CTNF 18/855,927 CTNF 72641 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 was considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 10/10/2024 are acceptable for examination by the examiner. Claim Objection Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 10 recite non-idiomatic English (“…governing providing…”). Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by NELSON et al . Regarding claim 1, NELSON teaches a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device comprising: a binary ink developer (BID) assembly to receive ink from an ink supply, the BID assembly including a developer electrode, a developer roller 114, and a squeegee roller 116; a photoconductive imaging cylinder 102 to which the BID assembly is to transfer the ink in accordance with an electrostatic image on the imaging cylinder; and one or multiple power supplies 520 to provide power to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller in a constant current mode (figures 1 and 5; [0005-0008; 0049]). Regarding claim 2, the power supplies are to provide the power to the developer electrode 520 and not the squeegee roller in the constant current mode (figure 3 shows constant voltage). Regarding claim 3, the power supplies are to provide the power to the squeegee roller 116 and not the developer electrode (110, 112) in the constant current mode (figure 3). Regarding claim 4, the power supplies are to provide the power to both the developer electrode (110, 112) and the squeegee roller 116 in the constant current mode (figure 3). Regarding claim 5, the power supplies comprise: a first power supply to provide the power to the developer electrode (110, 112) in the constant current mode; and a second power supply to provide the power to the squeegee roller 116 in the constant current mode (figure 3). Regarding claim 6, the power supplies are to provide the power to the developer roller (110, 112) in a constant voltage mode. Regarding claim 7, the BID assembly further comprises a cleaner roller 120, and the power supplies are to provide the power to the cleaner roller 120 in the constant voltage mode. Regarding claim 8, the power supply comprises: one or multiple current monitor circuits to measure a current provided to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller; and a control circuit to, using the measured current as feedback, adjust a voltage provided to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller to provide a constant current to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller [0017]. Regarding claim 9, NELSON teaches a power supply for a binary ink developer (BID) assembly of a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device, comprising: a switching circuit to provide power to a developer electrode or a squeegee roller of the BID assembly of the LEP printing device; and a control circuit to maintain providing of the power by the switching circuit to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller in a constant current mode (figures 1, 3, 5; [0005-0008, 0017]). NELSON teaches regarding claim 14, a method comprising: providing power from one or multiple power supplies 520 to either or both of a developer electrode of a binary ink developer (BID) assembly of a liquid electrophotography (LEP) printing device and a squeegee roller of the BID assembly in a constant current mode (figures 1, 3, 5; [0005-0008, 0017]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NELSON in view of KIKUCHI (JP2007249157A; cited by applicant) . NELSON does not teach, regarding claim 10, that the control circuit adjusts a parameter governing/providing the current by the switching circuit from an external power source to the developer electrode, based on the measured current. The examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art at the effective filing date of this application to switch the current to an electrical component such as taught by MIYAMOTO, cited by applicant, regarding claim 10, a power supply comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the developer electrode, wherein the control circuit is to adjust a parameter governing providing of the current by the switching circuit from an external power source to the developer electrode, based on the measured current, to maintain a constant current to the developer electrode [0048]. The rationale for combining the teachings of MIYAMOTO with the teachings of NELSON relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of MIYAMOTO with the teaching of NELSON to obtain and ensure the voltage and current to an image forming component within an image forming device. NELSON does not teach regarding claims 12 and 15, a current and voltage monitor for the squeegee roller. The examiner takes official notice that it is known in the art at the effective filing date of this application to switch the current to an electrical component such as taught by NAKAMURA (US 2008/076052 A1; cited by applicant) NAKAMURA teaches regarding claim 12, a power supply comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the squeegee roller, wherein the control circuit is to adjust a parameter governing providing of the current by the switching circuit from an external power source to the squeegee roller, based on the measured current, to maintain a constant current to the squeegee roller (figures 8-9; [0075-0076; quickly dealing with any problem]). Regarding claim 15, providing the power from the power supplies to either or both of the developer electrode and the squeegee roller in the constant current mode comprises: monitoring a current provided to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller; and adjusting a parameter governing/providing of the power from an external power source to the developer electrode or the squeegee roller, based on the monitored current, to maintain a constant current [0075-0076]. The rationale for combining the teachings of NAKAMURA with the teachings of NELSON relates to the rationale of using a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of NAKAMURA with the teaching of NELSON to obtain and ensure the proper voltage and current to a component such as a squeegee roller within an image forming device. NELSON also does not teach, regarding claims 11 and 13, a current and voltage monitor circuit. KIKUCHI teaches regarding claim 11, a power supply comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the developer electrode; and a voltage monitor circuit to measure a voltage provided to the developer electrode, wherein the control circuit is to: adjust a target voltage, based on the measured current, needed to maintain a constant current to the developer electrode; adjust a parameter governing/providing of the voltage by the switching circuit from an external power source to the developer electrode, based on the measured voltage, to provide the target voltage to the developer electrode (abstract, [0058-0064]). Further, regarding claim 13, the power supply further comprising: a current monitor circuit to measure a current provided to the squeegee roller; and a voltage monitor circuit to measure a voltage provided to the squeegee roller, wherein the control circuit is to: adjust a target voltage, based on the measured current, needed to maintain a constant current to the squeegee roller; adjust a parameter governing providing of the voltage by the switching circuit from an external power source to the squeegee roller, based on the measured voltage, to provide the target voltage to the squeegee roller (abstract; [0058-0063]). The rationale for combining the teachings of KIKUCHI with the teachings of NELSON relates to the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the teaching of KIKUCHI with the teaching of NELSON to obtain and ensure the voltage and current to an image forming component within an image forming device. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to QUANA GRAINGER whose telephone number is (571)272-2135. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached on 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /QUANA GRAINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 QG Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 2 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 3 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 4 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 5 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 6 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 7 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 8 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 9 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 10 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 11 Art Unit: 2852 Application/Control Number: 18/855,927 Page 12 Art Unit: 2852