Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “constriction mechanism” in claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, and 15-19. Note that claims 2, 3, 7, 10, 14, and 20 recite sufficient structure (diaphragm, knob, or pressure limiter) for the constriction mechanism to no longer invoke 35 USC 112f for those particular claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poll et al. (US 2010/0168520) in view of Vazales (US 2013/0023729)). Poll discloses an assembly comprising: a handle 900; fig. 16); a tunneling shaft (210) coupled to the handle, the tunneling shaft extending from the handle to a distal end; an optical window (when 210’ fully encloses distal end of scope, it is made of a material that permits visualization as disclosed in [0067]; thus, the distal end forms an optical window) disposed at the distal end of the tunneling shaft; an insertion pathway extending through the handle and the tunneling shaft to the optical window (see fig. 2c); a constriction mechanism (locking grommet 2250 and locking knob 2000; figs. 16, 17a-c, which is consistent with corresponding structure invoked by 35 USC 112f) coupled to the handle defining a portion of the insertion pathway, wherein the constriction mechanism is configured to selectively constrict the insertion pathway (via actuation of knob 2000; [0136]), and an endoscope (100) configured to be inserted in the handle to the optical window along the insertion pathway (see fig. 2c and [0136]). Poll does not expressly disclose that at least a portion of the tunneling shaft extends in a curved orientation between the handle and the distal end.
Vazales discloses another tunneling shaft (122; fig. 3b) through which an endoscope (128) is inserted, the tunneling shaft having an optical window (142) formed at the distal end. Vazales discloses that the tunneling shaft may have at least a portion that extends in a curved orientation (fig. 3B) between a handle and the tunneling shaft’s distal end in order to approximate the bend radius of a standard endotracheal tube ([0018], [0128]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Poll to include a curve in the tunneling shaft such that it extends in a curved orientation between its ends as taught by Vazales in order to facilitate insertion of the tunneling shaft through a standard endotracheal tube when visualization of a patient’s trachea or lungs is desired.
Regarding claim 2, the constriction mechanism comprises an inner diaphragm (rubber grommet 2250) defining the portion of the insertion pathway ([0138]).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the constriction mechanism comprises a manually engageable knob (2000).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17, the constriction mechanism is configured for selective disengagement and reengagement of the endoscope (e.g., by inserting or withdrawing the endoscope through the insertion pathway, or by actuating knob 2000 to change size of insertion path into and out of engagement with outer surface of endoscope).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, the constriction mechanism of Poll has a pressure limiter (2410; fig. 17a-b of Poll) configured to limit compression of the insertion pathway ([0134] – tabs limit extent to which collet 2210 is compressed).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the magnitude of constriction of the constriction mechanism is adjustable by a user (by actuating knob 2000 of Poll).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Poll discloses that the tunnelling shaft is flexible ([0077]), and thus considered bendable.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Poll fails to disclose an optical material as claimed. Vazales teaches including an optical material (silicone oil) disposed in the insertion pathway and in contact with the optical window (142) formed at the distal end of the tunneling shaft (122) ([0103] – silicone oil placed on one or both sides of window; see also [0062]) in order to act as an optical coupling agent that creates an approximately equivalent refractive index between the window and the scope. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Poll to include an optical material disposed in the insertion pathway in contact with the optical window as taught by Vazales to reduce the difference in refractive index between the window and the scope, thereby reducing reflecting and improving contrast of the images ([0103]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Poll fails to disclose an orientation indicator as claimed. Vazales teaches including an orientation indicator (see [0097]) on an optical window (142) of a tunneling shaft in order to orient the user to the patient anterior and/or posterior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the prior art of Poll to include an orientation indicator on the optical window of Poll as taught by Vazales in order to allow the user to more easily determine the orientation of the device with respect to the patient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,695,448 to Kimura discloses a tunneling shaft (151; fig. 31) having an optical window at its distal end (transparent cap 151b) and a constriction mechanism comprising a diaphragm (161) and a manually engageable knot (153) that is rotated to squeeze diaphragm (161) thereby constricting the insertion pathway of the device. Kimura discloses another embodiment of a tunneling shaft configured to receive an endoscope wherein the tunneling shaft extends in a curved configuration between its proximal and distal ends (fig. 42).
KSH 5/22/2026
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771