Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 30, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
One or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to:
output, for transmission to a network, an indication of a mobile terminated (MT)-small data transmission (SDT) capability;
receive, from the network, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes an MT- SDT configuration;
However, there is no correlation between the steps of:
output, for transmission to a network, an indication of a mobile terminated (MT)-small data transmission (SDT) capability;
receive, from the network, a radio resource control (RRC) message that includes an MT- SDT configuration;
Therefore, the intended limitations show no correlation between the steps output…. and receive……as receive, form the network, a RRC message includes an MT-SDT configuration is not tied with the first limitation.
Dependent claims 22 – 29 does not overcome the deficiency of the independent claim.
Claim 30 starts by receive, from a network….step, without any prior condition. Here, what triggers a network to send RRC message – i.e., there is no prior condition, that requires a network to send RRC message – makes the claim as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention
Dependent claims 31 - 38 does not overcome the deficiency of the independent claim.
Claim 34, output the MAC CE as the paging message using a physical uplink shared PUSCH resource.
Claim 34 depends on claim 31, and in claim 31, an apparatus receives a paging message from a network. How come, the apparatus can output the MAC CE as the paging message using a physical uplink shared PUSCH resource? Basically, paging message in claim 31 is in downward direction – i.e., from network to user, equipment, at the same time the paging message in claim 34 is in upward direction – i.e., from user equipment to network – makes the claim as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23 – 25, 30 – 35, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shi US PGPub: US 2023/0012119 A1 Jan. 12, 2023 and in view of
Lei US PGPub: US 2025/0048485 A1 Feb. 6, 2025.
Regarding claim 21, Shi discloses,
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed (user equipment 101 – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A. The apparatus 70 may be a user equipment, a base station or an AMF entity of core network. The apparatus 70 may include at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, having a receiving circuitry 701, a transmitting circuitry 703, and a processor 705 coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium – Fig. 7, paragraph 0121. Method and apparatus for data transmission, where the user equipment transmits capability information to the core network for indicating to the core network at least one downlink data transmission procedure supported by the user equipment. The core network transmits a first paging message to the base station. The base station transmits a second paging message to the user equipment. The user equipment selects a downlink data transmission procedure from the at least one downlink data transmission procedure after receiving the second paging message – ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004 - 0008), cause processing circuitry to:
output, for transmission to a network, an indication of a mobile terminated capability (transmit, by UE, capability information to CN for indicating to CN at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, paragraphs 0036, 0083. UE 101 may need to report its capability information 101C for indicating to CN 103 at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE 101 – paragraph 0031. UE 101 may implicitly transmit the preference procedure by transmitting an indication that indicates a service type which UE 101 requires – paragraphs 0034, 0036);
receive, from the network, a radio resource control RRC message (transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. Here, the UE receives configuration information from CN – i.e., a radio resource control RRC message - paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083) that includes configuration (determine, by CN, UE configuration information for UE according to the capability information of UE. Transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. The UE configuration information may include a determined DL data transmission procedure for UE under an idle status or an inactive status – paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083);
receive, from the network, a paging message to indicate a presence of downlink data for a user equipment UE (CN transmitting a first paging message to BS which serves UE, and the BS transmitting a second paging message to UE – paragraphs 0039, 00067, 0084); and
perform an MT-SDT operation based on the paging message and the MT-SDT configuration (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, output, for transmission to a network, an indication of a “mobile terminated MT-small data transmission SDT capability” and
a radio resource control RRC message that includes “an MT- SDT configuration”.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 23, Shi discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 21, wherein the MT-SDT capability indicates the UE is capable of performing a first MT-SDT procedure that includes a mobile originated MO-SDT transmission or is capable of performing a second MT-SDT procedure that does not include an MO-SDT transmission.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 24, Shi discloses,
the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of wherein the MT-SDT capability indicates whether the UE supports one or more downlink DL- semi-persistent scheduling SPS configurations in an MT-SDT procedure (UE 101 may need to report its capability information 101C for indicating to CN 103 at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE 101 – paragraph 0031. UE 101 may implicitly transmit the preference procedure by transmitting an indication that indicates a service type which UE 101 requires – paragraphs 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 25, Shi discloses,
the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 21, wherein the MT-SDT capability is per UE (different UEs or UE services may support different DL data transmission procedures. UE 101 may need to report its capability information 101C for indicating to CN 103 at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE 101 – paragraph 0031. UE 101 may implicitly transmit the preference procedure by transmitting an indication that indicates a service type which UE 101 requires – paragraphs 0034, 0036), band, frequency range, or duplexing scheme.
Regarding claim 30, Shi discloses,
an apparatus comprising: (user equipment 101 – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A. The apparatus 70 may be a user equipment, a base station or an AMF entity of core network. The apparatus 70 may include at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, having a receiving circuitry 701, a transmitting circuitry 703, and a processor 705 coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium – Fig. 7, paragraph 0121. Method and apparatus for data transmission, where the user equipment transmits capability information to the core network for indicating to the core network at least one downlink data transmission procedure supported by the user equipment. The core network transmits a first paging message to the base station. The base station transmits a second paging message to the user equipment. The user equipment selects a downlink data transmission procedure from the at least one downlink data transmission procedure after receiving the second paging message – ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004 – 0008) processing circuitry to:
receive, from a network, a radio resource control RRC message (transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. Here, the UE receives configuration information from CN – i.e., a radio resource control RRC message - paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083) that includes configuration (determine, by CN, UE configuration information for UE according to the capability information of UE. Transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. The UE configuration information may include a determined DL data transmission procedure for UE under an idle status or an inactive status – paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083);
receive, from the network via the RF circuitry, a paging message to indicate a presence of downlink data for a user equipment UE (CN transmitting a first paging message to BS which serves UE, and the BS transmitting a second paging message to UE – paragraphs 0039, 00067, 0084); and
monitor an MT-SDT session, wherein the MT-SDT session begins a period of time after receipt of the paging message (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084. Here, the user equipment selects a downlink data transmission procedure from the at least one downlink data transmission procedure after receiving the second paging message, obviously has a period of time after receipt of the paging message - ABSTRACT); and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry to enable communication (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, a radio resource control RRC message that includes “a mobile- terminated MT-small data transmission SDT configuration” and
monitor, “a physical downlink control channel PDCCH” during an MT-SDT session.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 31, Shi discloses,
the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: generate, for transmission, a feedback message to indicate a successful receipt of the paging message (the UE service type may indicate that UE 101 may transmit the feedback corresponding to DL transmission. In other words, according to the UE service type, UE 101 may be required to transmit the feedback corresponding to the DL transmission – paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 32, Shi discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive, in the RRC message, information to configure physical uplink control channel PUCCH or sounding reference signal SRS resources; and generate the feedback message as a PUCCH or SRS transmission using the PUCCH or SRS resources.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission, reads on the claimed feature, the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive, in the RRC message,or sounding reference signal SRS resources; and generate the feedback message as or SRS transmission using theor SRS resources (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used, reads on the claimed feature, the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive, in the RRC message, information to configure physical uplink control channel PUCCH or or or
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state, reads on the claimed feature, the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive, in the RRC message, information to configure physical uplink control channel PUCCH or feedback message as a PUCCH or or
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0110, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 33, Shi discloses,
the apparatus of claim 32, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: select a downlink beam (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, select the PUCCH or SRS resources based on an association between the downlink beam and the PUCCH or SRS resources.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 34, Shi discloses,
the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: generate a media access control MAC control element CE; and output the MAC CE as the paging message (transmit, by UE, capability information to CN for indicating to CN at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, paragraphs 0036, 0083. UE 101 may need to report its capability information 101C for indicating to CN 103 at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE 101 – paragraph 0031. UE 101 may implicitly transmit the preference procedure by transmitting an indication that indicates a service type which UE 101 requires – paragraphs 0034, 0036),
but, does not disclose, using a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH resource.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 35, Shi discloses all the claimed features,
the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: monitor the PDCCH (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, determine a cell-radio network temporary identity C-RNTI based on the RRC message or
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
In the type 1 CG configuration, the network may RRC configure one or more of: a configured scheduling radio network temporary identifier CS-RNT for retransmission, a periodicity of the type 1 CG, a time domain offset representing offset of a resource in the time domain, a time domain allocation representing allocation of configured uplink grant in time domain which may include starting symbol and length, a number of HARQ processes for the CG, or the like (paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 39, Shi discloses
a method (CN 103 combined with BS 102 – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A. The apparatus 70 may be a user equipment, a base station or an AMF entity of core network. The apparatus 70 may include at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, having a receiving circuitry 701, a transmitting circuitry 703, and a processor 705 coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium – Fig. 7, paragraph 0121. Method and apparatus for data transmission, where the user equipment transmits capability information to the core network for indicating to the core network at least one downlink data transmission procedure supported by the user equipment. The core network transmits a first paging message to the base station. The base station transmits a second paging message to the user equipment. The user equipment selects a downlink data transmission procedure from the at least one downlink data transmission procedure after receiving the second paging message – ABSTRACT, paragraphs 0004 – 0008) comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment UE, an indication of a mobile terminated capability (transmit, by UE, capability information to CN for indicating to CN at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, paragraphs 0036, 0083. UE 101 may need to report its capability information 101C for indicating to CN 103 at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE 101 – paragraph 0031. UE 101 may implicitly transmit the preference procedure by transmitting an indication that indicates a service type which UE 101 requires – paragraphs 0034, 0036);
generating, for transmission to the UE, a radio resource control RRC message (transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. Here, the UE receives configuration information from CN – i.e., a radio resource control RRC message - paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083) that includes configuration (determine, by CN, UE configuration information for UE according to the capability information of UE. Transmit, by CN, the UE configuration information to UE. The UE configuration information may include a determined DL data transmission procedure for UE under an idle status or an inactive status – paragraphs 0037, 0065, 0083);
receiving data to be transmitted to the UE; and generating, for transmission to the UE, a paging message to indicate presence of the data to be transmitted to the UE in an MT-SDT transmission (CN transmitting a first paging message to BS which serves UE, and the BS transmitting a second paging message to UE – paragraphs 0039, 00067, 0084. Select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, receiving, from a user equipment UE, an indication of a “mobile terminated MT-small data transmission SDT capability” and
a radio resource control RRC message that includes “an MT- SDT configuration”.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 40, Shi discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 39, further comprising: receiving a mobile originated MO-SDT transmission from the UE; and generating the MT-SDT transmission based on the MO-SDT transmission.
Lei teaches, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS are provided. The method may include transmitting, to a base station, a capability indication representing support of MO-SDT and MT-SDT; receiving, from the base station, one or more configurations for the MO-SDT and the MT-SDT in a radio resource control RRC message (ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0110, 0118, 0128).
A UE is configured to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space - e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space, during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels (paragraph 0067).
A single RRC release message 974 may terminate the SDT and the MBS. In some aspects, in addition to data or control information associated with SDT and MBS, paging early indication PEI, wake up signal WUS, DL RS including tracking reference signal TRS, SSB, or positioning reference signal PRS, UL RS including PRACH or SRS, may also be transmitted on DL/UL during joint SDT and MBS session - e.g., as part of the subsequent transmission (paragraph 0117).
The UE may transmit DM-RS for the physical uplink control channel PUCCH and DM-RS for the physical uplink shared channel PUSCH. The PUSCH DM-RS may be transmitted in the first one or two symbols of the PUSCH. The PUCCH DM-RS may be transmitted in different configurations depending on whether short or long PUCCHs are transmitted and depending on the particular PUCCH format used (paragraphs 0068, 0069).
The UE may have PUCCH resources for SDT while remaining in RRC inactive, and the UE may use the PUCCH resources to transmit a HARQ NACK for the MBS while remaining in the RRC inactive state (paragraph 0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of Shi (Shi, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of Shi, would have incorporated, methods and apparatuses for supporting mobile-originated small data transmission MO-SDT and mobile-terminated small data transmission MT-SDT or point-to-multi-point P2M multicast and broadcast services MBS of Lei (Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 9A/908, 10/1008, 12/1204, 13/1304, paragraphs 0067, 0102, 0110, 0117, 0118, 0128) for there exists a need for further improvements in 5G NR technology, and these improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies (Lei, paragraph 0004) and the joint support for MBS and MT-SDT enables the network to multiplex MBS and MT-SDT in a downlink transmission to the UE, which may result in reduced PDCCH monitoring for UE power saving, system overhead reduction on DL, and/or latency reduction (Lei, paragraph 0105).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shi US PGPub: US 2023/0012119 A1 Jan. 12, 2023 and in view of
Lei US PGPub: US 2025/0048485 A1 Feb. 6, 2025 and further in view of
Futaki US PGPub: US 2024/0292467 A1 Aug. 29, 2024.
Regarding claim 22, Shi discloses,
the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to:
generate information element IE to include the MT- SDT capability (transmit, by UE, capability information to CN for indicating to CN at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, paragraphs 0036, 0083); and
output the AS capability IE for transmission to the network (transmit, by UE, capability information to CN for indicating to CN at least one DL data transmission procedure supported by UE – Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, paragraphs 0036, 0083),
but, does not disclose, generate “an access stratum AS capability information” element IE to include the MT- SDT capability.
Futaki teaches, a NAS layer 202 of a radio terminal 1 passes information about a first feature to an AS layer 208. The AS layer 208 determines a feature combination including the first feature derived from the information and one or more other features. The AS layer 208 selects a random access resource from a first set of random access resources associated with the determined feature combination. The AS layer 208 performs a random access preamble transmission on the selected random access resource (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0066, 0069, 0085).
If the 5GMM mode is 5GMM-CONNECTED or 5GMM-CONNECTED with RRC inactive indication and the access attempt is “an uplink user data packet to be sent for a PDU session with suspended user-plane resources”, the NAS layer 202 requests the AS layer 208 to make a transition to RRC_CONNECTED or resumption of the RRC connection in order to transmit an uplink user data packet - i.e., Mobile Originated MO data (paragraph 0069).
The AS layer 208 sends an MT-SDT indication to the NAS layer 202 (paragraph 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of combined Shi and Lei (combined Shi and Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of combined Shi and Lei, would have incorporated, a NAS layer 202 of a radio terminal 1 passes information about a first feature to an AS layer 208 of Futaki (Futaki, ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, paragraphs 0066, 0069, 0085, 0111) for it is not clear how the interaction between the NAS layer of the UE and the AS layer of the UE is performed for determining a feature combination or selecting RACH resources according to the feature combination (Futaki, paragraphs 0024 - 0026).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shi US PGPub: US 2023/0012119 A1 Jan. 12, 2023 and in view of
Lei US PGPub: US 2025/0048485 A1 Feb. 6, 2025 and further in view of
Shih US PGPub: US 2022/0022276 A1 Jan. 20, 2022.
Regarding claim 36, Shi discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: start an SDT timer when the UE begins monitoring of the PDCCH; and terminate the monitoring of the PDCCH based on an expiration of the SDT timer.
Shih teaches, method and apparatus for selecting bandwidth part BWP for subsequent transmission in pre-configured resources based small data transmission SDT in a wireless communication system (paragraph 0002).
The UE may start the timer in response to - and/or upon, initiation of the SDT procedure. In some examples, the UE may consider the SDT procedure to be unsuccessfully completed in response to - and/or upon, expiration of the timer (paragraphs 0510, 0584).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of combined Shi and Lei (combined Shi and Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of combined Shi and Lei, would have incorporated, the UE may start the timer in response to - and/or upon, initiation of the SDT procedure and stops monitoring upon expiration of timer of Shih (paragraphs 0510, 0584) for efficient and flexible for low throughput short data bursts; support efficient signalling mechanisms - e.g. signalling is less than payload and reduce signalling overhead in general
Signalling overhead from INACTIVE state UEs for small data packets is a general problem and will become a critical issue with more UEs in NR not only for network performance and efficiency but also for the UE battery performance, where any device that has intermittent small data packets in INACTIVE state will benefit from enabling small data transmission in INACTIVE (Shih, paragraph 0318 - 0320).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Shi US PGPub: US 2023/0012119 A1 Jan. 12, 2023 and in view of
Lei US PGPub: US 2025/0048485 A1 Feb. 6, 2025 and further in view of
Shih US PGPub: US 2022/0086899 A1, Mar. 17, 2022.
Regarding claim 37, Shi discloses,
monitor the PDCCH (select, by UE, the DL data transmission procedure according to the procedure indication – paragraphs 0039, 0067, 0084),
but, does not disclose, the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the processing circuitry is further to: receive, in the RRC message, configuration information to provide a semi-persistent scheduling SPS configuration; determine an SPS occasion based on the SPS configuration; and monitor the PDCCH “in the SPS occasion”.
Shih teaches, method and apparatus for small data transmission SDT in a wireless communication system (ABSTRACT, paragraph 0002).
The IE CSI-ReportConfig is used to configure a periodic or semi-persistent report sent on PUCCH on the cell in which the CSI-ReportConfig is included, or to configure a semi-persistent or aperiodic report sent on PUSCH triggered by DCI received on the cell in which the CSI-ReportConfig is included - in this case, the cell on which the report is sent is determined by the received DCI (paragraphs 0310, 0381).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and apparatus for data transmission of combined Shi and Lei (combined Shi and Lei, ABSTRACT, Figs. 4D, 5A, 6A, 7 paragraphs 0004 – 0008), wherein the system of combined Shi and Lei, would have incorporated, configure a periodic or semi-persistent report of Shih (paragraphs 0310, 0381) for NR supports RRC_INACTIVE state and UEs with infrequent – i.e., periodic and/or non-periodic, data transmission are generally maintained by the network in the RRC_INACTIVE state (Shih, paragraph 0314).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 – 29, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, along with applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Kim US PGPub: US 2020/0100088 A1 Mar. 26, 2020.
Method for transmitting and receiving data through relay in wireless communication system.
The MME may perform various functions such as NAS signaling security, Access Stratum (AS) security control, Core Network (CN) inter-node signaling for supporting mobility between 3GPP access network, IDLE mode UE reachability (including performing paging retransmission and control), Tracking Area Identity (TAI) management (for UEs in idle and active mode), selecting PDN GW and SGW, selecting MME for handover of which the MME is changed, selecting SGSN for handover to 2G or 3G 3GPP access network, roaming, authentication, bearer management function including dedicated bearer establishment, Public Warning System (PWS) (including Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS) and Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS), supporting message transmission and so on.
Jeon US PGPub: US 2023/0363041 A1 Nov. 9, 2023.
Downlink control reception based on small data transmission, where a wireless device receives a radio resource control (RRC) release message indicating one or more configured grants for small data transmission (SDT) in an RRC inactive state and one or more synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs) used for the SDT. The wireless device receives downlink control information based on a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port for downlink control channel reception being quasi co-located with an SSB, of the one or more SSBs, selected during a most recent SDT, wherein the downlink control information indicates uplink radio resources. The wireless device transmits a transport block via the uplink radio resources.
Watts US PGPub: US 2023/0284289 A1 Sep. 7, 2023.
Idle/inactive mobility for small data transmission. A WTRU operating in an inactive state may be associated with a first cell. The WTRU may be configured to receive configuration information for a time period associated with small data transmission failure detection and a search space associated with small data transmission. The WTRU may be configured to send a first small data transmission and start the time period. The WTRU may be configured to monitor for a downlink transmission in the search space during the time period.
Shrestha US PGPub: US 2022/0201744 A1 Jun. 23, 2022.
Mobile-terminated MT early data transmission EDT in control plane and user plane solutions. a method involves receiving, by a node of the RAN, an MT EDT indication and information indicative of downlink data for transmission to a user equipment (UE) served by the RAN. The method further involves based on the information indicative of the downlink data, determining to initiate MT EDT to transmit the downlink data to the UE. The method also involves generating a Radio Resource Control (RRC) paging message comprising: (i) the MT EDT indication, (ii) an indication of a contention free (CF) physical random access channel (PRACH) resource, and (iii) an indication of an EDT-radio network temporary identifier (EDT-RNTI). Further, the method involves transmitting the RRC paging message to the UE.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642