first message for indicating a second BWP, para. 0139-0142; 0170-0175), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one piece of bandwidth part (BWP) information (The terminal device receives a second message from the network device, where the second message is for configuring one or more BWPs for the terminal device, and the one or more BWPs include at least the second BWP, BWP parameter as shown in para. 0139-0141);
wherein each piece of BWP information in the at least one piece of BWP information is associated with at least one area identifier (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140; the examiner interprets the cell as the claimed area identifier, Cell ID as listed in table I in para. 0141), and the at least one piece of BWP information is configured for the terminal to send an uplink reference signal (The BWP-uplink configures an uplink parameter of the BWP, including at least one of the following content of the BWP: configuration information of a physical uplink control channel (physical uplink control channel, PUCCH), configuration information of a PUSCH, configuration information of a sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS), para. 0147) in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (For example, when the terminal device is in an RRC-connected state, the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information para. 0140; The base station causes the state of the terminal device to be transformed from the RRC-inactive state to the RRC-idle state through the RRC release process, para. 0080).
Zhang fails to disclose the SRS is used as a positioning reference signal.
However, Bao teaches using sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning (para. 0086).
It is desirable to use the uplink SRS as a positioning reference signal because it reduces resources for transmitting extra positioning reference signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Bao in the method of Zhang for the benefit of reducing overhead for positioning reference signal.
(2) Regarding claims 25-26:
Zhang and Bao disclose all subject matter of method of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium (memory 1302 in figure 13, para. 0252), having stored therein executable program codes that (A computer-readable storage medium including a program is provided, para. 0259), when loaded and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the information configuration method according to claim 1 (In response to the program being run by a processor, the method on the terminal device side or the method on the network device side in the foregoing method embodiments is performed, para. 0259).
(3) Regarding claim 23:
Zhang discloses a terminal, comprising:
a processor; and
a transceiver coupled to the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to:
receiving configuration information sent by a network device (step 700, 701 as shown in figure 7, network device sends a second message for configuring one or more BWPs and a first message for indicating a second BWP, para. 0139-0142; 0170-0175), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one piece of bandwidth part (BWP) information (The terminal device receives a second message from the network device, where the second message is for configuring one or more BWPs for the terminal device, and the one or more BWPs include at least the second BWP, BWP parameter as shown in para. 0139-0141);
wherein each piece of BWP information in the at least one piece of BWP information is associated with at least one area identifier (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140; the examiner interprets the cell as the claimed area identifier, Cell ID as listed in table I in para. 0141), and the at least one piece of BWP information is configured for the terminal to send an uplink reference signal (The BWP-uplink configures an uplink parameter of the BWP, including at least one of the following content of the BWP: configuration information of a physical uplink control channel (physical uplink control channel, PUCCH), configuration information of a PUSCH, configuration information of a sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS), para. 0147) in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (For example, when the terminal device is in an RRC-connected state, the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 0140; The base station causes the state of the terminal device to be transformed from the RRC-inactive state to the RRC-idle state through the RRC release process, para. 0080).
Zhang fails to disclose the SRS is used as a positioning reference signal.
However, Bao teaches using sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning (para. 0086).
It is desirable to use the uplink SRS as a positioning reference signal because it reduces resources for transmitting extra positioning reference signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Bao in the terminal of Zhang for the benefit of reducing overhead for positioning reference signal.
(4) Regarding claim 11:
An information configuration method, performed by a network device, comprising:
sending configuration information to a terminal, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one piece of BWP information (step 700, 701 as shown in figure 7, network device sends a second message for configuring one or more BWPs and a first message for indicating a second BWP, para. 0139-0142; 0170-0175; The terminal device receives a second message from the network device, where the second message is for configuring one or more BWPs for the terminal device, and the one or more BWPs include at least the second BWP, BWP parameter as shown in para. 0139-0141);
wherein each piece of BWP information in the at least one piece of BWP information is associated with at least one area identifier (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140; the examiner interprets the cell as the claimed area identifier, Cell ID as listed in table I in para. 0141), and the at least one piece of BWP information is configured for the terminal to send an uplink reference signal in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle state and/or or an RRC inactive state (The BWP-uplink configures an uplink parameter of the BWP, including at least one of the following content of the BWP: configuration information of a physical uplink control channel (physical uplink control channel, PUCCH), configuration information of a PUSCH, configuration information of a sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS), para. 0147) in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (For example, when the terminal device is in an RRC-connected state, the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 0140; The base station causes the state of the terminal device to be transformed from the RRC-inactive state to the RRC-idle state through the RRC release process, para. 0080).
Zhang fails to disclose the SRS is used as a positioning reference signal.
However, Bao teaches using sounding reference signal (SRS) for positioning (para. 0086).
It is desirable to use the uplink SRS as a positioning reference signal because it reduces resources for transmitting extra positioning reference signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Bao in the terminal of Zhang for the benefit of reducing overhead for positioning reference signal.
(5) Regarding claim 24:
Zhang and Bao disclose all subject matter of claim 11, and Zhang further discloses a network device (apparatus 1300 as shown in figure 13), comprising:
a processor (processor 1301 in figure 13); and
a transceiver coupled to the processor (communication interface 1303 in figure 13, communication interface 1303 is configured to perform sending/receiving-related operations of a terminal device side in the foregoing method embodiments, para. 0254),
wherein the processor is configured to perform the information configuration method according to claim 11 (The communication interface 1303 is configured to perform sending/receiving-related operations of a terminal device side in the foregoing method embodiments, and the processor 1301 is configured to perform processing-related operations of the terminal device side in the foregoing method embodiments, para. 0254).
(6) Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 11, and Zhang further discloses wherein each piece of BWP information being associated with at least one area identifier comprises at least one of:
each area identifier being associated with one BWP (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140; the examiner interprets the cell as the claimed area identifier, Cell ID as listed in table I in para. 0141);
there being one BWP, and the BWP being associated with a plurality of area identifiers; or
there being a plurality of BWPs, and each BWP being associated with at least one area identifier.
(7) Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 11, and Zhang further discloses the area identifier is one of:
a cell identifier (Cell ID as listed in table I in para. 0141);
a radio access network (RAN) area identifier; or
a system information area identifier.
(8) Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 11, and Zhang further discloses the BWP information comprises at least one of:
a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (BWP parameter comprises subcarrier spacing, SCS as shown in Table I in para. 0141);
a cyclic prefix (CP);
a frequency domain position of a BWP; or
a bandwidth of a BWP.
(9) Regarding claim 5:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses the configuration information is
an RRC release message (the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 140), or
an RRC reconfiguration message.
(10) Regarding claim 6:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and Zhang further discloses in response to the terminal being in at least one of the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state (the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 140), sending the uplink positioning reference signal to the network device based on the at least one piece of BWP information (step 703 in figure 7, transmit small data, a reference signal or the like on the second BWP, para. 208; as in the rejection of claim 1, Zhang in view of Bao together discloses the SRS as a positioning reference signal).
(11) Regarding claim 7:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 6, and Zhang further discloses:
in response to the terminal being in at least one of the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state (the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 140), and an area where the terminal is located being associated with the BWP information (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140), sending the uplink positioning reference signal according to the BWP information corresponding to the area identifier (step 703 in figure 7, transmit small data, a reference signal or the like on the second BWP, para. 208; as in the rejection of claim 1, Zhang in view of Bao together discloses the SRS as a positioning reference signal), or
in response to the terminal being in at least one of the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, and an area where the terminal located not being associated with the BWP information, sending the uplink positioning reference signal based on an initial BWP, or releasing the at least one piece of BWP information.
(12) Regarding claim 17:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 11, and Zhang further discloses:
receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal based on the at least one piece of BWP information (step 703 in figure 7, transmit small data, a reference signal or the like on the second BWP, para. 208; as in the rejection of claim 1, Zhang in view of Bao together discloses the SRS as a positioning reference signal), wherein the uplink positioning reference signal is sent by the terminal in at least one of the RRC idle state and/or or the RRC inactive state (the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 140) (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140).
(13) Regarding claim 18:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 11, and Zhang further discloses wherein receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal based on the at least one piece of BWP information, comprises:
receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal according to the BWP information corresponding to the area identifier (step 703 in figure 7, transmit small data, a reference signal or the like on the second BWP, para. 208, 140; as in the rejection of claim 1, Zhang in view of Bao together discloses the SRS as a positioning reference signal), wherein the uplink positioning reference signal is sent by the terminal in case that the terminal is in at least one of the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state (the network device configures one or more BWPs for the terminal device through the RRC release message or the system information, para. 140), and the terminal is located in an area indicated by the area identifier (a BWP indicated by the system information is considered as a BWP configured for all the terminal devices in a cell, para. 0140); or
receiving the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal based on an initial BWP, wherein the uplink positioning reference signal is sent by the terminal in case that the terminal is in at least one of the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state, and the terminal is not located in an area indicated by the area identifier.
(14) Regarding claim 10:
Zhang and Bao disclose all subject matter of claim 7, and Zhang further discloses determining whether the area where the terminal is located is associated with the BWP information according to the area identifier associated with each piece of BWP information (in response to the terminal device performing neighboring cell measurement on a BWP of the serving cell and a measurement value of the neighboring cell is high (or a measurement result of the neighboring cell is higher than a measurement result of the serving cell), or the terminal device performs serving cell measurement on a BWP of the serving cell and a measurement value of the serving cell is low (or a measurement result of the serving cell is lower than a measurement result of the neighboring cell), the terminal device performs cell reselection to switch to the neighboring cell, para. 0151-0153)
Claims 16 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2023/0189103 A1) in view of Bao (US 2022/0110088 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 2020/0314793 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 16:
Zhang and Bao together disclose all subject matter of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one piece of BWP information is obtained by the network device from a location management function (LMF) through a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) or the at least one piece of BWP information is obtained by the network device via an Xn interface.
However, Kumar discloses the at least one piece of BWP information is obtained by the network device from a location management function (LMF) through a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) (the LMF 120 optionally sends an NRPPa PRS Configuration Request message to each of the gNBs 110 determined at stage 4 that includes the BWP determined for the PRS to be sent by that gNB 110. At stage 2, the LMF 120 sends an NRPPa message with a BWP Query Request Indication to the serving gNB 110-1 and optionally each of the neighbor gNBs 110-2, 110-3. The BWP Query Request Indication requests the active BPW from the serving gNB 110-1 and a list of configured BWPs from other gNBs 110 and possibly the serving gNB 110-1. The LMF 120 may specify the estimated session time to the serving gNB 110-1, para. 0084-0085)
It is desirable for the at least one piece of BWP information is obtained by the network device from a location management function (LMF) through a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) because it improves the reliably and quickly locating a mobile device (para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kumar in the method of Zhang and Bao for the benefit of improving the reliably and quickly locating a mobile device.
(2) Regarding claim 20:
Zhang and Bao disclose all subject matter of claim 17, but fails to disclose positioning the terminal according to the uplink positioning reference signal; and obtaining position information of the terminal.
However, Bao teaches a method comprises
LMF 120 may also request UE 105 (e.g. as part of stage 5 or stage 6) to transmit an uplink (UL) PRS or UL Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) and may request one or more gNBs 110 to obtain UL measurements (e.g. RxTx, AOA, TOA and/or RSRP) of the UL PRS or UL SRS. The UL measurements may then be sent by the gNBs 110 to LMF 120 to assist LMF 120 to obtain a location of UE 105 at stage 11 using both the UL measurements and the PRS measurements provided by UE 105 at stage 10 (para. 0076).
It is desirable to positioning the terminal according to the uplink positioning reference signal; and obtaining position information of the terminal because it improves the reliably and quickly locating a mobile device (para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Kumar in the method of Zhang and Bao for the benefit of improving the reliably and quickly locating a mobile device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0110085 A1) discloses systems and methods of providing new radio positioning.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/29/2026