DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed October 9, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/855936 (the ‘936 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-14 are recited by claims 1-14 of the ‘936 application. Therefore, in making or using the application of claims 1-14 of the ‘936 application, one of ordinary skill in the art would also make or use the invention of claims 1-14. As the claims of both applications use the same terminology and have the same arrangement, detailed claim element mapping is not necessary.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP2851334 to Le Guen (Le Guen). This document was cited on an IDS and a copy thereof filed with the instant application. Therefore, a copy has not been included with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Le Guen discloses a container processing installation (1) for processing containers (2) comprising a first processing block ("filling machine 5," "capping machine 6") with a first single-row container outlet (star conveyor 10), a second processing block ("cooling station 7") arranged downstream and comprising a wet and/or temperature control area (" cooling tunnel 17") with a mass conveyor for containers (see figure 1), a first single-row container inlet (figures 1 and 2) upstream of the mass conveyor and a second single-row container outlet (star conveyor at 8) downstream of the mass conveyor, and a third processing block ("labelling machine 9") arranged downstream of the second processing block (7) and having a second single-row container inlet (star conveyor 10), wherein the single-row container outlet of the first processing block (5, 6) is connected to the single-row container inlet of the second processing block (7) by a first single-row conveyor device (first linear conveyor belt 10; see figure 1) and the single-row container outlet of the second processing block (7) is connected to the single-row container inlet of the third processing block (9) by a second single-row conveyor device (second linear conveyor 10; see paragraphs 21, 38, and 39 and figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Le Guen discloses the first treatment block comprises a filler, and/or a capper, and/or an inspection device for inspecting the containers (the first block includes at least a filler and capper).
Regarding claim 5, Le Guen discloses the third treatment block downstream from the second container feed point comprises a lane divider for dividing the containers from the second single-line conveying device into a plurality of lanes, and/or wherein the third treatment block comprises an inspection device for inspecting the containers, and/or wherein the third treatment block comprises a labeling machine and/or a direct printing machine (the third treatment block includes at least a labeling machine).
Regarding claim 6, Le Guen discloses the second treatment block and/or the third treatment block comprises a coding device for applying a code to containers (the third treatment block includes a labeling machine and commercial bottle labels include UPC codes).
Regarding claim 7, Le Guen discloses wherein no treatment of containers takes place in the region of the first conveying device and/or in the region of the second conveying device (treatment of the containers does not take place in the regions of conveyor belts 10).
Regarding claim 14, Le Guen discloses a method for treating containers, wherein the containers are treated in a container treatment system according to claim 1, and at least one treatment step of the containers is carried out in the first treatment block (filling), the second treatment block (cooling) and the third treatment block (labeling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Guen.
Regarding claims 12-13, Le Guen discloses the container treatment system of claim 1, but does not disclose an assortment of container treatment systems, wherein for two different container treatment systems of the assortment of container treatment systems, the first single-line conveying device, and/or the second single-line conveying device, and/or the third single-line conveying device have different forms and wherein for two different container treatment systems in the assortment of container treatment systems, the treatment blocks are substantially of identical design. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have supplied an assortment of container treatment systems where the treatment blocks are of identical design, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Providing an assortment of container treatment systems allows for runs of different products to be filled into containers at the same time and it is common for factories to have a plurality of filling lines. Further, configuring the different filling lines to have different conveyors allows for the filling lines to be used for filling containers of different sizes (for example, one line could be used for filling 20oz bottles while another is used for filling 2L bottles).
Claims 2, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Guen in view of US Patent Application Publication 2024/0199401 to Winzinger (Winzinger).
Regarding claim 2, Le Guen discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1, but does not disclose the wet region and/or temperature control region is designed as a pasteurizer and/or the second treatment block comprises a blower for blowing off liquid on the surface of the containers. Winzinger teaches a container treatment system (abstract) which includes a blower (see [0057]) for blowing off liquid on the surface of the containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a blower as taught by Winzinger in the system of Le Guen for blowing liquid off the surface of the container prior to labeling to ensure the labels are properly applied to the bottles.
Regarding claims 8-9, Le Guen discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein upstream from the first treatment block a fourth treatment block is arranged with a wet region and/or temperature control region, comprising a mass conveyor for containers, wherein the fourth treatment block comprises a third single-line container exit point, and the first treatment block comprises a third container feed point, wherein the third single-line container exit point is connected to the third single-line container feed point by a third single-line conveying device. Winzinger teaches a container treatment system (abstract) including upstream from the first treatment block a fourth treatment block is arranged with a wet region and/or temperature control region (bottle rinser; see [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a bottle rinser upstream of the filler in the system of Le Guen as taught by Winzinger for cleaning the bottles prior to filling. Further, Le Guen discloses using a mass conveyor for containers and single-line container exit point connected to a single line conveyor (see figures 1 and 2 of Le Guen), and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to keep the same arrangement for the rinsing system.
Regarding claim 11, Le Guen discloses the container treatment system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the fourth treatment block and/or the second treatment block comprise a buffer region for the random buffering of containers outside the wet region and/or temperature control region and downstream from the container feed point of the treatment block and upstream from the container exit point of the treatment block. Winzinger further teaches the use of buffer regions (65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used buffer regions for buffering containers outside the wet region and downstream from the container feed point of the treatment block and upstream from the container exit point of the treatment block in the system of Le Guen as taught by Winzinger. The use of buffer regions is known in the art for maintaining a steady supply of containers so that, should one treatment device have an error or require maintenance, the others can continue to operate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 December 2, 2025