DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13-14, 16-18, 20, 24-25, 27-28, 32 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/10/2024 and 7/7/2025 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-11, 13-14, 16, 18, 20, 24-25, 27-28, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al (Dai), US 2024/0365423.
As per claim 1, Dai teaches the invention including a data transmission method, executed by User Equipment (UE) in a non-connected state, comprising:
Obtaining indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the UE in the non-connected state to perform data transmission (pp. 0023, 0058, 0072-0074, 0079-0080); and
Triggering a non-connected state data transmission procedure to perform data transmission (pp. 0058-0059, 0072-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 2, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Dai further teaches wherein the indication information comprises at least one of:
A first message for indicating the UE in the non-connected state to perform data reception (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070);
A second message for indicating the UE in the non-connected state to perform data reception through a first bearer (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070); or
A third message for indicating an initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 0059, 0075).
As per claim 4, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Dai further teaches to comprise determining non-connected state data transmission configuration information;
Wherein the non-connected state data transmission configuration information comprises at least one of:
A fourth message for indicating whether or not the UE in the non-connected state performs data reception (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070);
A fifth message for indicating whether or not the UE in the non-connected state performs data reception through a first bearer (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070); or
A sixth message for indicating an initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 0059, 0075).
As per claim 6, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Dai further teaches wherein the first bearer comprises at least one of: bearer type indicator; a bearer identifier; a session identifier; a data flow identifier; or a logical channel identifier (pp. 0010, 0019-0020, 0065, 0070);
Wherein the initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure comprises at least one of: initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a 4 -step random access procedure; initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a 2-step random access procedure; initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a random access procedure; initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through Configured Grant (CG)-non-connected state data transmission; or initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS)-non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0003-0005, 0059, 0072-0075).
As per claim 8, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4. Dai further teaches wherein the determining non-connected state data transmission configuration information comprises at least one of:
Determining the non-connected state data transmission configuration information based on an agreement in a protocol; or
Obtaining the non-connected state data transmission configuration information sent by the network device (pp. 0023, 0058-0059, 0072-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 9, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Dai further teaches wherein the obtaining the non-connected state data transmission configuration information sent by the network device comprises at least one of:
Obtaining the non-connected state data transmission configuration sent by the network device through a connection release message (pp. 0012-0013, 0067, 0072, 0083); or
Obtaining the non-connected state data transmission configuration information sent by the network device through system information (pp. 0023, 0058-0059, 0073-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 10, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Dai further teaches wherein the triggering a non-connected state data transmission procedure to perform data transmission comprises:
Triggering the non-connected state data transmission procedure based on the initiation mode indicated in the indication information and/or the initiation mode indicated in the non-connected state data transmission configuration information, and using the first bearer for the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 0023, 0058-0059, 0065, 0070, 0072-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 11, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Dai further teaches to comprise:
In a case that the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered, resuming a Radio Bearer (RB) for data transmission (pp. 0059); or
In a case that the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered, resuming a Singling Radio Bearer (SRB) for signaling transmission (pp. 0059).
As per claim 13, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Dai further teaches to comprise:
Sending auxiliary information to the network device, wherein the auxiliary information is used to notify the network device of whether or not the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered by the UE (pp. 0086: RRC resume message),
Wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
A seventh message for indicating whether or not a connection resume procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0058, 0080, 0086);
A eight message for indicating whether or not a connection setup procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0061, 0086);
A ninth message for indicating whether or not a random access procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0003, 0012-0013, 0059); or
Bearer indication information about a bearer for initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 00059, 0065, 0070, 0072-0075).
As per claim 14, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Dai further teaches wherein the bearer indication information comprises at least one of: a bearer type indicator, a bearer identifier; a session identifier; a data flow identifier; or a logical channel identifier (pp. 0010, 0019-0020, 0065, 0070); and/or
Wherein the sending auxiliary information to the network device comprises at least one of:
Sending the auxiliary information to the network device through a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource;
Sending the auxiliary information to the network device through a connection resume message (pp. 0086); or
Sending the auxiliary information to the network device through a connection setup message.
As per claim 16, Dai teaches the invention including a data transmission method, executed by a network device, comprising:
Sending indication information to a UE, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the UE in the non-connected state to perform data transmission (pp. 0023, 0058, 0072-0074, 0079-0080); and
Performing data transmission based on a non-connected state data transmission procedure triggered by the UE (pp. 0058-0059, 0072-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 18, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Dai further teaches wherein the indication information comprises at least one of:
A first message for indicating the UE in the non-connected state to perform data reception (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070);
A second message for indicating the UE in the non-connected state to perform data reception through a first bearer (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070); or
A third message for indicating an initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 0059, 0075);
Wherein the first bearer comprises at least one of: bearer type indicator; a bearer identifier; a session identifier; a data flow identifier; or a logical channel identifier (pp. 0010, 0019-0020, 0065, 0070);
Wherein the initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure comprises at least one of:
initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a 4 -step random access procedure; initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a 2-step random access procedure (pp. 0003-0005, 0059, 0072-0075);
initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through a random access procedure (pp. 0003-0005, 0059, 0072-0075);
initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through Configured Grant (CG)-non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0003-0005, 0059, 0072-0075); or
initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure through Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS)-non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0003-0005, 0059, 0072-0075).
As per claim 20, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Dai further teaches to comprise: sending non-connected state data transmission configuration information to the UE (pp. 0058-0059, 0072-0075);
Wherein the non-connected state data transmission configuration information comprises at least one of: a fourth message for indicating whether or not the UE in the non-connected state performs data reception (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070); a fifth message for indicating whether or not the UE in the non-connected state performs data reception through a first bearer (pp. 0059, 0065, 0070); or a sixth message for indicating an initiation mode of the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 0059, 0075).
As per claim 24, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 20. Dai further teaches wherein the sending non-connected state data transmission configuration information to the UE comprises at least one of:
Sending the non-connected state data transmission configuration to the UE through a connection release message (pp. 0012-0013, 0067, 0072, 0083); or
Sending the non-connected state data transmission configuration information to the UE through system information (pp. 0023, 0058-0059, 0073-0075, 0079-0080).
As per claim 25, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Dai further teaches to comprise:
In a case that the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered, resuming a RB for data transmission (pp. 0059); or
In a case that the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered, resuming a SRB for signaling transmission (pp. 0059).
As per claim 27, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 18. Dai further teaches to comprise:
Obtaining auxiliary information sent by the UE, wherein the auxiliary information is used to notify the network device of whether or not the non-connected state data transmission procedure is triggered by the UE (pp. 0086: RRC resume message),
Wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
A seventh message for indicating whether or not a connection resume procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0058, 0080, 0086);
A eight message for indicating whether or not a connection setup procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0061, 0086);
A ninth message for indicating whether or not a random access procedure is used for the non-connected state data transmission (pp. 0003, 0012-0013, 0059); or
Bearer indication information about a bearer for initiating the non-connected state data transmission procedure (pp. 00059, 0065, 0070, 0072-0075).
As per claim 28, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 27. Dai further teaches wherein the bearer indication information comprises at least one of: a bearer type indicator, a bearer identifier; a session identifier; a data flow identifier; or a logical channel identifier (pp. 0010, 0019-0020, 0065, 0070); and/or
Wherein the sending auxiliary information to the network device comprises at least one of:
Obtaining the auxiliary information to the network device through a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) resource;
Obtaining the auxiliary information to the network device through a connection resume message (pp. 0086); or
Obtaining the auxiliary information to the network device through a connection setup message.
As per claim 32, Dai teaches the invention including a User Equipment (UE), comprising a processor and a memory storing therein a computer program (pp. 0103-0104), wherein the processor is configured to:
Obtain indication information sent by a network device, wherein the indication information is used to indicate the UE in the non-connected state to perform data transmission (pp. 0023, 0058, 0072-0074, 0079-0080); and
Trigger a non-connected state data transmission procedure to perform data transmission (pp. 0058-0059, 0072-0075, 0079-0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (Dai), US 2024/0365423, in view of obviousness.
As per claim 3, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Dai does not teach wherein the obtaining indication information sent by a network device comprises any one of:
Obtaining the indication information sent by the network device through a short message;
Obtaining the indication information sent by the network device through a paging message; or
Obtaining the indication information sent by the network device through the short message and the paging message.
However the concept of using short message and paging message for transmitting information is well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Dai and further utilize short message or paging messages commonly used in network communications field to transport the indication information to the destinations.
As per claim 17, Dai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Dai further teaches wherein the sending indication information to a UE comprises: in a case that a triggering condition is met, sending the indication information to the UE (pp. 0058-0059, 0072-0075, 0079-0080). Dai does not teach:
Wherein the triggering condition comprises at least one of:
A condition where data needs to be sent to the UE supporting non-connected state data transmission;
A condition where data needs to be sent to the UE configured with non-connected state data transmission; or
A condition where data needs to be sent through a bearer corresponding to the UE and supporting non-connected state data transmission; or
Wherein the sending indication information to a UE comprises any one of:
Sending the indication information through a short message;
Sending the indication information to the UE through a paging message; or
Sending the indication information to the UE through the short message and the paging message.
However the concept of using short message and paging message for transmitting information is well known and expected in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Dai and further utilize short message or paging messages commonly used in network communications field to transport the indication information to the destinations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yue et al, US 2024/0080928
Jeon et al, US 2022/0322419
Kim et al, US 2022/0232659
Bao et al, US 2022/0132589
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
September 8, 2026