DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-16, 19-21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is a computer program and is not part of a statutory class of invention. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
5. Claims 1-16, 19-21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering and is directed to an abstract idea without significant more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of Matter?
Claim 1 recites a method of the voltage overmodulation for an electric motor. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim recite an Abstract Idea?
As to claim 1, it is rejected as it is directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering such as obtaining motor operating voltage, duty cycles etc. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application?
As to claim 1: Claim 1 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea?
Claim 1 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Independent claims 12 and 23 are rejected as the same reason as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-16, 19-21 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because at least they are dependent on Claims 1 and 12 which are the abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 9-12, 20-21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 8,446,117 to Gallegos-Lopez.
As to claim 1, Gallegos-Lopez teaches a method of achieving overmodulation of reference voltage(col. 8: lines 42-59), the method comprising: obtaining a D axis and Q axis input voltage reference(fig. 2A: “172”, “174”); converting the DQ input voltage reference (fig. 2A: “172”, “174”) to a three-phase voltage reference(fig. 2A: “V*as, V*bs, V*cs”); generating a scaled three-phase voltage reference by applying a desired scaling gain to the three-phase voltage reference and generating a modulating signal based on the scaled three-phase voltage reference and calculating duty cycles based on the modulating signal and generating a gate driver signal based on the duty cycles (col. 15: lines 59-67, col. 17: lines 20-43 wherein apparatus and method are taught for generating voltage reference, generating a modulating signal and calculating duty cycles).
As to claim 9, Gallegos-Lopez teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining the DQ input voltage reference(fig. 2A: “172”, “174”) from a current controller(fig. 2A: “170”).
As to claim 10, Gallegos-Lopez teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing the gate driver signal to an inverter(col. 11: lines 64-67).
As to claim 11, Gallegos-Lopez teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
providing the gate driver signal(col. 11: lines 64-67) to an Alternating Current load(fig. 2A: “120”).
As to claim 12, it is rejected as the same reason as claim 1.
As to claim 20, Gallegos-Lopez teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining the DQ input voltage reference (fig. 2A: “172”, “174”) from a current controller (fig. 2A: “170”) via the sensor(col. 14: lines 66 – col. 15: lines 9).
As to claim 21, Gallegos-Lopez teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: providing the gate driver signal to an inverter(col. 11: lines 64-67).
As to claim 23, it is rejected as the same reason as claim 1.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 11,081,999 to Tobayashi discloses a motor control system.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837