DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application. This communication is the first action on its merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the following limitation, “wherein the pitch of”. The limitation of pitch lacks proper antecedent basis as there is no prior mention of “the pitch” within the claim. Examiner suggests correcting this limitation to recite, “wherein a pitch of”. Further Claims 2-13 recite, within the preamble, “a spring according to”. The spring has previously been mentioned in Claim 1. Examiner suggests correcting this limitation to recite, “[[a]] the spring according to”. Further Claims 16-18 recite, within the preamble, “a method according to”. The method has previously been mentioned in Claim 15. Examiner suggests correcting this limitation to recite, “[[a]] the method according to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spinks (US 6523812 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Spinks discloses a coil spring (spring unit 80) for use in a resilient unit, the spring comprising a plurality of coils about a spring axis, extending from a first axial end to a second axial end (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94), and having at least first and second substantially co-axial spring portions (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94 along same axis) and a transition portion therebetween (See Fig. 5, pocket 86), wherein the pitch of the transition portion is less than the pitch of the first and second spring portions (See Fig. 5, pitch of spring 92 is less than the pitch of springs 90, 94).
Regarding Claim 2, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein the first and second spring portions comprise a common length of spring material (See Fig. 5, springs 90 and 94 of common length), more preferably of wire.
Regarding Claim 3, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 2) according to claim 1, wherein the first and second spring portions and the transition portion comprise a substantially continuous wire (See Fig. 1, springs 12, 14 and web 6 substantially continuous).
Regarding Claim 4, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein the first spring portion comprises a first number of coils and the second spring portion comprises a second number of coils (turns) and the transition portion comprises a third number of coils (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94 having a number of coils).
Regarding Claim 5, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to any of the preceding claims, wherein the average pitch of the coil(s) of the transition portion is less than the average pitch of the coils of the first and/or the second spring portions (See Fig. 5, average pitch of spring 92 is less than the average pitch of springs 90 and 94).
Regarding Claim 6, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein the first and second spring portions comprise substantially the same shape, which shape is one of (but not limited to): cylindrical, barrel-shaped, conical or hourglass (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94 having the same cylindrical shape).
Regarding Claim 7, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 40) portion according to claim 1, wherein the diameters of the first and second spring portions, and also of the transition portion, are substantially the same (See Fig. 3, springs 54, 56, 58 having same diameter).
Regarding Claim 9, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein the transition portion comprises at least one substantially flat coil portion (See Fig. 5, spring 92 having substantially flat coil portions towards webs 96 and 98).
Regarding Claim 10, Spinks discloses a spring portion (spring unit 80) according to Claim 9, wherein the or each substantially flat coil portion comprises a substantially flat portion of a coil or a substantially flat coil (See Fig. 5, spring 92 having substantially flat coil portions towards webs 96 and 98).
Regarding Claim 11, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein the spring is encased within a pocket (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94 encased within pockets 84, 86, 88)
Regarding Claim 12, Spinks discloses a spring (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, wherein all of the coils are spaced from one another (See Fig. 5, coils of springs 90, 92, 94 spaced apart).
Regarding Claim 13, Spinks discloses a resilient unit comprising an array of springs (spring unit 80) according to claim 1, in, or as part of, an upholstered article, such as a mattress, seat, pad or panel (“spring unit for use in a sprung unit such as a bed, divan bed, mattress, or other upholstered unit”; [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 14, Spinks discloses an upholstered article, such as a mattress, seat, pad or panel (See Fig. 7, sprung unit 120), incorporating one or more springs (spring units 20) according claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Spinks discloses a method of making a coil spring (spring unit 80), the method comprising producing coils of a first pitch, then reducing the pitch followed by increasing the pitch (See Fig. 5, pitch of spring 92 is less than the pitch of springs 90, 94).
Regarding Claim 16, Spinks discloses a method according to Claim 15, the method comprising producing a first spring portion then a transition portion then a second spring portion (See Fig. 5, springs 90, 92, 94).
Regarding Claim 17, Spinks discloses a method according to Claim 15, wherein the method comprises providing a substantially reduced pitch region at a transition portion of the spring, between the first and second spring portions (See Fig. 5, pitch of spring 92 is less than the pitch of springs 90, 94).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinks (US 6523812 B1) in view of Clare (US 20140250602 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Spinks discloses a spring portion (spring unit 80) according to claim 1.
Spinks fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first and second spring portions are of different shape.
However, Clare teaches wherein the first and second spring portions are of different shape (See Fig. 3, springs 22, 26, 30 are helical coil springs while springs 24, 28 are flat coil springs).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Spinks by adding different shaped springs as taught by Clare. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for “a greater comfort for the user”; (Clare, [0045]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Regarding Claim 18, Spinks discloses a method according to Claim 15.
Spinks fails to explicitly disclose comprising producing a substantially flat coil or turn at a transition portion part way along an axial length of the spring, which transition portion is not at an axial end of the spring.
However, Clare teaches producing a substantially flat coil or turn at a transition portion part way along an axial length of the spring, which transition portion is not at an axial end of the spring (See Fig. 3, flat springs 24 and 28 along the length of the spring unit 20, but not at the end).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have modified the invention of Spinks by adding flat springs as taught by Clare. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for “a greater comfort for the user”; (Clare, [0045]). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the modification were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
EP 1527715 A1: Coissard discloses a string having retention pockets comprising two helical springs with a flat transition portion in between said springs.
CN 113389831 A: Xiong discloses a spring having a main body with a variable pitch structure, that being a transition portion in the middle of the spring unit.
/GEORGE SAMUEL GINES/Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673