Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Donggun et al. ( US2022/0225453 A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Donggun teaches, A user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to
cause the UE to:
in response to a cell being configured, modified, or activated for the UE,
receive a configuration of a state of the cell; [10]- receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information of a secondary cell group (SCG) for the UE configured with a master cell group (MCG) and the SCG; identifying an indication for SCG deactivation from the configuration information of the SCG;
[707]- the UE may maintain the SCell in an active state, may activate a DL BWP of the SCell to the dormant BWP, and may perform a UE operation in the dormant BWP,
[429]- In Embodiment 1 of FIG. 1G of the disclosure, in the SCell configuration information (e.g., configuration information described with reference to FIG. 1F) or the PSCell (or SCell) configuration information of the cell group (e.g., SCG) of the RRC message.
[386]- the BS may allow a first active BWP of DL or UL BWP configuration information of each cell to be configured as a dormant BWP, and when the UE activates each SCell, each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group, the BS may directly operate a DL BWP or a UL BWP of each SCell, or each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group as the dormant BWP
wherein the state of the cell includes at least one of a non-sleep state and a
sleep state or different levels of sleep states.[195]- he state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. Also, in the disclosure, the state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. [182]- the state or mode of the cell may be configured as an active (activated) mode or an active (activated) state.
Regarding Claim 15, Donggun teaches, The UE of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to submit a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) associated with a data radio bearer (DRB) to a radio link control (RLC) entity if the state of the cell associated with the RLC entity fulfills a performance requirement of the DRB. .[13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
[241]- In the above case, the dormant BWP refers to a BWP that is in a dormant mode of an activated cell or a dormant BWP (dormant BWP in activated SCell) or when the dormant BWP is activated, the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS
Regarding Claim 16, Donggun teaches,The UE of claim 14, wherein, in response to a split secondary radio link control (RLC) entity being configured, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to submit a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) to either a primary RLC entity or the split secondary RLC entity if the states of the cells associated with both the primary RLC entity and the split secondary RLC entity fulfil a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB) [13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
Regarding Claim 17, Donggun teaches, The UE of claim 14, wherein at least one cell is activated for each radio link control (RLC) entity, and a state of an activated cell fulfills a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB).[182]- UE may transmit and receive UL or DL data to and from the BS in a BWP other than an activated BWP or an activated normal BWP or an activated dormant BWP of the cell in the active mode or in the activated cell. [189]- power consumption may be reduced compared to a normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP) or compared to when the normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP)
Regarding Claim 18, Donggun teaches, The UE of claim 14, wherein the sleep state is associated with a configuration period, a level of resource allocation, or both.[366]- the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. In another method, only when the BWP hibernation timer is not configured, the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. The BWP hibernation timer may be configured in the RRC message, and when the BWP hibernation timer expires, the UE may switch the BWP to dormancy or the dormant BWP. [186]- the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS, does not monitor the PDCCH to detect an indication by the BS, does not perform channel measurement, does not perform measurement reporting, and does not transmit a pilot signal.
Regarding Claim 19, Donggun teaches, A processor for wireless communication, comprising:at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: in response to a cell being configured, modified, or activated for a user equipment (UE), receive a configuration of a state of the cell; [10]- receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information of a secondary cell group (SCG) for the UE configured with a master cell group (MCG) and the SCG; identifying an indication for SCG deactivation from the configuration information of the SCG;
[707]- the UE may maintain the SCell in an active state, may activate a DL BWP of the SCell to the dormant BWP, and may perform a UE operation in the dormant BWP,
[429]- In Embodiment 1 of FIG. 1G of the disclosure, in the SCell configuration information (e.g., configuration information described with reference to FIG. 1F) or the PSCell (or SCell) configuration information of the cell group (e.g., SCG) of the RRC message.
[386]- the BS may allow a first active BWP of DL or UL BWP configuration information of each cell to be configured as a dormant BWP, and when the UE activates each SCell, each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group, the BS may directly operate a DL BWP or a UL BWP of each SCell, or each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group as the dormant BWP
wherein the state of the cell includes at least one of a non-sleep state and a sleep state or different levels of sleep states..[195]- he state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. Also, in the disclosure, the state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. [182]- the state or mode of the cell may be configured as an active (activated) mode or an active (activated) state,
Regarding Claim 20, Donggun teaches, The processor of claim 19, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to submit a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) associated with a data radio bearer (DRB) to a radio link control (RLC) entity if the state of the cell associated with the RLC entity fulfills a performance requirement of the DRB [13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
[241]- In the above case, the dormant BWP refers to a BWP that is in a dormant mode of an activated cell or a dormant BWP (dormant BWP in activated SCell) or when the dormant BWP is activated, the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS
Regarding Claim 21, Donggun teaches, The processor of claim 19, wherein, in response to a split secondary radio link control (RLC) entity being configured, the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to submit a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) to either a primary RLC entity or the split secondary RLC entity if the states of the cells associated with both the primary RLC entity and the split secondary RLC entity fulfil a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB). [13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
Regarding Claim 22, Donggun teaches, The processor of claim 19, wherein at least one cell is activated for each radio link control (RLC) entity, and a state of an activated cell fulfills a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB). [182]- UE may transmit and receive UL or DL data to and from the BS in a BWP other than an activated BWP or an activated normal BWP or an activated dormant BWP of the cell in the active mode or in the activated cell. [189]- power consumption may be reduced compared to a normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP) or compared to when the normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP)
Regarding Claim 23, Donggun teaches, The processor of claim 19, wherein the sleep state is associated with a configuration period, a level of resource allocation, or both.[366]- the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. In another method, only when the BWP hibernation timer is not configured, the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. The BWP hibernation timer may be configured in the RRC message, and when the BWP hibernation timer expires, the UE may switch the BWP to dormancy or the dormant BWP. [186]- the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS, does not monitor the PDCCH to detect an indication by the BS, does not perform channel measurement, does not perform measurement reporting, and does not transmit a pilot signal.
Regarding Claim 24, Donggun teaches, A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:in response to a cell being configured, modified, or activated for the UE, receiving a configuration of a state of the cell; [10]- receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information of a secondary cell group (SCG) for the UE configured with a master cell group (MCG) and the SCG; identifying an indication for SCG deactivation from the configuration information of the SCG;
[707]- the UE may maintain the SCell in an active state, may activate a DL BWP of the SCell to the dormant BWP, and may perform a UE operation in the dormant BWP,
[429]- In Embodiment 1 of FIG. 1G of the disclosure, in the SCell configuration information (e.g., configuration information described with reference to FIG. 1F) or the PSCell (or SCell) configuration information of the cell group (e.g., SCG) of the RRC message.
[386]- the BS may allow a first active BWP of DL or UL BWP configuration information of each cell to be configured as a dormant BWP, and when the UE activates each SCell, each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group, the BS may directly operate a DL BWP or a UL BWP of each SCell, or each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group as the dormant BWP
wherein the state of the cell includes at least one of a non-sleep state and a sleep state or different levels of sleep states. [195]- he state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. Also, in the disclosure, the state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. [182]- the state or mode of the cell may be configured as an active (activated) mode or an active (activated) state,
Regarding Claim 25, Donggun teaches, The method of claim 24, further comprising submitting a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) associated with a data radio bearer (DRB) to a radio link control (RLC) entity if the state of the cell associated with the RLC entity fulfills a performance requirement of the DRB.[13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
[241]- In the above case, the dormant BWP refers to a BWP that is in a dormant mode of an activated cell or a dormant BWP (dormant BWP in activated SCell) or when the dormant BWP is activated, the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS
Regarding Claim 26, Donggun teaches, The method of claim 24, further comprising, in response to a split secondary radio link control (RLC) entity being configured, submitting a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) protocol data unit (PDU) to either a primary RLC entity or the split secondary RLC entity if the states of the cells associated with both the primary RLC entity and the split secondary RLC entity fulfil a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB).) [13]- The method may further include: based on the identified indication for the SCG deactivation, setting a value of ul-data split threshold for a split bearer to an infinite value and a primary path to an RLC entity of the MCG.
Regarding Claim 27, Donggun teaches, The method of claim 24, wherein at least one cell is activated for each radio link control (RLC) entity, and a state of an activated cell fulfills a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB)..[182]- UE may transmit and receive UL or DL data to and from the BS in a BWP other than an activated BWP or an activated normal BWP or an activated dormant BWP of the cell in the active mode or in the activated cell. [189]- power consumption may be reduced compared to a normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP) or compared to when the normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP)
Regarding Claim 28, Donggun teaches, The method of claim 24, wherein the sleep state is associated with a configuration period, a level of resource allocation, or both.[366]- the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. In another method, only when the BWP hibernation timer is not configured, the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. The BWP hibernation timer may be configured in the RRC message, and when the BWP hibernation timer expires, the UE may switch the BWP to dormancy or the dormant BWP. [186]- the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS, does not monitor the PDCCH to detect an indication by the BS, does not perform channel measurement, does not perform measurement reporting, and does not transmit a pilot signal.
Regarding Claim 29, Donggun teaches, A base station, comprising:at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: in response to a cell being configured, modified, or activated for a user equipment (UE), transmitting a configuration of a state of the cell; [10]- receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including configuration information of a secondary cell group (SCG) for the UE configured with a master cell group (MCG) and the SCG; identifying an indication for SCG deactivation from the configuration information of the SCG;
[707]- the UE may maintain the SCell in an active state, may activate a DL BWP of the SCell to the dormant BWP, and may perform a UE operation in the dormant BWP,
[429]- In Embodiment 1 of FIG. 1G of the disclosure, in the SCell configuration information (e.g., configuration information described with reference to FIG. 1F) or the PSCell (or SCell) configuration information of the cell group (e.g., SCG) of the RRC message.
[386]- the BS may allow a first active BWP of DL or UL BWP configuration information of each cell to be configured as a dormant BWP, and when the UE activates each SCell, each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group, the BS may directly operate a DL BWP or a UL BWP of each SCell, or each cell group, or the PSCell of each cell group as the dormant BWP
wherein the state of the cell includes at least one of a non-sleep state and a sleep state or different levels of sleep states.[195]- he state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. Also, in the disclosure, the state of the cell group may be configured as an active state or a suspended state or an inactive state. [182]- the state or mode of the cell may be configured as an active (activated) mode or an active (activated) state.
Regarding Claim 30, Donggun teaches,The base station of claim 29, wherein at least one cell is activated for each radio link control (RLC) entity, and a state of an activated cell fulfills a performance requirement of a data radio bearer (DRB). [182]- UE may transmit and receive UL or DL data to and from the BS in a BWP other than an activated BWP or an activated normal BWP or an activated dormant BWP of the cell in the active mode or in the activated cell. [189]- power consumption may be reduced compared to a normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP) or compared to when the normal BWP of the activated cell (or BWP other than the dormant BWP).
Regarding Claim 31, The base station of claim 29, wherein the sleep state is associated with a configuration period, a level of resource allocation, or both. [366]- the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. In another method, only when the BWP hibernation timer is not configured, the BWP inactivity timer may start or re-start. The BWP hibernation timer may be configured in the RRC message, and when the BWP hibernation timer expires, the UE may switch the BWP to dormancy or the dormant BWP. [186]- the UE may not transmit and receive data to and from the BS, does not monitor the PDCCH to detect an indication by the BS, does not perform channel measurement, does not perform measurement reporting, and does not transmit a pilot signal.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478