DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 5994645)
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a door trim constituting a design on an interior side of a vehicle door, comprising a scheduled insertion region (region around 1g, fig 16) where a wire-like transmission member (D.W/h) for an optional component mounted to the vehicle door is to be inserted (fig 16).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses a vehicle door, comprising: the door trim according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); a panel (1a) to which the door trim is attached (fig 16); and a door-side weather-strip (2) provided to the panel (fig 16), wherein
the scheduled insertion region is located closer to an interior side than the door--side weather-strip (fig 16).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki further discloses an arrangement space (space occupied by 110, fig 16) where a redundancy absorption part (110) absorbing a redundant length of the wire-like transmission member occurring in accordance with a close operation of the vehicle door is provided between the door trim and the panel (figs 16-21).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki further discloses that the redundancy absorption part disposed in the arrangement space (fig 16).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki further discloses that the redundancy absorption part includes: a winding shaft part (110k) around which the wire-like transmission member is wound (figs 19-21); and a housing part (housing of 110, figs 19-21) housing a winding part around the winding shaft part in the wire-like transmission member, wherein a diameter of the winding part is changed in accordance with opening and closing of the vehicle door in the housing part (figs 16-21, col 15 lines 40-54).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki further discloses a removal part (112) removing water adhering to a part of the wire-like transmission member between the scheduled insertion region and the redundancy absorption part (fig 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 5994645) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brose (DE202010007548U1)
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki further discloses that the scheduled insertion region includes: an insertion port (1g) into which the wire-like transmission member is inserted (figs 16);
Suzuki is silent regarding a cover member covering the insertion port.
Brose teaches a cover member (31) covering the insertion port (fig 1)
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Suzuki and Brose before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Suzuki to include the cover member as taught by Brose in order to provide moisture-tight guidance of the cable harness (claim 13)
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki further discloses that the insertion port is a notched part (1g) reaching an edge of the door trim (fig 16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to record is Suzuki et al. (US 5994645).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses A routing structure, comprising: a first wire-like transmission member for an optional component mounted to the vehicle door to be routed between the vehicle door according to claim 4 and a vehicle body to which the vehicle door is openably and closably attached and inserted into the scheduled insertion region (area around 1g, fig 16) of the door trim of the vehicle door (figs 16-21); and a second wire-like transmission member (DW/H) for a standard-mounted component mounted to the vehicle door to be routed between the vehicle door and the vehicle body (fig 16-21), wherein the vehicle door includes a door-side weather-strip (2) provided to the panel (figs 16-21), , a part of the first wire-like transmission member between the vehicle door and the vehicle body is routed closer to an interior side than the door-side weather-strip (figs 16-21), and a part of the second wire-like transmission member between the vehicle door and the vehicle body is routed closer to an exterior side than the door-side weather-strip (figs 16-21).
Suzuki is silent regarding the fact that the vehicle body includes a vehicle body-side weather-strip, a part of the first wire-like transmission member between the vehicle door and the vehicle body is routed closer to an interior side than the door-side weather-strip and the vehicle body-side weather-strip and a part of the second wire-like transmission member between the vehicle door and the vehicle body is routed closer to an exterior side than the door-side weather-strip and the vehicle body-side weather-strip as specifically called for in the claimed combination.
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
06/05/2026