Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) despite not including “means”.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorvik (US 2021/0144936) in view of Mouthaan (US 2018/0156622).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
Priority
The priority date of this application is 04/19/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “prohibition unit”, “determination unit”, “communication unit”, “reception unit”, “transmission unit”, “output unit” in claims 1-18. Note: the specification discloses a processor in Paragraph [0012] that functions as these units which represents sufficient structure to perform the stated functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A step-by-step analysis has been provided below:
Step 1: Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter?
Yes, this claim is directed towards a system (machine).
Step 2A Prong One: Does the Claim recite a judicial exception?
Yes, the claim discloses “determin[ing] whether or not the position is within a felling prohibition area”.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the Claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the additional elements recited represent insignificant extra-solution activity, “receives a position…”, “outputs information…”.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No, the additional elements recited represent insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore does not cause the claim as-a-whole to represent significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sorvik in view of Mouthaan. These references are analogous as both references are related to prohibiting action of a machine based on the area that machine is located in.
As per Claim 1:
Sorvik discloses the following limitations:
“A forestry machine provided with work equipment… the forestry machine comprising: a position measurement device that measures a position of the forestry machine”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches identifying a location of a forestry machine.
“is within a felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
Sorvik does not disclose the following limitations that Mouthaan teaches:
“…having a cutting tool for felling a tree…and a prohibition unit that prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the measured position…”
Mouthaan [0051] teaches prohibiting the use of a working implement of a working vehicle based on the location of said working vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Sorvik with the disabling of a work implement on a work vehicle based on the location of said vehicle taught by Mouthaan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by preventing action in a prohibited area.
With regards to Claim 2, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“an undercarriage that travels together with the work equipment, wherein the undercarriage is drivable in a case in which driving of the work equipment is prohibited by the prohibition unit.”
Mouthaan Figure 3A teaches a figure with an independent travelling component and working component. The vehicle continues to move even when the working component is disabled.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Sorvik with the disabling of a work implement on a work vehicle based on the location of said vehicle taught by Mouthaan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by preventing action in a prohibited area.
With regards to Claim 3, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the prohibition unit prohibits an engine, which is a power source of the work equipment, from being started up in a case in which the measured position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Mouthaan Paragraph [0051] teaches disabling the power source of a work implement which one of ordinary skill in the art would realize would include an engine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Sorvik with the disabling of a work implement on a work vehicle based on the location of said vehicle taught by Mouthaan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by preventing action in a prohibited area.
With regards to Claim 4, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position, wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination unit determines that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 5, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a communication unit that transmits position information indicating the position to a monitoring device that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on the position information, and receive a determination result, wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination result indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 6, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position, wherein, when communication with the monitoring device is enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits driving of the work equipment in a case in which the determination result received from the monitoring device indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area, and, when the communication with the monitoring device is not enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which a determination result of the determination unit indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 7, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 6 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the communication unit receives the map data from the monitoring device, and the determination unit performs the determination based on the map data last received from the monitoring device.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 8, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further teaches the following limitations:
“A monitoring system comprising: the forestry machine according to claim 1; and a monitoring device that monitors the forestry machine wherein the forestry machine further includes: a communication unit that transmits the measured position to the monitoring device and receives a determination result of whether or not the position is within a felling prohibition area; the monitoring device includes: a reception unit that receives the measured position from the forestry machine; a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the received position; and a transmission unit that transmits a determination result of the determination unit to the forestry machine”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that determined positions are being communicated.
As per Claim 9:
Sorvik discloses the following limitations:
“A monitoring system that monitors a forestry machine provided with work equipment …, the monitoring system comprising: a communication unit that transmits the measured position to a monitoring device and receives a determination result of whether or not the position is within a felling prohibition area; and a prohibition unit that prohibits felling work via the cutting tool in a case in which the measured position is within the felling prohibition area; and a monitoring device including: a reception unit that receives the measured position from the tracker; a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the received position; and a transmission unit that transmits a determination result of the determination unit to the tracker.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
Sorvik does not disclose the following limitations that Mouthaan teaches:
“…having a cutting tool for felling a tree… and a prohibition unit that prohibits felling work via the cutting tool in a case in which the measured position is within the felling prohibition area”
Mouthaan [0051] teaches prohibiting the use of a working implement of a working vehicle based on the location of said working vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Sorvik with the disabling of a work implement on a work vehicle based on the location of said vehicle taught by Mouthaan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by preventing action in a prohibited area.
As per Claim 10:
Sorvik discloses the following limitation:
“A monitoring system that monitors a forestry machine… the monitoring system comprising: a reception unit that receives a position of the forestry machine”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches identifying a location of a forestry machine.
“a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within a felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the received position; and an output unit that outputs information indicating a possibility of illegal felling in a case in which it is determined that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited. It would be obvious to alert about such an activity that is cited as being a reason for prohibiting action of the machine.
Sorvik does not disclose the following limitations that Mouthaan teaches:
“…a forestry machine provided with work equipment having a cutting tool for felling a tree…”
Mouthaan [0051] teaches prohibiting the use of a working implement of a working vehicle based on the location of said working vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that any work implement could apply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Sorvik with the disabling of a work implement on a work vehicle based on the location of said vehicle taught by Mouthaan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more effective by preventing action in a prohibited area.
With regards to Claim 11, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further teaches the following limitations:
“further comprising:a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position,wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination unit determines that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 12, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position, wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination unit determines that the position is within the felling prohibition area”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 13, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3 and further teaches the following limitations:
“:a communication unit that transmits position information indicating the position to a monitoring device that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on the position information, and receive a determination result ,wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination result indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 14, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 3 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a communication unit that transmits position information indicating the position to a monitoring device that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on the position information, and receive a determination result, wherein the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which the determination result indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 15, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 13 and further teaches the following limitations:
“further comprising: a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position, wherein, when communication with the monitoring device is enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits driving of the work equipment in a case in which the determination result received from the monitoring device indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area, and, when the communication with the monitoring device is not enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which a determination result of the determination unit indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 16, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 14 and further teaches the following limitations:
“a determination unit that determines whether or not the position is within the felling prohibition area based on map data indicating the felling prohibition area and the measured position,wherein, when communication with the monitoring device is enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits driving of the work equipment in a case in which the determination result received from the monitoring device indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area, and,when the communication with the monitoring device is not enabled, the prohibition unit prohibits felling work via the forestry machine in a case in which a determination result of the determination unit indicates that the position is within the felling prohibition area.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 17, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the communication unit receives the map data from the monitoring device, and the determination unit performs the determination based on the map data last received from the monitoring device.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
With regards to Claim 18, Sorvik in view of Mouthaan teaches all of the limitations of Claim 16 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein the communication unit receives the map data from the monitoring device, and the determination unit performs the determination based on the map data last received from the monitoring device.”
Sorvik Paragraph [0048] teaches disabling use of a device due to the device being located in an area where felling trees is prohibited.
Related References
Matthews (US 2013/0166132)
Kaye (US 2014/0096871)
Takaura (US 2015/0308081)
Connell (US 2018/0338405)
Cherney (US 2021/0158674)
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658