Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 10/10/2024 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-7 are canceled. Claims 8-14 remain pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is only a single drawing in the disclosure. Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear [see MPEP 608.02V and CFR 1.84(u)(1)].
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: selection means and transceiver means in claims 8 and 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over MAYER (WO-2019149429-A, of record, English translation provided by the Examiner), hereinafter MAYER. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 8, MAYER discloses A container labeling system {[abstract], [0001], [0003]}, comprising:
a labeling machine which comprises at least one conveyor for conveying containers to be labeled along an advancement path {[FIG. 4] 52/50, [0060]-[0062]}
and at least one labeling assembly which is configured to apply a respective label to each one of said containers that transit on said conveyor {[FIG. 4] 60/62, [0060]-[0062]},
and at least one optical sensor configured to detect the presence of said respective label on each one of said containers and therefore to recognize said containers on which said respective labels are actually applied {[FIG. 4] 18, [0011]-[0012], [0017], [0062] note the teaching on the situation where the treatment or labeling device are not putting labels on the container and the images are taken thus the image taken recognizes those containers that have a label on them and those who don’t}.
The Examiner points out that instant claim 1 is an apparatus claim. The above limitations recite what the disclosed apparatus is configured to do. The Examiner has shown an apparatus with similar components. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e. “configured”) does not differentiate claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” {see MPEP 2114 (II)}.
MAYER discloses sampling from the container labeling line and detecting the presence of said label and its orientation and the number of samples can be increased if needed {[0022]}. It is, therefore, the Examiner’s position that MAYER’s apparatus is capable of being configured to image all the containers in the line of labeling (corresponding to the limitation “each one of said containers”).
In the alternative, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and for certain cases of production, to take the images of all the containers in the line of labeling.
As disclosed by MAYER, number of sampling depends on the machine performance {[0022]}, therefore there may be cases where the need arises to sample all the containers.
Regarding the remainder limitations of claim 1, MAYER discloses said optical sensor being arranged downstream of said labeling assembly along a direction of advancement of said containers on said conveyor {[FIG. 4] note the two 18 are downstream of 60 and 62},
wherein said system further comprises a configuration device which is functionally connected to said optical sensor {[0017] note PC or mobile device or smartphone is the configuration device, [0018] note the evaluation unit is also the configuration device}, said configuration device comprising:
at least one memory, in which multiple operating configurations of said optical sensor are stored, each one of said multiple operating configurations being adapted to configure said optical sensor so as to detect the presence of a respective format of labels on said containers {[0033] note storage device or memory, note arrangement and placement are the multiple operating configurations that are captured by the optical device, [0011] note different capture modality that is used to configure the optical sensor based on the stored memory, [0035] note adjustability of the image capturing device or optical sensor indicating that it can be configured to detect labels at various locations on the container, [0036] note configuring the optical sensor to trigger at certain times which is a parameter, [0037] note controller can configure image acquisition unit or the optical sensor in different spatial orientation which can be considered a parameter, [0040] note configuration of the optical sensor for acquiring different numbers of images which can be considered a parameter},
selection means configured for a selection of one of said operating configurations by an operator {[0032] note display device and touchscreen are the selection means that the operator can make setting and/or enter parameters with},
and transceiver means configured to send said one operating configuration, chosen by means of said selection means, to said optical sensor, said optical sensor being configurable according to said one operating configuration {[0008] note transmission device and as discussed above the operator can choose or select input, thus this information is sent to the optical device, [0036]}.
Regarding claim 9-10, MAYER discloses wherein each one of said multiple operating configurations comprises at least one respective parameter for detection of the presence of said label of said respective format on each one of said containers by said optical sensor (claim 9), wherein each one of said multiple operating configurations comprises at least one respective image of a container on which a label of said respective format is applied {[0008]}.
Regarding claim 11, MAYER discloses wherein each one of said multiple operating configurations comprises at least one respective image of a container without a label of said respective format {[0062] note the teaching on the situation where the treatment or labeling device are not putting labels on the container and the image are taken}.
Regarding claim 12, MAYER discloses wherein said configuration device comprises a computer {[0017] note PC or personal computer}.
Regarding claims 13-14, MAYER discloses wherein said selection means of said configuration device comprise at least one user interface device (claim 13), wherein said user interface device comprises at least one touchscreen installed on said labeling machine {[0032] note touchscreen}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748