DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura ( US 20200358961 ) .
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches a method comprising:
controlling, by a processing system of a distance sensor ( 100 in Fig. 1), a projecting subsystem of the distance sensor to project a projection pattern onto a target object( 102 in Fig. 1), wherein the projection pattern comprises a plurality of points of light( 110 in Fig. 1) ;
controlling, by the processing system(104 in Fig. 1), an imaging subsystem of the distance sensor to capture a first image of the projection pattern on the target object( 304, 306 in Fig. 3) and an external camera having a fixed position to capture a second image of the projection pattern on the target object( 200 in Fig. 2) ;
calculating, by the processing system, an image position of a first point of the plurality of points on an image sensor of the imaging subsystem ( 404-408 in Fig. 4; [0058]-[0059] "The 2D camera and the … may capture the first … images),
calculating, by the processing system, a spatial position of the first point on the target object, based on the second image [0058]-[0059] " the 3D distance sensor may capture the …second images); and
storing, by the processing system, the image position and the spatial position together as calibration data for the distance sensor ( [0044] For instance, where the 3D distance sensor's light projecting system emits n beams of light (n>1), the relational expressions for each beam (e.g., for each point of light created by one of the beams) may be derived and stored in a memory that is accessible to the processing system).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the image position comprises a set of (u, v) coordinates, and the spatial position comprises a set of (x, y, z) coordinates( 408 in Fig. 4; [0059], "In step 408, the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image, with the distance between the first point of light and the 3D distance sensor, as obtained from the second image. That is, the (u, v) coordinates of the first point of light on the 2D image sensor of the 2D camera are associated with the (z) coordinate of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor to generate a single set of coordinates (u, V, z) for the first point of light.").
.
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the set of (u, v) coordinates is obtained using a feature point detection technique( 408 in Fig. 4; [0059], "In step 408, the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image, with the distance between the first point of light and the 3D distance sensor, as obtained from the second image. That is, the (u, v) coordinates of the first point of light on the 2D image sensor of the 2D camera are associated with the (z) coordinate of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor to generate a single set of coordinates (u, V, z) for the first point of light.").
Regarding claim 4, Kimura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a z coordinate of the set of (x, y, z) coordinates is known from a coordinate reference point of the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor( 408 in Fig. 4; [0059], "In step 408, the processing system may associate the 2D coordinates of a first point of light, as obtained from the first image, with the distance between the first point of light and the 3D distance sensor, as obtained from the second image. That is, the (u, v) coordinates of the first point of light on the 2D image sensor of the 2D camera are associated with the (z) coordinate of the first point of light on the 3D image sensor of the 3D distance sensor to generate a single set of coordinates (u, V, z) for the first point of light.").
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the controlling the projecting subsystem, the controlling the imaging subsystem and the external camera, the calculating the image position of the first point, the calculating the spatial position of the first point, and the storing the image position and the spatial position are repeated for a plurality of different distances between the target object and the distance sensor(404-408, 410 in Fig. 4; [0060], In step 410, the processing system may determine whether the target surface should be moved… in order to calibrate the positional relationship between the 3D distance sensor and the 2D camera, steps 404-408 are repeated multiple times, where the target surface is moved each time so that the distance between the target surface and the 3D distance sensor (and between the target surface and the 2D camera) changes).
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the external camera comprises a camera that is separate from a housing of the distance sensor that contains the projecting subsystem, the imaging subsystem, and the processing system( 200 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first image and the second image are captured simultaneously( [0054] , the processing system may control a 2D camera and the light receiving system of the 3D distance sensor to simultaneously acquire a first image and a second image).
Claims 19 and 20 recite the medium and apparatus for the method in claim 1. Since Kimura also teaches medium and apparatus ( Fig. 7), those claims are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Kosmecki( US20130258353)
Regarding claim 5, Kimura teaches the method of claim 4.
Kimura does not expressly teach wherein the distance sensor is mounted to a support that is movable along a track to change a distance between the distance sensor and the target object.
However, Kosmecki teaches the distance sensor ( 2 in Fig. 2) is mounted to a support that is movable along a track to change a distance between the distance sensor and the target object ( 41 in Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the teaching of Kimura and Kosmecki, by setting up the sensor of MAGIK mounted to a support that is movable along a track to change a distance between the distance sensor and the target object like in KOSMECKI, with motivation “calibrating a distance determining device for determining a distance between an optical system and an object” ( Kosmecki, Abstract)
Regarding claim 6, Kimura in view of Kosmecki teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a portion of the support to which the distance sensor is directly attached is configured in a predetermined positional relationship with respect to the coordinate reference point of the imaging subsystem of the distance sensor ( Kosmecki, [0099], The guidance 41 is thus attached to the endoscope shaft 31 and can be moved during the calibration process along the optical axis of the endoscope, which is determined by the course of the shaft 31 (in which the image optic of the endoscope is arranged) such that different distances between the carrier 4 to the calibration pattern 5 and the tip of the endoscope shaft 31 can be adjusted).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches the method of claim 7.
Kimura does not expressly teach wherein x and y coordinates of a position of the distance sensor remain constant over all distances of the plurality of different distances, and only a z coordinate of the position of the distance sensor changes over the all distances.
However, Kosmecki teaches x and y coordinates of a position of the distance sensor remain constant over all distances of the plurality of different distances, and only a z coordinate of the position of the distance sensor changes over the all distances( [0099], The guidance 41 is thus attached to the endoscope shaft 31 and can be moved during the calibration process along the optical axis of the endoscope, which is determined by the course of the shaft 31 (in which the image optic of the endoscope is arranged) such that different distances between the carrier 4 to the calibration pattern 5 and the tip of the endoscope shaft 31 can be adjusted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the teaching of Kimura and Kosmecki, by setting up the X and y coordinates of a position of the distance sensor in MAGIK to remain constant over all distances of the plurality of different distances, and only a Z coordinate of the position of the distance sensor changes over the all distances like as taught in KOSMECKI, with motivation “calibrating a distance determining device for determining a distance between an optical system and an object” ( Kosmecki, Abstract)
Regarding claim 9, Kimura in view of Kosmecki teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the controlling the projecting subsystem, the controlling the imaging subsystem and the external camera, the calculating the image position, the calculating the spatial position, the storing the image position and the spatial position, and the repeating are performed for all points of the plurality of points (Kimura, [0061], If the processing system concludes in step 410 that the target surface should be moved to allow for additional measurements, then the method 400 may return to step 404, and the processing system may proceed as described above with the target surface now moved to change the distance).
.
Claim(s) 11, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of MACKAY( US20130258353)
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1.
Kimura does not expressly teach wherein the external camera is one of a plurality of external cameras, and wherein each external camera of the plurality of external cameras comprises a camera that is separate from a housing of the distance sensor that contains the projecting subsystem, the imaging subsystem, and the processing system.
However, MACKAY teaches
external camera is one of a plurality of external cameras, and wherein each external camera of the plurality of external cameras comprises a camera that is separate from a housing of the distance sensor that contains the projecting subsystem, the imaging subsystem, and the processing system ( 12, 50 in Fig. 1) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the teaching of Kimura and MACKAY, by setting plurality of cameras in Kimura following the teaching of MACKAY, with motivation “improves resolution and allows for the use of low-resolution digital camera” (MACKAY, [0035])
Regarding claim 12, Kimura in view of MACKAY teaches the method of claim 11, wherein each external camera of the plurality of external cameras has a different fixed position( MACKAY , 12, 50 in Fig. 1) .
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1.
Kimura does not expressly teach wherein the first image and the second image are captured at different times, but a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time of capture of the first image is equal to a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time of capture of the second image.
However, MACKAY teaches
the first image and the second image are captured at different times, but a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time of capture of the first image is equal to a distance between the distance sensor and the target object at a time of capture of the second image( [0023], process 100 may begin with step 102 where the controller 40 is configured to acquire the first image 20 of the scene 22 with the first camera 12. As noted above, the first image 20 is represented by a plurality of first points (u1, v1) in the first image plane 26. The steps 102 to 118 of FIG. 2 may be carried out in an order other than the order described below and some steps may be omitted. In step 104 of FIG. 2, the controller 40 is configured to acquire the range image 30 of the scene 22 with the range sensor 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the teaching of Kimura and MACKAY, by setting plurality of cameras in Kimura following the teaching of MACKAY, with motivation “improves resolution and allows for the use of low-resolution digital camera” (MACKAY, [0035])
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Hawthorne ( US 5764209)
Regarding claim 13, Kimura teaches the method of claim 1.
Kimura does not expressly teach wherein the target object comprises a flat screen.
However, Hawthorne teaches the target object comprises a flat screen( 11 in Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention combine the teaching of Kimura and Hawthorne, by arranging target of object in Kimura with a flat screen as taught by Hawthorne, with motivation for “testing a flat-panel display” ( Hawthorne, Abstract)
Regarding claim 14, Kimura in view of Hawthorne teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the flat screen has a uniform color and a uniform reflectance(Hawthorn, Col 10, line 24-38, Any brightness non-uniformities can be corrected using the methods previously described with respect to FIG. 2. Pixel defects may also be identified).
Regarding claim 15, Kimura in view of Hawthorne teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the flat screen is transparent or translucent (Hawthorn, Fig 10; col 14, Iine 2, "A light emitting diode 146 is located in table 12 under transparent LCD panel 122).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671