DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: suggest to amend claim 4 to be dependent from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cruz (CN 106125973 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided equivalent English machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 26, Cruz discloses a method (e.g. Abstract) for decoding a haptic effect, a device (e.g. Fig. 1A & p. 5) for decoding a haptic effect comprising a processor (e.g. Fig. 1A: 102) configured to perform the method, and a memory (e.g. Fig. 1A: 104) comprising program code instructions for implementing the method, comprising,
Obtaining an immersive scene description data structure representative of the haptic effect comprising a haptic texture (e.g. p.6 & 8: determine haptic effect associated with position of touch of a touch area and generate haptic feedback accordingly;) and a metadata field containing additional information (e.g. p. 6 & 8: whether GUI feature at the position of touch; Figs: 2A-2B indicate some area of the touch screen associate with corresponding haptic effect and some don’t) determining how to interpret haptic textures,
when the metadata field containing additional information corresponds to a first value (e.g. p. 8: no GUI feature) indicating that the haptic texture is to be interpreted as a direct texture rendering (e.g. p. 6 & 8 and Figs. 2A-2B: position of touch indicates whether associated haptic effect presence), providing data of the haptic texture to haptic actuators (e.g. p. 6: area corresponds to boundary) based on a position of an element representing a user with regards to the texture (e.g. p. 7-8: GUI feature associated haptic effect could be corresponds to “button”, i.e. a position of an element), and
when the metadata field containing additional information corresponds to a second value (e.g. p. 8: GUI feature associated with position of touch) indicating that the haptic texture is to be interpreted as comprising references to haptic signals, selecting a haptic signal from a set of haptic signals based on a value of a pixel (e.g. p. 8: pixel coordinate) of the haptic texture (e.g. p. 7-8: GUI feature associated haptic effect could be corresponds to “button” or “fur”, for example, with specifies command parameters such as voltage/current amplitude and frequency to simulate different texture and/or friction change), and the pixel being determined based on a position of an element representing a user with regard to the texture (e.g. p. 7-8: GUI feature associated haptic effect could be corresponds to “button”, i.e. a position of an element) and providing data of the selected haptic signal to the haptic actuators (e.g. p. 8: sending command to actuators to simulate the selected haptic texture).
Regarding claim 4, Cruz discloses the haptic signal is rendered according to a velocity of an element representing the user (e.g. p. 4 & 8: speed or velocity).
Regarding claim 5, Cruz discloses the additional information is a Boolean value (e.g. p. 6 & 8: determination of whether GUI feature at the position of touch is broadly interpreted as true or false Boolean value to the processor).
Regarding claim 6, Cruz discloses the first value of the additional information is FALSE, and the second value of the additional information is TRUE (e.g. p. 6 & 8: determination of whether GUI feature at the position of touch is broadly interpreted as true or false Boolean value to the processor).
Regarding claim 7, Cruz discloses the additional information is an enumerated value coded as an integer value or a string value (e.g. p. 8: bitmap comparison to determine haptic effect at position of touch implies the use of coded value).
Regarding claim 8, Cruz discloses the enumerated value further determines a bit depth of the texture (e.g. p. 8: bitmap).
Regarding claim 9, Cruz discloses the enumerated value further determines a range of the haptic effect (e.g. p. 7-8: haptic effect simulated based on variation of voltage amplitude and frequency, 0-60% PWM amplitude within -80 and +80 volts).
Regarding claim 10, Cruz discloses a set of haptic textures and associated additional information (e.g. p. 5 & 7-8: GUI feature associated haptic effect could be corresponds to “button” or “fur”, for example, with specifies command parameters such as voltage/current amplitude and frequency to simulate different texture and/or friction change).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz (CN 106125973 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided equivalent English machine translation) in view of Vonikakis (US 10,359855 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Cruz fails to disclose, but Vonikakis teaches selecting a texture resolution amongst a plurality of texture resolutions (e.g. col 10 lines 6-29: adjustable haptic resolutions).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cruz with teachings of Vonikakis to adjust resolution of haptic effect as needed so as to accurately effectively mimic/simulate a desired haptic feedback.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to claim regarding Cruz, Cruz at least in p. 6-8 discloses an invention directed to adjusting haptic feedback based on pixel coordinate of a touch position to provide corresponding feedback.
In addition, claims 4-12 and 26 are unpatentable in view of foregoing reasons and rejections set forth in current Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688