DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The instant First Office Action on the merits is in response to claims filed on 10/10/2024.
Claims 1-6 are pending. Claims 1, 5 and 6 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024, 1/29/2026 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, “a receiving unit” or “a transmitting unit” invokes 112(f) because it falls under the format of “unit configured to.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YOU et al (US 2017/0289965).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, YOU discloses a terminal (fig. 8; receiving device) comprising:
a receiving unit configured to receive a synchronization signal or a broadcast signal (par 149, par 154, par 159; e.g. synchronization signal and broadcast transmission); and a controller configured to assume that receiving the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal is based on individual configurations (fig. 7 & par 181; e.g. the MTC UE or a UE which is not the NB-IoT UE may puncture PRB(s) configured as NB-IoT anchor PRB in subframe(s) having the NB-PSS/NB-SSS; also see par 161) for a terminal with reduced functions (par 144, par 147; e.g. lower cost/power consumption).
Regarding claim 4, YOU discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to assume that the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal is received at a time or frequency resource defined by the individual configurations (par 177-181; e.g. Method 3 may allow the eNB to signal NB-IoT anchor PRB(s) which are actually used for transmission of an NB-IoT SS… If the PRB2 is signaled as an NB-IoT anchor candidate, and the subframe n+5 is an NB-PSS/NB-SSS subframe having an NB-PSS/NB-SSS, the transmitter does not transmit a signal mapped to PRB2 among the signals of the MTC channel mapped to PRB1 to PRB3 in subframe n+5).
Regarding claim 5, YOU discloses a base station (fig. 8; transmitting device) comprising:
a transmitting unit configured to transmit a synchronization signal or a broadcast signal to a terminal (par 149, par 154, par 159; e.g. synchronization signal and broadcast transmission); and a controller configured to assume that the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal is received based on individual configurations (fig. 7 & par 181; e.g. the MTC UE or a UE which is not the NB-IoT UE may puncture PRB(s) configured as NB-IoT anchor PRB in subframe(s) having the NB-PSS/NB-SSS; also see par 161) for a terminal with reduced functions (par 144, par 147; e.g. lower cost/power consumption).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over YOU et al (US 2017/0289965) in view of PAN et al (US 2023/0292262) or in view of LIU et al (US 2022/0240249).
Regarding claim 2, the reference does not disclose the subject matter, however PAN discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to assume that the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal having a same index is received for a plurality of times (par 169; e.g., if repetition indication is enabled, then full repetition may be performed for all candidate SS/PBCH block corresponding to the same SS/PBCH block index within the same DRS burst).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of PAN with the electronic system of YOU. One is motivated as such to improve cell acquisition performance (PAN, par 168).
Regarding claim 3, the reference does not explicitly disclose the subject matter, however LIU discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to assume that a bandwidth of the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal exceeding a maximum bandwidth of the terminal with reduced functions has been punctured or assume that reception is performed by puncturing the bandwidth of the synchronization signal or the broadcast signal exceeding the maximum bandwidth of the terminal with reduced functions (par 160-162; e.g. the BS 105 may puncture the portion of the DMRS that is within the second portion. In other words, the DMRS may have a smaller bandwidth after the puncture).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of LIU with the electronic system of YOU. One is motivated as such for narrowband network (LIU, par 48).
Conclusion
/YAOTANG WANG/SCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409