DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2023/0171815 A1) hereinafter Xue.
Regarding claim 1 – Xue discloses at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first UE to: refer to paragraph [0006] - The wireless communication device includes a wireless transceiver, a memory, and a processor communicatively coupled to the wireless transceiver and the memory. According to one aspect, the processor and the memory may be configured to occupy a slot in a first subchannel, also, paragraph [0036] - one or more processors,
determine sidelink carrier frequencies that are available to implement carrier aggregation (CA) for sidelink communication – refer to paragraph [0115] - In other words, each of SL UE1 and SL UE2 may aggregate (e.g., after making a determination to aggregate) a respective carrier in the unlicensed band to act as the secondary carrier and to carry, for example, the sidelink traffic in the unlicensed band 616, also, refer to paragraph [0119] - According to some aspects, using SL UE1 as an example, SL UE1 may occupy the second slot 624 of the first subchannel 606 (e.g., a first SL subchannel, a first CA subchannel) in the primary carrier in the licensed band 604,also, refer to Figure 9 and paragraph [0152] - a wireless communication device may use a first subchannel as an anchor in a primary carrier for interlaced channel access over a secondary carrier. In other words, the first subchannel may be, for example, a CA subchannel such as subchannel 0 906 and/or subchannel 5 916 of FIG. 9, also, paragraph [0153] - According to some aspects, the CA subchannel may include only sidelink control, while according to other aspects the CA subchannel may include sidelink control and sidelink traffic, also, refer to Figure 10 and paragraph [0162] - Instead, according to a patter, subchannel 1 1008 and subchannel 6 1012 are CA subchannels at time t1.
identify from the sidelink carrier frequencies at least one primary sidelink carrier frequency and at least one secondary sidelink carrier frequency, refer to paragraph [0023] - Aspects described herein implement a heterogeneous carrier aggregation design for penetrating access control timing of New Radio Sidelink (NR SL) operating on a primary carrier in a licensed band to sidelink operating on a secondary carrier in an unlicensed band, also, refer to paragraph [0105] - means for seeking access to a secondary carrier in an unlicensed band during the symbol gap, and means for transmitting sidelink traffic in the secondary carrier upon receiving access to the secondary carrier, also, refer to paragraph [0109] - a sidelink communication may anchor on a primary carrier in a licensed band for radio resource management (RRM) and quality of service (QoS) control for the secondary carrier in the unlicensed band., also, paragraph [0114] - Accordingly, each of SL UE1 and SL UE2 may designate a primary carrier and at least one secondary carrier. The primary carrier may carry sidelink control while the secondary carrier may carry sidelink traffic.
transmit data to a second UE using the at least one primary sidelink carrier frequency and the at least one secondary sidelink carrier frequency, refer to Figure 6 and paragraph [0121] -Upon successful completion of the LBT process 634 (e.g., upon receiving access to the aggregated subcarrier 618, that is, the secondary carrier), SL UE1 may offload the sidelink traffic to the third frame 638 of the secondary carrier (e.g., the third frame of the aggregated subcarrier 618 in the unlicensed band 616), also, refer to Figure 7 and paragraph [0127] - At block 704 the wireless communication device may transmit sidelink control in the first subchannel during the slot, except during a symbol gap indicated to include at least a last symbol of a plurality of symbols supported by the slot, also, paragraph [0130] - According to other aspects, the wireless communication device may aggregate (e.g., after making a determination to aggregate) the sidelink control and the sidelink traffic to a primary carrier and the secondary carrier, respectively, and may further designate the licensed band to include the primary carrier and designate the unlicensed band to include the secondary carrier, also, refer to Figure 11 and paragraph [0172] - At block 1102, the wireless communication device determines if it has at least one transmission block (TB) and can opportunistically obtain another TB if it passes the FBE LBT access control process. If the wireless communication device determines that it has at least one TB and can opportunistically obtain another TB if it passes the FBE LBT access control process, the process passes to block 1104. At block 1104, the wireless communication device selects Type-1 content, allowing the carrier aggregation subchannel (e.g., the in the licensed band) to carry control plus traffic, also, refer to Figure 11 and paragraph [075] - Returning to block 1118, if the wireless communication device determines, at block 1118, that the carrier aggregation subchannel should not also carry an enhanced stage 2 SCI, then, at block 1122, the carrier aggregation subchannel is made to carry only the stage 1 SCI and leave the stage 2 SCI in the secondary carrier. Thereafter, the process 1100 may end, and claim 1.
Regarding claim 2 – Xue discloses claim 1. Xue discloses wherein the sidelink carrier frequencies are identified based on one or more of cell-specific signaling received from a network node, UE-specific signaling received from the network node, or a pre-configuration of the UE, refer to paragraph [0006] - According to one aspect, the processor and the memory may be configured to occupy a slot in a first subchannel, wherein the first subchannel comprises a sidelink subchannel in a licensed band, also, refer to paragraph [0087] - In a second way, the network access node may activate preconfigured sidelink grants for sidelink communication among wireless communication devices, also, refer to Figure 5 and paragraph [0101] - In addition, the communication and processing circuitry 541 may be configured to receive and process uplink traffic and uplink control messages (e.g., similar to uplink traffic 116 and uplink control 118 of FIG. 1), transmit and process downlink traffic and downlink control messages (e.g., similar to downlink traffic 112 and downlink control 114), and/or receive, transmit, and process sidelink traffic and control messages, also, paragraph [0139] - The subchannel and interlace combinations may be preconfigured, for example, preloaded into wireless communication devices, also, paragraph [0163] - The time varying pattern may be preconfigured, similar to pre-configuration of interlaces, described earlier.
Regarding claim 5 - Xue discloses claim 1. Xue discloses wherein the at least one processor configured to cause the first UE to determine the sidelink carrier frequencies based on an association of a serving cell of the UE to the sidelink carrier frequencies, refer to paragraph [0038] - In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity 108 (e.g., a base station) allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. Within the present disclosure, as discussed further below, the scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more scheduled entities. That is, for scheduled communication, a plurality of UEs (e.g., a plurality of UE 106), which may be scheduled entities, may utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity 108, also, refer to paragraph [0060] - In some examples, access to the air interface may be scheduled, wherein a scheduling entity (e.g., a base station) allocates resources (e.g., time-frequency resources) for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell. Within the present disclosure, as discussed further below, the scheduling entity may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more scheduled entities. That is, for scheduled communication, UEs or scheduled entities utilize resources allocated by the scheduling entity, also, refer to paragraph [0064] - In an example of a V2X network within the coverage area of the base station 212, the base station 212 and/or one or both of the UEs 226 and 228 may function as scheduling entities to schedule sidelink communication between UEs 226 and 228.
Regarding claim 6 – Xue discloses claim 5. Xue discloses wherein the association of the serving cell of the UE to the sidelink carrier frequencies is the same as an association of a primary cell of the UE to the sidelink carrier frequencies, refer to paragraph [0057] - In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 210, 212, and 214/216 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, and 232 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and slot timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal. The uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 224) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 210 and 214/216) within the RAN 200. Each of the cells may measure a strength of the pilot signal, and the radio access network (e.g., one or more of the base stations 210 and 214/216 and/or a central node within the core network) may determine a serving cell for the UE 224, also, refer to paragraph [0070] - In-coverage refers to a scenario in which UEs 314 and 316 are in communication with the base station 310 (e.g., gNB) via a Uu (e.g., cellular interface) connection to receive ProSe service authorization and provisioning information to support ProSe operations, also, refer to paragraph [0094] - In addition, the carrier aggregation scheme described herein presents an added benefit in that an SL UE may need to only monitor the primary carrier (e.g., in the licensed band) for sidelink control information (SCI). More particularly, the SL UE may need to only monitor the primary carrier for SCI stage 1 (SCI-1) information.
Regarding claim 7 – Xue disclose claim 1. Xue discloses receive signaling comprising one or more sidelink carrier frequencies associated with one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), refer to paragraph [0082] - In some examples, one or more REs 406 within the data region 414 may be configured to carry system information blocks (SIBs), carrying information that may enable access to a given cell, also, refer to paragraph [0110] - With the various aspects of the disclosure described herein, a minimal (e.g., light) design for the unlicensed SL carrier may be realized (e.g., the unlicensed SL carrier may need no Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB), or even Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)) as control may be carried on the SL licensed carrier with traffic being carried on the unlicensed carrier.
receive the one or more SSBs over the one or more sidelink carrier frequencies for synchronization of the at least one primary sidelink carrier frequency and the at least one secondary sidelink carrier frequency, refer to paragraph [0110] - According to some aspects, all control may be carried on the SL licensed carrier and all traffic may be carried on the unlicensed SL carrier. Additionally, using aspects described herein, coordination of reservations across nodes or links (e.g., for both the licensed carrier and the unlicensed carrier) can be reliably handled on the licensed carrier, in a way that is similar to how reservations work on the PC5 interface.
Regarding claim 8 – Xue discloses claim 7. Xue discloses wherein the one or more sidelink carrier frequencies associated with the one or more SSBs comprise the at least one primary sidelink carrier frequency, refer to paragraph [0110] - With the various aspects of the disclosure described herein, a minimal (e.g., light) design for the unlicensed SL carrier may be realized (e.g., the unlicensed SL carrier may need no Master Information Block (MIB), System Information Block (SIB), or even Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)) as control may be carried on the SL licensed carrier with traffic being carried on the unlicensed carrier.
Regarding claim 9 – Xue discloses claim 1. Xue discloses one or more of: configuration for one or more sidelink synchronization carrier frequencies; one or more priority values for the sidelink carrier frequencies; or mapping information for mapping the sidelink carrier frequencies to the one or more sidelink synchronization carrier frequencies, refer to Figure 8 and paragraph [0136] - Wireless communication devices, for example, wireless communication device 500, SL UE1, and/or SL UE2 may each perform an access procedure to gain access to and to occupy any of the plurality of subchannels 802 and may be referred to as CA subchannels, an SL subchannels, or a subchannel. By way of example and without limitation, SL UE1 may occupy subchannel 0 806, also, refer to Figure 9 and paragraph [0149] - A plurality of wireless communication devices (e.g., SL UE1 - SL UE13) (similar to wireless communication device 500 of FIG. 5) may each perform an access procedure to gain access to and to occupy any of the plurality of subchannels 902. By way of example and without limitation, SL UE1 may occupy subchannel 0 906, also, refer to paragraph [0151] - In accordance with aspects described herein, the various CR values may be preconfigured (e.g., in the same way, for example, as described in connection with pre-configurations of interlaces (e.g., numbers of interlaces and values of interlace index numbers), also, refer to Figures 10A, 10B and paragraph [0163] - Accordingly, as described above, the wireless communication device may map from CA subchannels in the primary carrier 1003, according to a time-varying pattern. The time varying pattern may be preconfigured, similar to pre-configuration of interlaces, described earlier. According to some aspects, subchannels of a primary band including the first subchannel may be mapped, according to a time varying pattern, to pluralities of physical resource blocks in the secondary carrier, also, refer to paragraph [0089] - SCI-1 may be transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). SCI-1 may include information for resource allocation of a sidelink resource and for decoding of the second stage of sidelink control information (i.e., SCI-2). SCI-1 may identify a priority level of a payload. For example, ultra-reliable-low-latency communication (URLLC) traffic has a higher priority than text message traffic (e.g., short message service (SMS) traffic), also, refer to paragraph [0144] - According to another example, a high-priority SL UE can occupy multiple subchannels (CA subchannels, SL subchannels) in the primary carrier 803, also, refer to paragraph [0166] - According to some aspects, the wireless communication device may determine a first priority value associated with a sidelink control packet to be transmitted as the sidelink control in the first subchannel, determine a second priority value associated with a sidelink traffic packet, and transmit the sidelink traffic packet in the sidelink traffic if the second priority value is equal to the first priority value, and claim 21.
Regarding claim 16 – Xue discloses A network node, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network node to: refer to Figure 5 and paragraph [0095] - In accordance with various aspects of the disclosure, an element, or any portion of an element, or any combination of elements may be implemented with a processing system 514 that includes one or more processors, such as processor 504. The wireless communication device 500 may be a wireless communication device or user equipment (UE) as illustrated and described in any one or more of FIGS. 1, 2, and/or 3.
generate a notification of sidelink carrier frequencies that are available to implement carrier aggregation (CA) for sidelink communication, the notification indicating at least one primary sidelink carrier frequency and at least one secondary sidelink carrier frequency, refer to paragraph [0034] - Broadly, a base station or network access node is a network element in a radio access network responsible for radio transmission and reception in one or more cells to or from a UE. In different technologies, standards, or contexts, a scheduling entity may variously be referred to by those skilled in the art as a base transceiver station (BTS), a radio base station, a radio transceiver, a transceiver function, a basic service set (BSS), an extended service set (ESS), an access point (AP), a Node B (NB), an eNode B (eNB), a gNode B (gNB), or some other suitable terminology, also, refer to Figure 1 and paragraph [0040] - As illustrated in FIG. 1, a scheduling entity 108 may broadcast downlink traffic 112 and downlink control information 114 to one or more scheduled entities (e.g. one or more UE 106). Broadly, the scheduling entity 108 is a node or device responsible for scheduling traffic in a wireless communication network, including the downlink traffic 112 and, in some examples, uplink traffic 116 and uplink control 118 from one or more scheduled entities (e.g. one or more UE 106) to the scheduling entity 108., also, refer to paragraph [0094] - Use of a primary carrier in the licensed band for access control operations, to facilitate access (e.g., perform scheduling) to a secondary carrier in the unlicensed band, may result in less power consumption when compared to using the unlicensed band for all sidelink control and traffic communication. In addition, the carrier aggregation scheme described herein presents an added benefit in that an SL UE may need to only monitor the primary carrier (e.g., in the licensed band) for sidelink control information (SCI). More particularly, the SL UE may need to only monitor the primary carrier for SCI stage 1 (SCI-1) information, also, paragraph [0102] - A control messages may include a grant of an allocation of the licensed and/or unlicensed spectrum to the wireless communication device 500. Control messages may include sidelink control information (SCI) messages, including stage 1 SCI (SCI-1) messages and stage 2 SCI (SCI-2) messages, also, refer to paragraph [0105] - means for transmitting sidelink control in the first subchannel during the slot, except during a symbol gap indicated to include at least a last symbol of a plurality of symbols supported by the slot, means for seeking access to a secondary carrier in an unlicensed band during the symbol gap, and means for transmitting sidelink traffic in the secondary carrier upon receiving access to the secondary carrier. In one aspect, the means for transmitting sidelink traffic in the secondary carrier upon receiving access to the secondary carrier transmits the sidelink traffic during or following the symbol gap, also, refer to paragraph [0109] - According to one aspect, a sidelink communication may anchor on a primary carrier in a licensed band for radio resource management (RRM) and quality of service (QoS) control for the secondary carrier in the unlicensed band. Frame-based equipment (FBE) channel access may be used for its relatively lower overhead and ease of implementation at the UE side, also, refer to Figure 6 and paragraph [0118] - The wireless communication device may occupy the SL subchannel with an enabling link. In other words, the wireless communication device may synchronize first channel access to the aggregated subcarrier 618 of the secondary carrier in the unlicensed band 616, based on second channel access to the first subcarrier (e.g., first subchannel 606 and/or second subchannel 608) in the licensed band 604, also, Figure 6 and paragraph [0121] - SL UE1 may conduct an FBE listen before talk access procedure (LBT procedure 634) to gain access to the aggregated subcarrier 618 in the unlicensed band 616 (e.g., the secondary carrier) by beginning the LBT process 634 at the start of, or anywhere within, the idle interval 636. The idle interval at least partially overlaps with the last OFDM symbol gap 632 of the portion of the second slot 624 occupied by SL UE1. In other words, a wireless communication device may begin to seek access to a secondary carrier in an unlicensed band beginning at the start of the idle interval 636 or during any portion of the idle interval 636 that at least partially overlaps with the last OFDM symbol gap, also, refer to Figures 8A and 8B and paragraph [0132] - FIG. 8A is an example of a plurality subchannels 802 in a licensed band according to some aspects. FIG. 8B is an example of a plurality of resource blocks 804 (e.g., physical resource blocks) in an unlicensed band according to some aspects, also, refer to paragraph [0139] - A SL UE that occupies a given subchannel in the primary carrier 803 of FIG. 8A may determine which interlace to use in a number of ways including, for example, by having a preconfigured set of subchannel and interlace combinations. In other words, a network operator for a given region or city, for example, may specify certain subchannel and interlace combinations, or specify interlace distributions according to some other way. The subchannel and interlace combinations may be preconfigured, for example, preloaded into wireless communication devices of the network operator or pushed down to or pulled down by the wireless communication devices from, for example, a server accessible to the wireless communication device via the Internet.
transmit the notification to a user equipment (UE), refer to paragraph [0139] - A SL UE that occupies a given subchannel in the primary carrier 803 of FIG. 8A may determine which interlace to use in a number of ways including, for example, by having a preconfigured set of subchannel and interlace combinations. In other words, a network operator for a given region or city, for example, may specify certain subchannel and interlace combinations, or specify interlace distributions according to some other way. The subchannel and interlace combinations may be preconfigured, for example, preloaded into wireless communication devices of the network operator or pushed down to or pulled down by the wireless communication devices from, for example, a server accessible to the wireless communication device via the Internet, also, refer to Figure 9 and paragraph [0151] - To avoid hot competition for the CA subchannels in autonomous SL (e.g., Mode 2) or in LTE SL (e.g., Mode 4), a network entity or system may define respective carrier occupation ratios (CRs) under a congestion control network for CA subchannels and non-CA subchannels. Accordingly, for example, CA subchannels subchannel 0 906 and subchannel 5 916 may be defined for a first CR (e.g., CR1) while the remaining non-CA subchannels 1-4 and 6-12 may be defined for a different CR.
Regarding claim 17 – Xue discloses claim 16. Xue disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network node to generate the notification as one or more of cell-specific signaling or UE-specific signaling, refer to Figure 7 and paragraph [0129] - At block 708, the wireless communication device may transmit sidelink traffic in the secondary carrier upon receiving (or obtaining) the access to the secondary carrier. According to one aspect, the wireless communication device may transmit sidelink traffic in the secondary carrier upon receiving (or obtaining) the access to the secondary carrier during or following the symbol gap, also, refer to paragraph [0131] - the wireless communication device may carry stage 1 sidelink control information over the first subchannel and carry enhanced stage 2 sidelink control information including at least one of modulation and coding scheme (MCD), hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ), or transmission (TX) parameters for the secondary carrier over the first subchannel, also, refer to Figure 8A and paragraph [0139] - In other words, a network operator for a given region or city, for example, may specify certain subchannel and interlace combinations, or specify interlace distributions according to some other way. The subchannel and interlace combinations may be preconfigured, for example, preloaded into wireless communication devices of the network operator or pushed down to or pulled down by the wireless communication devices from, for example, a server accessible to the wireless communication device via the Internet.
Regarding claim 18 – Xue discloses claim 16. Xue discloses wherein the notification identifies the sidelink carrier frequencies based on index values for the sidelink carrier frequencies in an index of the sidelink carrier frequencies, refer to Figure 8B and paragraph [0137] - The plurality of physical resource blocks 804 of FIG. 8B are each identified by a physical resource block number and an interlace index. In the example of FIG. 8B, 24 PRBs (PRB 0 818 - PRB 23 840) are depicted. The number of PRBs is illustrative and not limiting. Not all PRBs are provided with reference numbers to avoid clutter the drawing. In the example of FIG. 8B, there are five interlaces (interlace index numbers 0-4). The quantity of five interlaces may correspond to a 30 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS). Other numbers of interlaces and SCSs are within the scope of the disclosure. In the example of FIG. 8B, the interlaces begin at PRB 0 818 with interlace index 0 and repeat every five interlaces, such that each succeeding interlace 4 is adjacent to a next succeeding interlace 0, also, refer to paragraph [0140] - In the example of FIG. 8, SL UE1 has occupied subchannel 0 806 after completing an access procedure. In the example, subchannel 0 806 is associated with interlace 0 (interlace index 0), although it could be associated with any of interlaces 0-4. Through the association with interlace 0, SL UE1 is able to utilize subchannel 0 806 in the primary carrier 803 licensed band and also aggregate PRB 0 818, PRB 5 828, PRB 10 832, PRB 15 836, and PRB 20 840 in the secondary carrier 805 of the unlicensed band. The set of PRB 0 818, PRB 5 828, PRB 10 832, PRB 15 836, and PRB 20 840 is identified as each of these PRBs is associated with interlace index 0. The example includes PRB 0 818 through PRB 23 842 with 5 interlaces; however, this span and index combination is exemplary and non-limiting. For example, the span may include a span of 20 MHz, which may include more than the 24 physical resource blocks depicted in the example, also, refer to paragraph [0151] - for example, as described in connection with pre-configurations of interlaces (e.g., numbers of interlaces and values of interlace index numbers).
Regarding claim 21 – Refer to Claim 1 for the rejection of claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (same as above) in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0258121 A1) hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claims 3 and 19 – Xue discloses claim 1. Xue discloses channel/frequency numbers, refer to Figures 8A and 8B and paragraph [0134] - The lowest frequency on the frequency axis in FIG. 8 is identified as “Point A.” According to some aspects, Point A may represent a center frequency of a lowest subcarrier in the frequency domain. Point A may be used as common reference point for various subchannels and/or resource blocks. For example, the lowest subchannel (subchannel 0 806) of FIG. 8A is spaced apart from Point A by a first predetermined value. The lowest physical resource block (PRB 0 818) of FIG. 8B is spaced apart from Point A by a second predetermined value. The first predetermined value and the second predetermined value may be greater than, equal to, or lesser than the other.
Xue does not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink carrier frequencies are configured in an ascending order of absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN).
Liu discloses wherein the sidelink carrier frequencies are configured in an ascending order of absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN), refer to paragraph [0018] - According to one aspect of the present disclosure, the above method is characterized in that the X PRB(s) is(are) indexed from 0 to X−1 according to frequency in an ascending order, also, refer to paragraph [0167] - In one embodiment, a position of the X1 PRB(s) in frequency domain refers to a frequency offset between each of the X1 PRB(s) and a grid of a PRB determined by a New Radio Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (NR-ARFCN), also, refer to paragraph [0171] - the X1 PRB(s) comprises(comprise) frequency-domain resources occupied by a Sidelink SS/PBCH Block, and a position of the X1 PRB(s) in frequency domain refers to a position of a characteristic frequency in frequency-domain resources occupied by a Sidelink SS/PBCH Block in frequency domain in a band to which the X1 PRB(s) belongs(belong),
Liu notifies the sidelink carrier frequencies, refer to paragraph [0207] - In one embodiment, a position of the X1 PRB(s) in frequency domain refers to a frequency offset between each of the X1 PRB(s) and a grid of a PRB determined by a ARFCN, and claims 4 and 8.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine XUE with Liu to provide Xue with wherein the sidelink carrier frequencies are configured in an ascending order of absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN).
The suggestion/motivation would have been that Xue discloses channel/frequency numbers, refer to Figures 8A and 8B and paragraph [0134] - The lowest frequency on the frequency axis in FIG. 8 is identified as “Point A.” According to some aspects, Point A may represent a center frequency of a lowest subcarrier in the frequency domain. Point A may be used as common reference point for various subchannels and/or resource blocks. For example, the lowest subchannel (subchannel 0 806) of FIG. 8A is spaced apart from Point A by a first predetermined value. The lowest physical resource block (PRB 0 818) of FIG. 8B is spaced apart from Point A by a second predetermined value. The first predetermined value and the second predetermined value may be greater than, equal to, or lesser than the other.
The benefit being that sidelink will be explicitly defined.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (same as above) in view of Luo et al. (US 2024/0340651 A1) hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 4 – Xue discloses claim 1. Xue does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to receive, from a network node, a mapping of one or more of the sidelink carrier frequencies to one or more service types that are operable to receive sidelink communication, wherein the mapping is based at least in part on priority information for the one or more service types.
Luo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to receive, from a network node, a mapping of one or more of the sidelink carrier frequencies to one or more service types that are operable to receive sidelink communication, wherein the mapping is based at least in part on priority information for the one or more service types, refer to paragraph [0029] - Additionally, in some embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may be configured with a mapping of V2X service types to sidelink frequencies (which may include licensed frequencies (frequencies of licensed carriers) and/or unlicensed frequencies (frequencies of unlicensed carriers)). In other embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may be configured with a mapping of destination Layer-2 identifications (ID) to sidelink frequencies (licensed and/or unlicensed). In general, a user device may have one or more Layer-2 IDs for V2X communication over a PC5 reference point, which may include one or more source Layer-2 IDs and one or more destination Layer-2 IDs. Source and destination Layer-2 IDs may be included in layer-2 frames sent on the layer-2 link of the PC5 reference point identifying the layer-2 source and destination of these frames. The selection of source and destination Layer-2 IDs by a user device may depend on a communication mode of the V2X communication over PC5 reference point for the layer-2 link. Additionally, in various embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may be preconfigured with the mapping of V2X service types to sidelink frequencies and/or the mapping of Destination Layer 2 ID(s) to sidelink frequencies, a Universal Integration Circuit Card (UICC) may be configured with one or both of the mappings, combinations thereof, one or both of the mappings may be provided or updated by a V2X Application Server via Policy Control Function (PFC) and/or V1 reference point, and/or provided by the PCF to the first user device 102(1), such as in accordance with any of various standards, specification, or protocols, including any related to 3GPP, NR, and/or V2X, also, refer to paragraph [0035] - Also, in various embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may be configured with a sidelink priority threshold (sl-PriorityThresh), such as in the form of an information element (IE). At block 302, for some embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may identify that a value of the highest priority of one or more logical channels in a MAC protocol data unit (PDU) of the sidelink signal is lower than a value of the sidelink priority threshold. In response to the identification, the first user device 102(1) may select the licensed carrier instead of the unlicensed carrier to perform the sidelink transmission. Additionally, in event that the first user device 102(1) identifies that the value of the highest priority of the one or more logical channels in the MAC PDU is higher than the value of the sidelink priority threshold, then the first user device 102(1) may select the unlicensed carrier for the sidelink transmission. In other embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may select the licensed carrier instead of the unlicensed carrier as the carrier for the sidelink transmission in event that the MAC PDU of the sidelink signal includes a sidelink signaling radio bearer (SRB) or a sidelink MAC control element (CE), also, refer to paragraph [0042] - In other embodiments, at block 302, the first user device 102(1) may select a carrier based on priority information. For example, in some embodiments, the first user device 102(1) may receive priority indication information that indicates one or more sidelink logical channels, and for each sidelink logical channel, whether an unlicensed carrier or the licensed carrier has a higher priority.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine XUE with Luo to provide Xue with wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first UE to receive, from a network node, a mapping of one or more of the sidelink carrier frequencies to one or more service types that are operable to receive sidelink communication, wherein the mapping is based at least in part on priority information for the one or more service types.
The suggestion/motivation would have been that Xue discloses service types and priority for critical service data or QoS, refer to paragraph [0036] - health care at a distance. Telehealth devices may include telehealth monitoring devices and telehealth administration devices, whose communication may be given preferential treatment or prioritized access over other types of information, e.g., in terms of prioritized access for transport of critical service data, and/or relevant quality of service (QoS) for transport of critical service data.
The benefit being that sidelink service types will be given priority to insure critical missions are successful.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Zhang et al. (US 2023/0247693 A1) discloses wireless communication method.
2. Takahashi et al. (US 2025/0097862 A1) discloses terminal, apparatus, base station, and communication method.
3. Ranjan et al. (US 2023/0180072 A1) discloses UE enhancement prioritizing 5G NR cell selection.
John Pezzlo
7 October 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2429