DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-18 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rico et al. (US Pub 2019/0053280).
As of claims 1 and 39, Rico discloses a signal receiving method performed by a terminal (via signal receiving method performed by a user equipment UE), comprising:
determining a first-time domain position of a downlink positioning signal and a second time domain position of an other downlink transmission than the downlink positioning signal (see fig. 9; also see paragraph [0095], “UE 120 may determine that PDSCH bandwidth 905 overlaps with PRS bandwidth 910 based at least in part on received information from BS 110. For example, based at least in part on received scheduling information identifying bandwidth allocations, UE 120 may determine that a PDSCH of PDSCH bandwidth 905 collides with a PRS of PRS bandwidth 910; also see paragraphs [0100] and [0113]) ; and
determining whether to receive the downlink positioning signal based on the first time domain position, the second time domain position and a conflict judging rule (see paragraphs [0096], “UE 120 may determine a collision response action and perform the collision response action based at least in part on determining that the PDSCH collides with the PRS. For example, UE 120 may determine to drop an entirety of the PDSCH included in PDSCH bandwidth 905. In some aspects, UE 120 may prioritize the PRS over the PDSCH by classifying the PDSCH as punctured”; also see paragraphs [0101] and [0113]).
As of claim 2, Rico discloses that determining that the downlink positioning signal conflicts with the other downlink transmission based on the conflict judging rule, and wherein determining whether to receive the downlink positioning signal comprises:, receiving the downlink positioning signal in response to determining that a priority of the downlink positioning signal is higher than a priority of the other downlink transmission; or not receiving the downlink positioning signal in response to determining that the priority of the downlink positioning signal is lower than the priority of the other downlink transmission (see paragraph [0096], “ UE 120 may prioritize the PRS over the PDSCH by classifying the PDSCH as punctured. For example, UE 120 may prioritize tones or resource blocks of the PRS conveyed in overlapping portion 915 over tones or resource blocks of the PDSCH conveyed in overlapping portion 915. In this case, UE 120 may receive the PDSCH in portions of PDSCH bandwidth 905 that do not overlap with PRS bandwidth 910 enabling UE 120 to receive the PRS and the PDSCH. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may drop MPDCCH candidates in overlapping portion 915, and may receive the PRS and the PDSCH in overlapping portion 915. In some aspects, UE 120 may prioritize receiving the PDSCH”).
As of claim 3, Rico discloses that the conflict judging rule comprises: determining that the downlink positioning signal conflicts with the other downlink transmission when there is an overlapping symbol between the first-time domain position and the second time domain position (see paragraph [0096], “UE 120 may prioritize the PRS over the PDSCH by classifying the PDSCH as punctured. For example, UE 120 may prioritize tones or resource blocks of the PRS conveyed in overlapping portion 915 over tones or resource blocks of the PDSCH conveyed in overlapping portion 915. In this case, UE 120 may receive the PDSCH in portions of PDSCH bandwidth 905 that do not overlap with PRS bandwidth 910 enabling UE 120 to receive the PRS and the PDSCH. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may drop MPDCCH candidates in overlapping portion 915, and may receive the PRS and the PDSCH in overlapping portion 915. In some aspects, UE 120 may prioritize receiving the PDSCH”).
As of claim 7, Rico discloses that the other downlink transmission comprises at least one of a downlink channel or a downlink signal corresponding to a servicing cell (via downlink signal corresponding to a serving cell; see fig. 7; also see paragraph [0083]).
As of claim 8, Rico discloses that the at least one of the downlink channel or downlink signal corresponding to the servicing cell comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the servicing cell; a system information block (SIB) of the servicing cell; a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for a tracking reference signal (TRS); or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a common search space (CSS) associated with a control resource set 0 (CORESET#0) (see paragraph [0085], “In some aspects, the channel may be a machine type communication control channel (e.g., an MPDCCH), a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH), a physical channel (e.g., a PDSCH or a PDCCH), an uplink channel (e.g., a PUCCH or a PUSCH), and/or the like”).
As of claim 9, Rico discloses that the other downlink transmission comprises at least one of a downlink channel or a downlink signal corresponding to a neighboring cell (via a neighbor cell; see paragraph [0083]).
As of claim 10, Rico discloses that the at least one of the downlink channel or the downlink signal corresponding to the neighboring cell comprises at least one of: an SSB of the neighboring cell; an SIB of the neighboring cell; or a PDCCH in a CSS associated with a CORESET#0 (via synchronization signals (e.g., the primary synchronization signal (PSS) and secondary synchronization signal (SSS); see paragraph [0048]).
As of claim 11, Rico discloses that the neighboring cell comprises at least one of an intra-frequency neighboring cell having a same frequency as a serving cell [[and]] or an inter-frequency neighboring cell having a different frequency from the serving cell (via disclosing intra or inter frequency neighbor cell; see paragraph [0097]).
As of claim 12, Rico discloses that the second time domain position of a downlink transmission of the neighboring cell is determined according to an SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC; see paragraph [0048], “Transmit processor 220 may also generate reference symbols for reference signals (e.g., the CRS, a PRS, and/or the like) and synchronization signals (e.g., the primary synchronization signal (PSS) and secondary synchronization signal (SSS)).
As of claim 13, Rico discloses that the inter-frequency neighboring cell comprises a first inter-frequency neighboring cell, and a priority of a frequency corresponding to the first inter-frequency neighboring cell is higher than a priority of a frequency corresponding to the serving cell (via one or more subframes of an inter-frequency cell; see paragraph [0083]).
As of claim 14, Rico discloses the step of measuring the first inter-frequency neighboring cell (via inter-frequency neighbor cell measurement; see paragraph [0097]).
As of claim 15, Rico discloses that the inter-frequency neighboring cell comprises a second inter-frequency neighboring cell, and a priority of a frequency corresponding to the second inter-frequency neighboring cell is lower than a priority of a frequency corresponding to the serving cell (via one or more subframes of an inter-frequency cell; see paragraph [0083]).
As of claim 16, Rico discloses the step of measuring the second inter-frequency neighboring cell in a case where in response to a signal strength of the servicing cell not being greater than a preset threshold ((via inter-frequency neighbor cell measurement; see paragraph [0097]).
As of claim 17, Rico discloses that the priority of the downlink positioning signal is lower than the priority of the other downlink transmission, and the other downlink transmission comprising at least one of: an other downlink transmission transmitted by a serving cell; an other downlink transmission transmitted by an intra-frequency neighboring cell; or an other downlink transmission transmitted by a first inter-frequency neighboring cell (see paragraph [0096], “ UE 120 may prioritize the PRS over the PDSCH by classifying the PDSCH as punctured. For example, UE 120 may prioritize tones or resource blocks of the PRS conveyed in overlapping portion 915 over tones or resource blocks of the PDSCH conveyed in overlapping portion 915. In this case, UE 120 may receive the PDSCH in portions of PDSCH bandwidth 905 that do not overlap with PRS bandwidth 910 enabling UE 120 to receive the PRS and the PDSCH. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may drop MPDCCH candidates in overlapping portion 915, and may receive the PRS and the PDSCH in overlapping portion 915. In some aspects, UE 120 may prioritize receiving the PDSCH”).
As of claim 18, Rico discloses that the priority of the downlink positioning signal is higher than the priority of the other downlink transmission, and the other downlink transmission comprises an other downlink transmission transmitted by a second inter-frequency neighboring cell (please see rejection of claim 17; also see paragraphs [0096]-[0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rico et al. (US Pub 2019/0053280) in view of Xiaomi (Remaining issues on positioning for UE in RRC_Inactive state; as provided in the IDS).
As of claim 19, Rico discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the terminal is in an RRC idle state.
Xiaomi discloses the step of positioning for UE in RRC idle state (see section 2).
From the teaching of Xiaomi it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to receive DL PRS in RRC idle state.
As of claim 4, Xiaomi discloses that the conflict judging rule comprises: determining that the downlink positioning signal conflicts with the other downlink transmission when there is an overlapping symbol between the first time domain position and a first extended time domain, wherein the first extended time domain comprises the second time domain position, X symbols or time slots located before the second time domain position, and Y symbols or time slots located after the second time domain position, wherein X, Y are non- negative integers (see section 2).
As of claim 5, Xiaomi discloses that the downlink positioning signal is located within an initial bandwidth part (BWP) or outside the initial BWP (via initial DL BWP; see section 2).
As of claim 6, Xiaomi discloses that the downlink positioning signal is located outside the initial BWP, the first extended time domain comprises the second time domain position, a first number of symbols or time slots located before the second time domain position, and a second number of symbols or time slots located after the second time domain position, wherein and the first number and the second number are non-negative integers; or the downlink positioning signal is located within the initial BWP, the first extended time domain comprises the second time domain position, a third number of symbols or time slots located before the second time domain position, and a fourth number of symbols or time slots located after the second time domain position, wherein and the third number and the fourth number are non-negative integers, wherein the first number is not smaller than the third number, and the second number is not smaller than the fourth number (see section 2).
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689