Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.9, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to 101 rejection of claims 24 and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.9-10, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to claim objection of claims 9, 11, 12, 14 and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 102 rejection of claim(s) 1, 16, 24-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 15, 16, and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyung US 2025/0015844 (previously cited) in view of Tian US 2024/0323743 (priority PCT/CN2021/135940).
Regarding claim 1, Kyung discloses a channel state information processing method (abstract), wherein the method is performed by a terminal device (UE;310), and the method comprises: determining a target compression algorithm (deep learning or machine learning) algorithm as determined target compression algorithm based on performance; para#54); compressing Channel State Information (CSI) using the target compression algorithm to obtain compressed CSI (para#54-55; obtaining CSI compression based the target compression algorithm of deep neural network or neural network); and sending the compressed CSI to a network device (para#55 transmitting the compressed CSI to base station;320). However, Kyung does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the network device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the target compression algorithm.
Tian teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the network device (sending to BS, see Fig.7A), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the target compression algorithm (indication of CSI type, CSI information type, scenario type, channel feature index type, corresponding encoding/decoding type, note [0068]; compression algorithms [0072]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tian into the system of Kyung of transmitting the first indication information for the purpose of improving MIMO transmission (note [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Tian further teaches wherein determining the target compression algorithm comprises: receiving an algorithm list sent by the network device, wherein the algorithm list comprises compression algorithms (see Fig.8A and note [0072]); and selecting the target compression algorithm from the compression algorithms in the algorithm list (see Fig.8A and note [0050] wherein channel state discriminative unit comprise algorithm list of compression algorithms [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Tian further teaches wherein determining the target compression algorithm comprises: receiving an algorithm list sent by the network device, wherein the algorithm list comprises compression algorithms and usage conditions corresponding to the compression algorithms (see Fig.8A and note [0072] different schemes for channel information compression, feedback and recovery to specific scenarios); and selecting the target compression algorithm from the compression algorithms according to the usage conditions corresponding to the compression algorithms (see Fig.8A and note [0050] wherein channel state discriminative unit comprise algorithm list of compression algorithms [0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Tian further teaches wherein determining the target compression algorithm comprises: receiving usage conditions corresponding to compression algorithms sent by the network device (see Fig.8A and note [0072] different schemes for channel information compression, feedback and recovery to specific scenarios); and selecting the target compression algorithm from the compression algorithms in an algorithm list according to the usage conditions corresponding to the compression algorithms (see Fig.8A and note [0050] wherein channel state discriminative unit comprise algorithm list of compression algorithms [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Tian further teaches: sending at least one of an algorithm list or usage conditions corresponding to compression algorithms to the network device (see Fig.8B, note [0072] different schemes for channel information compression, feedback and recovery to specific scenarios).
Regarding claim 7, Tian further teaches wherein the first indication information is an index identity, and wherein the index identity is used to indicate a position of the target compression algorithm in the algorithm list (note [0055], index feature including different scenarios and CSI indication information).
Regarding claim 15, Tian further teaches: in response to a change in a compression algorithm used by the terminal device, sending second indication information to the network device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a changed compression algorithm used by the terminal device (see Fig.7B wherein changed information is sent to the base station, note [0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Kyung discloses a channel state information (CSI) processing method (abstract), wherein the method is performed by a network device (base station;320), and the method comprises: receiving compressed CSI sent by a terminal device (transmitting compressed CSI by UE;310; para#55); thereby base station receiving compressed CSI), wherein the compressed CSI is obtained by the terminal device through compression of CSI using a target compression algorithm ((deep learning or machine learning) algorithm as determined target compression algorithm based on performance of deep neural network or neural network; para#54, where UE performs the compressed CSI based on target compression algorithm (para#54-55; obtaining CSI compression). However, Kyung does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving first indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the target compression algorithm: decompressing the compressed CSI according to the target compression algorithm to obtain the CSI before compression; and generating a precoding matrix according to a channel response matrix in the CSI before compression to perform encoding using the precoding matrix.
Tian teaches receiving first indication information sent by the terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the target compression algorithm (sending to BS, see Fig.7A), wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the target compression algorithm (indication of CSI type, CSI information type, scenario type, channel feature index type, corresponding encoding/decoding type, note [0068]; compression algorithms [0072]);
decompressing the compressed CSI according to the target compression algorithm to obtain the CSI before compression (see Fig.9 of decompressing or decoding); and generating a precoding matrix according to a channel response matrix in the CSI before compression to perform encoding using the precoding matrix (configure data transmission based on CSI, see Fig.2 by the base station). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tian into the system of Kyung of transmitting the first indication information for the purpose of improving MIMO transmission (note [0039]).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1. Kyung further teaches a terminal device (UE, 310) comprising a processor (520) and a memory (510).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1. Kyung further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (para#74-75), wherein when the instructions are executed the method according to claim 1 is implemented (para#75,78).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1. Kyung further discloses a network device (BS;320; para#73), comprising a processor (510) and a memory (520), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (para#74-75), and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to cause the network device (320) to perform the method according to claim 16 (para#78).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SAM K AHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2633