Allowable Subject Matter
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 3, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending in the application. The objections to the Specification and Drawings previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed July 14, 2025 have been overcome with applicant’s corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0193347 (Yoshimura) in view of US 2011/0108177 (Zarak).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimura discloses a method for producing a repaired pneumatic tire, comprising a carcass (3) extending in a toroidal shape between a pair of bead portions (8) and a belt (5) consisting of one or more layers disposed on an outer side in the tire radial direction of a crown portion of the carcass (see Figure 9, paragraphs 0087-0091), wherein the method includes:
A placement process of placing a repair patch (32), comprising a reinforcement layer consisting of a plurality of reinforcement cords arranged in parallel with each other and surrounded by unvulcanized rubber on an area to be repaired (see paragraph 0166); and
A vulcanization process vulcanizing a tire with the repair patch placed thereon (see paragraph 0136).
Yoshimura does not specifically state that in the repaired tire, an outer end in the tire radial direction of the repair patch is located on an inner side in the tire width direction than an end of a maximum width belt layer that has the largest width in the tire width direction among the one or more belt layers and an outer side in the tire width direction than a circumferential main groove located on outermost in the tire width direction, and an inner end in the tire radial direction of the repair patch is located on an outer side in the tire radial direction than a tire maximum width position; however, the exact location of a tire repair would depend upon where the damaged area is located. As demonstrated in the Zarak reference, it is known to place repair patches (15) on tires in shoulder regions where an outer side in the tire width direction than a circumferential main groove located on outermost in the tire width direction and positioned at an outer side in the tire radial direction than a tire maximum width position (see Figure 1). While the Zarak Figure does not show a belt layer, when providing a patch as shown by Zarak to the Yoshimura tire, there would be overlap between the outer end of the repair patch and the inner side in the tire width direction of an end of a maximum width belt layer that has the largest width in the tire width direction among one or more belt layers, since Yoshimura shows the widest belt layer is approximately aligned with the tread end (see Yoshimura Figure 9), and the inner end of the patch is located on an outer side in the tire radial direction than a maximum width position (see annotated Zarak Figure 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimura also discloses the method further includes, before the vulcanization process,
A tread rubber attachment process attaching unvulcanized tread rubber to the outer side in the tire radial direction of the belt (see paragraph 0163).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Yoshimura also discloses that a mold is used in the vulcanization process (see paragraph 0018).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being US 2019/0193347 (Yoshimura) in view of US 2011/0108177 (Zarak) further in view of WO 2019/116612 (Oda et al.).
Yoshimura in view of Zarak discloses a tire as discussed above.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, the references do not disclose the temperature of the mold during vulcanization or a pressure of hot water in a vulcanizing bladder. However, Oda discloses a method for tire vulcanizing where a vulcanization mold is heated to a temperature of 160-190 degrees C, which overlaps the claimed range of 130-170 degrees C, and a pressure of hot water (steam) in a vulcanizing bladder has an pressure of 0.01-2.0 MPa or less, which overlaps the claimed range of 1.0-2.5 MPa (see lines 171-172 and 363-380 machine translation). Oda teaches that utilizing such vulcanization parameters improves vulcanization efficiency (see lines 364-369 machine translation), and the quality of the tire obtained after vulcanization can be improved (see lines 384-387 machine translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the vulcanization of Yoshimura at the temperature and pressure as taught by Oda, in order to improve vulcanization efficiency and improve the quality of the tire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENDY L BOSS/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749