DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 02 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 July 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: F1, F4, DLC, AP-DLC, AP-PECVD, and TL (see "List of Reference Characters" on page 21). It is noted that the term "DLC" is defined on page 4 of the specification while "AP-DLC" and "AP-PECVD" are defined on page 5.
Specification
The specification is objected to because it does not contain the heading "Brief Description of the Drawings."
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The applicant is requested to review the application thoroughly and make all appropriate corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Petrmichl (US 2008/0178632).
Petrmichl is directed to a coated article comprising a glass substrate with a diamond-like carbon coating and overlying protective film that is barrier and release layer (paragraph 0007). The coated article may be a vehicle window (paragraph 0005). At least part of the protective film is removed during or after heat treatment (paragraph 0009). After heat treatment, the diamond-like carbon film protects against abrasion (paragraph 0019). The glass substrate is soda lime glass (paragraph 0021). The diamond-like carbon layer has a preferred thickness of 20 to 65 Å, i.e., 2 to 6.5 nm, and may include 1-30% hydrogen (paragraph 0022). In addition to hydrogen, the diamond-like carbon layer may also include silicon (paragraph 0024). The diamond-like carbon layer has both sp3 carbon-carbon bonds and sp2 carbon-carbon bonds, with the sp3 bonds preferably being at least about 70% of the carbon-carbon bonds (paragraph 0022). The substrate may be monolithic (paragraph 0045).
Since the diamond-like carbon film protects the glass against abrasion, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand it to be on an exterior surface of the glass.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of this claim are met since the claim, while requiring the coating to be arranged in some sections of the exterior-side surface, does not preclude the coating from also being on the rest of the surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Petrmichl (US 2008/0178632).
Petrmichl teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 19, as outlined above, except for specifying that the diamond-like carbon coating is formed using atmospheric pressure chemical vapor deposition.
The manner in which the coating is applied represents a product-by-process limitation. When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claim in a product-by-process claim, the burden is on the applicant to present evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. In re Brown, 459 F. 2d 531, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Fessman, 489 F. 2d 742, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974). This burden is NOT discharged solely because the product was derived from a process not known to the prior art. In re Fessman, 489 F. 2d 742, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974). Furthermore, the determination of patentability for a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself and not on the method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) and MPEP § 2113. In this case, since the diamond-like carbon coating of Petrimichl appears to be the same as that of the invention, e.g., a mixture of both sp3 carbon-carbon bonds and sp2 carbon-carbon bonds, with the sp3 bonds representing at least 20% of the carbon-carbon bonds, the burden is on the applicant to conclusively demonstrate that the product of the product-by-process claims is patentably distinct from the product of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrmichl (US 2008/0178632) in view of Jördens (DE 102012200969).
Petrmichl teaches all the limitations of claims 4 and 5, as outlined above, except for applying the coating over some sections of the glass such that the coating covers from 0.1 to 95% of the surface. However, Petrimichl does teach that the coated article may be used in a shower door, window, tabletop or other suitable application (paragraph 0007).
Jördens is directed to a household appliance having a component with a coating of an amorphous carbon layer providing the component with a surface that is easy to clean as well as resistant to wear and scratches (paragraph 0006). The amorphous carbon layer may be graphite-like characterized with predominantly sp2 hybridized carbon bonds and exhibiting graphite-like properties or diamond-like characterized with predominantly sp3 hybridized carbon bonds exhibit diamond-like properties (paragraph 0008). The substrate may be glass (paragraph 0020). Jördens teaches that the amorphous carbon layer provided on the surface may be adapted to the specific application of the component and discontinuous in nature (paragraph 0019). In one embodiment, the appliance comprising a surface made of glass having distinct zones for cooking and display function in which it is desirable for the cooking zones are provided with a more temperature stable amorphous carbon layer than the display zone (paragraph 0025 and Figure 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that a diamond-like amorphous carbon coating is more temperature stable than a graphite-like amorphous carbon coating.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the coated article of Petrimichl in a household appliance such as a cooktop stove since Jördens teaches that glass coated with a carbon film may be used for such purposes and Petrmichl teaches that their coated article may be used for tabletop and other suitable applications. Additionally, it would have been obvious to provide only selected parts of the area with the diamond-like carbon coating, as shown by Jördens, since only selected areas would be expected to require a more temperature stable coating layer. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that the cooking zones an area of the cooktop that falls within the range recited in claim 5.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrmichl (US 2008/0178632) in view of Mannheim Astete (WO 2019/130285).
Petrmichl teaches all the limitations of claims 10-12, as outlined above, except for the presence of a second pane of glass joined via a thermoplastic intermediate layer and an optical sensor/camera having a beam path directed through the diamond-like carbon coating. However, the glass substrate of Petrmichl may be a window used in a vehicle.
Mannheim Astete is directed to an automotive glazing (page 1, line 4). The glazing can be paired with a safety system comprising a forward looking camera (page 1, lines 7-23). The glazing comprises two glass sheets adhered with a plastic bonding layer (page 5, lines 9-12 and Figure 1). The glass may have a common hard coat, such as one comprising a form of diamond (page 8, lines 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fabricate with vehicle window of Petrmichl as a laminate of glass sheets with a plastic bonding layer since Mannheim Astete illustrates that laminated glass is commonly used as a vehicle window and it has been held that the selection of a known material (e.g., laminated glass) based on its suitability for its intended use (e.g., vehicle window) supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Moreover, it would have been obvious to pair the vehicle window with a forward looking camera to provide the resulting vehicle with a wide array of safety functions (adaptive cruise control, obstacle detection, etc.). A forward looking camera would necessarily have a beam path passing though the diamond-like carbon coating. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have an expectation of success since Mannheim Astete teaches that the glass used in the laminated glazing may have a hard diamond coating.
Conclusion
/RAMSEY ZACHARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787