DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al (US20250267576).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Dai discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Fig. 7 and ¶0231 disclose a wireless terminal 70 may be a user equipment (UE)… The wireless terminal 70 may include a processor 700 such as a microprocessor and a storage unit 710) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a first configuration for one or more serving cells in a discontinuous reception (DRX) group from a network (¶0141 discloses that multiple DRX configurations are configured for a serving cell/carrier, or per cell group for a UE), wherein the first configuration includes(¶0003 discloses that DRX operation by configuring the following parameters) at least one of: DRX cycle information used for determining a non-integer length value of a DRX cycle (¶0004 discloses the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle where ¶0031-¶0033 disclose that DRX cycle of each of the plurality of DRX configurations is determined based on:1000/fps=A/B, where A/B is an irreducible fraction (i.e. non integer number). DRX cycle of each of the plurality of DRX configurations is configured by: drxcycle=function(1000/fps),wherein the function is a round function, a round up function or a round down function); or DRX start offset information which indicates an offset value related to a reference system frame number (SFN) in a time domain; and determine first start timing of an on-duration window for the DRX group in the time domain according to at least one of the DRX cycle information or the DRX start offset information (¶0138 discloses a DRX parameter StartOffset in each DRX configuration. ¶0147-¶0148 discloses that the parameters such as onDurationTimer, drx-LongCycleStartOffset are separately configured for each DRX configuration…the UE starts the onDurationTimer after a time offset from the beginning of the subframe which is defined by a corresponding StartOffset in the parameter drx-LongCycleStartOffset with the equation: [(SFN×10)+subframenumber]modulo(drxCycle)= StartOffset).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Dai discloses all limitations of claim 1. The cited reference Dai further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine second start timing of the on-duration window for the DRX group in the time domain according to at least one of the DRX cycle information or the DRX start offset information(¶0055 discloses that starting a timer of the second cycle and counting the number of second cycles after using the second cycle).
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference Dai discloses all limitations of claim 1. The cited reference Dai further discloses wherein the first configuration further includes information associated with the reference SFN, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine at least one of the first start timing or the second start timing of the on-duration window is further determined according to information associated with the reference SFN (¶0157 discloses the start of onDurationTimer is determined via the following equation: [(SFN×10)+subframenumber]modulo(drx-Cycle)=StartOffset).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a network node for wireless communication performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a processor performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the cited reference Dai discloses all limitation of claim 19. Dai further discloses determine second start timing of the on- duration window for the DRX group in the time domain according to at least one of the DRX cycle information or the DRX start offset information (¶0190 discloses the secondCycle being used for a DRX group, and [(SFN×10)+subframenumber]modulo(firstCycle)=drx-StartOffset,theUE performs …starting drx-onDurationTimer for this DRX group after drx-SlotOffset from the
beginning of the subframe).
Regarding claim 21, the cited reference Dai discloses all limitation of claim 19. Dai further discloses wherein the first configuration further includes information associated with the reference SFN, and wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to determine the first start timing of the on-duration window according to information associated with the reference SFN (¶0152 discloses that The UE starts drx-onDurationTimer after a time offset from the beginning of the subframe which is defined by the value StartOffset in the parameter drx-LongCycleStartOffset with the following equation:[(SFN×10)+subframenumber]modulo(drx-LongCycle)=drx-StartOffset).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuolong et al (CN116963104A), in view of Shi (US20220053596).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Zuolong discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Page 2 discloses the terminal includes a processor and a memory) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a first configuration (Page 5 discloses DRX parameter configuration method…The terminal receives the first information sent by the network side device.), wherein the first configuration includes at least one of: DRX cycle information used for determining a non-integer length value of a DRX cycle (Page 5 discloses The terminal determines DRX parameters based on the first information; the DRX parameters include non-integer DRX cycle parameters); or DRX start offset information (Page 9 discloses that the DRX cycle parameter may include a DRX start position offset value (DRX start offset)); and determine first start timing of an on-duration window for the DRX group in the time domain according to at least one of the DRX cycle information or the DRX start offset information (Page 14 and Fig. 6 disclose that if the DRX cycle value is configured as 16ms, the difference between the frame arrival time and the start time of DRX on duration is 0.67*M ms, where M is a positive integer.).
However, Zuolong does not explicitly teach that the first configuration for one or more serving cells in a discontinuous reception (DRX) group from a network and DRX start offset information which indicates an offset value related to a reference system frame number (SFN) in a time domain.
In an analogous art Shi teaches the first configuration for one or more serving cells in a discontinuous reception (DRX) group from a network (¶0094 discloses that the terminal device 12 …can be provided with a plurality of DRX groups, and each DRX group can correspond to one DRX configuration parameter where ¶0101 discloses that For any DRX group in the terminal device, one DRX group can correspond to one or more serving cells) and DRX start offset information which indicates an offset value related to a reference system frame number (SFN) in a time domain (¶0122 discloses that [(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle)=drx-StartOffset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Shi to balance battery life and data delivery latency in LTE networks.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a network node for wireless communication performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to a processor performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuolong et al (CN116963104A), in view of Shi (US20220053596), in further view of 3GPP (R3-207079).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zuolong and Shi discloses all limitations of claim 15. Zuolong further discloses the BS-DU can determine a DRX-On-Duration pattern for a DRX group according to the non-integer DRX cycle information (Page 1 discloses the network side device determines the DRX parameters of the terminal, where the DRX parameters include non-integer DRX cycle parameters and DRX cycle sequences). However, the combination does not explicitly teach send non-integer DRX cycle information to a base station distributed unit (BS-DU) in a UE context setup request message or a UE context modification request message.
In an analogous art 3GPP teaches send non-integer DRX cycle information to a base station distributed unit (BS-DU) in a UE context setup request message or a UE context modification request message (Section 8.3.1.2 discloses that the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of 3GPP where the DU is the interface that carries DRX cycle parameters from the network to the UE, ensuring the UE’s sleep/awake pattern is synchronized with the network’s needs.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuolong et al (CN116963104A), in further view of 3GPP (R3-207079).
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference Zuolong discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Page 2 discloses the network side deviceincludes a processor and a memory) and configured to cause the network node to: receive non-integer DRX cycle information from a base station centralized unit (BS-CU) (Page 5 discloses The terminal receives the first information sent by the network side device… The terminal determines DRX parameters based on the first information; the DRX parameters include non-integer DRX cycle parameters and DRX cycle sequences). However, Zuolong does not explicitly teach receive non-integer DRX cycle information from a base station centralized unit (BS-CU) in a UE context setup request message or a UE context modification request message.
In an analogous art 3GPP teaches receive non-integer DRX cycle information from a base station centralized unit (BS-CU) in a UE context setup request message or a UE context modification request message (Section 8.3.1.2 discloses that the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of 3GPP where the DU is the interface that carries DRX cycle parameters from the network to the UE, ensuring the UE’s sleep/awake pattern is synchronized with the network’s needs.
Claims 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (US20250267576), in view of Xu (US20240323997).
Regarding claim 18, the cited reference Dai discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, the Dai does not explicitly teach transmit uplink (UL) arrival jitter range information including at least one of: a UL jitter range of data arrival time at the UE, which indicates the arrival jitter range relative to a configured periodical arrival time; or a probability of the UL jitter range.
In an analogous art Xu teaches transmit uplink (UL) arrival jitter range information including at least one of: a UL jitter range of data arrival time at the UE, which indicates the arrival jitter range relative to a configured periodical arrival time; or a probability of the UL jitter range (¶0141 discloses that the terminal sends first indication information to the network device. The first indication information indicates a statistical parameter of a delay jitter of an arrival time of a service frame where ¶0151 discloses that the statistical parameter of the delay jitter includes a distribution parameter of the delay jitter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Xu to helps reduce a transmission delay of the service frame or XR (extended reality) service.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is drawn to the processor performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 18. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 18.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462