DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berliner et al (US Publication 2022/0248246 A1).
Regarding to claims 1, 27, and 31, Berliner discloses a communication apparatus 1100 (fig. 11), comprising: one or more processors 1102 (page 16 paragraph 0123) and one or more memories 1104, wherein a computer program 1106 is stored in the one or more memories (page 16 paragraph 0124), and the computer program, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the communication apparatus to: determine 1020 reference signal configuration information (fig. 10 page 14 paragraph 0113); send 1020 the reference signal configuration information, wherein the reference signal configuration information is used for indicating direction information of a reference signal (page 14 paragraph 0113); and send 1030-1050 a corresponding reference signal based on the reference signal configuration information; wherein the corresponding reference signal is used for indicating a terminal device to perform beam measurement and/or beam management 1002 (page 16 paragraph 0115).
Regarding to claims 2 and 11, Berliner discloses the reference signal configuration information at least-comprises at least one of the following: an index of each reference signal in a configured reference signal set (page 13 paragraph 0100); an index of a configured datum reference signal (page 13 paragraph 0100); a beam width of each reference signal in the configured reference signal set (page 8 paragraph 0067); or an interval angle between sending beams of reference signals of adjacent indexes in the configured reference signal set.
Regarding to claims 10 and 32, Berliner discloses a method (fig. 10) for receiving a reference signal performed by a terminal device 115, the method comprising: receive 1020 reference signal configuration information (fig. 10 page 14 paragraph 0113), wherein the reference signal configuration information is used for indicating direction information of a reference signal (page 14 paragraph 0113); determine 1060 the direction of the reference signal according to the reference signal configuration information and a configuration mode (same/different antenna panels or which reception beams) of an index of the reference signal (page 15 paragraph 0118); and receive 1030-1050 the reference signal based on the direction information of the reference signal (page 16 paragraph 0115); wherein the reference signal is used for indicating a terminal device to perform beam measurement and/or beam management 1002 (page 16 paragraph 0115).
Regarding to claim 13, Berliner discloses configuration mode of an index of the reference signal is the configuration mode agreed by a protocol; or, the configuration mode (same/different antenna panels or which reception beams) of an index of the reference signal is contained in the reference signal configuration information (page 15 paragraph 0118).
Regarding to claim 28, Berliner discloses a communication apparatus 1200 (fig. 12), comprising one or more processors1202 (page 17 paragraph 0137) and one or more memories 1204, wherein a computer program 1206 is stored in the one or more memories (page 17 paragraph 0138), and the computer program, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the communication apparatus perform the method according to claim 10.
Regarding to claim 29, Berliner discloses a communication apparatus 1100 (fig. 11), comprising: one or more processors 1102 (page 16 paragraph 0123); and one or more interface circuits 1110 (pages 16-17 paragraph 0132); wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to receive a code instruction and transmit the code instruction to the one or more processors (page 16 paragraph 0124); and the one or more processors are configured to run the code instruction, wherein the code instructions cause communication apparatus to act as the network-side device and perform the method according to claim 1.
Regarding to claim 30, Berliner discloses a communication apparatus 1200 (fig. 12), comprising: one or more processors 1202 (page 17 paragraph 0137); and one or more interface circuits 1210 (page 18 paragraph 0147); wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to receive a code instruction and transmit the code instruction to the one or more processors (page 17 paragraph 0138); and the one or more processors are configured to run the code instruction, wherein the code instructions cause communication apparatus to act as the terminal device and perform the method according to claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 12, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467