DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Applications No. 63/329,879 and No. 63/329,884, filed April 11, 2022. Claims 1-20 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 9/24/2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Kimura disclose A method comprising:
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3 shows the sensor calibration process steps.)] establishing, by a processing system of a distance sensor, a plurality of detection windows for a plurality of points of a projection pattern projected by a projecting subsystem of the distance sensor, ("When the plurality of beams of light 110 is incident upon a surface 112, … For instance, the pattern may comprise a grid in which a plurality of artifacts are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns. At least a portion of the pattern (e.g., at least some of the artifacts creating the pattern) may be detected by the light receiving system," par. 27-28) based on a first plurality of images captured by an imaging subsystem of the distance sensor; ("The light receiving system may capture an image of the pattern of light as projected onto the target surface and may transmit this image to the processing system," par. 41) controlling, by the processing system, the projecting subsystem to project the projection pattern onto a target object; ("In step 304, the processing system may control a 3D distance sensor to project a pattern of light onto a target surface," par. 39) controlling, by the processing system, the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor to capture a first image of the projection pattern on the target object ("In step 306, the processing system may control the 3D distance sensor to acquire an image of the pattern of light on the target surface," par. 41) and an external camera having a fixed position to capture a second image of the projection pattern on the target object; ("the processing system may control a 2D camera and the light receiving system of the 3D distance sensor to simultaneously acquire a first image and a second image, respectively, of the pattern of light on the target surface, where the 2D camera has a fixed position relative to the 3D distance sensor," par. 54) calculating, by the processing system, an image position of a first point of the plurality of points on an image sensor of the imaging subsystem, using a first detection window of the plurality of detection windows to locate the first point in the first image; ("the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image," par. 59) calculating, by the processing system, a spatial position of the first point on the target object, based on the second image; ("the 3D distance sensor 100 may calculate the position of the point p in a three-dimensional (x, y, z) coordinate space based on the reflected infrared light," par. 36) and storing, by the processing system, the image position ("the processing system may store the distance calculated in step 308 in association with a position of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor," par. 43) and the spatial position together as calibration data for the distance sensor ("FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one example of a method 300 for calibrating a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 38).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Kimura disclose wherein the image position according to the first image comprises a set of (u, v) coordinates, and the spatial position comprises a set of (x, y, z) coordinates ("(u, v) coordinates of the first point of light on the 2D image sensor of the 2D camera are associated with the (z) coordinate of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor to generate a single set of coordinates (u, v, z) for the first point of light," par. 59).
Claim 6
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 shows the triangulation method using the sensor and camera.)]
Regarding Claim 6, Kimura disclose wherein the set of (u, v) coordinates is obtained using a triangulation technique ("FIG. 2 illustrates a side view of an example system including the three-dimensional distance sensor of FIG. 1 and a two-dimensional camera," par. 9) that is optimized during the establishing by defining a two-dimensional plane extending a predefined distance beyond the first detection window in which to inspect an image brightness and an image light intensity distribution ("The fluorescent surface 112 may also be shaped to improve the efficiency of the calibration process. For instance, a shape such as a rectangle may be easy to recognize, while a planar surface may simplify the distance relationship to be calculated," par. 37).
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Kimura disclose wherein the storing further comprises storing the first detection window with the spatial position ("where the 3D distance sensor's light projecting system emits n beams of light (n>1), the relational expressions for each beam (e.g., for each point of light created by one of the beams) may be derived and stored in a memory that is accessible to the processing system," par. 44) and image position ("the processing system may store the distance calculated in step 308 in association with a position of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor," par. 43) as the calibration data to facilitate post-calibration distance detection by the distance sensor ("FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one example of a method 300 for calibrating a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 38).
Claim 9
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 4 shows the calibration repetition among the plurality of target distances.)]
Regarding Claim 9, Kimura disclose wherein the controlling the projecting subsystem, the controlling the imaging subsystem and the external camera, the calculating the image position of the first point, the calculating the spatial position of the first point, and the storing the image position and the spatial position are repeated for a plurality of different distances between the target object and the distance sensor ("steps 404-408 are repeated multiple times, where the target surface is moved each time so that the distance between the target surface and the 3D distance sensor (and between the target surface and the 2D camera) changes," par. 60).
Claim 17
Regarding Claim 17, Kimura disclose wherein the external camera comprises a camera that is separate from a housing of the distance sensor that contains the projecting subsystem, the imaging subsystem, and the processing system ("FIG. 2 illustrates a side view of an example system including the three-dimensional distance sensor 100 of FIG. 1 and a two-dimensional camera 200," par. 32).
Claim 19
Regarding Claim 18, Kimura disclose a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by a processor of a distance sensor, wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the processor to perform operations, the operations comprising: ("a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium is encoded with instructions executable by a processor. When executed, the instructions cause the processor to perform operations including controlling a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 6) establishing a plurality of detection windows for a plurality of points of a projection pattern projected by a projecting subsystem of the distance sensor, ("When the plurality of beams of light 110 is incident upon a surface 112, … For instance, the pattern may comprise a grid in which a plurality of artifacts are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns. At least a portion of the pattern (e.g., at least some of the artifacts creating the pattern) may be detected by the light receiving system," par. 27-28) based on a plurality of images captured by an imaging subsystem of the distance sensor; ("The light receiving system may capture an image of the pattern of light as projected onto the target surface and may transmit this image to the processing system," par. 41) controlling the projecting subsystem to project the projection pattern onto a target object; ("In step 304, the processing system may control a 3D distance sensor to project a pattern of light onto a target surface," par. 39) controlling the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor to capture a first image of the projection pattern on the target object ("In step 306, the processing system may control the 3D distance sensor to acquire an image of the pattern of light on the target surface," par. 41) and an external camera having a fixed position to capture a second image of the projection pattern on the target object; ("the processing system may control a 2D camera and the light receiving system of the 3D distance sensor to simultaneously acquire a first image and a second image, respectively, of the pattern of light on the target surface, where the 2D camera has a fixed position relative to the 3D distance sensor," par. 54) calculating an image position of a first point of the plurality of points on an image sensor of the imaging subsystem, using a first detection window of the plurality of detection windows to locate the first point in the first image; ("the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image," par. 59) calculating a spatial position of the first point on the target object, based on the second image; ("the 3D distance sensor 100 may calculate the position of the point p in a three-dimensional (x, y, z) coordinate space based on the reflected infrared light," par. 36) and storing the image position and the spatial position together ("the processing system may store the distance calculated in step 308 in association with a position of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor," par. 43) as calibration data for the distance sensor ("FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one example of a method 300 for calibrating a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 38).
Claim 20
Regarding Claim 20, Kimura disclose an apparatus comprising: a processing system including at least one processor; ("an apparatus includes a processor," par. 7) and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by the processing system, wherein, when executed, the instructions cause the processing system to perform operations, the operations comprising: ("a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium encoded with instructions executable by the processor. When executed, the instructions cause the processor to perform operations including controlling a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 7) establishing a plurality of detection windows for a plurality of points of a projection pattern projected by a projecting subsystem of the distance sensor, ("When the plurality of beams of light 110 is incident upon a surface 112, … For instance, the pattern may comprise a grid in which a plurality of artifacts are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns. At least a portion of the pattern (e.g., at least some of the artifacts creating the pattern) may be detected by the light receiving system," par. 27-28) based on a plurality of images captured by an imaging subsystem of the distance sensor; ("The light receiving system may capture an image of the pattern of light as projected onto the target surface and may transmit this image to the processing system," par. 41) controlling the projecting subsystem to project the projection pattern onto a target object; ("In step 304, the processing system may control a 3D distance sensor to project a pattern of light onto a target surface," par. 39) controlling the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor to capture a first image of the projection pattern on the target object ("In step 306, the processing system may control the 3D distance sensor to acquire an image of the pattern of light on the target surface," par. 41) and an external camera having a fixed position to capture a second image of the projection pattern on the target object; ("the processing system may control a 2D camera and the light receiving system of the 3D distance sensor to simultaneously acquire a first image and a second image, respectively, of the pattern of light on the target surface, where the 2D camera has a fixed position relative to the 3D distance sensor," par. 54) calculating an image position of a first point of the plurality of points on an image sensor of the imaging subsystem, using a first detection window of the plurality of detection windows to locate the first point in the first image; ("the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image," par. 59) calculating a spatial position of the first point on the target object, based on the second image; ("the 3D distance sensor 100 may calculate the position of the point p in a three-dimensional (x, y, z) coordinate space based on the reflected infrared light," par. 36) and storing the image position and the spatial position together ("the processing system may store the distance calculated in step 308 in association with a position of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor," par. 43) as calibration data for the distance sensor ("FIG. 3 is a flow diagram illustrating one example of a method 300 for calibrating a three-dimensional distance sensor," par. 38).
1st Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) in view of US Patent Publication 2015 0264332 A1, (McKay et al.).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Kimura teach the method of claim 1, wherein the establishing comprises, for each point of the plurality of points: controlling, by the processing system, the projecting subsystem to project the projection pattern onto the target object; ("In step 304, the processing system may control a 3D distance sensor to project a pattern of light onto a target surface," par. 39) controlling, by the processing system, the imaging subsystem to capture an image of the projection pattern on the target object ("In step 306, the processing system may control the 3D distance sensor to acquire an image of the pattern of light on the target surface," par. 41) at over a plurality of distances between the distance sensor and the target object, resulting in the first plurality of images; ("The target surface used in step 304 may comprise a three-dimensional target, e.g., such that different portions of the target surface may reside at different distances from the light receiving system of the 3D distance sensor," par. 40) detecting, by the processing system using a feature point detection technique, a position of the each point in each image of the first plurality of images; ("the stereo cameras may be used to detect a feature point on an object … the 3D position of the object is then calculated by solving equations that relate the 2D image position of the object and the imaging light position," par. 19) and calculating, by the processing system for each image of the first plurality of images, an image position of the each point on the image sensor of the imaging subsystem, based on the position of the each point in the each image; ("the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image," par. 59).
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of setting, by the processing system, the first detection window based on a curve that continuously connects the image position of the each point across the plurality of distances.
However, McKay et al. teach setting, by the processing system, the first detection window based on a curve ("the selected three-dimensional region of interest (x.sub.2*, y.sub.2*, z.sub.2*) includes only objects 38 in the scene 22 within or on the surface of a predefined three-dimensional volume (such as volume 312 shown in FIG. 3A and described below). The three-dimensional volume may be a cube, cylinder, rectangular prism, cone, triangular prism or any other regular or irregular three-dimensional shape … In one example, the spatial location of each of the selected points in the three-dimensional volume may be a function of time such that the position, size or shape of the three-dimensional volume may change over time," par. 27) that continuously connects the image position of the each point across the plurality of distances ("The selected three-dimensional region of interest (x.sub.2*, y.sub.2*, z.sub.2*) may be dependent on the range distance 36 (d) (i.e. as a range-data-dependent selection volume). For example, the three-dimensional region of interest may be selected to be a region around whatever object 38 is closest to the range sensor," par. 26).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura and McKay et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura to use distance dependent region of interest selection as taught by McKay et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “Combining the images from the first and second cameras 12, 50 improves resolution and allows for the use of low-resolution digital cameras as the first and second cameras 12, 50. In one example, the first and second cameras 12, 50 are 5-megapixel color cameras. Additionally, other cameras may be employed with different overlapping fields of view, spectral sensitivity and/or high dynamic range” as noted by the McKay et al. disclosure in paragraph [0035], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher efficiency as there is a reasonable expectation that doing so would reduce the processing power and bandwidth needed for calibration, as calculating calibration parameters only within the selected region of interest saves computing time; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Kimura teach the method of claim 1 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein a width of each detection window of the plurality of detection windows varies.
However, McKay et al. teach wherein a width of each detection window of the plurality of detection windows varies ("The selected three-dimensional region of interest (x.sub.2*, y.sub.2*, z.sub.2*) or volume's position, size, and shape may all be functions of range distance 36 (d), rather than just being fixed volumes in space," par. 26).
Kimura and McKay et al. are combined as per claim 2.
2nd Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) in view of US Patent Publication 2014 0268145 A1, (Lane et al.).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teach the method of claim 1 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein a width of each detection window of the plurality of detection windows is constant.
However, Lane et al. teach wherein a width of each detection window of the plurality of detection windows is constant ("When a detected object triggers on a predetermined number of data channels, an object is considered detected, and a data section is extracted from the data block for each channel. Each data section has a fixed width t.sub.w and a pre-trigger time t.sub.pt to insure that the full width of the object is detected," par. 53).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura and Lane et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura to use fixed-width detection windows as taught by Lane et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “Each data section has a fixed width t.sub.w and a pre-trigger time t.sub.pt to insure that the full width of the object is detected. Since the object is separately triggered on each sensor, the time start t.sub.s of the data section for the triggered channel is separately recorded” as noted by the Lane et al. disclosure in paragraph [0053], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher accuracy as there is a reasonable expectation that the fixed-width windows will consistently capture the entire targeted object. Separately recording the start times allows the system to perfectly align and compare data from multiple sensors, reducing errors in object tracking; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
3rd Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) in view of US Patent Publication 2013 0258353 A1, (Kosmecki et al.).
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teach the method of claim 6, wherein a z coordinate of the set of (x, y, z) coordinates is known from a coordinate reference point of the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor ("In step 408, the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image, with the distance between the first point of light and the 3D distance sensor, as obtained from the second image. That is, the (u, v) coordinates of the first point of light on the 2D image sensor of the 2D camera are associated with the (z) coordinate of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor to generate a single set of coordinates (u, v, z) for the first point of light," par. 59).
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein the distance sensor is mounted to a support that is movable along a track to change a distance between the distance sensor and the target object, and wherein a portion of the support to which the distance sensor is directly attached is configured in a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the coordinate reference point.
However, Kosmecki et al. teach wherein the distance sensor is mounted to a support that is movable along a track to change a distance between the distance sensor and the target object, ("the carrier 4 with the calibration pattern 5 is however not arranged separately to the distance determining device 2 of the endoscope 3, but [AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 shows the camera mounting/support mechanisms. )]
connected via connecting means in form of a guidance 41, which is movably coupled to the shaft 31 of the endoscope 3," par. 98) and wherein a portion of the support to which the distance sensor is directly attached is configured in a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the coordinate reference point ("The guidance 41 is thus attached to the endoscope shaft 31 and can be moved during the calibration process along the optical axis of the endoscope, which is determined by the course of the shaft 31 (in which the image optic of the endoscope is arranged) such that different distances between the carrier 4 to the calibration pattern 5 and the tip of the endoscope shaft 31 can be adjusted," par. 99).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura and Kosmecki et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura to use the sensor mounting and support systems as taught by Kosmecki et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “different distances are adjusted during the calibration of the distance determining device 2 by moving the guidance 41 on the endoscope shaft” as noted by the Kosmecki et al. disclosure in paragraph [0099], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher utility as there is a reasonable expectation that doing so allows the distance sensor to be precisely moved along the track. This precise movement helps adjust the sensor distance while continuously maintaining the sensor's exact, known physical relationship to the coordinate reference point; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teach the method of claim 9 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein x and y coordinates of a position of the distance sensor remain constant over all distances of the plurality of different distances, and only a z coordinate of the position of the distance sensor changes over the all distances.
However, Kosmecki et al. teach wherein x and y coordinates of a position of the distance sensor remain constant over all distances of the plurality of different distances, and only a z coordinate of the position of the distance sensor changes over the all distances ("The guidance 41 is thus attached to the endoscope shaft 31 and can be moved during the calibration process along the optical axis of the endoscope, which is determined by the course of the shaft 31 (in which the image optic of the endoscope is arranged) such that different distances between the carrier 4 to the calibration pattern 5 and the tip of the endoscope shaft 31 can be adjusted," par. 99).
Kimura and Kosmecki et al. are combined as per claim 7.
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teach wherein the controlling the projecting subsystem, the controlling the imaging subsystem and the external camera, the calculating the image position, the calculating the spatial position, the storing the image position and the spatial position, and the repeating are performed for all points of the plurality of points ("where steps 404-408 have been repeated k times (k>1), the relational expression may be derived from a plurality of data points," par. 63).
Kimura and Kosmecki et al. are combined as per claim 7.
4th Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) in view of US Patent Publication 2020 0141722 A1, (Körner).
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Kimura teach the method of claim 1 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of extracting, by the processing system, a plurality of wavelet templates from a light intensity distribution profile of the first detection window, wherein the plurality of wavelet templates is stored to facilitate post-calibration distance detection by the distance sensor.
However, Körner et al. teach extracting, by the processing system, a plurality of wavelet templates from a light intensity distribution profile of the first detection window, ("Producing at least two wavelets W1 and W2 with respectively different wavelet periods pw_1 and pw_2 from the at least two image sets," par. 58) wherein the plurality of wavelet templates is stored to facilitate post-calibration distance detection by the distance sensor ("The at least two wavelets W1 and W2 may be stored separately in a digital memory," par. 66).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura and Körner et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura to use the wavelet extraction and analyzation methods as taught by Körner et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “The method particularly provides the opportunity, using the shape of the contrast envelope of the relevant wavelet, of obtaining indications of the measurement uncertainty of the measured point” as noted by the Körner et al. disclosure in paragraph [0065], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher accuracy as there is a reasonable expectation that extracted wavelets will reliably isolate underlying sensor noise from true measurement data and because the shape of the contrast envelope provides a quantifiable measure of signal reliability and error; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, Kimura and Körner et al. teach the method of claim 12 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates indicates an area of peak light intensity within the first detection window for a different image of a second plurality of images.
However, Körner et al. teach wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates indicates an area of peak light intensity ("In FIG. 29 the colour black represents the intensity maximum," par. 530) within the first detection window for a different image of a second plurality of images ("several intensity values are recorded for determining contrast and phase," par. 13).
Kimura and Körner et al. are combined as per claim 12.
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, Kimura and Körner et al. teach the method of claim 13 as noted above.
Kimura teach image position of the first point for one image of the second plurality of images ("the small target surface may be small enough to ensure that only one point of light of the projection pattern (e.g., the first point of light) is incident on the target surface," par. 73).
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein the area of peak light intensity corresponds to an image position.
However, Körner et al. teach wherein the area of peak light intensity corresponds to an image position ("several intensity values are recorded for determining contrast and phase," par. 13).
Kimura and Körner et al. are combined as per claim 12.
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Kimura and Körner et al. teach the method of claim 13 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates has a different shape, and the different shape is dependent upon a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time at which an image of the second plurality of images from which the each wavelet template is extracted was captured.
However, Körner et al. teach wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates has a different shape, ("using the shape of the contrast envelope of the relevant wavelet, of obtaining indications of the measurement uncertainty of the measured point," par. 65) and the different shape is dependent upon a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time at which an image of the second plurality of images from which the each wavelet template is extracted was captured ("This represents an approach to a 3D triangulation measurement method which generates wavelet signals with a contrast envelope, the phase of which in the signal generates a piece of information about the depth or the distance of recorded object points," par. 9).
Kimura and Körner et al. are combined as per claim 12.
5th Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) and US Patent Publication 2020 0141722 A1, (Körner) in view of US Patent Publication 2006 0066290 A1, (Hausdorf et al.).
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Kimura and Körner et al. teach the method of claim 14 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates is associated with a detection range within which the corresponding wavelet template can be expected to appear, when the image position of the first point in the one image corresponds to the wavelet template.
However, Körner et al. teach when the image position of the first point in the one image corresponds to the wavelet template ("This represents an approach to a 3D triangulation measurement method which generates wavelet signals with a contrast envelope, the phase of which in the signal generates a piece of information about the depth or the distance of recorded object points," par. 9).
Additionally, Hausdorf et al. teach wherein each wavelet template of the plurality of wavelet templates is associated with a detection range within which the corresponding wavelet template can be expected to appear ("Wavelet detection range is the range of frequency offset at which wavelets are detected and taken valid for further processing. It matches the range of wavelet widths," par. 98).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura, Körner et al., and Hausdorf et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura and the wavelet extraction and analyzation methods as taught by Körner et al. to use wavelet detection ranges as taught by Hausdorf et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “Wavelets from a certain detection range have to be detected with wavelet detector 23. This means that only wavelets are needed that have their width in defined boundaries” as noted by the Hausdorf et al. disclosure in paragraph [0101], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher accuracy as there is a reasonable expectation that filtering out unwanted or out-of-boundary signals will reduce background noise and prevent false readings; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
6th Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2020 0358961 A1, (Kimura) in view of US Patent Publication 1998 5764209 A, (Hawthorne et al.).
Claim 18
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teach the method of claim 1 as noted above.
Kimura do not explicitly teach all of wherein the target object comprises a flat screen having a uniform color and uniform reflectance.
However, Hawthorne et al. teach wherein the target object comprises a flat screen ("flat-panel display," col. 3, line 67) having a uniform color and uniform reflectance ("Any brightness non-uniformities can be corrected," col. 10, line 24).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Kimura and Hawthorne et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the sensor calibration techniques as taught by Kimura to use a flat screen with uniform reflectance as taught by Hawthorne et al. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that, “An improved testing system and method for testing a flat-panel display” as noted by the Hawthorne et al. disclosure in paragraph [Abstract], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher accuracy as there is a reasonable expectation that the uniform reflectance of the flat screen will prevent uneven glare or shadows; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2023 11652965 B2 to Meier et al. discloses a system and method for projecting digital information onto real-world objects by using a camera and a registered depth sensor to calculate spatial transformations.
Conclusion
/Karsten F. Lantz/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 7/16/2026
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664