This office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed October 10, 2024. Claims 1, 11 and 23 have been amended. Claims 20-22 and 24 have been cancelled. Claims 1-19, and 23 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 10/29/2024 and 4/9/2026 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al., (US 20250233647, hereinafter referred to as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, through a network-controlled repeater (NCR)-mobile termination (MT) of an NCR comprising the NCR-MT and an NCR-forwarding (Fwd) (abstract - receiving, by an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) from a base station, control information. Further, the method includes determining a first resource based on the control information. Further, the method includes receiving, by the NCR-MT from the base station, a downlink signal on the first resource; [0362] in step 3010, control information is received from a base station), a control message informing a beam index for an access link beam of the NCR-Fwd and a time resource, from a base station (Chen’s claim 8. “The method of claim 1, wherein side control information is received by the NCR-MT from the BS, and wherein the NCR-FWD is controlled based on the side control information”.); and
performing a forwarding operation through the NCR-Fwd based on the control message, wherein, in the access link, the NCR-Fwd performs a transmission operation or a reception operation at the time resource (Chen, claim 1: “A method performed by a network controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile terminal (NCR-MT) and an NCR forward (NCR-FWD) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a first uplink signal; and identifying a time resource for transmitting a second uplink signal for forwarding the first uplink signal to a base station (BS), wherein the NCR does not support simultaneous transmissions of the second uplink signal and a third uplink signal to the BS) and does not perform a transmission operation or a reception operation at any time resource other than the time resource.” [0362] In step 3030, signal is not transmitted and/or received on the first-time domain resources.).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving an uplink-downlink time division duplex (TDD) configuration ([0166] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a repeater transmitting and/or receiving signal according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 7, according to the above description, the repeater establishes a connection with the base station through the NCR-MT to obtain TDD configuration information. Here, the TDD configuration information is used to indicate which symbols are uplink, downlink or flexible.).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a forwarding direction of the access link beam is determined based on the time resource and the uplink-downlink TDD configuration ([0166] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a repeater transmitting and/or receiving signal according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 7, according to the above description, the repeater establishes a connection with the base station through the NCR-MT to obtain TDD configuration information. Here, the TDD configuration information is used to indicate which symbols are uplink, downlink or flexible.).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time resource is defined by: i) a starting slot defined by a slot offset, ii) a starting symbol defined by a symbol offset within a slot, and iii) a duration defined by a number of symbols ([0247] The repeater can obtain the information of the second time domain resources in the following ways: [0248] #1: The repeater obtains the starting position (for example, starting symbol) and the duration (symbol duration, symbol length) of the second time domain resources according to the information configured by the base station; further, a periodicity (for example, the periodicity of the time domain resources corresponding to the above-mentioned starting symbol and length) may also be included. [0249] #2: Time domain resources corresponding to “uplink” symbols and/or “downlink” symbols in slot format information (e.g., tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated) are configured by repeater according to UE-specific information. [0250] #3: According to the configuration information or indication information from the base station, the repeater determines the time domain resources (the second time domain resource) for the NCR-MT to transmit the corresponding signal or channels, for example, the time domain resources for the uplink channels or signal (e.g., PUCCH/PUSCH/PRACH/SRS) determined by NCR-MT according to the indication information of the base station.).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a downlink beam and a corresponding uplink beam in an access link of the NCR-Fwd have a same beam index ([0169] More specifically: [0170] The starting time of downlink reception of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the starting time of the first symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts downlink reception at the starting of the first symbol of the consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts downlink reception no later than the starting of the first symbol of the consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol). [0171] The ending time of downlink reception of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the ending time of the last symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops the downlink reception at the ending of the last symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops downlink reception no earlier than the ending of the last symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol). [0172] The starting time of downlink forwarding of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the starting time of the first symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts downlink forwarding at the starting of the first symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts downlink forwarding no later than the starting of the first symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the first downlink symbol). [0173] The ending time of downlink forwarding of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the ending time of the last symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops downlink forwarding at the ending of the last symbol of the consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops downlink forwarding no earlier than the ending of the last symbol of consecutive downlink symbols (for example, the fourth downlink symbol). [0174] The starting time of uplink reception of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the starting time of the first symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts uplink reception at the starting of the first symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts uplink reception no later than the starting of the first symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol). [0175] The ending time of uplink reception of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the ending time of the last symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops uplink reception at the ending of the last symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops the uplink reception no earlier than the ending of the last symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol). [0176] The starting time of uplink forwarding of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the starting time of the first symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts uplink forwarding at the starting of the first symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier starts uplink forwarding no later than the starting of the first symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the first uplink symbol). [0177] The ending time of uplink forwarding of the NCR-Amplifier is the same as the ending time of the last symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops uplink forwarding at the ending of the last symbol of the consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol); or, the NCR-Amplifier stops the uplink forwarding no earlier than the ending of the last symbol of consecutive uplink symbols (for example, the third uplink symbol)..
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message comprises a list of forwarding resources defined by a beam index and a time resource ([0212] The NCR-MT of the repeater determines the time domain resources where uplink symbols (for example, consecutive uplink symbols) are located (considering TA), and the NCR-Amplifier of the repeater performs uplink reception and/or forwarding in the NCR-Amplifier symbols overlapping with these time domain resources.).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the NCR-Fwd transmits or receives a signal only after the NCR-MT receives an indication of one or more beams to be used by the NCR-Fwd for transmission or reception over one or more time resources on an access link ([0241] FIG. 12A illustrates an example of a repeater transmitting and/or receiving signal according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. For one type of the repeater, (especially the repeater in which the NCR-MT and the NCR-Amplifier share a radio frequency link,) the NCR-Amplifier and NCR-MT cannot perform transmission at the same time. Take NCR-MT uplink transmission and NCR-Amplifier uplink reception/uplink forwarding as examples. The repeater determines that second time domain resources are configured (or indicated or reserved) as resources for NCR-MT uplink transmission. The repeater does not perform uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding on the resources. Alternatively, the repeater only performs the uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding of the repeater (NCR-Amplifier) on the first two uplink symbols.).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the forwarding operation comprises at least one of: a first forwarding operation to amplify a first signal received from a user equipment (UE) and forward the first signal to the base station, or a second forwarding operation to amplify a second signal received from the base station and forward the second signal to the UE ([0241] FIG. 12A illustrates an example of a repeater transmitting and/or receiving signal according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. For one type of the repeater, (especially the repeater in which the NCR-MT and the NCR-Amplifier share a radio frequency link,) the NCR-Amplifier and NCR-MT cannot perform transmission at the same time. Take NCR-MT uplink transmission and NCR-Amplifier uplink reception/uplink forwarding as examples. The repeater determines that second time domain resources are configured (or indicated or reserved) as resources for NCR-MT uplink transmission. The repeater does not perform uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding on the resources. Alternatively, the repeater only performs the uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding of the repeater (NCR-Amplifier) on the first two uplink symbols.).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the control message is a radio resource control (RRC) signal ([0181] As shown in FIG. 8A, there is a delay T.sub.1 between downlink reception and downlink forwarding of the repeater; there is also a delay T.sub.2 between uplink reception and uplink forwarding. Here, take T.sub.1 being equal to T.sub.2 as an example, which are collectively referred as T.sub.1. This delay can be a processing delay, that is, a hardware processing time. The value of T.sub.1 can be predefined or reported to the base station by the UE capability report. In addition, the delay may also be indicated by the base station (for example, indicated by RRC, MAC CE or DCI). For example, the delay can also be configured by the base station according to the corresponding UE capability report. In addition, the unit corresponding to T.sub.1 can be an absolute time, for example, millisecond, microsecond, sample point (T.sub.c); the unit corresponding to T.sub.1 can also be a slot, a symbol.).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access link beam is applied to the time resource ([0302] FIG. 18 illustrates an example of a repeater transmitting and/or receiving signal according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. FIG. 18 is similar to Example 7 of Embodiment 1, except that the uplink reception and/or uplink forwarding timing of the repeater (NCR-Amplifier) is determined according to the uplink grid of the NCR-MT. That is, take the uplink grid of the NCR-MT as reference, the NCR-Amplifier does not perform uplink forwarding and/or uplink reception on the time resources (symbols) reserved for (occupied by) the NCR-MT, or the NCR-Amplifier performs uplink forwarding and/or uplink reception on the first two symbols corresponding to the uplink grid.).
Claims 11-19 are similar to claims 1-9, respectively, therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 23 is similar to claim 1, therefor is rejected under the same rationale
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rudolf et al., WO 2023167556 - A method for operating a network-controlled repeater (NCR) includes receiving, by an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity on an NCR control link, information for a timing value for an NCR forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity. The method further includes determining, by the NCR, a timing adjustment for an NCR access link based on the timing value and a reference signal (RS). The method further includes receiving, by the NCR-Fwd entity on the NCR access link, a radio frequency (RF) signal based on the timing adjustment.
Yi et al., US 20240381475 - a mobile termination module (MT) configured to control a forward module (Fwd) of the first node; and the Fwd configured to forward a signal between a network device and a terminal equipment; wherein the MT accesses to the network as a terminal equipment via an RRC (Radio Resource Control) connection management procedure, reports information indicating the type of the first node to the network device, and performs authorization with a core network via the network device, and the Fwd is started to serve user equipment(s).
Abedini et al., US 20220053486 - A repeater receives control signaling including control information in association with traffic relayed through the repeater, between a first wireless communication device and a second wireless communication device, the repeater obtains a time division duplex state from the control information, obtains a fronthaul-link transmission control indicator (TCI) state index from the control information, obtains an access-link TCI state index from the control information, obtains a time domain resource allocation from the control information, and configures a relay unit of the repeater to communicate the traffic between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device based the control information comprising at least one of: the time division duplex state, the fronthaul-link TCI state index, the access-link TCI state index, and the time domain resource allocation.
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458