2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/855,962 and the supplemental amendments filed on 10/1/2026.
3. Claims 72-94 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 has been fully considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 10/1/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 74 and 80-93 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 74 and 80-93 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of 1/28/2026 has been withdrawn.
6. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 72-93 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding independent claim 72, the Examiner agrees that US 20170356292 A1 to Wang fails to teach all of the amended limitations of the claim. However, in light of the amendments and the Applicant’s remarks, an updated search was conducted, and a new ground of rejection concerning claim 72 has been determined, in which will be described later.
Regarding dependent claims 73-93, as all of these claims depend from claim 72, are still rejected, in which will be described later.
7. Examiner notes Applicant's request for interview, if any issues remain that would
prevent allowance of the application, however, in light of the new ground of rejection in view of
the newly found prior art, which was necessitated based on Applicant's amendments to the
claims, Examiner would like to provide the Applicant with an opportunity to review the new
grounds of rejection in view of said newly found prior art, prior to an interview. Once the
Applicant has reviewed the new grounds of rejection, Examiner is willing to conduct an
interview to discuss any remaining issues with the application that Applicant would like to
discuss.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 72-76 and 94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard).
Regarding Claim 72, Wang teaches a mining or civil engineering vehicle for working proximate a hole ([0032] via “A mining environment 500 is illustrated generally at FIG. 1. Mining environment 500 can have a mining wall 16 characterized by a plurality of drill holes 18 …. Mining environment 500 can further include one or more system 100 having a robot 102. In one embodiment, robot 102 can include a base 102B, links 102L, joints 102J, and a tool assembly 102T. Robot 102 may be supported on a carrier 14.”), (Note: See Figure 1 of Wang as well.), the vehicle comprising a positioning system for moving a functional unit to a selected location, the positioning system being couplable with one or more than one said functional unit ([0040] via “In one embodiment, as illustrated by the enlarged view of FIG. 1, tool assembly
102T can be configured to hold a charging hose 202. Tool assembly 102T can be configured to move charging hose 202 forwardly and oppositely backwardly along longitudinal axis 204 of charging hose 202 as illustrated by double-headed arrow 206.”), ([0041] via “Tool assembly
102T can include first and second wheel actuators 214 for providing back and forth movement indicated by double-headed arrow 206 along axis of charging hose 202.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the charging hose 202 as the one or more than one functional unit. See Figure 5 of Wang as well, wherein the positioning system of tool assembly 102T positions the charging hose 202.) and including:
(i) a coarse positioning module configured to position the functional unit in a first position proximate the selected location ([0032] via “In one embodiment, robot 102 can include a base 102B, links 102L, joints 102J, and a tool assembly 102T. Robot 102 may be supported on a carrier 14. Tool assembly 102T can be connected to an end of a robot arm defined by links 102L and joints 102J.”), ([0040] via “In one embodiment, as illustrated by the enlarged view of FIG. 1, tool assembly 102T can be configured to hold a charging hose 202.”), ([0132] via “Robot controller 150 provides motion data to robot 102 to control actions thereof. Motion data includes commands, as examples, sent to and received by component(s) of the robot that cause the components to drive robot actions, movement to other locations, and other activities. Accordingly, robot controller 150 may be a computer system having programs … that execute to provide motion data to the robot 102 to control motion of the robot 102 to perform work.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the links 102L of Wang as the coarse positioning module, as the coarse positioning module is defined as an articulated arm on Page 15 line 6 and Page 41 lines 12-13 of the specification of the instant application. The Examiner interprets that since the links 102L are attached to the tool assembly 102T by a kinematic chain, and charging hose 202 is held to the tool assembly 102T, that when the links 102L move, so does the charging hose 202.); and
(ii) a fine positioning module configured to adjust the position of the functional unit ([0040] via “In one embodiment, as illustrated by the enlarged view of FIG. 1, tool assembly 102T can be configured to hold a charging hose 202. Tool assembly 102T can be configured to move charging hose 202 forwardly and oppositely backwardly along longitudinal axis 204 of charging hose 202 as illustrated by double-headed arrow 206. Tool assembly 102T can be configured to rotate charging hose 202 in a first direction and a second opposite direction about longitudinal axis 204 of charging hose 202 as illustrated by curved double-headed arrow 208.”), ([0063] via “A method 1000 can include at block 1030 moving with tool assembly 102T charging hose 202 within drill hole 18 so that distal end 228 of charging hose
202 is positioned at a distal end 318 of drill hole 18 (e.g., as shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B). Moving at block 1030 can include inserting with tool assembly 102T charging hose 202 into drill hole 18. Moving charging hose 202 at block 1030 so that charging hose 202 is positioned at a distal end of drill hole 18 can include e.g. moving charging hose 202 with tool assembly
102T within drill hole 18 to perform pushing forward and/or retracting back charging hose 202 and/or rotating charging hose 202 to overcome an obstruction in drill hole 18 to facilitate advance of charging hose 202 toward distal end 318.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the tool assembly 102T as the fine positioning module, as the fine positioning module is described on Page 41 lines 10-12 of the specification of the instant application.) independently of the coarse positioning module ([0041] via “Tool assembly 102T can include first and second wheel actuators 214 for providing back and forth movement indicated by double-headed arrow 206 along axis of charging hose 202.”), (Note: See Figures 5-7 of Wang, wherein the wheel actuators 214 of tool assembly 102T of Wang are able to adjust the position of the functional unit without moving the links 102L.), to locate and/or align the functional unit more accurately in relation to the selected location ([0063] via “A method 1000
can include at block 1030 moving with tool assembly 102T charging hose 202 within drill hole
18 so that distal end 228 of charging hose 202 is positioned at a distal end 318 of drill hole 18
(e.g., as shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B). Moving at block 1030 can include inserting with tool assembly 102T charging hose 202 into drill hole 18. Moving charging hose 202 at block 1030
so that charging hose 202 is positioned at a distal end of drill hole 18 can include e.g. moving charging hose 202 with tool assembly 102T within drill hole 18 to perform pushing forward and/or retracting back charging hose 202 and/or rotating charging hose 202 to overcome an obstruction in drill hole 18 to facilitate advance of charging hose 202 toward distal end 318.”).
Wang is silent on the fine positioning module providing adjustment in two degrees of linear freedom.
However, Binnard teaches the fine positioning module ([0074] via “… the vibration reduction system 10 is configured as a Stewart platform … comprising a first or base member and/or plate referred to herein as a base 12, and a second or top member and/or plate referred to herein as a carrier element 14.”), ([0108] via “A vibration reduction system 10 configured according to any of the embodiments described herein can be coupled to the manipulator link 216, with the base 12 coupled to the manipulator link 216 and the carrier element 14 coupled to an end effector 218.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the vibration reduction system 10 of Binnard as the equivalent of the tool assembly 102T of Wang.) providing adjustment in two degrees of linear freedom ([0087] via “By varying the lengths of the various actuators 32, 34, and/or 35, the length of a given actuator system 16 (and thereby the position and/or orientation of the carrier element 14) can be varied. By varying the lengths of the various actuator systems 16, the carrier element 14 can be moved in six degrees of freedom (e.g., translation along the x-axis, y-axis, and/or z-axis, and/or rotation about the x-axis, y-axis, and/or z-axis).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Binnard wherein the fine positioning module provides adjustment in two degrees of linear freedom. Doing so provides a more accurate positioning of the functional unit by moving the functional unit in multiple directions without needing to move the entire assembly, as stated by Binnard ([0098] via “For example, the hexapod/Stewart platform vibration reduction system 10 can provide for precise control and/or vibration damping and/or reduction of an end effector and/or payload coupled to the system 10 in six degrees of freedom (e.g., three-dimensional space), and at any orientation relative to a workpiece, without disturbance from vibration of the base 12.”).
Regarding Claim 73, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 72, wherein the coarse positioning module and the fine positioning module comprise a single module with two functions ([0032] via “Mining environment 500 can further include one or more system 100 having a robot 102. In one embodiment, robot 102 can include a base 102B, links 102L, joints 102J, and a tool assembly 102T. Robot 102 may be supported on a carrier 14. Tool assembly 102T can be connected to an end of a robot arm defined by links 102L and joints 102J.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the links 102L and the tool assembly 102T of Wang being a part of the robot 102 as comprising a single module with two functions (i.e., positioning).).
Regarding Claim 74, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 72, wherein the positioning system further includes a control system that can track the selected location ([0035] via “Camera system 104 can be included as part of tool assembly 102T and can be used for imaging mining wall 16 having plurality of drill holes 18.”), and operate the fine positioning module to adjust the position of the functional unit ([0041] via “Tool assembly
102T can include first and second wheel actuators 214 for providing back and forth movement indicated by double-headed arrow 206 along axis of charging hose 202. Tool assembly 102T can include a chain actuator 220 for providing back and forth rotational movement of the charging hose 202 indicated by curved double-headed arrow 208 about longitudinal axis 204.”), ([0062] via “With reference again to FIG. 13 and FIG. 1, a method
1000 can include at block 1026 performing visual servoing using camera system 104 to accurately position charging hose 202 (FIG. 10) for entry into a drill hole 18, e.g. by positioning charging hose 202 and one or more additional charging component held therein at an opening 218 of drill hole 18. During performance of visual servoing, system 100 can control robot 102 responsively to image data currently obtained using camera system 104 for entry of one or more charging component (e.g. charging hose 202 and detonator package 510
held therein) into drill hole 18. Image data currently obtained can refer to image data contemporaneously obtained.”).
Regarding Claim 75, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 72, wherein the positioning system further includes a system for monitoring the position of at least one of the coarse positioning module and the fine positioning module ([0150] via “The method where the tool assembly includes a camera system, where the positioning includes determining based on one or more image representation obtained with the camera system whether the tool assembly is properly positioned for entry into a drill hole and responsively to a determination that the tool assembly is not properly positioned positioning the tool
assembly based on one or more operator input.”).
Regarding Claim 76, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 75, wherein the system comprises at least one of a first range sensor mounted to a body of the vehicle and a second range sensor mounted to the fine positioning module ([0150] via “The method where the tool assembly includes a camera system, where the positioning includes determining based on one or more image representation obtained with the camera system whether the tool assembly is properly positioned for entry into a drill hole and responsively to a determination that the tool assembly is not properly positioned positioning the tool
assembly based on one or more operator input.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the camera system of Wang as the second range sensor, as the range sensor is defined on Page 48 lines 28-33 of the specification of the instant application.).
Regarding Claim 94, modified reference Wang teaches a combination including the vehicle of claim 72 (Note: See the rejection of claim 72 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above) and a functional unit that is coupled to the positioning system of the vehicle ([0040] via “In one embodiment, as illustrated by the enlarged view of FIG. 1, tool assembly 102T can be configured to hold a charging hose 202.”), ([0041] via “Tool assembly 102T can include first and second wheel actuators 214 for providing back and forth movement indicated by double-headed arrow 206 along axis of charging hose 202.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the charging hose 202 as the functional unit. See Figure 5 of Wang as well, wherein the positioning system of tool assembly 102T positions the charging hose 202.).
11. Claim(s) 77, 78, and 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), and further in view of Xie et al. (US 20210229265 A1 hereinafter Xie).
Regarding Claim 77, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 72, but is silent on wherein the fine positioning module comprises a hub configured to be coupled to the functional unit and a plurality of elongate links, with each link being connected at one end to the hub.
However, Xie teaches wherein the fine positioning module comprises a hub configured to be coupled to the functional unit and a plurality of elongate links, with each link being connected at one end to the hub ([0028] via “It is provided by Embodiment 1 of the present application, as shown in FIG. 1, a movable hybrid machining robot based on three-degree-of-freedom force-controlled parallel module, including a three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module I, a linear feeding drive hybrid robotic arm II, an automated guided vehicle III-11, and a linear guide rail III-12.”), ([0034] via “The first limb 31
is connected to the base of parallel machining module 34 by means of a revolute pair, and is connected to the movable platform of parallel machining module 35 by means of two revolute pairs with mutually perpendicular axes or one Hooke joint, and the movable platform of parallel machining module 35 and the electric grinding head 36 are fixedly connected. The second limb and the third limb are of the same structure as the first limb, and these three limbs are connected between the base and the movable platform to form a closed-loop structure, such that one translational degree of freedom and two rotational degrees of freedom are achieved between the movable platform and the electric grinding head.”), (Note: See Figures 1, 2, 3, and 5 of Xie as well. The Examiner interprets each limb 31, 32, and 33 of Xie as the plurality of elongate links.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xie wherein the fine positioning module comprises a hub configured to be coupled to the functional unit and a plurality of elongate links, with each link being connected at one end to the hub. Doing so increases the degrees of freedom and flexibility of the vehicle, as stated by Xie ([0032] via “The three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module is fixedly connected to the end effector 28 of the two-degree-of-freedom plane parallel robotic arm.”), ([0037] via “In an embodiment of the present application, the three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module has a wide range of corners and is capable of processing complex profiles.”).
Regarding Claim 78, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 77, but is silent on wherein each of the links is independently moveable such that the hub is translatable and rotatably moveable with respect to the vehicle.
However, Xie teaches wherein each of the links is independently moveable such that the hub is translatable and rotatably moveable with respect to the vehicle ([0034] via “The first limb 31 is connected to the base of parallel machining module 34 by means of a revolute pair, and is connected to the movable platform of parallel machining module 35 by means of two revolute pairs with mutually perpendicular axes or one Hooke joint, and the movable platform of parallel machining module 35 and the electric grinding head 36 are fixedly connected. The second limb and the third limb are of the same structure as the first limb, and these three limbs are connected between the base and the movable platform to form a closed-loop structure, such that one translational degree of freedom and two rotational degrees of freedom are achieved between the movable platform and the electric grinding head.”), ([0035] via “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 6, the first limb includes a first motor 411, a first screw 412, a first force controller 413, a first U-rotating member 414 and a first spherical rotating member 415. The first motor 411 is mounted on the base of parallel machining module 44 to form a revolute pair, the rotor of the first motor is fixedly connected with the nut in the first ball screw pair, so that the first screw 412 has a rotational degree of freedom about the axis of the nut and a translational degree of freedom along the axis direction to form a cylindrical pair. An end of the first screw 412 is fixedly connected to the first force controller 413 which is embedded in and fixedly connected to the first U-rotating member
414, so as to control the internal force of the first limb. The first U-rotating member 414 is connected with the first spherical rotating member 415 to form a revolute pair, and the first spherical rotating member 415 is connected with the movable platform to form a revolute pair, the axes of the two revolute pairs being perpendicular to each other to form a Hooke joint.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xie wherein each of the links is independently moveable such that the hub is translatable and rotatably moveable with respect to the vehicle. Doing so increases the degrees of freedom and flexibility of the vehicle, as stated by Xie ([0032] via “The three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module is fixedly connected to the end effector 28 of the two-degree-of-freedom plane parallel robotic arm.”), ([0037] via “In an embodiment of the present application, the three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module has a wide range of corners and is capable of processing complex profiles.”).
Regarding Claim 79, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 77, but is silent on wherein the hub includes an aperture that, in use, is aligned co-axially with the hole.
However, Xie teaches wherein the hub includes an aperture that, in use, is aligned co-axially with the hole ([0035] via “As shown in FIG. 5, the three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module III includes a first limb 31, a second limb 32, a third limb 33, a base of parallel machining module 34, a movable platform of parallel machining module 35 and an electric grinding head 36.”), (Note: See Annotated Figure 5 of Xie below. Here, the Examiner interprets the encircled hole at the top as the aperture of the hub, and the bolded dotted line as the co-axial axis between the aperture and the grinding head 36 (i.e., where the work is performed.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Xie wherein the hub includes an aperture that, in use, is aligned co-axially with the hole. Doing so uses a structure for the fine positioning module that increases the degrees of freedom and flexibility for the positioning of the aperture, as stated by Xie ([0032] via “The three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module is fixedly connected to the end effector 28 of the two-degree-of-freedom plane parallel robotic arm.”), ([0037] via “In an embodiment of the present application, the three-degree-of-freedom, force-controlled parallel machining module has a wide range of corners and is capable of processing complex profiles.”).
Annotated Figure 5 of Xie
12. Claim(s) 80, 90, 91, and 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), and further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele).
Regarding Claim 80, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 72, wherein the one or more than one functional unit is configured to handle an explosive associated with a trigger assembly ([0046] via “FIG. 10 illustrates that charging hose 202 held by tool assembly 102T can hold primer 512 to thereby hold detonator package 510, the detonator package 510 having primer 512, detonator 514 and signal wire 516. When charging hose 202 with robot 102 is moved toward a distal end 318 of drill hole 18, primer 512 of detonator package 510 can be moved to a distal end 318 of drill hole 18 and a signal wire
516 of detonator package 510 as shown can extend backwardly and generally coextensively with charging hose 202 (generally running adjacent to an exterior of charging hose 202) so that signal wire 516 can be accessible from a location externally from drill hole 18 as shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the detonator package 510 of Wang as the trigger assembly.).
Wang is silent on wherein the one or more than one functional unit is configured to move the trigger assembly with respect to the hole independently of the positioning system of the vehicle.
However, Steele teaches wherein the one or more than one functional unit is configured to move the trigger assembly with respect to the hole independently of the positioning system of the vehicle ([0153] via “Apparatus 10 may be configured to deploy and retract one or more tools 18 to and from the rock face to perform respective tasks. In various embodiments, feed unit 16 may comprise a plurality of tool stations 20 (shown in more detail in FIG. 4) in communication with a single common tool outlet 22. Each tool station 20 may comprise a drive mechanism configured to deploy a respective tool 18 out of common tool outlet 22 to deliver the respective tool to blast hole 12 in the rock face and also configured to retract the respective tool 18 from common tool outlet 22.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the tool 18 of Steele as the functional unit, equivalent to the charging hose 202 of Wang.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steele wherein the one or more than one functional unit is configured to move the trigger assembly with respect to the hole independently of the positioning system of the vehicle. Doing so controls the movement of the functional unit without the need to further adjust either of the coarse or fine positioning modules, as depicted above by Steele.
Regarding Claim 90, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 80, but is silent on the one or more than one functional unit including a third functional unit configured to clean and inspect the hole and/or the rock face surface proximate thereto in preparation of insertion of a trigger assembly.
However, Steele teaches the one or more than one functional unit including a third functional unit configured to clean and inspect the hole and/or the rock face surface proximate thereto in preparation of insertion of a trigger assembly ([0154] via “Feed unit 16 may be configured to deploy and retract different types of tools 18 such as, for example, an endoscope for inspecting blast hole 12, an impact tool (e.g., chisel) driven by compressed air for breaking-up debris in blast hole 12, a water hose and/or an air hose for clearing smaller debris from blast hole 12, an auger tool driven by a rotary driver for clearing debris from blast holes 12 (e.g., of a lower row of blast holes 12), ….”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steele wherein the one or more than one functional unit includes a third functional unit configured to clean and inspect the hole and/or the rock face surface proximate thereto in preparation of insertion of a trigger assembly. Doing so uses the vehicle to inspect and clean the hole, allowing human mining operators to be at a safe distance from the rock face during these operations, as stated by Steele ([0161] via “In some embodiments, the use of feed unit 16 and articulated arm 30 may permit mining personnel to inspect, clear and load blast holes 12 remotely while remaining at a safe distance of several meters from the rock face. In some embodiments, such preparation of blast hole 12 may be conducted while mining personnel is in the personnel basket at a distance of about 3.5 m (12 ft) from the rock face.”).
Regarding Claim 91, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 80, but is silent on the one or more than one functional unit including a fourth functional unit couplable to the fine positioning module and configured to clear debris from within the hole, the fourth functional unit including a first hose that is fed into the hole, and wherein a terminal end of the first hose provides an air jet for clearing light debris from the hole.
However, Steele teaches the one or more than one functional unit including a fourth functional unit couplable to the fine positioning module and configured to clear debris from within the hole ([0154] via “Feed unit 16 may be configured to deploy and retract different types of tools 18 such as, for example, … an impact tool (e.g., chisel) driven by compressed air for breaking-up debris in blast hole 12, a water hose and/or an air hose for clearing smaller debris from blast hole 12, an auger tool driven by a rotary driver for clearing debris from blast holes 12 (e.g., of a lower row of blast holes 12), ….”), (Note: See Figure 1 of Steele, wherein the tool 18 (interpreted to be the functional unit) is couplable to the distal arm portion 30B (interpreted to be the fine positioning module).),
the fourth functional unit including a first hose that is fed into the hole, and wherein a terminal end of the first hose provides an air jet for clearing light debris from the hole ([0192] via “Flushing tool 18B may assist with cleaning blast hole 12 after insertion into blast hole 12
and also as it is being retracted from blast hole 12. Flushing tool 18B may be in fluid communication with a source of pressurized air or other suitable fluid. … A plurality of holes 76 may be formed in housing 74 for permitting the pressurized air to be discharged from housing 74 (outer wall) and impinge against an inner wall of blast hole 12. Holes 76 may be oriented in a radial and also axially rearward (i.e., proximal) direction relative to a central axis CL1 of flushing tool 18B so that loose debris inside blast hole 12 may be swept/flushed out the opening of blast hole 12 as air or other fluid is discharged from holes 76 of flushing tool 18B.”), (Note: See paragraph [0193] of Steele as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steele wherein the one or more than one functional unit includes a fourth functional unit couplable to the fine positioning module and configured to clear debris from within the hole, the fourth functional unit including a first hose that is fed into the hole, and wherein a terminal end of the first hose provides an air jet for clearing light debris from the hole. Doing so uses the vehicle to clean the hole, allowing human mining operators to be at a safe distance from the rock face during this operation, as stated by Steele ([0161] via “In some embodiments, the use of feed unit 16 and articulated arm 30 may permit mining personnel to inspect, clear and load blast holes 12 remotely while remaining at a safe distance of several meters from the rock face. In some embodiments, such preparation of blast hole 12 may be conducted while mining personnel is in the personnel basket at a distance of about 3.5 m (12 ft) from the rock face.”).
Regarding Claim 92, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 91, but is silent on wherein the air jet is directed away from the terminal end of the first hose, such that debris is propelled towards the opening of the hole.
However, Steele teaches wherein the air jet is directed away from the terminal end of the first hose, such that debris is propelled towards the opening of the hole ([0192] via “Holes 76 may be oriented in a radial and also axially rearward (i.e., proximal) direction relative to a central axis CL1 of flushing tool 18B so that loose debris inside blast hole 12 may be swept/flushed out the opening of blast hole 12 as air or other fluid is discharged from holes 76 of flushing tool 18B.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Steele wherein the air jet is directed away from the terminal end of the first hose, such that debris is propelled towards the opening of the hole. As the blast hole is not a through hole, doing so aims the hose such that the debris is flushed through the only open side of the hole, as stated above by Steele.
13. Claim(s) 81 and 82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), and further in view of Riemeier et al. (US 20140076015 A1 hereinafter Riemeier).
Regarding Claim 81, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 80, the one or more than one functional unit comprising a first functional unit including (a) a housing for protecting the trigger assembly in use of the first functional unit to position the trigger assembly in the hole ([0061] via “For picking up a selected detonator package 510, charging hose 202 (FIG. 9) (which in some embodiments can include an adapter fittable into a major body of charging hose 202) can be shaped to be friction fit about primer 512 (FIG. 9) of detonator package 510. As shown in FIG. 9, detonator package 510 can be held in fixed position by magazine 15 so that when charging hose 202 is moved in relation to magazine 15
charging hose 202 (with or without adapter thereto) can be friction fit about the primer 512
to associate detonator package 510 to charging hose 202.”), ([0069] via “The method can also include at block 1110 (and with reference to FIG. 9), obtaining with tool assembly 102T of robot 102 detonator package 510 in a hollow end of charging hose 202.”), (Note: See Figure 9 of Wang as well. The Examiner interprets the hollow end of the charging hose 202 as the housing.).
Wang is silent on the first functional unit including (b) a gripper unit positioned at an opening of the housing, with the gripper unit being movable between closed and open positions to allow insertion of the trigger assembly into the housing.
However, Riemeier teaches the first functional unit including (b) a gripper unit positioned at an opening of the housing, with the gripper unit being movable between closed and open positions to allow insertion of the trigger assembly into the housing ([0069] via “The other of the gripping tools 116 takes the form of a collet 700 (FIG. 7) having elements 700A, 700B, 700C and 700D which retract and extend from a base 702 to grip or release the archwire 122.”), (Note: See Figure 7 of Riemeier as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Riemeier wherein the first functional unit includes (b) a gripper unit positioned at an opening of the housing, with the gripper unit being movable between closed and open positions to allow insertion of the trigger assembly into the housing. Incorporating this design increases the gripping forces and accuracy of the gripped trigger assembly, as stated by Riemeier ([0070] via “The collet design (FIG. 7) allows higher gripping forces and a better accuracy of the gripping position than the design with two opposing gripping fingers (FIG. 6).”).
Regarding Claim 82, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 81, wherein the first functional unit is couplable to the fine positioning module and is configured to support the trigger assembly when the trigger assembly is moved to an initial position within the hole ([0069] via “The method can also include at block 1110 (and with reference to FIG. 9), obtaining with tool assembly 102T of robot 102 detonator package 510 in a hollow end of charging hose 202. The method can also include at block 1114 (and with reference to FIG. 10), positioning with tool assembly 102T charging hose 202 having the detonator package 510 for entry of charging hose 202 having detonator package 510 into drill hole 18 (e.g., for drill hole entry), e.g. at a position adjacent to an opening 218 of drill hole 18. The method can also include at block 1118 (and with reference to FIGS. 11A and 11B) moving with tool assembly
102T charging hose 202 along a length of drill hole 18 so that detonator package 510 and the end of charging hose 202 is disposed at a distal end 318 (FIGS. 11A and 11B) of drill hole 18.”), (Note: See Figure 11A of Wang wherein the detonator package 510 is supported by the charging hose 202.).
14. Claim(s) 83 and 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), further in view of Riemeier et al. (US 20140076015 A1 hereinafter Riemeier), and further in view of Murase et al. (US 20230381975 A1 hereinafter Murase).
Regarding Claim 83, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 81, but is silent on wherein the first functional unit includes a moveable member that, in-use, is moved co-axially with the hole to move the trigger assembly from a pre-insertion position proximate the hole to an initial position within the hole.
However, Murase teaches wherein the first functional unit includes a moveable member that, in-use, is moved co-axially with the hole to move the trigger assembly from a pre-insertion position proximate the hole to an initial position within the hole ([0153] via “As illustrated in
FIG. 9, the pushing block 91 is disposed at the distal end of the link shaft 82c of the shaft 82, that is, the distal end of the first end 82a. The pushing block 91 has a pushing surface 92
orthogonal to the axis E. When the shaft 82 moves straight in the direction of the axis E by driving the fourth motor 61, the pushing block 91 moves straight in the direction of the axis E.”), ([0230] via “In regard to fitting of a workpiece, the second hand H2 can switch between rotational insertion of inserting the workpiece in the hole while rotating the workpiece about the axis E and pushing insertion of inserting the workpiece in the hole by pushing the workpiece in the direction of the axis E. … The pushing insertion is an example of pushing coupling. FIG. 36 is a schematic view illustrating a state where the shaft 250 is rotationally inserted in the bearing holder 230. FIG. 37 is a schematic view illustrating a state where the shaft 250 is inserted in the bearing holder 230 by pushing.”), (Note: See Figures 36 and 37 of Murase as well. The Examiner interprets the pushing block 91 as the movable member.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Murase wherein the first functional unit includes a moveable member that, in-use, is moved co-axially with the hole to move the trigger assembly from a pre-insertion position proximate the hole to an initial position within the hole. Doing so incorporates a movable member assembly that is able to insert and push items within small spaces, as stated by Murase ([0243] via “For example, the second hand H2 can also perform work smoothly in small space. Specifically, the links 53 are disposed at the inner side of the three second fingers 51 in the radial direction about the axis E. Thus, dimensions, especially dimensions in the radial direction about the axis E, of the second gripper 5 can be reduced. In the case of closing the three second fingers 51, the links 53 are also disposed at the inner side of the three second fingers 51.”).
Regarding Claim 84, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 81, but is silent on wherein the first functional unit includes an insertion mechanism operable to move a detachable portion of the trigger assembly forward from an initial position to an operative position within the hole.
However, Murase teaches wherein the first functional unit includes an insertion mechanism operable to move a detachable portion of the trigger assembly forward from an initial position to an operative position within the hole ([0153] via “As illustrated in FIG. 9, the pushing block 91 is disposed at the distal end of the link shaft 82c of the shaft 82, that is, the distal end of the first end 82a. The pushing block 91 has a pushing surface 92 orthogonal to the axis E. When the shaft 82 moves straight in the direction of the axis E by driving the fourth motor 61, the pushing block 91 moves straight in the direction of the axis E.”), ([0230] via “In regard to fitting of a workpiece, the second hand H2 can switch between rotational insertion of inserting the workpiece in the hole while rotating the workpiece about the axis E and pushing insertion of inserting the workpiece in the hole by pushing the workpiece in the direction of the axis E. … The pushing insertion is an example of pushing coupling. FIG. 36 is a schematic view illustrating a state where the shaft 250 is rotationally inserted in the bearing holder 230. FIG. 37 is a schematic view illustrating a state where the shaft 250 is inserted in the bearing holder 230 by pushing.”), (Note: See Figures 36 and 37 of Murase as well. The Examiner interprets the pushing block 91 as the insertion mechanism.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Murase wherein the first functional unit includes an insertion mechanism operable to move a detachable portion of the trigger assembly forward from an initial position to an operative position within the hole. Doing so incorporates a movable member assembly that is able to insert and push items within small spaces, as stated by Murase ([0243] via “For example, the second hand H2 can also perform work smoothly in small space. Specifically, the links 53 are disposed at the inner side of the three second fingers 51 in the radial direction about the axis E. Thus, dimensions, especially dimensions in the radial direction about the axis E, of the second gripper 5 can be reduced. In the case of closing the three second fingers 51, the links 53 are also disposed at the inner side of the three second fingers 51.”).
15. Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), further in view of Riemeier et al. (US 20140076015 A1 hereinafter Riemeier), further in view of Murase et al. (US 20230381975 A1 hereinafter Murase), and further in view of Holopainen et al. (US 20230405639 A1 hereinafter Holopainen) and Camirand et al. (US 20210308868 A1 hereinafter Camirand).
Regarding Claim 85, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 84, but is silent on wherein the insertion mechanism comprises a hose that extends to push the detachable portion from the initial position to the operative position, and the hose extends through an aperture of a hub of the fine positioning module.
However, Holopainen teaches wherein the insertion mechanism comprises a hose that extends to push the detachable portion from the initial position to the operative position ([0039] via “The manipulator 101 is movable in a Z-axis which is in a direction normal to the working area 102 and the conveyor belt 113 (“heightwise”).”), ([0058] via “In some examples, the gripper 103 and/or manipulator 101 may accelerate the waste object 104 by a movement in the X-, Y-, Z-directions in combination with pushing the waste object 104 away from the gripper 103 by an airflow. The gripper 103 may in some examples comprise a suction gripper
103 … The suction gripper 103 may be in fluid communication with a pneumatic system (not shown) to connecting the suction gripper 103 with a compressed air or gas supply. The air or gas supply to the suction gripper 103 may be reversed so that the negative pressure is released and a positive pressure may be exerted onto the waste object 104 to throw the waste object 104 as described above. In a further example, the gripper 103 comprises movable jaws to grip the waste objects 104, and a gas- or airflow connection to push and throw the waste objects 104 away from the gripper 103 when the jaws release their grip.”), (Note: See Figures 4 and 5 of Holopainen as well.).
Further, Camirand teaches wherein the hose extends through an aperture of a hub of the fine positioning module ([0013] via “In an embodiment, the propeller uses one of a compressed air jet and a mechanical pusher to propel the selected item engaged to the at least one spike in the propelling direction.”), ([0057] via “The propeller 40 includes a propeller outlet 41 positioned proximate to the item release surface 38 of the release plate
36, such that it provides the maximal impulse to items 12 abutted thereagainst. In an embodiment, the propeller outlet 41 can be open in the item release surface 38 of the release plate 36.”), (Note: See Figures 2A-B of Camirand as well, specifically, with respect to items 38, 40, and 41.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holopainen wherein the insertion mechanism comprises a hose that extends to push the detachable portion from the initial position to the operative position. Doing so increases the reachability of the insertion mechanism by increasing the operability range of motion, as stated by Holopainen ([0039] via “In some examples, the manipulator 101 is moveable along a plurality of axes. In some examples, the manipulator 101 is moveable along three axes which are substantially at right angles to each other. In this way, the manipulator 101 is movable in an X-axis which is parallel with the longitudinal axis of the conveyor belt 113 (“beltwise”). Additionally, the manipulator
101 is movable across the conveyor belt 113 in a Y-axis which is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the conveyor belt 113 (“widthwise”). The manipulator 101 is movable in a Z-axis which is in a direction normal to the working area 102 and the conveyor belt 113
(“heightwise”).”).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Camirand wherein the hose extends through an aperture of a hub of the fine positioning module. Doing so maximizes the pushing of the detachable portion by compacting the design of the insertion mechanism with the hose close towards the detachable portion, as stated by Camirand ([0073] via “Moreover, activation of the propeller 40 while the selected item 12 is abutted against the item release surface 38 can help maximizing the impulse provided by the propeller 40
being activated, by minimizing the distance between the selected item 12 and the outlet 41
of the propeller 40 when the propeller 40 is activated.”).
16. Claim(s) 86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), and further in view of Kullborg (WO 2017041820 A1 hereinafter Kullborg).
Regarding Claim 86, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 80, but is silent on the one or more than one functional unit including a second functional unit in the form of a tie-in module that is couplable to the fine positioning module and configured to connect a detonation cord to the trigger assembly after the trigger assembly is located in the hole.
However, Kullborg teaches the one or more than one functional unit including a second functional unit in the form of a tie-in module that is couplable to the fine positioning module (Page 5 ‘Detailed description’ paragraph 4 via “In Fig. 3 is further illustrated a manipulator arm 14 belonging to an industrial robot (not shown). … At the end of the manipulator arm 14 is mounted an end effector 16, which in the illustrated embodiment is a multi-tool end effector. In the illustrated embodiment, the end effector comprises a holder device 5 for the feeding hose 4, and a fastening device 6.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the fastening device 6 as the second functional unit.) and
configured to connect a detonation cord to the trigger assembly after the trigger assembly is located in the hole (Page 6 paragraph 1 via “It is shown how the detonating cord 8 runs through the fastening device 6 and it is also illustrated how the free end portion 33 of a signal tube 32 has been connected to the detonating cord 8. In the illustrated embodiment this connection has been made by means of a cord fastener 9. … When the detonator package 40 has been inserted to its final location in the charging hole 2, a relatively short free end portion 33 of the signal tube 32 will still be left outside of the charging hole and being long enough to still run through the fastening device. The fastening device 6 will then be activated to fasten a cord fastener 9 onto the detonating cord 8 and the signal tube 32 in a fastening operation that is controlled by the robot. The detonating cord 8 and the signal tube 32 are thereby connected. The signal tubes 32 of the detonator packages 40 that follow will then be connected one by one to one and the same common detonating cord 8 as the robot moves from one charging hole 2 to the next charging hole in its operation to charge the charging holes in the charging wall, see Fig. 6.”), (Note: See Figures 3-6 of Kullborg as well, attached below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kullborg wherein the one or more than one functional unit includes a second functional unit in the form of a tie-in module that is couplable to the fine positioning module and configured to connect a detonation cord to the trigger assembly after the trigger assembly is located in the hole. Doing so automates the connection of the detonation cord to the trigger assembly such that the presence of a human operator is not required, as stated by Kullborg (Page 3 paragraph 2 via “By performing the connection of a signal transmitter to the detonator activating cord by means of the described equipment and controlling the fastening operation of fastening the end portion of the signal transmitter to the detonator activating cord by the robot is obtained the advantage of an automated connection system. Thus this task that is performed at the charging site does not need the presence of any human operator.”).
Figures 3 and 4 of Kullborg
Figure 5 of Kullborg
Figure 6 of Kullborg
17. Claim(s) 87 and 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), further in view of Kullborg (WO 2017041820 A1 hereinafter Kullborg), and further in view of Aon et al. (US 20200345587 A1 hereinafter Aon).
Regarding Claim 87, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 86, but is silent on wherein the tie-in module includes a moveable head that is engageable with a fixed portion of the trigger assembly, such that, in use, forward movement of the moveable head secures the detonation cord to the trigger assembly, and wherein the head is attached to a telescopic tube to facilitate forward movement thereof.
However, Aon teaches wherein the tie-in module includes a moveable head that is engageable with a fixed portion of the trigger assembly, such that, in use, forward movement of the moveable head secures the detonation cord to the trigger assembly, and wherein the head is attached to a telescopic tube to facilitate forward movement thereof ([0170] via “FIGS. 14A-14B depict perspective views of an exemplary connected pill dispenser robotic arm. In FIG. 14A, the exemplary connected pill dispenser robotic arm 175 includes the telescopic arms
1400 and 1405 configured to retract and expand. In the depicted embodiment, the exemplary connected pill dispenser robotic arm 175 is pivotally secured at the first swivel 1410 to rotate 360 degrees in thirteen positions about the depicted first axis. In the illustrated embodiment, the telescopic arm 1405 is pivotally secured at the second swivel 1415 to rotate about a second axis distal from the first axis. In the illustrated embodiment, the telescopic arm 1405
includes the suction grip 1420 configured to extend into the object bin 1425 to grab one or more payload 1430 item.”), (Note: See Figures 14A-B of Aon as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Aon wherein the tie-in module includes a moveable head that is engageable with a fixed portion of the trigger assembly, such that, in use, forward movement of the moveable head secures the detonation cord to the trigger assembly, and wherein the head is attached to a telescopic tube to facilitate forward movement thereof. Doing so allows the movable head to extend and reach inside hollowed environments to manipulate items, as stated above by Aon.
Regarding Claim 88, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 87, but is silent on wherein the moveable head includes a guide through which the detonation cord is fed towards the fixed portion of the selected trigger assembly.
However, Kullborg teaches wherein the moveable head includes a guide through which the detonation cord is fed towards the fixed portion of the selected trigger assembly (Page 6 paragraph 1 via “Fig. 4 is an enlarged schematical illustration of the end effector 16 and the first feeder 7 with the detonating cord 8. … It is shown how the detonating cord 8 runs through the fastening device 6 and it is also illustrated how the free end portion 33 of a signal tube 32 has been connected to the detonating cord 8.”), (Note: See Figure 5 of Kullborg, shown above, wherein detonation cord 8 is guided through a hole within end effector 16.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kullborg wherein the moveable head includes a guide through which the detonation cord is fed towards the fixed portion of the selected trigger assembly. Doing so guides the detonation cord in a such a way that it is not simply hanging loose from the proximal end, as depicted above in Figure 5 of Kullborg.
18. Claim(s) 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), further in view of Kullborg (WO 2017041820 A1 hereinafter Kullborg), and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 20080315820 A1 hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding Claim 89, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 86, but is silent on wherein the tie-in module includes a rotatable drum from which the detonation cord is selectively dispensable.
However, Inoue teaches wherein the tie-in module includes a rotatable drum from which the detonation cord is selectively dispensable ([0046] via “Welding wire 50 is supplied from a welding wire drum or a welding wire reel as the source of welding wire 50 via a liner in torch cable 51.”), ([0057] via “Cable inlet port 140 for introducing flat cable 110 from outside into cable containment space 111 is provided on the wall section of forearm 17, and cable outlet port 150 for drawing-out flat cable 110 from cable containment space 111 to the wrist element side is formed in pipe member 100. Near cable inlet port 140 and near cable outlet port 150, respectively, guide pieces 141, 151 are provided for fixing flat cable 110 and guiding the introduction and extraction of flat cable 110.”), (Note: See Figures 4-7 of Inoue as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Inoue wherein the tie-in module includes a rotatable drum from which the detonation cord is selectively dispensable. Doing so tightly winds up any excess amount of cord not needed to be dispensed and extends the cord when it is necessary, as stated by Inoue ([0054] via “As shown in FIGS. 3 to 5, flat cable 110 contained in cable containment space 111 is wound around with a surplus length in the rotating direction of wrist element 22. Thus, flat cable 110 is contained in multiple turns wound in spiral form about rotation axis 20 of first wrist element 22. With such construction, when wrist element 22 is rotated in one direction (for example, 180.degree. in clockwise direction), flat cable 110 is relaxed, and when wrist element 22 is rotated in opposite direction (for example, 180.degree. in counter-clockwise direction), the flat cable is tightened, so that the surplus length can be absorbed and occurrence of tension in flat cable 110 can be prevented.”).
19. Claim(s) 93 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170356292 A1 hereinafter Wang) in view of Binnard et al. (US 20220111521 A1 hereinafter Binnard), further in view of Steele et al. (US 20190323811 A1 hereinafter Steele), and further in view of Yokota et al. (US 20180117767 A1 hereinafter Yokota).
Regarding Claim 93, modified reference Wang teaches the vehicle defined in claim 91, but is silent on wherein the fourth functional unit includes a second hose having a terminal end configured to grasp heavy debris and remove it from the hole.
However, Yokoto teaches wherein the fourth functional unit includes a second hose having a terminal end configured to grasp heavy debris and remove it from the hole ([0196] via “A flow of the gas in the pipe 50 (the channel section) connected to the end effector 5 can be switched by the negative-pressure generating device 130. … Therefore, the inside of the through-hole 5201 of the holding section 520 communicating with the inside of the pipe 50
can be switched to the negative pressure state and the positive pressure state (see FIG. 45). Consequently, by changing the through-hole 5201 to the negative pressure state, it is possible to suck and grip the object 80 with the holding section 520.”), ([0307] via “In the teaching in the Z-axis direction, the robot control device 71 uses the detecting section 150 provided in the negative-pressure generating device 130 (see FIG. 23). The object 80 is placed in advance in the concave section 3071 of the socket 307 (see FIG. 45).”), (Note: See Figure 45 of Yokota as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yokoto wherein the fourth functional unit includes a second hose having a terminal end configured to grasp heavy debris and remove it from the hole. Doing so allows the robot to change the position of an object located within a hole, as stated above by Yokota in paragraph [0196] and depicted in Figure 45 of Yokota.
Examiner’s Note
20. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657