DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 10/11/2024.
Claims 17, 21-23 and 25 are canceled.
Claims 1-16, 18-20 and 24 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on October 11, 2024 (10/11/2024) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed on February 10, 2026 (2/10/2026) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-15, 18, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462).
Regarding Claim 1, Pezeshki teaches a method of communication, comprising: determining, at a terminal device, channel state information and channel quality information based on a measurement on a set of reference signals from a network device (Fig. 5 and 6, Par. [0066] “For instance, the UE may calculate one or more feedback parameters, such as CQI, RI, PMI, or RSRP, and multiplex the one or more feedback parameters with the compressed data (codeword) for transmission to the BS” and Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback” and Par. [0068] “The UE may also receive one or more reference signals 604 (e.g., associated with reference signal 506)… At block 606, the UE may derive the one or more measurements based on the one or more reference signals 604"),
determining a compression method at least based on the channel quality information; (Par. [0057] “The UE 502 may perform one or more measurements and compress the one or more measurements using an AI encoder 508 (e.g., via one of AI module(s) 512). In certain aspects, the UE 502 may also receive, from the BS 504, a configuration 510 to be used for the compression” and Par. [0060] “In certain aspects, the configuration 510 may be an indication of a compression ratio to be used for the compression of the one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506” and Par. [0061] “In some aspects, the BS may indicate a compression ratio based on a type of the one or more parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or a combination thereof)” and Par. [0068] “As illustrated, the UE 120 may receive a configuration 602 (e.g., associated with configuration 510) for compression of one or more measurements”)
compressing the channel state information based on the compression method; (Par. [0057] “The UE 502 may perform one or more measurements and compress the one or more measurements using an AI encoder 508 (e.g., via one of AI module(s) 512). In certain aspects, the UE 502 may also receive, from the BS 504, a configuration 510 to be used for the compression. As illustrated, the AI encoder 508 may compress one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506 and generate a codeword 514, in accordance with the configuration 510” and Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback”),
and transmitting, to the network device, the channel quality information and the compressed channel state information (Par. [0057] “As illustrated, the AI encoder 508 may compress one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506 and generate a codeword 514, in accordance with the configuration 510. The codeword 514 may be transmitted to the BS 504 via a transmitter 516” Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback” and Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof” and Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
Regarding Claim 2, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein the channel state information comprises at least information of a precoding matrix (Par. [0050] “At block 320, the BS may communicate with the UE using one or more parameters (e.g., channel quality information (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI)…)” and Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof”)
Regarding Claim 3, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein the compression method is an artificial intelligence or machine learning based compression comprising at least an encoding part of an autoencoder or a transformer (Par. [0046] “In some implementations, an autoencoder may be used for transmission of feedback (e.g., channel state information (CSI) feedback) using machine learning (e.g., also referred to as artificial intelligence (AI)). CSI feedback in massive multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) (e.g., frequency division duplexing (FDD)) systems have overhead for CSI feedback”).
Regarding Claim 11, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein transmitting the channel quality information and the compressed channel state information comprises: transmitting the channel quality information in a first part of a channel state information report; (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”),
and transmitting the compressed channel state information in a second part of the channel state information report, the channel quality information in the first part being used to indicate compression information of the compressed channel state information in the second part (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110. At block 614, the BS may derive communication parameters based on the codeword 612”).
Regarding Claim 12, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 11, further teaching further comprising: transmitting, in the first part of the channel state information report, at least one compression parameter in a set of compression parameters, the set of compression parameters being associated with the compression method (Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof” and Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110. At block 614, the BS may derive communication parameters based on the codeword 612”).
Regarding Claim 13, Pezeshki teaches a communication method, comprising: receiving, at a network device and from a terminal device, channel quality information and compressed channel state information; (Par. [0057] “As illustrated, the AI encoder 508 may compress one or more measurements corresponding to the reference signal 506 and generate a codeword 514, in accordance with the configuration 510. The codeword 514 may be transmitted to the BS 504 via a transmitter 516” and Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback” and Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof” and Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
determining a compression method applied for the compressed channel state information based on the channel quality information; (Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback” and Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof” and Par. [0070] “At block 614, the BS may derive communication parameters based on the codeword 612”).
and recovering channel state information based on the compressed channel state information and the compression method (Par. [0067] “Moreover, the aspects described herein are applicable to any type of feedback from the UE and is not limited to specific examples described herein, such as CSI feedback” and Par. [0070] “For example, the BS may include the AI decoder 520 having one or more AI modules 522 to decompress the codeword 612 and generate a decompressed codeword. The decompressed codeword may be used to calculate the one or more communication parameters. In some aspects, the one or more communication parameters may be calculated using the codeword 612, as well as the one or more parameters (e.g., CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP) multiplexed with the codeword”).
Regarding Claim 14, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, further teaching wherein the channel state information comprises at least information of a precoding matrix (Par. [0050] “At block 320, the BS may communicate with the UE using one or more parameters (e.g., channel quality information (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI)…)” and Par. [0069] “In some cases, optionally at block 610, the UE may multiplex one or more parameters with the codeword 612. These parameters may include CQI, PMI, RI, RSRP, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding Claim 15, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, further teaching wherein the compression method is an artificial intelligence or machine learning based compression comprising at least an encoding part of an autoencoder or a transformer, (Par. [0046] “In some implementations, an autoencoder may be used for transmission of feedback (e.g., channel state information (CSI) feedback) using machine learning (e.g., also referred to as artificial intelligence (AI)). CSI feedback in massive multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) (e.g., frequency division duplexing (FDD)) systems have overhead for CSI feedback”),
and wherein the recovering comprises at least a decoding part of an autoencoder or a transformer (Fig. 5, See ‘Decoder’ and Par. [0070] “At block 614, the BS may derive communication parameters based on the codeword 612. For example, the BS may include the AI decoder 520 having one or more AI modules 522 to decompress the codeword 612 and generate a decompressed codeword”).
Regarding Claim 18, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, further teaching receiving, from the terminal device, at least one compression parameter in the set of compression parameters (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
Regarding Claim 20, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, further teaching transmitting, to the terminal device, an indication of the compression method (Par. [0069] “As illustrated, the UE 120 may receive a configuration 602 (e.g., associated with configuration 510) for compression of one or more measurements. At block 606, the UE may derive the one or more measurements based on the one or more reference signals 604, and at block 608, generate a codeword 612 in accordance with the configuration for compression”).
Regarding Claim 24, Pezeshki teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor configured to cause the terminal device to perform the method according to claim 1 (Fig. 2, See 120 UE and 280 Controller/Processor, and Par. [0044] “The controller/processor 280 and/or other processors and modules at the UE 120a may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462) in view of Gutman et al. (US 2021/0050981).
Regarding Claim 4, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not teach wherein determining the compression method comprises: determining a set of compression parameter values based on at least one of the following: a mapping between the channel quality information and at least one compression parameter value in the set of compression parameter values, or a mapping among at least two compression parameter values in the set of compression parameter values.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman teaches wherein determining the compression method comprises: determining a set of compression parameter values based on at least one of the following: a mapping between the channel quality information and at least one compression parameter value in the set of compression parameter values, or a mapping among at least two compression parameter values in the set of compression parameter values (Par. [0064] “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a table 200 showing an example mapping of subband differential CQI values to different offset values. As illustrated in FIG. 2, to reduce overhead, the number of offset levels configured to be indicated may be low (e.g., four offset levels)” and Par. [0076] “In the above examples, UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme for reporting CQI for a set of subbands based on a frequency correlation between the set of subbands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s subband mapping with Pezeshki’s compression method to improve the efficiency in reporting channel state feedback.
Regarding Claim 5, Pezeshki in view of Gutman teaches the invention of Claim 4, with Gutman further teaching wherein the set of compression parameter values comprises at least one of the following: a compression ratio, the number of quantization bits, or the number of compressed bits (Par. [0076] “In the above examples, UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme for reporting CQI for a set of subbands based on a frequency correlation between the set of subbands. UE 115-a may then report different CQI indices using different numbers of bits, where the indication of the CQI index for one subband is an offset of the CQI index indicated for a previous, adjacent subband”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s different number of compression bits with Pezeshki’s compression method to improve the efficiency in reporting channel state feedback.
Regarding Claim 6, Pezeshki in view of Gutman teaches the invention of Claim 4, with Pezeshki further teaching transmitting, to the network device, at least one compression parameter in the set of compression parameters (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
Regarding Claim 7, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, but does not teach wherein determining the compression method comprises: in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below first threshold quality, determining a first predetermined compression method as the compression method; in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below second threshold quality, determining that no compression is applied; or in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is above third threshold quality, determining a second predetermined compression method as the compression method.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman teaches wherein determining the compression method comprises: in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below first threshold quality, determining a first predetermined compression method as the compression method; (Par. [0076] “In the above examples, UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme for reporting CQI for a set of subbands based on a frequency correlation between the set of subbands”),
in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below second threshold quality, determining that no compression is applied;
or in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is above third threshold quality, determining a second predetermined compression method as the compression method (Fig. 5, Par. [0075] “UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme of the configured encoding schemes (e.g., the three encoding schemes described with reference to FIG. 5) based on determining which of the encoding schemes most accurately represents the frequency correlation between identified CQI indices (e.g., which probabilities for reporting CQI indices are closest to the actual CQI probabilities determined based on the correlation between CQI indices)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s encoding schemes based on channel quality information with Pezeshki’s compression method to improve the efficiency in reporting channel state feedback.
Regarding Claim 16, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, but does not teach wherein determining the compression method comprises: determining a set of compression parameter values based on at least one of the following: a mapping between the channel quality information and at least one compression parameter in the set of compression parameter values, or a mapping among at least two compression parameter values in the set of compression parameter values.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman teaches wherein determining the compression method comprises: determining a set of compression parameter values based on at least one of the following: a mapping between the channel quality information and at least one compression parameter value in the set of compression parameter values, or a mapping among at least two compression parameter values in the set of compression parameter values (Par. [0064] “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a table 200 showing an example mapping of subband differential CQI values to different offset values. As illustrated in FIG. 2, to reduce overhead, the number of offset levels configured to be indicated may be low (e.g., four offset levels)” and Par. [0076] “In the above examples, UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme for reporting CQI for a set of subbands based on a frequency correlation between the set of subbands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s subband mapping with Pezeshki’s compression method to improve the efficiency in reporting channel state feedback.
Regarding Claim 19, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 13, but does not teach wherein determining the compression method comprises: in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below first threshold quality, determining a first predetermined compression method as the compression method; in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below second threshold quality, determining that no compression is applied; or in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is above third threshold quality, determining a second predetermined compression method as the compression method.
In the same field of endeavor, Gutman teaches wherein determining the compression method comprises: in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below first threshold quality, determining a first predetermined compression method as the compression method; (Par. [0076] “In the above examples, UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme for reporting CQI for a set of subbands based on a frequency correlation between the set of subbands”),
in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is below second threshold quality, determining that no compression is applied;
or in accordance with a determination that channel quality indicated by the channel quality information is above third threshold quality, determining a second predetermined compression method as the compression method (Fig. 5, Par. [0075] “UE 115-a may select an encoding scheme of the configured encoding schemes (e.g., the three encoding schemes described with reference to FIG. 5) based on determining which of the encoding schemes most accurately represents the frequency correlation between identified CQI indices (e.g., which probabilities for reporting CQI indices are closest to the actual CQI probabilities determined based on the correlation between CQI indices)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gutman’s encoding schemes based on channel quality information with Pezeshki’s compression method to improve the efficiency in reporting channel state feedback.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462) in view of Yang et al. (US 2025/0253901).
Regarding Claim 8, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein compressing the channel state information comprises: transmitting, to the network device, an indication of the compression method; (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
Pezeshki, however, does not explicitly teach starting the compressing of the channel state information at a predetermined timing after the transmission of the indication or a reception of a confirmation for the indication.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches starting the compressing of the channel state information at a predetermined timing after the transmission of the indication or a reception of a confirmation for the indication (Par. [0141] In step 803, in response to that the scenario information satisfies a usage condition of a compression algorithm in the algorithm list, the compression algorithm is determined to be the target compression algorithm” and Par. [0147] “Optionally, the terminal device may determine a compression algorithm to be the target compression algorithm in response to that the time information of the terminal device in the scenario information satisfies a time range in the usage condition of the compression algorithm in the algorithm list” and Par. [0151] “In step 804, the CSI is compressed using the target compression algorithm to obtain compressed CSI”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s time range with Pezeshki’s compression method to overcome attenuation and loss during performance.
Regarding Claim 9, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching wherein compressing the channel state information comprises: receiving, from the network device, an indication of the compression method; (Par. [0068] “As illustrated, the UE 120 may receive a configuration 602 (e.g., associated with configuration 510) for compression of one or more measurements”).
Pezeshki, however, does not explicitly teach starting the compressing of the channel state information at a predetermined timing after the reception of the indication or a transmission of an acknowledgement for the indication.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches starting the compressing of the channel state information at a predetermined timing after the reception of the indication or a transmission of an acknowledgement for the indication (Par. [0141] “In step 803, in response to that the scenario information satisfies a usage condition of a compression algorithm in the algorithm list, the compression algorithm is determined to be the target compression algorithm” and Par. [0147] “Optionally, the terminal device may determine a compression algorithm to be the target compression algorithm in response to that the time information of the terminal device in the scenario information satisfies a time range in the usage condition of the compression algorithm in the algorithm list” and Par. [0151] “In step 804, the CSI is compressed using the target compression algorithm to obtain compressed CSI”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang’s time range with Pezeshki’s compression method to overcome attenuation and loss during performance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0409991).
Regarding Claim 10, Pezeshki teaches the invention of Claim 1, further teaching transmitting, to the network device, an indication of the compression method; (Par. [0070] “As illustrated, the UE may transmit the codeword 612 (e.g., along with the one or more parameter multiplexed with the codeword) to the BS 110”).
Pezeshki, however, does not explicitly teach receiving, from the network device, a configuration updated based on the compression method, the configuration comprising at least one of the following: a time-domain configuration, a frequency-domain configuration, an antenna-port-domain configuration, a beam-domain configuration, a resource for the transmission of the compressed channel state information, or a format for the transmission of the compressed channel state information.
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches receiving, from the network device, a configuration updated based on the compression method, the configuration comprising at least one of the following: a time-domain configuration, a frequency-domain configuration, an antenna-port-domain configuration, a beam-domain configuration, a resource for the transmission of the compressed channel state information, or a format for the transmission of the compressed channel state information (Par. [0337] “In addition, regarding the CSI-RS, resource element (RE) mapping of CSI-RS resources of the CSI-RS is performed in time and frequency domains by higher layer parameter CSI-RS -ResourceMapping”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park’s time domain and frequency domain updates with Pezeshki’s compression method to minimize the degradation of performance when reporting channel state information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (WO 2022/067862) (found in IDS) discloses “At 415, the UE 110 performs the CSI measurements based on the allocated CSI-RS resources. At 420, the UE 110 transmits the CSI report to the gNB 120a” (Par. [0036]).
Song et al. (WO 2021/142631) (found in IDS) discloses “In some embodiments, the terminal device may determine a mode of the compression and compress the CSI based on the mode. As described above in some embodiments, the mode of compression of the compressed CSI may be divided into a first compression mode that is ML friendly with a common codebook” (Par. [0073]).
Wang et al. (US 2024/0063868) discloses “Optionally, the CSI report is divided into part 1 and part 2. The CSI report includes the compressed channel information and/or the interference measurement result obtained by the terminal device under the intelligent CSI feedback scenario, such that the terminal device is able to report the CSI report including the compressed channel information and/or interference measurement result. As such, the technical solution of CSI supporting under the intelligent CSI feedback scenario can be achieved” (Par. [0041]).
/J.N.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641