DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAZ et al. (WO 2009/048478 A1).
Regarding claim 1, RAZ teaches a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device comprising: a binary ink developer (BID) assembly to receive ink from an ink supply, the BID assembly including a developer electrode 21, a developer roller 22, and a squeegee roller 28; a photoconductive imaging cylinder 10 to which the BID assembly is to transfer the ink in accordance with an electrostatic image on the imaging cylinder; and one or multiple power supplies 65 to provide power to either or both of the developer electrode 21 and the squeegee roller 28 in a constant current mode (figures 1-2; page 10, line 18 – page 11, line 2).
Regarding claim 2, the power supplies 65 are to provide the power to the developer electrode 21 and not the squeegee roller 28 in the constant current mode (figure 2, page 12, lines 9-15 discusses constant current).
Regarding claim 3, the power supplies 65 are to provide the power to the squeegee roller 28 and not the developer electrode 21 in the constant current mode (figure 2; page 12, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 4, the power supplies are to provide the power to both the developer electrode 21 and the squeegee roller 28 in the constant current mode (figure 2; page 12, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 5, the power supplies 65 comprise: a first power supply to provide the power to the developer electrode 21 in the constant current mode; and a second power supply to provide the power to the squeegee roller 28 in the constant current mode (figure 2; page 12, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 6, the power supplies 65 are to provide the power to the developer roller 21 in a constant voltage mode (page 12, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 8, the power supply comprises: one or multiple current monitor circuits to measure a current provided to either or both of the developer electrode 21 and the squeegee roller 28; and a control circuit to, using the measured current as feedback, adjust a voltage provided to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller to provide a constant current to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller (figure 2; page 12, lines 9-15).
RAZ teaches regarding claim 14, a method comprising: providing power from one or multiple power supplies 65 to either or both of a developer electrode 21 of a binary ink developer (BID) assembly of a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device and a squeegee roller 28 of the BID assembly in a constant current mode (page 10, line 18 - page 19, line 22).
Regarding claim 15, providing the power from the power supplies to either or both of the developer electrode 21 and the squeegee roller 28 in the constant current mode comprises: monitoring a current provided to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller; and adjusting a parameter governing/providing of the power from an external power source to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller, based on the monitored current, to maintain a constant current (page 10, line 18 - page 19, line 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9-13 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAZ in view of COHEN (WO2020/131010 A1). developer e
RAZ teaches regarding claim 10, the power supply further comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the developer electrode, wherein the control circuit is to adjust a parameter governing a supply of the current [by the switching circuit] from an external power source to the developer electrode, based on the measured current, to maintain a constant current to the developer electrode (page 10, line 18 - page 19, line 22).
RAZ teaches constant voltage or current mode, but does not teach a cleaning roller or a switching circuit for the squeegee roller or developer electrode/roller.
COHEN teaches regarding claim 7, the BID assembly further comprises a cleaner roller 46, and the power supplies are to provide the power to the cleaner roller in the [constant] voltage mode [0026].
Regarding claim 9, COHEN teaches a power supply for a binary ink developer (BID) assembly of a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device, comprising: a switching circuit to provide power to a developer electrode or a squeegee roller of the BID assembly of the LEP printing device; and a control circuit to maintain providing of the power by the switching circuit to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller in a constant current mode (figure 8; [0040, 0042]).
RAZ teach regarding claims 12, a current monitor for the squeegee roller but does not specifically teach adjusting a parameter.
The examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art at the effective filing date of this application to switch the current to an electrical component such as taught by NAKAMURA (US 2008/0076052 A1; cited by applicant)
NAKAMURA teaches regarding claim 12, a power supply comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the squeegee roller, wherein the control circuit is to adjust a parameter governing of the current by the switching circuit from an external power source to the squeegee roller, based on the measured current, to maintain a constant current to the squeegee roller (figures 8-9; [0075-0076; quickly dealing with any problem]).
The rationale for combining the teachings of NAKAMURA with the teachings of RAZ relates to the rationale of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of NAKAMURA with the teaching of RAZ to obtain and ensure the proper voltage and current to a component such as a squeegee roller within an image forming device.
RAZ also does not teach, regarding claims 11 and 13, both a current and voltage monitor circuit, although RAZ detects the current of the constant voltage circuit in figure 2. The examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art at the time of the filing of this application to teaches regarding claim 11, a power supply comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the developer electrode; and a voltage monitor circuit to measure a voltage provided to the developer electrode, wherein the control circuit is to: adjust a target voltage, based on the measured current, needed to maintain a constant current to the developer electrode; adjust a parameter governing/providing of the voltage by the switching circuit from an external power source to the developer electrode, based on the measured voltage, to provide the target voltage to the developer electrode such as taught by KIKUCHI (JP2007-249157A; abstract, [0058-0064]; previously cited).
Further, the examiner also takes official notice regarding claim 13, the power supply further comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the squeegee roller; and a voltage monitor circuit to measure a voltage provided to the squeegee roller, wherein the control circuit is to: adjust a target voltage, based on the measured current, needed to maintain a constant current to the squeegee roller; adjust a parameter governing providing of the voltage by the switching circuit from an external power source to the squeegee roller, based on the measured voltage, to provide the target voltage to the squeegee roller such as taught by KIKUCHI (discussed above, abstract; [0058-0063]; previously applied).
The rationale for combining the teachings of KIKUCHI with the teachings of RAZ relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of KIKUCHI with the teaching of RAZ to obtain and ensure the voltage and current to an image forming component within an image forming device.
The rationale for combining the teachings of COHEN with the teachings of RAZ relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of COHEN with the teaching of RAZ to obtain improved control over the voltage and current for the components of a development device within an image forming device.
Contact Information
/QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
QG